Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent !!
I have heard some of his music, but never owned one of his CD's.. The more I listened to this CD the more obvious became to me that this man is an incredible composer/poet and singer. The arragements and production of this record is impecable; his lyrics are poetic, his vocalization of these Lyrics is beautiful, original AND VERY UNIQUE. Not to mention all the virtuosos...
Published on July 13, 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not one of his best but a wonderful collection of tropical' tunes.
Published 1 month ago by Jeffrey M.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent !!, July 13, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Angelus (Audio CD)
I have heard some of his music, but never owned one of his CD's.. The more I listened to this CD the more obvious became to me that this man is an incredible composer/poet and singer. The arragements and production of this record is impecable; his lyrics are poetic, his vocalization of these Lyrics is beautiful, original AND VERY UNIQUE. Not to mention all the virtuosos that contributed their talents in this music. Bassist Ron Carter, Pianist Herbie Hancock and Guitarist Pat Metheny to name some...This CD is my favorite "Sunny Saturday Morning" CD. It is very GOOD !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, January 9, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Angelus (Audio CD)
This CD is a must-have for any fan of Milton Nascimento. Nascimento's chemistry with jazz greats Wayne Shorter and Herbie Hancock is really sweet. I highly recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's about time!, November 28, 2012
This review is from: Angelus (Audio CD)
This album has been out for 18 years. I bought it in 1995, but it took 17 years for it to hit me how great it really is. I've loved Brazilian music for many years, but because of it's myriad influences, this wouldn't fall into that category easily. The guest artists include Herbie Hancock, Ron Carter, Pat Metheny, James Taylor, and others, not to mention the Beatles (in absentia). An amazing array of colors permeate this 70 minute masterpiece. Particular highlights for me were Veracruz and Southern Cross. Word of advice: if you own it, don't sell it before giving it years to grow in you. Sit still and listen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of two best, May 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Angelus (Audio CD)
One of two best Milton's albums. Do you know Geraes? They are amazing as Clube da Esquina II. But sound more Milton himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars F*&#$*& Bad!!!, May 12, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Angelus (Audio CD)
You will find very interesting sounds in this record. Of course, you really cannot make a bad record when you combine the talents of Mr. Nascimento with that of others', such as: Peter Gabriel, James Taylor, Herbie Hancock, Ron Carter, Wayne Shorter, Etc.
Great album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, October 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Angelus (Audio CD)
Not one of his best but a wonderful collection of tropical' tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barbara Pieno que Milton Nascimento es fantastico!!, June 17, 2002
By 
BARBARA JACOBSON (mINNEAPOLIS MINNESOTA,, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Angelus (Audio CD)
Barbara PIENSO QUE MILTON TIENE UNA VOZ COMO UN ANGEL!
sU VOZ ES TAN PURA QUE EL AGUAA!!
uNA MUJER DE MINNEAPOLIS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, September 13, 2000
By 
Erik Werkman (Utrecht, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Angelus (Audio CD)
I love Milton Nascimento's early work ("Travessia" and "Clube Da Esquina"), but this does not reach that level by far. My main objection is that it does not live up to the promise delivered by the famous names of the participants like Herbie Hancock, Wayne Shorter, Pat Metheny a.o. "Vera Cruz" is OK, but the rest is just too pretentious. Just as a warning to all Brazilian music lovers out there: this is certainly not a must have, apart from die hard Milton fans. I would rather recommend to check out the latest releases by fellow Brazilian Caetano Veloso ("Livro" and "Prenda Minha"), because they are really indispensable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Angelus
Angelus by Milton Nascimento (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.