Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worst case scenario
this is a brilliant australian film which deals with a love story between two people who suffer from schizophrenia. their love is strong and unbreakable and is portrayed amazingly by both Lynch and McKenzie. they get pregnant and that's when the saddness of the film starts to build. in order for the baby to survive she has to stop taking her medication. both stopped and...
Published on January 4, 2001 by enea ceku

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars MATURE EVIL
WHY so many great reviews????????????

here's the truth: weak story told by the weakest "actors" assembled.

not worth the viewing time. you will watch it/you will die
Published 3 months ago by gcd


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worst case scenario, January 4, 2001
By 
enea ceku (lynn, ma USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Angel Baby [VHS] (VHS Tape)
this is a brilliant australian film which deals with a love story between two people who suffer from schizophrenia. their love is strong and unbreakable and is portrayed amazingly by both Lynch and McKenzie. they get pregnant and that's when the saddness of the film starts to build. in order for the baby to survive she has to stop taking her medication. both stopped and taking their medication and it leads to some painful events. their hope doesn't die and it's amazing how they hang on. there is a scene when both of them are standing by a bridge looking down at the sea and you can sense how the wish to end their life is written on their faces. but all of a sudden McKenzie starts flapping her hands and immitating a seagull and Lynch joins her. their will to live is stronger now they they are creating a life and even though they are caged within their minds and not free as a seagull they have to make it. it's a beautiful and unique love story told in a simple way but that's what make it more effective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film to treasure., April 11, 2000
This review is from: Angel Baby [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is a powerful drama about two people fighting their inner demons to be together and to share their love. The film does more than just tell a story, it carries a message too.
Despite their illness, the leading couple possess the full range of normal human desires, emotions and motivations. Plus, in their own way, they were always acting in a rational manner. It was just that they were doing so in a world that we do not perceive as being the real one.
Some of the supporting cast seemed a little flat but Lynch and MacKenzie put in a stunning performance. The film was very well put together too. The pace of the story was always maintained and the film was a visual delight too. It is easy to see why it picked up technical awards to go with those for acting.
Truely, a film that will touch your heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A captivating love story about mental illness and hope., January 16, 1999
By 
"supersticks" (Long Beach,California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Angel Baby [VHS] (VHS Tape)
As a counselor/therapist, I found this video unusually realistic and, at the same time, quite magical. The actors are perfectly cast, and their "chemistry" is riveting. It's a charming, moving depiction of mental illness and the power of love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars send me an angel, February 12, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Angel Baby [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie touched my heart immensely. Some of what went on I related to. The movie confirmed in me that labels and limitations don't ultimately mean anything. I loved to see John Lynch in a sweet role like this. Both actors were tender, loving and just plain wonderful. I couldn't help but cry...I was significantly changed and reminded of how love between two people can suffice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Run and Hide!, October 12, 2000
By 
This review is from: Angel Baby [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Strong performances from the leads John Lynch and Jacqueline McKenzie give this film its power. Lynch has a face that's perpetually aching, and McKenzie's defiance blows through.
The main characters meet at a "clubhouse" for the mentally ill, and soon fall in love. With the blessing of their doctors and the reservations of their family, they move in together. Naturally, complications arise when Kate (McKenzie) gets pregnant - limiting her access to her medications. Omens, good and bad, come from Australia's version of the "Wheel of Fortune" gameshow.
McKenzie and Lynch really carry this film, which suffers slightly from the minor missteps of an ambitious first-time director. Top-notch character actors, such as Colin Friels, are wasted when secondary roles are written into the script and then neglected. The foreshadowing, especially from the soundtrack, is pretty heavy-handed. Nevertheless, the care given by the director and the actors to the central love-story makes this a compelling drama.
Highly recommended for fans of Australian cinema, and those who like stories that challenge the conventional ideas of romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, Please., October 22, 2003
By 
Richard S. (Pittsburgh, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Angel Baby [VHS] (VHS Tape)
John Lynch is one of my very favorite actors, I think he's just amazing. This is his greatest performance, and his best movie. It works on every level - acting, script, music, direction - never sinking to "Aw, aren't they CUTE?" as so many romances about "challenged" people do.
And it's surprisingly funny.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Film, August 3, 2007
This review is from: Angel Baby [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I was lucky enough to get to see this film in my college psychology class.
It truly is a heartbreaking and beautiful love story involving two mentally ill individuals. This is rarely a story that is told; usually mentally ill people are darkly portrayed.
It was great to see a movie about such pure love. It has a strong message to it.
Love CAN change you, but it CAN'T always fix you.
Angel Baby gives you a different outlook on mentally ill people, and any film that does that I hold in very high regard.
The acting performances are superb. John Lynch is perfect on every level. The direction and screenplay are top notch.
I cannot think of a better movie dealing with both the good and bad sides of being mentally ill.
I wish there were more movies like this.
Angel Baby is a raw moving and honest look at two mentally ill people who are deeply in love.
A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wrenching & sweet, July 29, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Angel Baby [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Excellent film. The two leads are outstanding - lead couples in much bigger & better known films don't come close. Plus, once you've seen the film, Enya's "On Your Shore" will never sound the same to you again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I NEVER CRIED SO HARD FOR CHARACTER IN A MOVIE!, September 11, 2008
This review is from: Angel Baby [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is a good movie. The relationship between these two is so childlike and so funny at the begining. These are two people suffering from things beyond their control and trying to make a life for themselves. I'll give away the movie if I try to give any kind of serious review.

Lets just say, I no longer have the film because a friend refuses to give it back. Now, I have to buy a new one. This is the best movie I have ever seen and it broke my heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mental illness, December 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Angel Baby [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I bought this movie for my son & daughter -in-law as it was recommended viewing my son having a mental illness.I found it very disturbing & so sad as people really don't understand the complexities of such illnesses & the effect on family members. I can understand why this is recommended viewing for any one with a family member suffering mental problems also for any one who may know of someone in that position
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Angel Baby [VHS]
Angel Baby [VHS] by Michael Rymer (VHS Tape - 1998)
Used & New from: $4.33
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.