Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says it will do, but what is that exactly?
Because of the low price of this software, many people probably buy it thinking it is some simple-minded easy way to make cartoons that even a kid could use. No, that isn't what it is.

What this software does is allow you to take a drawing - of a man or a horse or a worm or a machine - and add "bones" to it. You can then manipulate the bones to manipulate the...
Published on July 15, 2008 by boysinbooks

versus
32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's okay
Well depending on what you are looking to do with it, it's an okay piece of animation software. However there are a few key things to be aware of. First off there is quite a learning curve to this software, and no printed manual comes with it, so I found it to be difficult to learn-relying on tutorial and web manuals isn't my thing). The provided content is very...
Published on October 28, 2007 by D. Thwing


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's okay, October 28, 2007
Well depending on what you are looking to do with it, it's an okay piece of animation software. However there are a few key things to be aware of. First off there is quite a learning curve to this software, and no printed manual comes with it, so I found it to be difficult to learn-relying on tutorial and web manuals isn't my thing). The provided content is very limited despite how the description above sounds. Most of the characters aren't even anime style but more like real primitive toons. The anime figures that do come with the software aren't even produced inside anime studio but are rather Photoshop type objects that are very limited as to what they can and will do for you. Also these don't serve as good examples as to how to even make your own characters. I found the interface confusing and the vector drawing tools to be very limited and of poor quality. It's fun to play with and to learn about animation but producing anything of quality might be more difficult than with other software, even freeware that's out there and available. In my limited opinion it's just written up better than it delivers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says it will do, but what is that exactly?, July 15, 2008
This review is from: Anime Studio Debut 5 [OLD VERSION] (CD-ROM)
Because of the low price of this software, many people probably buy it thinking it is some simple-minded easy way to make cartoons that even a kid could use. No, that isn't what it is.

What this software does is allow you to take a drawing - of a man or a horse or a worm or a machine - and add "bones" to it. You can then manipulate the bones to manipulate the drawing, in effect turning the drawing into a puppet. And because the bones are all connected together, when you move one you move the rest. So if you move the "hand" bone, the arm moves with it. If you move the thigh bone, then the foot follows along. Therefore you can make your puppet man walk just by moving the appropriate bones.

To animate him you could move the bones a little bit for each frame, but this program is more powerful than that. You can create "key frames" where the bones are in extreme positions, for instance full stride in a walk and then perhaps the point where the legs are crossing in the walk, and then the program will "interpolate" the in-between frames for you. You set up 2 or 3 frames of a walk cycle and end up with 12 or 15 thanks to the software. You can define repeating cycles of frames which also saves time.

It is NOT "easy" to use. You have to think about what you are doing. You have to learn how the program works. On-screen tutorials with video clips explain every tool and a complete help manual is always available while the program is running.

Prepare to spend several hours learning how to use it. You will probably find it too difficult to use for any animation longer than a minute or two. You can add sound. You can import your own backgrounds. You can import a video clip and use it as a guide. You can import animations you did previously and build up the complexity. I had a horse pulling a cart across the screen left to right while plants were waving their leaves and a man walking across the screen right to left and it was getting to be too much for me to manage. The more there is on screen then the more complicated it is to manage it all.

One hassle is that you cannot see what some special effects look like until AFTER you render them to a video clip. That's just a limitation of Anime Studio 5 because it's really an introduction to Anime Studio Pro which does render everything in real time. I'm debating now whether to upgrade to Pro, but first I want to investigate Toon Boom and some other programs.

The output of Anime Studio 5 is very clean (because of the vectors) and suitable for animated logos and flash-like cartoon sequences. And it has a lip-synch feature so you could create an animated face for a web page that said "Hello! Come on in!" or whatever. It has a Flash output but I stuck with Quicktime for everything I did. You have complete control over frame rate, image size, and video quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I find this product very worth the money., December 28, 2007
This review is from: Anime Studio Debut 5 [OLD VERSION] (CD-ROM)
The one thing that is not made clear in most reviews of this anime creator is that first: The animation software is for people that have worked with some kind of animation software before or have worked with such products as PhotoShop. And those folks should understand a bit of the basic premise of animation production. This is a software package that is made to introduce folks to a product of modest price (compared to high-end products) that will allow you to do TV production scale animations, and the proof is in the examples at e-Frontier's website. I upgraded to Anime Studio Pro 5.5 because the Anime Studio which I bought at Target (and got a complete and FREE upgrade on the website (with registration) to the 5.5 version of the intro package) did what it was supposed to do... show me what was possible with the software. It works with a couple of really fine Adobe products as well... PhotoShop, Illustrator and Flash CS3 Pro... all of which I personally own. And it works in scripted form as well! You just have to understand some basic levels of programming. No, not everyone will like the application, granted. In my honest opinion you should grab this software at this very reasonable price and USE IT! You won't be sorry! Unless you have or want to spend 3K for Maya 8.5 (which is for commercial high end render-farm studios,) but really for a small desktop shop that isn't as much fun or as easy to use as Anime Studio! For the money that makes this product worth it. I intend to use this product to teach animation courses to beginners in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great choice, July 30, 2007
This review is from: Anime Studio Debut 5 [OLD VERSION] (CD-ROM)
Anime studio 5 is a great way to start creating your own animations, but I highly recommend upgrading to the Pro version if you buy this and decide you like it. Like any media application (Photoshop, Final Cut, 3d Studio, etc) there is a lot to learn and producing quality animations takes time.

The only caveats I can think of are that the mac version still has some bugs (though there are various work arounds, and they are expected to be fixed in the upcoming version 6) and the documentation is less than perfect, but there is an active forum full of experienced animators that will be glad to help you.

To conclude, I would fully recommend Anime Studio to anyone wanting to experiment with animation, but not ready to swing for a more expensive tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars animation for the masses, March 25, 2007
This review is from: Anime Studio Debut 5 [OLD VERSION] (CD-ROM)
I recently purchased the anime studio 5 but not the

pro version, which costs 150 more and gives more functionality.

This is a fully functioning animation software, with lots of

interesting features. I can see no reason that a novice

animator such as I am would not be happy with this software.

I would like to see more energy put into a manual, but you

can scavenge the anime blog/chat site to find answers, or

google other places. With a more robust manual, this would

be 5 stars, not 4. It is really the reason I am reluctant

to upgrade to Pro, because I would want more lessons and

tutorials to go along with the upgrade.

If you have an interest in animating, this is the software

for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok, July 30, 2007
By 
turtle (Minneapolis, MN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Anime Studio Debut 5 [OLD VERSION] (CD-ROM)
The tools work good, but i wanted to import images from my scanner, and when i did, it didn't allow me to color any of it, and would not let me use any of the "easy" bone tools.
It's kind of a waste of time to draw it with a crappy mouse, because it dosen't look good. This is more of a "basics for beginners" program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cool program, but..., July 29, 2007
By 
Kraken (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Anime Studio Debut 5 [OLD VERSION] (CD-ROM)
It's not a very intuive system. You sometime have to struggle for an hour to find why something isn't working. It's not like photoshop, where you can do something cool as soon as you know 10 percent of the program. This one you have to study more thoroughly before you can start doing cool stuff...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wasted my money, February 10, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Anime Studio Debut 5 [OLD VERSION] (CD-ROM)
I had never used an animation package before and did not know enough to avoid this one.
The problem is not that it is hard to learn, it's that it's not worth learning.
The drawing tools are crude and primitive.
I can't see getting anything really good looking out of this package.
What I didn't realize is that the program has no support for converting any files types into a vertor image which could then be animated and this version does not allow any vector import.
So you are stuck with either using this programs lousy drawing tools or "upgrading for $180 and hoping that works better.I was not looking for a "pro" grade setup ,but this is worthless.
Wasted my money on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars In need for a better tutorial, September 6, 2007
This review is from: Anime Studio Debut 5 [OLD VERSION] (CD-ROM)
Anime Studio 5 is a good beginner software for cartoon animation. However, the tutorial and instructions are deficient. They even describe functions that are not available and you will only find out (and stop searching) if your check their website for the FAQ!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars anime studio works, February 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Anime Studio Debut 5 [OLD VERSION] (CD-ROM)
I got this program and it work real well,

this program is not a demo,
its a less expensive version of the full program
and good to invest to learn and make 2 mint
flash cartoons like on the Internet,

when you buy it its yours to keep.

you have to right the code when it ask for it
to open the program or it will work for 30 days
as if it was a demo,

so when you buy it
and if it say the code invalid that only means you
you have to write the code again and
exactly the way its looks on paper
for it to work,

on my 4th try and I figure it out
so don't panic if it say code not valid,
the code do work,

so this in mind you will have no problem
and your animation program will be running
for you to play with in no time,

there is a on line tutorial you head to learn
so you can know how to use your anime studios 5 debut,

then your set to make 2 mint cartoons.

anime studios pro is the next step if
you want to make longer 30 to feather length cartoons,

but that if you want to be a professional animators making flash cartoons,

but the anime studios 5 debut
is the best way to start to learn and make flash cartoons,
for starters or to have fun learning how there made,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Anime Studio Debut 5 [OLD VERSION]
Anime Studio Debut 5 [OLD VERSION] by Smith Micro Software Inc. (Mac OS X, Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / XP)
$49.99 $7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.