Customer Reviews


184 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb read
In the Cascade Mountain range of northwest Washington state near Angel Lake, Mikaela and Liam Campbell raise their two children. While her nine-year-old son watches her, Mikaela falls while jumping with her horse, landing in a coma. Her loving spouse Liam and their two children (Bret and his older sister Jacey) worry that she will die. Desperate for something to do to...
Published on April 9, 2000 by Harriet Klausner

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Book for Pool-Side
Some books are such light fare to be perfect for pool-side readers. "Angel Falls" by Kristin Hannah qualifies are an ideal summer read; not to deep or dark, it is optimistic, romantic and unabashedly sentimental. Its view of life, marriage and family is as idealistic (and naive) as a teenager's first summer love.
Liam and Mike (Michaela) Campbell, and their...
Published on June 4, 2000 by Jane E. Harkins


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb read, April 9, 2000
This review is from: Angel Falls (Hardcover)
In the Cascade Mountain range of northwest Washington state near Angel Lake, Mikaela and Liam Campbell raise their two children. While her nine-year-old son watches her, Mikaela falls while jumping with her horse, landing in a coma. Her loving spouse Liam and their two children (Bret and his older sister Jacey) worry that she will die. Desperate for something to do to help his wife, Liam continues to talk with Mikaela. To his chagrin and elation, Mikaela blinks at the name of her first spouse, movie legend Julian True.

Though he may lose her if she recovers, Liam asks Julian to come to their small town of Last Bend to try to heal Mikaela. When she awakens, she has no idea who her current spouse is or the identity of her youngest child. She cannot understand why she looks olds since sixteen years have disappeared from her life because she suffers from amnesia. When she regains her lost memory, will she love her current husband or her former spouse?

ANGEL FALLS is a fascinating relationship drama that centers on personal sacrifice. Readers will love Liam as he willingly risks losing the love of his life to someone else if it could restore her back to health. The children and Julian add to the drama through their relationships with the lead characters. Fans already consider Kristin Hannah to be on a par with the superstars like Delinsky and Roberts, but those few readers who had doubts will no longer have any after reading this novel.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best Kristin Hannah has to offer..., June 15, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Angel Falls (Hardcover)
Kristin Hannah is one of my favorite romance novelists. She writes stories that can absolutlely tear at your soul. It seems that with her last two novels, though (Angel Falls and On Mystic Lake) she is trying to appeal to a more high brow audience. There is nothing wrong with aspirations, but it isn't where her talent lies. Suddenly she isn't writing great romance novels, and she isn't writing great contemporary fiction. These books are an "alright" example of both, but excel as neither. I guess the thing that this book missed the most was any real view of the relationship between Mike and Liam. She simply came to a realization about him (that she had seemed to accept years ago) thaty he was the better husband for her. It wasn't an unbelievable story (even with amnesia and movie stars) but it wasn't really striking and believable either. My suggestion would be to either read her earlier novels if looking for romance, or choose another author if looking for contemporary women's fiction. If you are a fan of the author, like I am, get this book from your local library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Book for Pool-Side, June 4, 2000
This review is from: Angel Falls (Hardcover)
Some books are such light fare to be perfect for pool-side readers. "Angel Falls" by Kristin Hannah qualifies are an ideal summer read; not to deep or dark, it is optimistic, romantic and unabashedly sentimental. Its view of life, marriage and family is as idealistic (and naive) as a teenager's first summer love.
Liam and Mike (Michaela) Campbell, and their children Jacey and Brett, are blissfully enjoying their idyllic life in a Norman Rockwell town when Mike is injured in a riding accident and lapses into a coma. Left to fend for themselves, her husband and children learn to get through days without her, while at the same time discovering that they hardly knew her, when secrets of her past (a first marriage and Hollywood lifestyle) begin to surface. As the darkness of her sleep begins to lift, she remains shrouded in the shadows of her past, but her deceptions have wounded and confused her family, particularly when the subject of her betrayal suddenly appears to assist in her convalescence. Can Mike awaken her own heart and help her family move beyond the specter of her past?
If this description sounds similar to a storyline in a soap opera, then it is being interpreted correctly. "Angel Falls" is that predictable and syrupy. But reading it is not an unpleasant way to wile away some summer hours, as it is a mellow story with warmth and fuzzy feelings. While not quite a "romance novel", its idealization of love (a.k.a. "true love") and marriage have all the requisite dramatic elements for the genre.
I expect that fans of Nicholas Sparks ("The Notebook" and "A Walk to Remember") will migrate to this book, particularly those who liked Sparks' drab "Message in a Bottle". However, "Angel Falls" will probably disappoint them; it is not nearly as moving or well-written as "The Notebook" or "A Walk in the Woods", which both reduced me to tears. Simply, I never wanted to cry for the Campbell family, which is the emotion Hannah was trying to wrench from her readers. "Angel Falls" is mushy - sentimentalism for its own sake and none other. There are no profound lessons or disturbing commentaries on modern love, marriage or family to burden a reader or cloud the sun on the beach. Enjoy this book there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At What Price Love?, October 14, 2001
In a mythical small town in Washington State, Dr. Liam Campbell and Mikaela (Mike) have a life together with their two children and their horses.
Their life appears to be a classic fairy tale until tragedy strikes. While exercising a horse, Mikaela is thrown and hits her head, putting her into a coma. The lengths Liam goes to in order to help her recover are incredible.
As he attempts to maintain some semblance of normalcy, and while looking for a dress for his teenaged daughter to wear to her Prom, Liam finds evidence of Mikaela's former life. Although he knew she had been married before, he was not prepared to find that she had been married to one of the most famous movie stars in the world: Julian True.
Just the mention of Julian's name elicits a response from Mikaela while she is in the coma, so Liam makes a decision to call him and see if he can come up to Washington to help revive her. What follows next is a testimony to the depths of a man's love for a woman. Angel Falls is written from a man's point of view and delves into how someone copes with life threatening injury to a loved one.
This book is well written. Each of the characters is believable, including the main characters, Mikaela and Liam. You truly feel that you are in their lives, watching all that goes on. You feel Liam's pain as he discovers that his wife of 10 years was in love with another man. You are hoping, as the book progresses, that Liam and Mikaela will remain together and "live happily every after."
I rate this at 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About Time!, April 10, 2000
This review is from: Angel Falls (Hardcover)
I've been waiting for this book ever since I finished reading Hannah's magnificent ON MYSTIC LAKE. I love her stories, maybe because she writes about everything I care about--relationships, family, marriages. ANGEL FALLS is simply wonderful. I read it too fast, and now I have to wait another year or so for the next Hannah. This is what Women's fiction is all about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful read!, September 27, 2005
By 
Mikaela (Mica) Campbell is thrown from a horse and is so seriously injured that she falls into a long-term coma. Mica's husband, Dr. Liam Campbell, is left to care for their children. While sitting by Mica's hospital bed, willing her to recover, Liam talks endlessly to her. He recreates their life together through their shared history.

Inadvertently, Liam discovers the identity of Mica's first husband and father to her first child. Julian is a 'huge' movie star who was the love of her life. Julian, a shallow man, is convinced that he may be the person who is able to bring Mica out of her coma and agrees to travel to her bedside. Mica emerges from the coma, and what happens then is what helps her look at life through different 'colored' glasses.

Angel Falls is a family drama about how tragedy impacts the individual members and how they rise to the occasion and pull together. And it is about a loving, gentle husband who deeply loves his wife and will do what is necessary to help her recover; even if it means he might lose her.

Hannah's characters are richly drawn and the plot is compelling. It is a book you will enjoy and I guarantee that you will recommend it to others.

Armchair Interviews highly recommends Angel Falls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What can I say?, April 21, 2000
This review is from: Angel Falls (Hardcover)
While looking in the library, i came across the book "Angel Falls" by Kristin Hannah. It gripped me at first with the sequence where she gets hurt because it was so suspenseful, but other than that, the story was very depressing. The character of Liam is made to be such a sweet man and yet Mikaela, no matter how much they revered her, seemed to be a mildly selfish person, especially in the case where Liam loves her bone deep but she doesn't exactly love him back in that same way. It reminded me of unrequited love. Although I may be a sucker for "happily ever after" endings I must say that it was a bit enjoying. I would advise buyers that if they are looking for a cute and cozy romance, I would recommend "A Walk to Remember" by Nicholas Sparks instead of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars While She Was Sleeping!, June 3, 2000
This review is from: Angel Falls (Hardcover)
On the surface it would appear as though the Campbell family of Last Bend, Washington are your typical and average family. Liam, is a hometown doctor, and the son of the founding father while his wife, Mikaela, is a former nurse now devoted to her family and horses. Thay have a teen-age daughter Jacey and younger son Bret. But things are not always as they appear for Mikaela has hidden a secret past from her family which will come back to haunt all of them.
In her latest book, Angel Falls, the well known romance writer Kristin Hannah has written a contemporary title which is filled with great emotion and poignancy. During a typical morning's ride, Mikaela, is thrown from her horse and sustains a head trauma which results in a coma. While Liam and the others talk to her and pray for her, Liam learns about Mikaela's secret past. Then sacrificing both his love for her and family life as they know it, he seeks help from the one man who may ulitmately change the Campbells lives as they know them.
While this book is a fast read unlike most romance novels it is told from the man's point of view. But as I read it I couldn't help but feel as though something was missing. While most romance novels are somewhat predictable, I have always enjoyed Kristin Hannah's wasy of enveloping her readers with her characters lives and situations. Unfortunately, this time, I didn't find her characters as finely drawn nor the events during Mikaela's coma plausible. Then again, if you're looking for a good beach read this summer, Angel Falls may be just the right book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Angel does fall..., June 7, 2001
By 
Charles J Horne (Tuscaloosa, Alabama United States) - See all my reviews
This was actually the first novel by Kristin Hannah that I read; but since then I have read IF YOU BELIEVE, ON MYSTIC LAKE, WAITING FOR THE MOON, and ONCE IN EVERY LIFE. I thought ANGEL FALLS was an okay at first; however, since reading the previous mentioned novels, [this one didn't strike me as the best of them all]. Yes, the characters are as vivid and tangible as the characters in her other novels, but the plot...the plot is contrived and falls flat by the end of the book. The story is simple--Mikaela Campbell falls into a coma after an accident, and her husband, Liam comes to realize that his devoted and saintly wife was actually married to one of the most famous actors on the planet, Julian True. Julian is called upon to help revive Mikaela, and the story takes some interesting twists and turns... Some parts of the book acutally made me think I was reading a script for the movie of the week on the LIFETIME channel. There is a shameless plug in the novel about ON MYSTIC LAKE being screened in Hollywood... Like I mentioned before, I think Kristin Hannah is a wonderful writer and her stories are fully-developed and emotional, but this one is not. I will re-read her other novels, but ANGEL FALLS has already been placed on the shelf to collect dust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Kristin Hannah Gem!, March 21, 2000
This review is from: Angel Falls (Hardcover)
Kristin Hannah has become one of the best writers fiction has to offer at creating emotional stories which are absolutely un-put-downable! In ANGEL FALLS she tells the story of how Mikaela' Campbell's family is affected after Mikaela lapses into a coma as a result of a horse-riding accident. Her husband is willing to do anything it takes to increase her chances of recovery, even if it means that with her survival, he could lose her to another man. With all the poignancy which has become a hallmark of Kristin Hannah's novels, comes a story beautifully written, and an absolute gem. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Angel Falls: A Novel
Angel Falls: A Novel by Kristin Hannah (Paperback - September 27, 2005)
$15.00 $12.49
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.