Best Books of the Month Shop Costumes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums All-New Fire TV Stick with Voice Remote Grocery Introducing Handmade New Kitchen Scale from AmazonBasics Amazon Gift Card Offer redoaks redoaks redoaks  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage UnchartedBundle Shop Now Kids Halloween

Animalize (Remastered Version)

September 1, 1998 | Format: MP3

Song Title
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: April 8, 1994
  • Release Date: September 1, 1998
  • Label: Island Def Jam
  • Copyright: (C) 1998 Kiss Catalog, Ltd.
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 36:02
  • Genres:
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (99 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #58,063 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful By Nightwing's Fan VINE VOICE on April 5, 2007
Format: Audio CD
As a tribute to the former KISS guitarist Mark St. John, I'd like to present a review for this very good KISS album. ANIMALIZE is one of the best hard rock albums from the 80's AND one of the best ones KISS released during the period. I kinda see Animalize as part of the KISS HEAVY 80's trilogy(Creatures of the Night, Lick it up and Animalize). With the departure of original guitarist Ace Frehley, KISS strived to put KISS back together with a revolving door for lead guitarist before finally landing Bruce Kulick (who was with the band for 12 years) after the fueding with Vinnie Vincent and the unfortunate sickness developed by Mark St. John forcing him to leave the band prematurely (Mark had an arthritis disease that would sometimes hinder him to play guitar).

Animalize is just a great album. It was produced by Paul Stanley and has some of his heaviest and best work on it. At the time, to me, it was the closest thing to sort of getting a second Paul Stanley solo album. Paul really poured himself into the album. It was also recorded at a time where Gene was becoming MR. Hollywood while starring in a film with Tom Selleck-leaving Paul to oversee the album and the band! It also features some awesome, thunderous drumming by KISS' late, great drummer ERIC CARR (who also died tragicly from cancer in 1991).

The best song on the album and still a very popular KISS Classic is HEAVEN'S ON FIRE. It also contains the second single THRILLS IN THE NIGHT. Other heavy hitters are UNDER THE GUN and I'VE HAD ENOUGH.

The Gene songs are actually pretty good=Particularly my fav LONELY IS THE HUNTER (Which actually had Bruce Kulick on the track)and the cool BURN BITCH BURN.

The album is just very heavy from start to finish and sounds very sleek to this day.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful By Daniel Ferguson-Maltzman on March 29, 2005
Format: Audio CD
KISS's "Animalize" is not generally regarded to be among one of the band's better offerings, but I happen to be quite fond of it. In the early 80s, KISS went through a revolving door of guitar players. From Ace Frehley, to Vinnie Vincent, to Mark St. John, and finally Bruce Kulick--all in a matter of about three years. This is the lone KISS album to feature lead guitarist Mark St. John, who was sort of like the George Lazerby/John Corabi/Gary Cherone of KISS. Even though the trio of early 80s KISS albums all feature different guitar players (Lick it Up, Animalize, Asylum), a casual listener wouldn't be able to tell. The music did not suffer from a lack of a stable lineup. All three albums sound like a cohesive follow-up to one another.

Even though Vincent was a huge presence and main songwriter on "Lick it Up," "Animalize" still sounds like a natural follow-up. St. John didn't help co-write any of the songs on this CD, but his style and playing is more or less the same as Vincent-- a very flashy 80s shredder--in contrast to the more laid back style of Frehley or Kulick.

Even though this lineup of KISS was short lived, the band sounds as tight as ever. St. John jelled with Stanley, Simmons, and Carr to create a kick-ass 80s metal album. This CD takes off where "Lick it Up" left off, but is slightly heavier. The album opens up strong with Stanley's "I've had Enough" (Into the Fire) and never looses momentum. "Heavens on Fire" (Stanley, Desmond Child) remains one of KISS's best, most memorable songs to date. As others have commented, the Stanley songs are more memorable and better written, but I actually like the Simmons' penned songs as well.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful By Daniel J. Hamlow HALL OF FAME on November 15, 2001
Format: Audio CD
Album #19 from KISS, Animalize, is definitely their heaviest. Neither Creatures Of The Night nor Revenge have anything on this metal master work from a line-up that sadly, only lasted on this album alone.
From the first, Mark St. John's ferocious, no compromise guitar assaults the audial senses with "I've Had Enough (Into The Fire)", and with the first verses sung by Paul Stanley, I knew this was going to be the ne plus ultra of KISS the year I got into them. That was back in 1989, five years before this album was released, and eleven years have not dimmed the vitality of this classic album an iota! It's albums like this that bring to mind the phrase, "metal up your a**".
Just when the listener thinks he/she can take a breath, "Heaven's On Fire" comes on and takes the listener to metal heaven. That epitome of what KISS is about is followed by "Burn Bitch Burn," equally uncompromising, especially as this is Gene Simmons' first song on Animalize. put your log in your fireplace" needs no further interpretation.
"Get All You Can Take" is one of those songs that embodies the KISS philosophy--work hard, so play hard, which they most definitely do. Or did.
Not all the songs have the ferocity of the first three songs. The mid-paced "Lonely Is The Hunter", for example, has a menacing undertone, thanks to Gene's vocals. And "Thrills Of The Night", about the double-life of a woman doing the usual 9-5 routine by day, and who knows what at night, was co-written by Jean Beauvoir, the mohawked African-American rocker who did "Feel The Heat" on the Cobra soundtrack. However, let me say that there is absolutely NO filler on this album. Period.
I will reiterate here that Mark St.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again