Customer Reviews


350 Reviews
5 star:
 (275)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Equally as charming as the first one
"Anne of Avonlea" is a brilliant companion to the original "Anne of Green Gables." This sequel combines the next THREE novels in the series --- "Anne of Avonlea," "Anne of the Island," and "Anne of Windy Poplars." Several characters are combined to make ONE specific character, but the story still remains very much Anne's story.

Now a little older, having...
Published on August 10, 2005 by Laura Bellamy

versus
306 of 317 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie; Sullivan Entertainment can't do quality DVDs!!!
First of all, "Anne of Green Gables-- The Sequel" is merely the Canadian name for "Anne of Avonlea", as it was renamed in the States. I see a lot of reviews here which slam the third movie, but that was "Anne of Green Gables-- The Continuing Story". I won't argue with this slammage, but the Amazon DVD offering at issue here seems, by the title and the photo, to be "Anne...
Published on January 24, 2002 by Archibald Baal


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

306 of 317 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie; Sullivan Entertainment can't do quality DVDs!!!, January 24, 2002
By 
Archibald Baal "archibael" (Chandler, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
First of all, "Anne of Green Gables-- The Sequel" is merely the Canadian name for "Anne of Avonlea", as it was renamed in the States. I see a lot of reviews here which slam the third movie, but that was "Anne of Green Gables-- The Continuing Story". I won't argue with this slammage, but the Amazon DVD offering at issue here seems, by the title and the photo, to be "Anne of Avonlea/Anne of Green Gables-- The Sequel". So on to my review:
I think this movie is a gem; quiet intensity and charm. You can read a million reviews of that aspect here: I'm concentrating on the disc quality, since no one else seems to.
First of all: this disc is a "flipper" (you have to flip the DVD over in the middle of the movie), but people accustomed to changing tapes in the middle of the show on the old VHS version aren't going to whine that much when they have to do the DVD equivalent. I know I didn't.
That said, the picture quality is the worst I've ever seen. Yes, the *worst*. Worse even than when Sullivan put the original miniseries out on DVD. The transfer is exceptionally grainy, and the opening credit montage, with seaside vistas of shoreline and ocean, has horrible compression-artifact induced pixellation: there are hideous globs of blocky-looking areas in the ocean, in the rock, even on Megan Follows' face. It is sad that a beautiful picture like this has been marred by such an unprofessional transfer.
My advice is not to buy this disc. Sullivan Entertainment fooled me once when they sold me the first version of Anne of Green Gables "Digitally Restored" on DVD and it looked awful. Shame on them. They fooled me twice when they put out a "Collectors Edition", and I assumed that they were so embarrassed by the look of the original that surely they *must* have remastered it. Shame on me. They fooled me a third time with Anne of Green Gables: The Sequel, which is supposedly "Digitally Restored", too, but honestly looks more like an MPEG-1 VCD than a DVD. And all three releases are for the ridiculous price ...to us Stateside fools.
I was a trusting fool. Don't be fooled like I was. Keep your VHS tapes, no matter how worn. Avoid this release like the bubonic plague, and hope that a video distributor like Buena Vista with *some* standards for quality gets the rights to this film, and is able to do it right. I am very disappointed, and Sullivan Entertainment will *never* again get any more of my cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Equally as charming as the first one, August 10, 2005
By 
Laura Bellamy (Greensboro, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Anne of Avonlea" is a brilliant companion to the original "Anne of Green Gables." This sequel combines the next THREE novels in the series --- "Anne of Avonlea," "Anne of the Island," and "Anne of Windy Poplars." Several characters are combined to make ONE specific character, but the story still remains very much Anne's story.

Now a little older, having taught at the public school in Avonlea for a while, Anne decides to try her hand at teaching at a private school in Kingsport --- a wealthy town mainly run by a particular set, the Pringles. It's a new and daunting experience --- especially considering that she can't seem to win over the students or the school board --- but her stubbornnes won't allow her to give up, and she charges forward with her usual determination.

There are several new characters, but we still have appearances by the old ones. We meet Morgan Harris, his intelligent daughter Emmeline, his mother and his sister, and of course we meet countless girls who go to Kingsport Ladies College. But Rachel Lynde and Marilla Cuthbert are still around, Diana Barry remains a wonderful friend, and of course there is the wonderful Gilbert Blythe --- more in love with Anne than ever.

This is one of the best sequels I have ever seen, it fits perfectly with the original movie and does a decent job of remaining as faithful as possible to the books, in spite of everything that was altered. I love this movie. To this day, my family occasionally has "Anne Weekends," in which we watch "Anne of Green Gables" one night and "Anne of Avonlea" the next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I know you already own this, but you want the commentary, October 2, 2003
By 
The original mini-series of "Anne of Green Gables" ended with Anne (Megan Follows) on speaking terms with Gilbert (Jonathan Crombie), but still the only person in Avonlea who does not know that the two of them are meant to live happily ever after. "Anne of Green Gables" is adapted by writer-director Kevin Sullivan from the second, third, and fourth novels in the series, drawing primarily on the last one, "Anne of Windy Poplars" for her experiences teaching at a girl's school. There is also a major subplot regarding a rich widower who seems to offer Anne everything she has ever wanted that is largely Sullivan's creation; Morgan Harris (Frank Converse) is much older than Anne's other beau in the series. The important thing is that he keeps the ending of "Anne of the Island."
I am sure most of you love all of the Anne books and the first two films, which means the issue is why you should also pick up the DVD versions. The answer is simply the director's commentary. There are a few missing scenes, several of which are alternative takes, and some behinds the scenes still photographs, but the chief charm here is listening to director Kevin Sullivan talk to the film's editor about the production (she does not have much to say; I think she was there to give Sullivan a real person to talk to during the almost four hour film). From this commentary you will learn where many of the scenes were shot on PEI but mostly around Toronto (we tracked down several of them on the journey home from PEI, including THE BRIDGE), what he took (and why) from the three Lucy Maud Montgomery novels this film was based on, Dame Wendy Hiller's accident that almost made her quit the film and the scene she insisted Sullivan shoot for her, and loads of other fascinating little details about the production and the performances.
This is certainly an above average commentary track and fans of the film will not be disappointed. It would be nice if the DVD features closed-captioning, which I like to turn on while doing the director's commentary, but despite this rather odd omission, I think fans will enjoy this addition to their collection. Besides, it is not like we have not already pretty much memorized the entire show. Final Note: If you watch the opening scene of "Anne of of Green Gables: The Sequel" or whatever it is being called this time around) you will see Anne Shirley bicycle by Dalvay by the Sea, the "White Sands" hotel from the "Avonlea" series. I mention this because I stayed at the hotel for a couple of days at the start of my honeymoon on PEI, where I picked up both of the "Anne" DVDs after seeing the musical version of "Anne of Green Gables" in Charlottetown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Movie confusion, April 25, 2002
By 
First off, I did enjoy this movie. It veers from the books much more than Anne of Green Gables did, but it was still enjoyable. However, Anne of Green Gables-the Sequel is not the third installment, as the reviews on here indicate, it is the second; on VHS it was titled Anne of Avonlea. This movie covers the period when Anne leaves Prince Edward Island to teach school and ends with her and Gilbert finally getting engaged. The heinous third installment, when everyone enters the twilight zone and time-warps to WW1, is titled Anne of Green Gables-the Continuing Story. (I don't recommend it--can you tell?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anne of Avonlea, September 23, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
"Anne of Green Gables - The Sequel" DVD contains the series known on VHS as "Anne of Avonlea."
Here, we seen many changes in Avonlea. Diana Barry is getting married and Gilbert Blythe leaves for medical school. Anne also leaves Prince Edward Island to teach at a girls school. Here, she meets the combatative Pringle clan and the dashing Morgan Harris. Being Anne, she is soon in the thick of mischief and intrigue leading a life of poetry and romance. All the while charming tears from stones with her honesty and pluck.
The cast does it's usual excellent job and "Anne of Green Gables - The Sequel" is every bit the equal to the original "Anne of Green Gables." The scenery is plush, and the dialog is full of wit and wisdom.
The DVD itself is not of superior quality, but it is no worse than a VHS tape (minus one star for DVD quality). I did not find my enjoyment of the story to be affected in anyway. It is nice to have the entire series on a single DVD. This series is a classic to be handed down and enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The story continues, January 28, 2001
By 
Byron Kolln (the corner where Broadway meets Hollywood) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Anne of Avonlea [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Megan Follows and Colleen Dewhurst star in the inevitable follow-up to ANNE OF GREEN GABLES - ANNE OF AVONLEA (aka ANNE OF GREEN GABLES THE SEQUEL in Aust. and the UK).
Anne decides to spread her wings and leave Avonlea, and takes a teaching position at the Ladies College at Kingsport. There she comes under scrutiny from the town's oldest family - the formidable Pringles.
Having left Gilbert (Jonathan Crombie) in the lurch at Diana Barry's (Schuyler Grant) wedding to Fred Wright, she begins to realise her true feelings for him, and decides she will accept his proposal.
After her husband's death, Rachel Lynde (Patricia Hamilton) moves in with Marilla, and Anne is shocked at the news that Gilbert has contracted scarlet fever....
A rare case of the sequel matching the original, this new mini series is as delightful as the first.
As of this review's writing, the third installment in the series has been made, ANNE OF GREEN GABLES - THE CONTINUING STORY tells of Anne and Gilbert in the first World War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent sequel!, December 26, 2001
By 
This review is from: Anne of Avonlea [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is a wonderful sequel to the film "Anne of Green Gables". In this movie Anne Shirley has graduated from college and is now a schoolteacher in Avonlea. She's still the same independent and strong-minded Anne we have come to know and love. She's older and more mature now and faces new obstacles that include dealing with extremely difficult and arrogant people, her struggles to become a writer and the adjustments she has to make to a new teaching position at a prestigious girl's college. As we witness Anne's travails in life and love, we can clearly see that despite these obstacles, she will survive because she is a resilient, independent and resourceful young woman who should be admired for her strong character and good nature. This is a wonderful follow up that will be fun for the entire family! Megan Follows is unforgettable in her role as Anne Shirley, she is a truly gifted actress that makes the character of Anne come to life in a way we will always remember. Colleen Dewhurst is superb as always as the stern but loving Marilla Cuthbert. With a great script, excellent performances by the lead and supporting casts, and a beautiful, picturesque setting, Anne of Avonlea is a true classic! Highly recommended. Also recommended is of course, "Anne of Green Gables".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anne, The Sequel, June 1, 2003
By 
K. Morgan (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anne Of Green Gables - The Sequel (DVD)
Anne, the Sequel, is a great movie. It has the same characters as in the first movie with some new ones added in. The actors all do a great job, especially Megan Follows and Jonathan Crombie, in making their characters come to life. The chemistry between Megan Follows and Jonathan Crombie is great. It is so fun to watch these two bring their characters to life. You almost forget they are anybody but Anne and Gilbert.
The setting for the movie is great also. There are so many pretty places shown in this movie. It is worth watching the movie just to see the settings!
As previous reviewers have stated, the movie does not follow along with the books. This is to be expected however. Not many movies follow the book. (Even though the first movie did stay relatively close the the book).
It is so great that there are movies out there to watch that don't have violence or bad language in them. This is a movie for the family to watch. It is a movie that displays values and morals. This is a feel good movie to be watched over and over. A must-have for anyone's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The movie was magnificent, August 7, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Anne of Avonlea [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Growing up as a child, I have watched this movie, with my grandmother, over and over again, along with Anne of Green Gables. Normally you can't find a sequel that lived up to the first movie, but this one broke that barrier. It lived up to every imagination that you came across in the first one. It made me laugh and cry time and time again. I recommend it to everyone. The acting was beautiful, along with the setting. The movies didn't follow the books to the tee but they were written perfectly all the same. I have watched these movies since i was little and now that I'm fifteen I'm finally going to buy them. I just got the books for Christmas last year. The third movie (Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story) just aired on PBS the last two weeks, and it was great too. It didn't follow the book at all, but i wouldn't have changed a thing. It's too bad that Colleen Dewhurst didn't live to be in the last one, she would have done a great performance. They were all great.
For anyone who loves to laugh, cry and be inspired these movies are definitely for you. (Young or Old)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the 2nd Movie and it is A+, November 25, 2003
I see some people honestly made the mistake that this is the third movie it is not, it is the second movie. Please dont mistake this for a bad movie. If you loved the first Anne movie you will love this second one just as much. Megan Follows is the perfect Anne and she captured the character in everyway. Although this movie does differ in some aspects from the book(s) it is just as wonderful. You will love how Anne goes to Queens College, becomes a teacher, and how Anne finally realised Gilbert is the one for her. The other characters of Gilbert, Marilla, Mathew, Rachel and Diana are equally as wonderful and as endearing as Anne! This is the perfect family movie. My daughter loves it and so does my husband. It is a classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Anne Of Green Gables - The Sequel
Anne Of Green Gables - The Sequel by Kevin Sullivan (DVD - 2004)
$27.98 $16.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.