Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Evidence
I am 58 years old and changing careers. I am involved in Animal ministry work and social work. I have read over 18 books on animals and the afterlife. This book is among the best. Mary has presented so much Biblical evidence, that it is impossible to believe that God does not take animals to heaven. I challenge anyone to prove otherwise of the scriptures in question...
Published on July 27, 2007 by Gail J. Leavitt

versus
2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A one star review
The author or rather compiler of this little book is a Christian evangelical (and creationist) who believes that animals have souls and individual immortality. She attempts to prove this by the usual evangelical methods: try to squeeze as much as possible from individual Hebrew and Greek words in the Bible, using whatever concordance comes handy.

She doesn't...
Published on April 30, 2011 by Ashtar Command


Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Evidence, July 27, 2007
By 
Gail J. Leavitt (Sebring, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am 58 years old and changing careers. I am involved in Animal ministry work and social work. I have read over 18 books on animals and the afterlife. This book is among the best. Mary has presented so much Biblical evidence, that it is impossible to believe that God does not take animals to heaven. I challenge anyone to prove otherwise of the scriptures in question. Gail Leavitt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting, July 24, 2007
By 
Magic "Marcus" (Birmingham, AL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Animals, Immortal Beings: Evidence of the Immortality of Animals (Paperback)
My name is Chaplain Marcus Allison, an ordained chaplain of pets and even though I haven't finished this fine book I can already say this is the best work I have encountered on evidence and inspiration that God's beloved animals do indeed have souls and go to heaven! Please buy this book for not only yourself but for a hurting world, and to take a stand and proudly proclaim animals have souls!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Saying Good-bye to the pet you love, October 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Helped me logically face my upcoming decision for my 15 year old poodle. Will help me make the right choice for him when his time comes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skeptic, September 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Animals, Immortal Beings: Evidence of the Immortality of Animals (Paperback)
At on the onset I was a skeptic. Animals existing beyond this life? No Way. The Bible is clear that the answer is no. Right? Think again. Now. Well, I am a believer. Great book. Turned my world upside down. Thanks, Thanks, Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars historical review known for centuries, March 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Animals, Immortal Beings: Evidence of the Immortality of Animals (Paperback)
a good writer who researches her bible for the basis of her book. good for pet lovers who are going to heaven
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have suffered loss of pet, December 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Mrs. Buddemeyer-Porter has written a very good tome about the spiritual side of animals. The ethic of the so-called enlightenment era brought forth a 'new' ideation about animals. Thus today many seem to think animals are simply protein-based machines. She brings for scripture, theology and known intellectual and saintly men who think otherwise. A informative and good read for those who have lossed their companion pets. And for those who simply love animals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book helps ease your pain!, November 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Animals, Immortal Beings: Evidence of the Immortality of Animals (Paperback)
If you don't think your little angel is going to heaven, you're wrong! Anybody who has lost a pet and wants to know if they still live should buy this gem. It'll make you feel a real lot better. Our babies live in a glorious, heavenly realm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A one star review, April 30, 2011
This review is from: Animals, Immortal Beings: Evidence of the Immortality of Animals (Paperback)
The author or rather compiler of this little book is a Christian evangelical (and creationist) who believes that animals have souls and individual immortality. She attempts to prove this by the usual evangelical methods: try to squeeze as much as possible from individual Hebrew and Greek words in the Bible, using whatever concordance comes handy.

She doesn't succeed.

There is no evidence that the ancient Hebrews believed in the individual immortality of Fido, Spot or Bunny. And why should there be? The ancient Hebrews arguably didn't even believe in the immortality of humans!

The Pentateuch doesn't seem to mention any kind of immortality at all (except in the case of Enoch), while the First Book of Samuel seems to imply that all human souls go to a place similar in character to the Greek Hades. The first explicit mention of a resurrection doesn't come until the Book of Daniel, a rather late scripture according to modern criticism. The author's take on Ecclestiastes is particularly weak, since this scripture suggests that both humans and animals die and remain dead. Of course, Ecclestiastes could be read as an implicit criticism of such pessimistic views, but at least on this point, it's compatible with the older Hebrew position.

Large portions of this booklet consist of lengthy excerpts from books of others writers, including Martin Luther, John Paul II, John Wesley and John Calvin. The only writer which explicitly says that individual animals dying today will enter the new creation, is John Wesley. Luther is at best agnostic on the issue, while Calvin and John Paul doesn't even discuss it. Please note that the author wants to prove the *individual* mortality of concrete animals alive today, more specifically people's pet dogs or cats. This is a different proposition from the idea that there will be peaceful lions and cute lambs in the millennium, since God might have created these de novo. It's also a different proposition from the idea that animals might have rights, something they could have even if they lack an immortal soul.

In sum, I can only conclude that there isn't Biblical evidence for the author's proposition. Where the idea of pet immortality really comes from, I don't know. Some British churchmen seem to have entertained it, and the idea can also be found in some Spiritualist books. Perhaps the idea as it looks today in the United States doesn't have a clear origin, except in the grief of individual Christian pet owners. Since I'm not a Christian, I couldn't care less whether animal immortality is Biblical or not, but few disinterested observers would consider the Bible to be a "Green" book preaching animal rights.

Even apart from this, "Animals, Immortal Beings" is badly written and edited. I'm sorry, but I have to give it one star...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Animals, Immortal Beings: Evidence of the Immortality of Animals
Animals, Immortal Beings: Evidence of the Immortality of Animals by Mary Buddemeyer-Porter (Paperback - June 6, 2005)
$15.50 $13.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.