Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's Baloney in our Slacks (again)
This is it. The second volume of Speilberg's acclaimed animated series "Animaniacs" featuring an overload of original characters and episodes to keep you laughin' till next week. If you haven't lived during the past decade, that is to say you've never even heard of "Animaniacs", you really don't know what you're missing. By the way, there seems to be a few characters I...
Published on December 28, 2006 by Tim Coogan

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Series already in decline; Bad packaging
I am a great fan of the Animaniacs, but watched them only as reruns, so I had no sense of the episode order. Watching the episodes on DVD, I found that the second season was a noticeable decline from the (brilliant) first season. Plenty of great segments, but enough mediocre/bad segments that you are likely to want to just skip over.

Packaging: Discs 1 and 3...
Published on April 23, 2007 by Douglas B. Moran


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's Baloney in our Slacks (again), December 28, 2006
This review is from: Animaniacs, Vol. 2 (DVD)
This is it. The second volume of Speilberg's acclaimed animated series "Animaniacs" featuring an overload of original characters and episodes to keep you laughin' till next week. If you haven't lived during the past decade, that is to say you've never even heard of "Animaniacs", you really don't know what you're missing. By the way, there seems to be a few characters I seem to have missed from the volume 1 review, which are:

Minerva Mink: Like Hello Nurse, no man - or man-beast - can resist her exquisite beauty, that is unless she meets the guy of her dreams.

Chicken Boo: A six-foot chicken who claims to be a master of disguise, but he really isn't.

Randy Beaman: At times this weird little boy tells the weirdest of stories.

Katie Kaboom: She's your average teenage girl with a not-so-average problem.

Mr. Skullhead: An odd bone-faced fellow who stars in a huge number of shorts entitled "Good Idea, Bad Idea". It wasn't long until he had his very own episode, which is in this volume.

Besides the actual episodes, there are a ton of various other shorts starring the Warner Brothers and the Warner Sister and friends, such as "Dot's Poetry Corner", "The Great Wakkorotti", and, of course, "The Wheel of Morality". There's even a catchy song or two in at least one episode. Hey, this is "Animaniacs", anything can happen in this series.

Such randomness features a plethora of puns and references to actual events and/or stories and movies along with hilarious antics and such like dropping anvils and dynamite down one's pants. Some episodes also have very distinct themes like "Cartoons in Wakko's Body", "Useless Facts", and my favorite, "Animaniacs Stew".

So get your Yakko, Wakko, and Dot on with this new release on a 5-disc DVD set. And don't forget to check out the feature "The Writers Flipped, They Have No Script" where we get to meet the madcap minds behind the stories as they discuss their best episodes of the series. You know, all this excitement is making me geared up for volume three, which I hope is real soon !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars animaniacs vol 2, May 24, 2013
This review is from: Animaniacs, Vol. 2 (DVD)
Disc #1 Testimonials
/Babblin' Bijou
/Potty Emergency
/Sir Yaksalot
You Risk Your Life
/I Got Yer Can
/Jockey for Position

Moby or Not Moby
/Mesozoic Mindy
/The Good, the Boo, and the Ugly/ mindy & button ending creitds

Dra-cul-ee, Dra-cul-aaa
/ Phranken-Runt

Hot, Bothered, and Bedeviled
/ Moon Over Minerva
/Skullhead Bonyhands

Disc #2 O /Silly Mio
/Puttin' on the Blitz
/ Great Wakkorotti: Summer Concert

Chairman of the Bored
Planets Song/Mindy & Buttons intro
Astro-Buttons
Cartoons in Wakko's Body
/Noah's Lark
/The Big Kiss
/Hiccup

Clown and Out
Bubba Bo Bob Brain

Very Special Opening
In the Garden of Mindy
No Place Like Homeless
Katie Ka-Boo
Baghdad Café

Disc #3 Critical Condition
The Three Muska-Warners

Dough Dough Boys
Boot Camping
General Boo-Regard

Spellbound

Smittin With Kittens
Alas Poor Skullhead
White Gloves

Casablanca Opening
Fair Game
The Slapper
Puppet Rulers

Disc #4 Buttermilk, It Makes a Body Bitter
Broadcast Nuisance
Raging Bird

Animator's Alley
Can't Buy a Thrill
Hollywoodchuck

Of Nice and Men
What a Dump
Survey Ladies

Useless Facts
The Senses Song
The World Can Wait
Kiki's Kittens

Mary Tyler Dot Song
Windsor Hassle
And Justice for Slappy

Disc #5 Turkey Jerky
Wild Blue Yonder

Video Review
When Mice Ruled the Earth

Mobster Mash
Lake Titicaca
Icebreakers

Very Special Opening
A Christmas Plotz
Little Drummer Warners

Slippin' on the Ice Song
'Twas the Day Before Christmas
Jingle Boo
The Great Wakkorotti: The Holiday Concert
Toy Shop Terror
Yakko's Universe Song

Special Features
The Writers Flipped, They Have No Script

Trailers
Animaniacs Vol. 2 & Pinky and the Brain Vol. 2
Looney Tunes Golden Collection Vol. 4
Thudercats Season 2, Volume 2
Justice League Unlimited: Season 1

Languages
Spoken Languages: English 5.1
Spoken Languages: English
Subtitles: Français
Subtitles: Español
Subtitles: Off
Web Info
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Volume 2 of the great 90's cartoon series, December 12, 2006
By 
Mark (Mississippi, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Animaniacs, Vol. 2 (DVD)
I probably don't need to go into how great this show was. Others have already done that in their reviews of Volume 1 released back in July. This second volume contains some of my favorite episodes, so I was really thrilled to have them. There are several hours of these great cartoons here for you to discover or (as in my case) re-discover. It seems they don't make shows like this anymore. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's time for Animaniacs, February 22, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Animaniacs, Vol. 2 (DVD)
Fox kids had the best shows ever, Animaniacs being one of them. In my opinion, Steven Spielberg's Tiny Toon Adventures, along with its follow-up show Animaniacs and all the other shows on Fox Kids were the very best animated shows of the early 90s. The Animainacs never failed to make me laugh when I was a kid and they never fail to make me laugh now that I'm an adult. Animaniacs is a show that's made in very good taste - it has really smart humor and nice cultural references, it doesn't have any dirty or obscene material, and as opposed to many modern TV shows, movies and animated films that try to be funny by being dirty, Animaniacs is very funny in a good, clean way. Animaniacs has something for all ages - kids and teenagers will have a lot of fun and will actually learn some life lessons along the way (the show has some 'educational' episodes meant to bring a message to the children), while the adults will appreciate the smart humor and cultural references. And of course, everybody will appreciate the top-quality animation created by some of the greatest animation studios of the day and will love the nicely drawn cute characters, each of which is well thought-out and has his/her own personality, and will adore the fun-packed stories in each of the episodes.

In case you're a fan of good, high-quality classic animation, or if you like animated comedy shows, or if you just like to have fun and if you have a good sense of humor, don't miss Animaniacs! If you got the first volume of the first season, I'm sure you'll adore the second volume too, and if you haven't yet experienced Animaniacs, it might just as well be a good idea to grab both volumes and volume 3 and prepare for a few days of fun and wackiness!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The beginning of the end of boingy, boingy, February 19, 2007
This review is from: Animaniacs, Vol. 2 (DVD)
Volume 2 is good. The series was great. However, this shows all too well what happens when focus groups influence and formulas become rooted. In this volume Pinky & the Brain begin their domination of Animaniac-land. The focus groups had said that the Punch & Judy pair were crowd pleasers and so they started hogging more and more of the screen. In that same vein, Slappy and nephew grow in popularity as they now spend most of their time blowing up things, with the dialog being the true victim of the onslaught. Finally, who the heck thought that the GOOD IDEA/BAD IDEA guy could carry a 5 to 10 minute skit? Still, Wakko, Yakko, and Dot show there mastery of the double and triple entendre and the lesser Animaniacs shine when they are given the screen. My kids (6 & 3) love the slapstick (even if I now cringe at some of the carnage) and the plethora of war episodes (historical note: Gulf War I was going on during this time period) has let me have decent discussions about the current Gulf War with my little boingy boingies. I recommend this collection, but if you can only buy 1 vlume, make it #1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific entertainment worthy of the Spielberg name, April 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Animaniacs, Vol. 2 (DVD)
As hopefully most of the readers know Steven Spielberg had a hand in the production of this terrific series of cartoons. They are easily on par with the best feature films from Dreamworks, Pixar and Disney. The two comparisons that imediately come to mind are Shrek and Antz. In other words while there are lots of slapstick and visual gags, there are even more subtle grown up jokes, innuendos and hidden meanings. For those that understand Spanish, turn on the Spanish subtitles and get even more hilarity from seeing the translators get some things totally wrong.

My favorite episodes are the Animaniacs themselves on stage of various parodies of cinema or literary classics such as "Moby Dick" and "Frankenstein". The writing is brilliant and the voice over actors deliver the lines with gusto.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a Cartoon for both young and old., March 20, 2010
This review is from: Animaniacs, Vol. 2 (DVD)
I love the Animaniacs. I watched them when I was younger and even now I love how clever the humor is. Compared to a lot of cartoons today, the "adult" humor that gets put into Animaniacs is rather clean, but at the same time hilarious. Spongebob has nothing on the Warner Brothers and their sister Dot.

I do suggest looking around before purchasing as I picked up a new copy of Volume 2 for ten bucks. I saw volume three for sixteen. I'd have paid 30 for such epic greatness, but I also enjoy a great deal! No matter where you get your Animaniac fix, you'll definitely want to own at least one of these volumes on DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift for a friend, December 31, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Animaniacs, Vol. 2 (DVD)
When we were younger my best friend and I used to watch this cartoon all the time. I bought it for her a while back as a birthday present and she loved it! She is an elementary teacher and she uses it in her classroom as a special treat when the students have been good and finished all their work. They really like it and she feels comfortable showing it to them because it doesn't have a lot of the violence and fighting that so many other kid cartoons have now. I will probably buy her one of the other volumes for her next birthday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Greats, February 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Animaniacs, Vol. 2 (DVD)
I was thrilled to see that this show has become available on DVD. It is one of the best cartoon shows ever and features many segments/shticks/one-liners that are oft-repeated, even today, years after the show stopped airing on television. Filled with humor appropriate for children but witty enough for adults, it is a great addition to any collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always amazing, April 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Animaniacs, Vol. 2 (DVD)
The Animaniacs are hilarious, and I'm amazed that more people don't know them. The scripts are simply fun--you can tell that the writers were having a blast coming up with these episodes. The highlight of this set is the Christmas episode, which is funny but reverent, and one of our favorite Christmas shows each year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Animaniacs, Vol. 2
Animaniacs, Vol. 2 by Rob Paulsen (DVD - 2007)
$44.98 $30.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.