Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angels blossom with sexual fluidity.
Life alone isn't easy, with two its complicated. These words of wisdom
pretty much sums up "The Angels of Sex". A very well fleshed out
character study about several complicated relationship between three
people who refuse for conform to society's expectations, yet they
themselves struggle to surpass their own limitations of how love and
sex...
Published 22 months ago by cinephile

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The acting is decent but I just don't find the ...
The acting is decent but I just don't find the story believable. It is one thing for a girl to be torn between two guys, but as a straight guy there is just no way that I would fall for my girlfriend's other boyfriend.
Published 1 month ago by Ron


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angels blossom with sexual fluidity., March 18, 2013
This review is from: Angels of Sex (DVD)
Life alone isn't easy, with two its complicated. These words of wisdom
pretty much sums up "The Angels of Sex". A very well fleshed out
character study about several complicated relationship between three
people who refuse for conform to society's expectations, yet they
themselves struggle to surpass their own limitations of how love and
sex should be handled without prejudice. The film unspools the lives
and loves of Rai (Álvaro Cervantes), Carla (Astrid Bergès-Frisbey) &
Bruno (Llorenç González) three hipsters who are dealing with the
current realities of modern Spain, both in personal & professional
relations. All three characters suffer distinct challenges and
pleasures of life as their personalities are interwoven in meticulously
yet naturally planned situations which tests their patience for what
they are willing to tolerate from one another. As angels may be, do we
really know what sex they are? In this film, boundaries established by
preconceived notions are of least importance as the heart wants what
the heart needs. Filmmaker Xavier Villaverde flawlessly handles the
character's in several surreal situations giving them enough material
to allow for the realities of some very complex situations that are
compounded by mixed feelings with ever more confusing results. This
movie is a must see for three good reasons, Rai, Bruno & Carla. As they
co-mingle and fuse their sentiments towards one another, One can't help
wondering how long would a relationship of this sort really last, but
as we see sexual desires and true love and pain surface, we realize
that these are only people looking for the same thing... to be loved as
intensely as the heart and flesh may permit for one never knows what,
when or how long the good times may last. A film highly recommended for
its embrace and truthful storytelling depicting an alternative
situation beautifully performed with profound meaning and
dedication. You are in for a treat as your eyes will feast on this
deliciously, tasty & sweet love triangle. With the many temperature
rising scenes presenting sexual fluidity at its best, thankfully this
dish is best served hot courtesy of our main cast and their charismatic
& overwhelming chemistry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great script and natural acting, April 20, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
However much I dislike the title of the movie and I believe that it keeps renters/buyers away, the movie is fabulous. All the technical aspects are perfect, the script writing and story line are superb and the actors are beatuiful and great actors and I forgot that I was watching a movie. It was rather like I was eavesdropping on intimate friends. It touched me very much. The fact that it concerns two men and a woman and sex is only part of the story, the other part is about love and friendship and intimacy and the movie handles this all with 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely movie, June 25, 2013
This review is from: Angels of Sex (DVD)
I think this is a lovely movie, and consider it a keeper. It's erotic. It's about love. It captures that marvelous and precious phase of life when when young adults are defining their identities and relationships with a unique degree of freedom and openness, with all the risks that entails. It's also about how difficult it can be to let someone you love be who they are, without limits. The film treats the subject respectfully and the acting feels real. The icing on the cake is that the movie finds a happy ending (such as it is, for three people barely into their 20s) that, as others have said, is somehow believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take a Risk!, August 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Angels of Sex (DVD)
In love and war who ever really knows what's going to happen next? Could it be possible to love two people at once? I certainly think so. The real question though should be Can It Last? Maybe, maybe not. But if you don't take a chance when the opportunity presents itself, how will you ever know? And that seems to be the premise for Angels of Sex.

Rai is a French breakdancer showing off his talents on the pier to an audience which includes Bruno, who becomes the victim of a pick-pocketing and is henceforth, injured. Rai witnesses this crime and comes to Bruno's aide, taking him back to the crash pad Rai shares with several of his breakdancers, and one of whom is also Rai's former girlfriend, Maria. Maria knows Rai well enough to recognize the signs when Rai brings Bruno home. She isn't jealous, just cautious as he has a bad habit of leaving broken hearts in his wake. And it isn't hard to understand why. Rai is humorous, sensual, intelligent and deep. Plus he's good in bed, which always helps.

Bruno awakens in Rai's bed the next day to shouts of, "The cops are coming! Run!" Apparently Rai forgot to mention that his home actually belonged to a family of three, whom arrive from a vacation to find naked bodies scattering their livingroom. No worries. Bruno knows of another place Rai can crash. The people who live there are also on vacation, and their friends of Bruno and his girlfriend, Carla. So off they go, Rai and Bruno. While Bruno shows the apartment to Rai, he begins to feel a strange...connection with this attractive man. And at one point, Rai tries to kiss Bruno. Bruno exclaims and begs off, claiming he has to get back to his girlfriend, she will be worried. Rai isn't offended, which seems to only make Bruno more intrigued. When Rai lays down the offer a second time, literally leaving the door open, Bruno finds himself walking through it, and then shutting it behind him. This affair goes on for weeks, even while Bruno still comes home to Carla and makes love with her also. When Bruno and Rai's affair becomes known, witnessed in a pool shower stall, Carla is beside herself. She still loves Bruno, what should she do? She tells Bruno he must give up Rai to save their own relationship. And Bruno does try, but fails, ending up making love instead of saying goodbye. But he is honest with Carla when he returns. She kicks him out. Rai and Bruno escape to Maria's home in the country but Bruno is lost without Carla and it's hurting his relationship with Rai, who decides to make a decision not many people could. He decides to ask Carla to take Bruno back. He loves Bruno but if Bruno is unhappy, then so is Rai. And Carla does take Bruno back, even though Bruno and Rai continue their affair. When things began to get too tense between three of them, Bruno and Rai attempt to mend fences with Carla by fixing up her shelves and having her spend time alone with Rai. She is, at first, reluctant to say the least. But she begins to understand why Bruno is so attracted to Rai, and then she and Rai begin a secret affair, which is discovered by a jealous Bruno. When he understands this is how Carla felt about his own affair, he is able to see the bigger picture and then he and Carla must stop Rai from leaving them both.

I don't know any of the answers to the questions above, but I do agree with Rai, "When you stop taking risks, you die." So take a risks! Fall inlove, maybe even twice at one time. You never know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alvaro Cervantes is seductive and hot!, July 14, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Twenty-three year old actor (now 25) Alvaro Cervantes (playing Rei, pronounced”Ray,” known for “Pollo” in Three Steps Above Heaven) is very much worth the price of admission for this! Those piercing bright light blue eyes, light red beard and chest hair add to his laid-back attitude, seductive grin and intense good looks.

Rai is a homeless (he sleeps in the gym where he teaches karate and gets free food from the father of one of his students) bisexual who, just after performing a dance hip hop routine, sees someone picking the back pocket of “Bruno” (Llorenc Gonzalez, who some say looks like a young Jake Gyllenhaal but really doesn’t). The two become friends and soon Rei attempts to kiss Bruno but he pulls away. Bruno leaves but when he shows up later and wants to talk to Rai about “last night” Rai tells him “it will never happen again” followed by “unless you want it to” as he walks toward his bedroom and takes off his shirt while looking back at Bruno. The camera shows Bruno walking toward the room and then the scene fades into looking at a building (supposedly the one where they are?) has 2 tall buildings behind it that 1 critic equated with being phallic symbols indicating what was happening in the room. I am not sure I want to read that much into this. However, I was wondering why the director openly showed casual full frontal female nudity in the “flop house” scene where Rei and Bruno slept the night after the attempted pick-pocketing but now, failed to show male intimacy at all. As I watched the rest of the film I came to think that maybe it was an attempt to arouse but leave the audience wanting more.

Later, Carla and her girlfriend Marta (Sonia Mendez, “Syrena” from Pirates of the Caribbean:OST) go to meet Bruno at the indoor pool. They see Bruno and Rei leave the pool and enter the shower room. The stupidity of her following Bruno into the male shower room was a dead giveaway as to what she would see. It was a side shot of Bruno’s nude butt in the shower with Rei’s arms going around him and them kissing. As Rei sees her looking he pulls away and Bruno quickly grabs a towel to put around his waist. That is pretty much the first 30 minutes of the film. Then we get tortured with Carla insisting that Bruno never see Rei again if he loves her and Bruno, after just telling her that he can’t stop, promises her that he will. When he tells Rei, who is always quick to agree to all personal requests, they hug and begin kissing. When Bruno returns home and tells Carla that he couldn’t break up with Rei, she tosses him out and then begins her incessant co-dependent whining.

It amazes me how stupid people are in these situations. They immediately force their lover to move in with the person who they cheated with making them even closer than just sex buds. DUH! So, Rei takes Bruno to the country home of his female friend (possibly an ex-lover) Maria (Julieta Marocco) and we see some passionate kissing followed by a simulated (the typical “going down”) oral scene where we see Bruno’s chest while Rei remains clothed. After, when Bruno goes for a walk we finally learn about Rei’s past pattern of behavior as he talks with Maria. We then see his full intentions when he makes a surprise visit to Carla back in town who conveniently gets a cramp while performing Yoga that Rei takes advantage of but she has no part of it.

Later, Rei takes Carla to dinner and tells her all about himself and shows off his dancing and suddenly Carla quickly gets over herself. The 3 of them head for Rei’s place of work where he sleeps after it is closed. All this is honky dory until she sees the 2 men kissing and off she goes again into a jealous whining rage. Bruno often got jealous of her in the past and just lived with it but she seems unable to get past it. Marta tells her to turn the tables by showing up at Rei’s place when Bruno is home alone. Surprise! Rei gets what he wants and now Carla can turn the tables on Bruno. Rei has all the fun but Carla and Bruno get all the anguish. She tells Bruno when she gets home that she slept with someone but does not tell Bruno who and he shrugs it off.

Carla and Rei know they have to tell Bruno but like all the communication so far in this film, they try to hide it. Bruno is not dumb when he sees all the pictures she has been taking of Rei that don’t have Bruno in the picture. She and Bruno conveniently both show up at Rei’s at the same time and Rei and Carla start doing real dumb, stupid stuff like kissing after sending Bruno upstairs to get a bottle of booze and then kissing deeply with Bruno just a few steps away. Bruno catches them (DUH!) and then doubts his relationship with both of them and goes into a temporary funk, repeating what Carla did to him, he drives her right into Rei’s arms again and the later two head up to Maria’s country retreat.

Miraculously, Bruno quickly gets over himself and shows up at Maria’s. While Bruno and Carla are “making up” (more breast shots with half of Bruno’s chest and 1 leg), Maria convinces Rei that he is evil and he takes off to Barcelona (the other city where he can get work). Bruno and Carla go after him on the bike and something terrible happens. Like we couldn’t see that coming! You will have to see the rest of the film for yourself!

I regret leaving this film in my queue for so long! The acting, especially of the 2 male leads, is superb. There are some hand-held camera facing the sun shots that are distracting. The subtitles go by fast because everyone is talking fast but that is not a problem of the movie but the after-production. Keep the remote handy. 5 Stars reduced to 4 because of a somewhat predictable plot, a few real stupid moments and, the director’s Phallophobia. Perhaps it is a Spanish thing but I don’t keep track of such things other than to know male genital nudity in theatrical movies has been around at least since 1969’s “Women In Love.” If you are going to show nudity, then just do it! However, add back 1 star for the director keeping the audience aroused by hiring Alvaro Cervantes to play an extremely seductive and irresistible man!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice bisexual film, October 12, 2013
By 
Go (Palo Alto, CA) - See all my reviews
I'm glad that some decent bisexual films are being made lately. Too often in the past bisexuality has been treated in film as just a one-off or a phase and the man ends up back with his woman or deciding he is in fact gay. Nice to see cinema treating bisexuality as something more, and this film does that. Beautiful actors do a great job acting. Nothing seemed low budget except perhaps for the bobble-head cinematography that I wish directors realized has gotten old already. My only other complaint is that although gay themes were more prominent in the film, the sex scenes were predominantly heterosexual. This is how it's always been done, and I've always hated it. This film is forward-thinking enough that I was surprised it too fell into that old pattern. The two male leads' love story was the most interesting, but their sex scene is truncated whereas the heterosexual scenes go on for a while and have a lot more nudity. There are, however, quite a few intimate scenes with the male leads that are quite erotic and well done. Overall, a very nice film that is a bit different than anything else I've seen. Definitely worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes passion has no boundaries....so true., November 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Angels of Sex (DVD)
Truthfully this could have been 5 stars for me, I will get to the reason for the loss of a star in a moment. Spanish film with English subtitles. (not the reason) The movie is about a couple, very attractive both of them, Bruno and Carla. Bruno is mugged and helped by a handsome man named Rai and Rai likes sex, no matter man or woman, it is the seduction that gets to him, he make a pass at Bruno, Bruno accepts. later they are indiscrete and Carla catches them. Bruno wants both. Carla exacts revenge by seducing Rai and she falls for him too. I don't want to give away the ending but it is the ending that caused the loss of one star. SPOILER ALERT.....nah, I won't tell. Anyway, other than the end, the story was lovely, the performers (even the supporting cast) are terrific. I believed that Bruno loved Carla, I believed that Carla loved Rai, I believed that Bruno loved Rai. Kudos to Alvaro Cervantes, Llorenc Gonzalez and Astrid Berges-frisbey. if you have a problem with the male or female form...not for you, if you have a problem with men together...not for you....it was all very beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars touching, well acted, August 5, 2013
By 
S. Crayton (Las Vegas, NV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Angels of Sex (DVD)
totally unexpected and enjoyable. the city and country settings are wonderful and the storyline is not one that is easily predictable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars .... Great story, August 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Angels of Sex (DVD)
Interesting situation. The movie is in Catalán another language of Spain ... with English subtitles was easy undestand. I recomend the movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A first-rate, world-class gay movie...., May 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's always refreshing and surprising to find a gay-themed movie which is both extraordinarily well acted and well produced. This movie has a very attractive, appealing and talented cast who draw you in and make you feel completely absorbed into their characters; the story-line is well developed and carries you though the entire movie. Additionally, it is visually stunning and has an extremely high standard of cinemaphotography....the music is well-chosen and compliments the quality of the film. I loved it and highly recommend it! One of the best gay movies to come out in many years. I didn't want it to end...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Angels of Sex
Angels of Sex by Xavier Villaverde (DVD - 2013)
$24.98 $16.58
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.