Customer Reviews


337 Reviews
5 star:
 (186)
4 star:
 (90)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 95 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great music...but both U.S. editions need work
As for the music...this is classic Priest. Great to hear Halford back in the group. As for the U.S. cd releases, well, they both were less than satisfactory. Unlike some reviewers, my star rating is for hte music, not the CD issues. Most of you notice that there are two versions of this album available. There is a "dueldisc" edition and a limited "hardcover" book edition...
Published on March 8, 2005 by Lunar Strain

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars both brilliant and confounding
I was so ready to be charged by this album and initially I was. There are still some tracks here that charge me up and always will, but the letdown tracks are also quite abundant here and I'll try to clarify my opinions on both.

"Judas Rising" - Freaking great tune. Really kicks in with full force and utilizes the token Halford scream to get the blood...
Published on May 8, 2005 by J. Young


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

89 of 95 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great music...but both U.S. editions need work, March 8, 2005
This review is from: Angel Of Retribution (Audio CD)
As for the music...this is classic Priest. Great to hear Halford back in the group. As for the U.S. cd releases, well, they both were less than satisfactory. Unlike some reviewers, my star rating is for hte music, not the CD issues. Most of you notice that there are two versions of this album available. There is a "dueldisc" edition and a limited "hardcover" book edition. The "dueldisc" version generates more problems. This is a new type of technology that is still in the working process and there is even a warning on the CD case. The disc features the music portion on one side and a the DVD features on the other. Because of this, the CD is thicker than the usual CD. Since it is thicker, the cd has a hard time playing in a lot of CD players. Forget about playing it in your CD deck in your car. Alot of players also scratch up the DVD side when trying to play the music side. I know a lot of people like myself like to make copies of our CD's so we can play 'em in our cars without worry of ruining the original discs. Forget about that as the new copy protection makes this impossible. Overall, the "dueldisc" edition blows and should be avoided. People wanting to avoid all the hassle of the ultra-garbage dueldisc version are better off buying the limited hardcover book edition. This has the CD and DVD on seperate discs. You are also able to make back-up copies of the CD for your car with this one. The downfalls of this release is that the CD and DVD come in little slipcases inside the 'book'. This means that if you keep removing the discs, you have a chance of damaging them. I even know a few individuals whose discs came pre-scratched because of these slipcases. The hardcover book is also only slightly better than those dreaded digipacks as it can get ruined very easily. Still, even with its downfalls, the limited is by far the way to go. If only they released it in a regular double jewel case instead...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Metal Gods have risen once again, March 1, 2005
THE BAND: Rob Halford (vocals), Glenn Tipton (guitar), K.K. Downing (guitar), Ian Hill (bass), Scott Travis (drums & percussion).

THE DISC: (2005) 10 tracks clocking in at just under 53 minutes. Included with the disc is a 14-page booklet containing artwork (no band photos), song credits/lyrics, and thank you's. Recorded at Old Smithy (Worcestershire, UK) and Sound City (San Francisco, CA). There are two versions of this disc available - a hard cover case with music disc only, and a 'dual-disc' featuring a single disc with music on one side and a DVD on the other (DVD features a brief documentary and footage from seven live songs on their 2004 "Reunited" tour). Label - Sony/BMG.

COMMENTS: Judas Priest is back on the heavy metal scene in 2005. "Angel Of Retribution" is a very heavy album with a few lighter songs thrown in the mix. It's been a long 15 years since Halford put his name on a Priest album ("Painkiller", 1990). Judas Priest had struggled since the day Halford left the band - putting out only 2 mediocre studio albums with Tim "Ripper" Owens at the helm. The original (4 member) line up is back - Rob Halford's vocals are finely tuned and there are plenty of his demon growls and signature high-pitched screams; dueling axes from KK Downing and Glen Tipton have never sounded better; Ian Hill is steady as ever on bass. Scott Travis (drums - from 1990's album "Painkiller") rounds out the quintet. "Retribution" rocks heavy with the exceptions being "Angel", "Worth Fighting For", and "Eulogy"... these 3 songs are still very good - just slower. Early picks as the faster/harder favorites would be the first two tracks - the intro "Judas Rising" leading into "Deal With The Devil", and track eight "Hellrider". The other tracks will grow on you - it's all chillingly good - no traces of filler. The tracks here are remniscent of old Priest as well as Halford's band in the 90's "Fight". Powerful double-bass drumming and screeching guitars dominate. Plenty of aggression, optimism and energy. Kerrang and Rolling Stone magazines give this disc two postive ball-busting reviews. Not to mention this old Priest line up stealing the show at the 2004 Ozzfest. Any fan of the band or Halford's solo material owes it to him/her self to get this disc. This is an album designed to both delight the faithful and to introduce metal's new listeners (the kids) to the timeless sound of an old classic metal band in top form. Old school metal is back! The flip side of the disc is the DVD - giving you a 40 minute documentary of the making of this album, as well as 7 live tracks (featuring old standards, "Living After Midnight", "Hellion/Electric Eye", "Metal Gods", "Hell Bent For Leather", etc). Is this 2005 release on line with some of their classic 80's material - ALMOST. Some reviewers have bashed the dual-disc and its thickness... I for one have not had any issues playing either side. Great dual-disc package (4.5 stars).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A few new wrinkles in the old Priest Robes..., March 1, 2005
By 
Derek Arnold "music lover" (Collingswood, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angel Of Retribution (Audio CD)
The first new album from Judas Priest since the Ripper Owens days and the first with Rob Halford since Painkiller (over ten years ago) tries to reclaim the ground it has "lent" to today's metal acts, with generally nice results. From the first (the opener "Judas Rising"), the trademark Priest grinding guitars and hypnotic riffs light up the album, and generally keep a high level of energy throughout. Rob Halford's voice is nothing less than fantastic; even his screams (at least on record) are still amazing, though his voice certainly stretches out with lower range and volume changes as well this time around, again with masterful results.

Two things that make "Angel Of Retribution" sound a bit different from what people see as the typical "Priest sound," however, are the greater presence of the bass in songs and the nature of a few of the songs themselves. First, Ian Hill's bass plays a much more central role in some songs (certainly on the album's first single, "Revolution", but on others like the finale "Lochness" as well), and helps to spread out the demands on screaming guitar solos (which I think are just a little toned down for this release) and Scott Travis' drums (but still a lot of the double bass drum beats throughout). Hopefully this helps the band more easily capture the sound of these songs live and maybe even surpass them in their concert versions. The second difference is that Priest (unlike many other bands of the genre) always have tweaked their sound a little to accomodate changes in their interests, and here is no different. There's a full fledged ballad "Angel" which is not fair to simply refer to as a "power ballad," as it deals with an interesting topic (asking for relief in the form of death at the end of the character's life) and is carried more by Halford's wonderful lower and mid range voice than the inevitable crashing guitar chorus. "Eulogy" is another change of pace, kind of a view from outside the body of a group of mourners with a heavy piano (maybe from Glenn Tipton?) base; mournful and an interesting segue into the album's last song, "Lochness," an extended "trudge" through one of the more interesting myths of Scotland (Halford referred to it as their "Lord Of The Rings" moment).

There are still plenty of high-octane songs on the album to rock to (my favorites are "Deal With The Devil" and "Demonizer" with it's "Out, Demon, Out" line in the chorus) and even though the second half sags a bit in my opinion, the Priest machine has definitely retooled itself successfully for the forseeable future. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best REAL metal album since 1990, March 2, 2005
By 
Ghost of Metal Past (Circle Pines, MN United States) - See all my reviews
This is the album classic metal fans have been waiting for. Like many other fans, I was nervous about this make-or-break Priest disc but the boys (well, they're in their mid-50s) really pulled it off well!! What a great recording.

"Revolution" is exactly what it seemed to be - a decent, if not spectacular made for radio track amongst an album full of top flight metal. Make no mistake - the rest of Angel of Retribution IS CLASSIC PRIEST! I personally think it is the band's best effort since Defenders of the Faith. If you were to rank all Priest studio albums from best to worst this would definitely be in the top half among other classics like Vengeance, British Steel, Defenders, etc.

The lyrics are typical Priest lyrics - not Shakespeare but hardly cheesy ('cheesy' - a word used by people who grossly overestimate their own cool factor). No pointless profanity this time around. Keeping it clean and fun.

Perhaps most relevant is that it blows out of the water everything put out by current bands like Slipshod, Please-Kill-the-Switch-Engage, Lamb of God-Awful, and Forget-the-Shadows-just-let-the-curtain-Fall. Why? Guitars in proper tuning, solos that rip and convey a melody, and perhaps most importantly there is A SINGER WHO HAS ABILITY AND TALENT INSTEAD OF A HACK THROAT-SHOUTER.

Last fall there was Megadeth's 'The System Has Failed' now we get 'Angel of Retribution' - classic metal is on the rise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Defending the faith with a vengeance!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, March 1, 2005
I have listened to every song on Angel Of Retribution and I have to rank it as one of the all time Judas Priest classics. The sounds and songs on this CD are as diverse in sound as the band has been spanning their entire 30 year career.

While "Wheels of Fire" and "Demonizer" are Painkiller-esque, they have other tunes such as "Deal With the Devil" which is more like from "Screaming for Vengeance". "Worth Fighting For" would fit well on Hell Bent for Leather. The ballad "Angel", if it were on "Sad Wings of Destiny", would already be an all time classic as well as "Eulogy". "Revolution" sounds like some of the grinding classics of "Sin After Sin" and would fit right in with the other songs on it. "Loch Ness" is not a simple "metal" song, but more of a "rock opera" artsy style piece along the lines of "Beyond the Realms of Death".

If you want all hard 100 mph grinding stuff go buy some "thrash", if you want some band crunching the same chords at different tempos and a singer "growling" in the mic go buy some "nu-metal" or "death metal", but if you want some real straight forward classic heavy metal in its truest form buy "Angel of retribution" by Judas Priest. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I thought Metal was dead.., March 4, 2005
By 
I've never been a devoted Judas Priest fan. I bought "Angel of Retribution" just because I was curious as to what this bunch of 50-yr-olds would sound like in this day and age.

And I have to say that "Angel of Retribution" offers some amazing heavy metal material to satisfy any Heavy Metal fan out there. I've been playing the CD nonstop since I got it and it really gets better with every spin.

There is heavy stuff like `Judas Rising', `Demonizer' and the amazing `Hellrider'. There is some good' ole classic metal like `Deal w/ the Devil' and `Wheels on Fire'. Experimental metal like `Revolution', `Worth Fighting For' and a beautiful ballad called `Angel'. And then the CD ends with a classic metal 13-minute operatic (either you'll like it or you don't) song called `Loch ness'.

Some may not like this CD but consider this, for ANY band that has survived 30+ years and still sound this fresh, powerful and energetic, "Angel of Retribution" deserves a buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's classic Priest !!, March 1, 2005
If you have be longing for this day?, you wont be disappointed as long as you're a genuine Priest fan. Every JP album has had a different vibe to it and this offering is no different other than the fact that it really does a great job of encompassing all that is Priest. It's fast, it's slow, it's melodic, it's got texture, it's got aggression, it's got balls. Halford is once again where he belongs, steering the good ship Judas Priest. He has a knack of bringing the best out of the rest of them and this cd proves that. In the Ripper years, Priest was missing something, an ingredient that was absent so to speak. Well I'm here to say, that missing ingredient is back and this helping of Priest is a good start to what should be a fantastic comeback by one of the worlds greatest metal bands. As far as tunage goes, I love them all and really get off on Lochness. I know it's a little long, even a little plodding at times and those lyrics are chessy as hell, but it just sticks in your head and to hear Rob belting out that chorus, Lochness!!!, man it just says WELCOME BACK!!

A solid return by the metal masters, not quite a 5 outta 5, but certainly a solid 4 or even maybe a 41/2. If I was to complain about something, it would be that I wish they would have perhaps had a little more info on the band (yes we all know who they are) in the cd jacket. Updated pics and some thoughts on the reunited Priest would have been cool. Other than the lyrics and the usual art work, credits etc, it's pretty sparse in that department. Cd sound quality is very good and that's Roy Z's department. He does not disappoint as all the instruments can be heard and that's a huge improvement over the last 2 cd's as the mixes were terrible.

The DVD part is a very cool extra as it lets you in on how they got back together and tells you a little of what these guys are about. With Rob back at the helm, these guys seem truly thrilled about the fact that they are all back together again. This reunion can only lead to bigger and better things in the future if this first release is the standard of what's to come.

I will be front row when they tour this year and I'll be loving every bloody minute of it!!

Welcome back Judas Priest!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm a first time buyer of Judas Priest, they're really good., April 13, 2005
By 
Parker Buessow (Sequim, Washington USA) - See all my reviews
I am eighteen years old and have been listening to Heavy Metal ever since I was eleven. After hearing about this album from my friends and the Internet, I decided to buy it out of curiosity. Was I ever suprised when I put this in my cd player, I couldn't believe I was missing out on such a great band. I like the whole album, but my favourite songs are: "Judas Is Rising", "Deal With The Devil", "Worth Fighting For", "Angel", and "Hellrider". I also like the dvd that comes with the album. It really gave me a good idea on what the band is all about. All in all, this is a great album for hardcore Priest fans, or a good starting point for new fans such as myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judas Priest is back defending the faith with a vengeance, March 1, 2005
This review is from: Angel Of Retribution (Audio CD)
I have listened to every song on Angel Of Retribution and I have to rank it as one of the all time Judas Priest classics. The sounds and songs on this CD are as diverse in sound as the band has been spanning their entire 30 year career.

While "Wheels of Fire" and "Demonizer" are Painkiller-esque, they have other tunes such as "Deal With the Devil" which is more like from "Screaming for Vengeance". "Worth Fighting For" would fit well on Hell Bent for Leather. The ballad "Angel", if it were on "Sad Wings of Destiny", would already be an all time classic as well as "Eulogy". "Revolution" sounds like some of the grinding classics of "Sin After Sin" and would fit right in with the other songs on it. "Loch Ness" is not a simple "metal" song, but more of a "rock opera" artsy style piece along the lines of "Beyond the Realms of Death".

If you want all hard 100 mph grinding stuff go buy some "thrash", if you want some band crunching the same chords at different tempos and a singer "growling" in the mic go buy some "nu-metal" or "death metal", but if you want some real straight forward classic heavy metal in its truest form buy "Angel of retribution" by Judas Priest. You will not be disappointed.

I would recommend dishing out the extra $10 to get the version with the CD and Bonus DVD than the dual disk. From what I have read some people have had a problem with the dual disks format not working on older CD players plus the extra footage on the bonus DVD which is not on the shortend dual disk video is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electric angel, March 3, 2005
A pulverizing bolt of electricity and `nervous system energizing' that rivet to the core. It's hard to believe that so many years after they unleashed the wonderful Painkiller upon this planet, they are resurrected to haunt and stimulate again. The majesty of Priest - dead earnest camp and leather still intact - with all its glorious mythology that leaves you guessing whether salvation or destruction is more appealing, delivers the infinite metal mayhem you have been patiently awaiting. All your senses will be heightened with this masterful metal display. This extraordinary album blends a special concoction of mysterious, epic ballads and powerful, skull crushingly savory cacophonies and fugues of rock. What's new with this one? How about gorgeous displays of psychedelia and blues to go with heavy doses of mind melting metal? What is it that's so soothing about those familiar, though strangely always advancing, screeching vocals and the blasting guitar symphonies, not to mention the thunderous drums - that bring one into higher states of Zen? What is this special magic that arose from industrial England to explode with furious beauty and audible ambrosia all over the world for many decades? The artwork is stunning and the legacy continues into delightful new aural addictions.

God bless this angel of retribution. All sins are absolved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Angel Of Retribution
Angel Of Retribution by Judas Priest (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.