Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Animaniacs, Vol. 4
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars93
Price:$20.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 13, 2013
I grew up watching "Animaniacs", along with the classic Warner Bros. cartoons that inspired it. I liked the series back then, as well as the other series of the "Silver Age" of Warner Bros. animation helmed by Steven Spielberg. But unlike the classic Looney Tunes, I was never compelled to see EVERY episode. That was until it came out on DVD years later.

Warner Home Video released the first 3 quarters of the series to DVD several years ago, and, viewing it through an adult point of view, I was shocked, enthralled and impressed by the humor that had gone over my head as a kid. Watching the show in chronological order, I noticed that it got better as it went along...the characters were honed, the fully orchestrated music remained brilliant, the voice actors pushed the limit further and further, and the writers didn't just push the envelope, they hit it with a big wooden mallet and dropped an anvil on it. This was a zany, hilarious sketch comedy show for adults that just happened to be animated, and it was cleverly disguised as a "kid's show".

A few years passed, and I figured the final episodes would never again see the light of day on DVD. I figured the hold-up was poor sales, or music rights, or other legal issues. But somehow, the final volume has finally been let out of the water tower. And WOW, these final episodes are MASTERPIECES.

Content-wise, we have the titular characters, the Animaniacs (aka "the Warner Brothers and Warner Sister", Yakko, Wakko, and Dot), picking up where they left off...tormenting people with their mischief. The two lab mice, Pinky and the Brain, still try to take over the world. The hapless dog, Buttons, still protects baby Mindy from danger, only to have everything blamed on him by Mindy's overbearing mother. Aging cartoon star Slappy Squirrel is still a smart ass, and her nephew, Skippy, is still learning. Ralph, the Warner Bros. studio guard, is still an idiot. But we see some refreshing new twists on the formulas here. The Warners heckle explorer Magellan (in a brilliant 3-part harmony musical performance)as well as rip on Rush Limbaugh in the end credits. They borderline molest the shapely "Hello Nurse". They satirize Disney's "Beauty and the Beast". Greek hero Hercules is portrayed as a simpering, whiney crybaby. Pinky meets his mental equal when conversing with Ralph the Guard. Buttons chases Mindy into a graveyard full of zombies. The whole gang does a hysterical parody of the 1990's Latin dance craze "Macarena" (as "Macadamia Nuts".) Slappy and Skippy explore the problem of bullying in a cartoon that is more relevant today than it was then.

I won't give anything else away, because I don't want to spoil anything for you. But I had never seen most of these later episodes, and experiencing them for the first time, at age 29, was a joy. It's also a shame to realize that it's a joy my future children may never have the chance to experience. The very existence of "Animaniacs", sadly, ensured that nothing like it would ever happen again. You can see that happening in these final episodes. The censors and TV executives from Fox and the WB Network pushed creative geniuses like Tom Ruegger, Paul Rugg, Sherri Stoner, Randy Rogel, Rob Paulsen, Maurice LaMarche, Frank Welker, Richard Stone, (and the list goes on) to be more P.C. and more educational. The creators pushed BACK. Sadly, they lost...but before they did, they were able to unleash some of the funniest and smartest cartoon humor ever made.

If you're reading this review, you know the characters, you know the show, you know a little about its history. But you may not have seen a few of these episodes, and if you haven't, be prepared to consider some of them your new favorites, and see how the series went out on a high note.

"Animaniacs" quit (or was forced to quit) while it was ahead...and it was so far ahead that it's still waiting for others to catch up, even 15 years later.

Those are the facts!
11 comment|49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2012
disc 1:

76. Gimme the Works / Buttons in Ows / Hercules Unwound. great

77. This Pun for Hire / Star Truck / Go Fish / Multiplication.Song funny epsoide

78. The Sound of Warners / Yabba Dabba Boo.too funny

79. My Mother the Squirrel / The Party / Oh! Say Can You See / The Twelve Days of Christmas Song my favort

80. Dot's Entertainment / The Girl with the Googily Goop / Gunga Dot

81.Soccer Coach Slappy / Belly Button Blues / Our Final Space Cartoon, We Promise / Valuable Lesson. very funny

82. Wakko's 2-Note Song / Panama Canal / Hello Nurse / The Ballad of Magellan / The Return of the Great Wakkorotti / The Big Wrap Party Tonight. very cool

83.One Flew Over the Cuckoo Clock. good cartoon with the slappy's tree house ending

Disc 2

84. Cutie and the Beast / Boo Happens / Noel with taz in it

85. Jokahontas / Boids on the Hood / Mighty Wakko at the Bat. very funny

86. A Very Very Very Very Special Show / Night of the Living Buttons / Soda Jerk. very funny

87. From Burbank with Love / Anchors A-Warners / When You're Traveling from Nantucket. very good

88. Papers for Pappa / Amazing Gladiators / Pinky and the Ralph. never see it

89. Ten Short Films About Wakko Warner / No Time for Love / The Boo Network.very funny

90. Pitter Patter of Little Feet / Mindy in Wonderland / Ralph's Wedding

91. Moosage in a Bottle/Back in Style / Bones in the Body

Disc 3

92. It / Dot- The Macadamia Nut / Bully for Skippy

93. Cute First (Ask Questions Later) / Acquaintances / Here Comes Attila / Boo Wonder

94. Magic Time / The Brain's Apprentice

95. Hooray for North Hollywood (Part I) song like L.A Dot and it's new year eve

96. Hooray for North Hollywood (Part II)

97. The Carpool / The Sunshine Squirrels

98. The Christmas Tree / Punchline (Part I) / Prom Night / Punchline (Part II) please read this is the last Slappy Squirrel Short

99. Birds on a Wire / The Scoring Session / The Animaniacs Suite. Please read this have a bunch a clip of the animaniacs from (1993) - (1997)
review image review image review image review image review image
66 comments|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2013
This score is not a reflection of the episodes themselves, as I have not watched many episodes to judge. I score based on some troubling audio issues I have found with many of the episodes on this set.

First of all, where the prior three sets have 5.1 surround audio masters, as in five separate channels of sound, the fourth volume is only in stereo sound, AKA only two. This in itself is regrettable, but the problems only escalate.

Episodes 90 through 97 and 99 are all in bare-bones MONOPHONIC audio, as in only ONE channel of sound. Think that's not so bad? Well, not only that, but by examining past VHS copies of these episodes, it seems that some if not all of these mono channels use only one half of the stereo track.

For example, in the episode Macadamia Nut, the audio from the left channel is also used on the right, so that Wakko is on the left and Yakko on the right, you will hardly hear Yakko at all. The correct mixing is used on the VHS copy, which is how this issue was identified.

Therefore, I would advise anyone who has yet to purchase to refrain until the issues are clarified and hopefully resolved.
55 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2013
I was so glad to hear that Warner Bros. was finally releasing the last volume of this amazing show. especially because of the fact that most of the episodes from the final season were some I had never seen before. This volume once again pokes fun at pop culture, elates your senses with classic cartoon comedy and as always has you walking away feeling a little smarter.

Some of the highlights in this volume include 'Wakko At The Bat', 'The Macadamia Nut', 'When You're Traveling from Nantuket to St. Paul' and probably the most heartfelt and surprisingly dramatic 'One Flew Over The Cuckoo Clock'. Of course my personal surprise was the return of Pinky & The Brain in the ingenious 'The Brain's Apprentice' Taking the classic piece from the 1940s Disney classic and making it an Animaniacs' own.

This is a must have for collection completion, but if this is a show that you remember from your youth this may be one of the most important shows out there to purchase and share with the generations that follow us. I plan to show this fantastic show to my children whenever they come. I want them to know the true meaning of quality children's programming and then have them grow up discovering that is it quality for adults as well.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2013
Finally, episodes 75-99 are available to view in their full length and in relatively high quality; no where before were they available and I must say it was worth the wait. If you're a fan and have the other three DVDs such as myself, purchase this one to complete the collection immediately!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2013
I would give this volume five stars for the episodes alone. But I have run into a problem that many others have.

Episodes 90 thru 97 and 99 have a serious audio problem that chops off the right channel and leaves the left in a very tinny center only mix.

In other words the 'Macadamia Nut' and the 'Animaniacs Suite', two of the best musical moments I have enjoyed on the show, you cannot hear in their proper aural brilliance. Plus a few wonderful shorts like 'Bully For Skippy' and 'Back In Style'.

I was hoping this set would make those numbers less rare, but in fact have doubled these song's rarity.

Now for the episodes alone, I would give this set a sure-fire five to ten stars! Animaniacs is just that good, and we should all have the chance to see it's amazing four-part collection of 99 half-hour shows anytime we please.

But Warner Bros. really must fix this problem. I will gladly buy another set if this problem is fixed, just to hear those two pieces of music in the format they were made to be in.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2012
Well here it is, the last volume containing the last episodes of this classic animated TV show!! How appropriate that the artwork is the warner siblings in their tower as if it's about to close up for good. I am really looking forward to this set as I have not seen some of these episodes since they aired on nickelodeon over 10 years ago except this time, the theme song will be intact and dot's last line won't be dubbed from here's the show's namey to nickalaney, it is so awesome that Animaniacs fans will finally be abel to complete their set & hopefully introduce them to a whole new generation of fans as well. It's just a shame that there won't be any bonus features or Wakko's Wish for that matter (although that might get it's own DVD release someday) but all that matters is the finale episodes of this classic TV show will be released and that's special enough.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2014
Purchased this collection for my son (yeah right) It's a show i can sit and watch with him. The best contribution Warner Bros has made to animation since the original Looney Tunes. Some of the familiar participants made it to their own shows (Pinky and the Brain), while others are just found here. The whole cast of crazies Slappy Squirrel, the Good Feathers and Rita and Runt as well as Good Idea/Bad Idea made afternoon cartoons in the 80's fun. The sets are boxed well and closed captioned...packed for safety I would recommend them to anyone who remembers the show (and if you don't you should get them and laugh for the first time now).
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2013
Do you know how long - HOW LONG ?!?! - I've been waiting for this ?! I'd say five or six years tops, but hey, it's better late than never. The groundbreaking animated series "Animaniacs" is now available on a brand-new 3-disc DVD set featuring the last 24 episodes starring the lovable and troublesome trio, the Warner Siblings. If you've just got to know them recently, that's Yakko - the smooth and quick talker, Wakko - his crazy and voracious younger brother, and Dot - their little sister who's obviously cute, and maybe a bit overly dramatic.

Whether they're out on a loan-out for other cartoon studios or starring in their own versions of hit musicals or animated classics, you can bet that the Warner Brothers and the Warner Sister will bring out the funny in every episode. But don't think that the trio could have done it all themselves; they couldn't have done it better without their sensational supporting cast. Yes, the Animaniacs themselves are all funny friends whether they're furry (such as Slappy Squirrel and Rita and Runt), feathered (like Chicken Boo and the Goodfeathers), fat (i.e. The Hip Hippos and Ralph T. Guard), or even flirtatious (case in point, Hello Nurse and Minerva Mink). From bizarre world domination plots from Pinky and the Brain to Buttons the Dog chasing the curious Mindy into strange yet familiar lands, these guys know that they've got their work cut out for them.

So that's the fourth and sadly final DVD volume of the series we've all grown to love. And I suppose the only thing left to put on DVD is the direct-to-VHS movie "Wakko's Wish", which I hope is soon. But here's some great news: the classic series has found a brand-new home on The Hub channel ! (That's like, what, the fourth or fifth network they've been shown on, but still, check your local listings.)

My last word on this series is that the humor is kooky, original, and a pinch suggestive, which is what makes this cartoon quite the award-winning hit. And who knows ? They could make a comeback with a totally all-new series with more spoofs, gags, and the like. So until then, "Good night, everybody !" and "Okay, I love you, bye-bye !"
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2013
The first three volumes of Animaniacs were a joy to watch, however this final fourth volume feels ponderous and slow. These final episodes feel more like children's television, and lack the complexity which made the earlier episodes appeal to children, teens,and adults. Most of the skits feel tired, and worn out.

Despite the issues with most of the volume, there are a few episodes which will remind viewers of the show's earlier genius. These include episodes such as episode #82 a series of musical skits, two parodies poking fun at Disney's 80's-90's films in episodes #84 and #85, episode #92's satire of Federal television regulation, and episode #94's swan-song for Pinky and the Brain. A few other episode stand out, but are not worth listing.

Unfortunately the few great episodes don't hide the problems with the rest. Show highlights such as Slappy Squirrel, Pinky and the Brain, and sometimes even the Warner Brothers seem to be playing second string to less humorous acts such as Mindy and Buttons, Chicken Boo, The Hip Hippos, and Katie Ka-Boom. Other episodes date themselves terribly into the 1990's. The animation quality seems to have been lowered, and many characters often appear off-model, on all to many occasions. This feeling of decreased quality comes to a head while watching the final episode #99; where it soon becomes obvious most of the highlights shown from previous episodes came from the earlier seasons, and not the episodes collected on Volume 4.

To add insult to injury, Warner Brothers has not included any DVD extra's, make this final release feel like a bare bones afterthought; meant to cash in on the series reruns on The Hub.

If you enjoyed the previous 3 volumes, I would recommend getting this one just to finish the collection; however be warned watching this volume feels like a chore. If you are new to Animaniacs, skip this one and go straight to the older volumes instead. The Animaniac's early genius was lost in these latter episodes.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.