Customer Reviews


222 Reviews
5 star:
 (159)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


246 of 249 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angel - Vampire Extraordinaire
The following paragraph is in my other reviews, but I believe it bears repeating. This six Disk DVD Set is extraordinary. The Picture and Sound quality are so very good that you feel as though you are watching it in a theater. The closed captioning and Audio come in other languages besides English. It's jam packed with all sorts of extra bonus specials. The Brilliant...
Published on May 26, 2005 by Lauren H. Lavine

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars One of the better of the first 4 seasons
I think that this one of the best of the four seasons. After First season's destruction of Angel Investigations original offices the gang moves into new headquarters, an old derelict hotel Angel once lived in(great looking set). You'll get a story or two about that, pretty good although they could've gone into some more detail (A woman Angel knew there in the 50's left a...
Published on December 4, 2003 by A. Burchfield


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 423 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angel: Then and Now, August 24, 2003
By 
This review is from: Angel - Season Two (DVD)
I've been watching Angel ever since it first spun off Buffy, and absolutely cannot wait until it is released. Season 2 is a personal favourite, mainly because of all its flashback episodes. Being able to learn more about Angel's past is something I've always enjoyed. I mean, this guy has lived for hundreds of year's before we even met the character. Seeing who Angel was then helps when trying to understand where he's coming from now. The Pylea episodes are also excellent, and I can't wait for the commentary and featurettes. So, if anyone is anywhere near as obsessed as I am (I doubt it, but you never know) perhaps I'll see you early in the morning on Tuesday 2nd at a DVD store. I'll be the one grinning incessently and jumping up and down in glee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sophomore Year was strong, April 1, 2009
This review is from: Angel - Season Two (Slim Set) (DVD)
I own the Complete Box Set of "Angel" but this 2nd season was a strong one. Doyle had sadly passed in Season 1 and season 2 was the beginning of the gel of the team of Angel, Cordy, Wesley & Gunn.

Having a spinoff of another successful show is often hard. Unsure if the fans will follow; if the storylines can be strong enough to be a spinoff. But Angel delivered on all counts. They had humor as well as awesome fight scenes and growing character developments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Season, December 20, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Angel - Season Two (Slim Set) (DVD)
This Season of Angel is very good. The slim set is nice because it takes up less room. The DVD design is pretty nice too. I like the quotes that they put on them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good storytelling, June 7, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Angel - Season Two (Slim Set) (DVD)
The second season and new offices for Angel Investigations as they move into an old, abandoned hotel at the end of the second episode. Titled "Are You Now Or Have You Ever Been?", the episode, partily set in the `50's, deals with a demon using people's own paranoia against each other. A subject Rod Serling touched upon with "The Monsters Are Due On Maple Street", an episode of "The Twilight Zone" that "Angel" writer Tim Minear refers to in his commentary of "Are You Now Or Have You Ever Been?"
The "Buffy The Vampire Slayer" crossovers for this season are Alyson Hannigan as Willow, Mercedes McNab as Harmony, Juliet Landau as Druscilla and Julie Benz as Darla (whom Wolfram & Hart resurrected in the finale of Season One, "To Shanshu In L.A." after Angel had "dusted" her in the episode named after him in Season One of "Buffy The Vampire Slayer".)
Amy Acker joins the cast as Fred in the last few episodes in which Cordelia ends up in a place located in another dimension where she goes from cow status to queen.
My favorite episodes from this season are "Guise Will Be Guise" and "Disharmony". The season as a whole makes for good storytelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANGEL soars on its own in a wonderful season 2, September 4, 2003
By 
Hazen B Markoe (St. Paul, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angel - Season Two (DVD)
When the evil lawyers of Wolfram & Hart bring back Angel's old lover/enemy, Darla, back from the dead, the soulful vampire finds himself pushed to the limit. Even staunch allies Cordelia (Charisma Carpenter), Wesley (Alexis Denisof) and Gunn (J. August Richards) find themselves adversely affected by their friend's situation in this solid second season of the BUFFY spin-off.
As always, David Boreanez is on top of his game as the heroic Angel, being able to handle both the demands of the show's drama and comedy. Charisma Carpenter continues to shine as the sometimes sarcastic Cordelia, while Alexis Denisof continues to make the formally foppish Wesley into one of the more multi-faceted characters in TV today. Upgraded from recurring status, J. August Richards makes Gunn a valuable addition to the team with wry humor and solid timing. As the resurrected Darla, Julie Benz is equal parts sexy and sinister. Special mention must go to Andy Hallet, who makes the recurring role of Lorne (aka the Host, a singing demon with a Las Vegas attitude), a wonderfully fun creation. In a special cameo towards season's end, co-creator Joss Whedon manages to steal the show as a dancing green-skinned demon.
The DVD once again has solid picture and sound. Like the previous set, the special features are again somewhat limited with a small variety of featurettes, audio commentaries and picture galleries.
Still for fans of the show, and its parent series, it's all about the characters, stories, and that rare mix of drama and humor that few shows ever do well. This makes it one to definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A strong Season for the revamped cast, December 30, 2003
This review is from: Angel - Season Two (DVD)
Season Two seemed to get better as the year moved along. Many of the reviewers have said that the last episodes in Pylea were their least favorite of the year. I STRONGLY DISAGREE!!!! I have watched them several times and enjoyed them more each time. THey were just plain funny--I find Angel's quiet dark moods his least interesting aspect-he is far more compelling either as Angelus (season two, BTVS), or when the action is lighter and funnier. There are so many scenes in the Pylea clips that are classics-when Angel sees his reflection for the first time, or when Fred is introduced to Wesley and Gunn for the first time ("she's been here a really long time"). And the Host--going back to see his "mother"-very funny stuff, although his family "dancing" seems borrowed directly from Monty Python. And as a healthy male, I must confess to enjoying seeing Cordelia in her royal two-piece. She is great in the episodes as well.
Also, if you are as blown away as I was by Chris Kane's (Lindsay) singing in episode 18, his band, Kane, can be seen at [...] The CD is very good as well.
Five stars!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Angel Hitting Its Stride, October 28, 2004
By 
B. Gorman (Glen Ellyn, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angel - Season Two (DVD)
The series takes off in the second season as the team takes form. Wesley is incorporated to a greater extent and Cordelia's visions are strengthed. Very solid season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Angel' begins to find its' wings..., November 4, 2004
This review is from: Angel - Season Two (DVD)
It's funny because the cast of 'Angel' didn't really come together and 'gel' until the end of its second season. Gunn, the street-fighting warrior joins the gang at the start of this season but it's not until the final few episodes until we are introduced to Fred in the strange land of Pylea. Darla returns, confused as to why she was brought back by Wolfram & Hart. Angel is also confused and does what he does best: tries to save her soul. However, when he allows a massacre to take place at the hands of our good friend Drusilla and Darla, the gang expresses their feelings about the situation and he responds by saying something Donald Trump is very good at: 'You're fired.' They spend a lot of the season seperated until episode 16, just in time to fight Harmony when she makes a visit to L.A. This season is an improvement of the first because we get so involved in these characters and the choices they make. The season wraps with Angel returning from Pylea only to hear the devestating news from Willow that Buffy is dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great season but disappointing ending, September 28, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Angel - Season Two (DVD)
Season two of Angel is where the show started to compare with its older sister show Buffy.An amazing story-arc.Great character development.Would be as great as Buffy season 5 if it wasn't for the last few episodes.The Pylea arc is okay but nothing special and makes a weak closure to an otherwise brillant season.Of course,the best part of the season is the first half where Angel is tormented by Darla.He eventually fires his crew and goes to the dark side for a while.That makes for very compelling tv until Belonging.The gang actually heads to Pylea,a demon dimension.Nice twist but it gives the season a very anti-climatic feeling.Still,overall,it's a great season and a wonderful improvement over season one.Still if you want a season of Angel as outstanding as the best Buffy seasons,you'll have to wait for seasons three and four.It may seem unfair to say that just because of the last few episodes but I just did not enjoy them as much as the rest of the season.And well,you know,I still love season two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting better, September 12, 2003
By 
Justine Cupo (Venice, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Angel - Season Two (DVD)
Second season ROCKS !!! Season one was great but Season two just gets better and better with each episode. With this season Angel stands alone as an awesome show. I used to watch Buffy and Angel series when it originally aired but that was B.C. (before children). Thank goodness for DVDs. Pick a day to watch it, cancel all your plans and get ready for a great entertainment. I got very little sleep the day I got the DVD because I just couldn't stop watching it. I've already watched certain episodes 3 times because they have it all: pain and more pain (and David B. is so good at it), retribution, forgiveness, sexual chemistry, epiphany and just plain old adrenaline rush. Not to mention Joss Whedon doing the little dance. Hey, why do I have to wait till next year for Season three ?????????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 423 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Angel - Season Two (Slim Set)
Angel - Season Two (Slim Set) by David Boreanaz (DVD - 2006)
$39.98 $13.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.