Customer Reviews


490 Reviews
5 star:
 (294)
4 star:
 (79)
3 star:
 (38)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (51)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


93 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Annie Hall has truly stood the test of time. And I loved it
I have a confession to make.

Until now, I've never seen a Woody Allen movie.

Boy, I sure was a "miss out".

Annie Hall, made in 1977, is a classic. Why, oh why, did I wait so long?

First of all it's a story, and a very funny story at that, about a New York Jewish comedian, played by Woody Allen and his WASP girlfriend, played by...
Published on May 14, 2004 by Linda Linguvic

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Relational Angst at its Funniest
The first thing that grabbed me about this film was the interaction with the viewer. When Woody Allen starts the film by illustrating its themes directly to the audience with a couple of jokes, I realized that this was not an ordinary romantic comedy. Furthermore, there are a number of scenes where the line between screen reality and fantasy are fantastically blurred...
Published on April 22, 2004 by Jacob Reidt


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

93 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Annie Hall has truly stood the test of time. And I loved it, May 14, 2004
This review is from: Annie Hall (DVD)
I have a confession to make.

Until now, I've never seen a Woody Allen movie.

Boy, I sure was a "miss out".

Annie Hall, made in 1977, is a classic. Why, oh why, did I wait so long?

First of all it's a story, and a very funny story at that, about a New York Jewish comedian, played by Woody Allen and his WASP girlfriend, played by Diane Keaton. It pokes fun at many social mores that we take for granted and I found myself laughing throughout. There's the New Yorker who never learns to drive, the mid-westerner who orders a pastrami sandwich on white bread with mayonnaise (which seems almost grotesque to a New Yorker like me), the pretentious movie critic, the neuroses of modern romances, and the differences between the New York and Los Angeles way of life.

The film runs along at such a fast pace that there is almost no time at all between funny moments. And, to make it even better, there are some wonderful film techniques. For example, while Diane Keaton and Woody Allen are talking about photography, there are subtitles on the screen about the physical relationship that they are really thinking about.

If the film were made today the phone calls would have been made on cell phones. But surprisingly, that is the only detail that might be changed. Annie Hall has really truly stood the test of time. And I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quintessential Woody., July 10, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Annie Hall (DVD)
*Annie Hall* is a movie that a critic could love. Its hero, Alvy Singer (Allen), though apparently a professional comedian, is really more of a 24-hour, 7-days-a-week critic of everything he encounters: the Seventies drug culture, pretentious loudmouths, Los Angeles, WASPs from the Midwest, anti-Semites, Bob Dylan, aging hippies, and -- most important for getting on film critics' good side -- himself. (The constant cinematic references, such as *Snow White*, Fellini, Bergman, *The Sorrow and the Pity*, et al., also endear Allen to the critics . . . and to the overall movie-lover, as well.) In and around all this, the film tells the story of a mismatched relationship between neurotic, intellectual New Yorker Alvy and Wisconsin transplant Annie Hall (Diane Keaton, in an excellent performance). The details of the relationship are delineated with aching realism: the tentative getting-to-know-you stage, the petulant break-ups, the warm making-ups, the mundanities (like getting rid of spiders in bathtubs), the arguments, the hilarious private moments that can't be repeated with anyone else (like their attempt to cook some lobsters), the boredom, and finally the wearing-out of the whole thing. This is all superbly done . . . but even better are Allen's incessant, razor-sharp wisecracks that put the America of 1977 firmly in its self-obsessed place. For instance, his take on the Studio 54 culture that was happening in New York is summed up in a sneeze . . . that blows thousands of dollars of cocaine airily away. The West Coast nonsense is perhaps best captured in the snapshot scene of Jeff Goldblum on the phone: "I forgot my mantra." And Allen's jokes about turning right at a red light in California, and masturbation being sex with someone he loves, have permanently entered our language. Instead of dating the film, these observations make it more of a humorous time-capsule full of the detritus of a silly era. The restlessly inventive narrative structure that uses split-screen, flashbacks, scenes that have one character as both child and adult at the same time, even animation, is gravy on your mashed potatoes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continually rewarding, ever funny, rich and warm. Buy It!, April 25, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Annie Hall (DVD)
`Annie Hall', directed by Woody Allen and written by Allen and Marshall Brickman is eminently rewatchable, which is the one quality that makes it an excellent DVD purchase. I have seen this movie at least a half dozen times, and I am still discovering interesting things in the film. What makes this so odd to me is that the first time I saw it, after having seen `Manhattan', I really did not think it was as good as the later film.

My initially low opinion of the movie was primarily due to the numerous cinematic gimmicks harking back to his earlier, plainly less thoughtful movies. These include flashbacks to dopey teachers and classmates, almost as a parody of Jean Shepherd; subtitles showing what the characters are really thinking of one another during a conversation; a cartoon segment where Allen and the Tony Roberts character appear with the wicked witch from Snow White; speeches to the audience; and the most famous, a surprise appearance by Marshall McCluhan in a movie theatre lobby to refute a college instructor pontificating about McCluhan's ideas.

The single most famous scene from the movie is the encounter between Allen's character, Alvy Singer and Annie Hall, played brilliantly by Diane Keaton, after their tennis match with Annie dressed in her classic layered look with vest, men's tie, and balloonish trousers. The great sound bite from this encounter is the Annie Hall exclamation `La Di Dah, La Di Dah, Dah Dah...' and Singer's reaction wondering how he could be interested in anyone making such silly exclamations. From this one scene came a whole late 1970's fashion trend, the `Annie Hall' look of layered, mannish clothes. This scene also sets the stage for my latest insight into the movie, which is the progression of Annie, with a lot of help from Alvy, from an unserious girl with a decent singing voice to a serious woman with a few good ideas and a connection to a serious Hollywood music personality, played convincingly by Paul Simon with an eye to having her performances commercially recorded.

While so much can be said of the loves, frustrations, and disappointments of Alvy Singer, the movie is, after all, named `Annie Hall', not `Alvy Singer'. Not to say that this incarnation of the Woody Allen fictional persona is not central to the story. In the story of Alvy Singer that frames our encounter with Annie, there are encounters with two early marriages to characters played by Carol Kane and Janet Margolin, plus less than exciting romantic encounters with Shelley Duvall. The Allen talent for pulling in major actors and future major actors for brief appearances is in full bloom. There are excellent little parts for Colleen Dewhurst and Christopher Walken. There are even smaller parts for surprise appearances by Jeff Goldblum, Sigourney Weaver, and Beverly De'Angelis. Just as Allen is playing his usual, highly autobiographical character, male costar Tony Roberts plays the typically untroubled successful male who is constantly on the make for something or other, whether it be a business deal of a romantic laision. (It just occurred to me that it is logical that Roberts did not play the male costar in `Manhattan', as the Michael Murphy character simply did not fit the typical Tony Roberts character as it appears in `Play It Again, Sam', `A Midsummer's Night Sex Comedy', and `Annie Hall'.

While I have not reviewed all of Allen's later movies, I will venture the opinion that not only is `Annie Hall' better than all the films which precede it, it is as good or better than his best later movies (such as `Hannah and Her Sisters', `Crimes and Misdemeanors', and `Husbands and Wives'), if only because it is so effective a mix of both character study and humor. Some of Allen's jokes from this movie are some of his best known. In fact, I get the same sense watching this movie as I do when I see `Hamlet'. So many lines sound like clichés because they have been so widely quoted.

There are a lot of things which could be said about this movie which are really about themes which run through almost all of Allen's films such as doting on sexuality, phony intellectuality, love of Manhattan, and death. One clever riff on death is when Annie is moving into Alvy's apartment, Alvy discovers a book of Sylvia Plath's poems, which contradicts Hall's later statement when she is moving out that all the books about death were given to her by Singer. (Plath was a famously depressive poet who committed suicide in mid-career).

Allen's movie DVDs are uniformly free of fancy extras such as commentary tracks and `Making of' documentaries, and this is no exception. At the risk of repeating myself, I will say that the singular attraction of Allen's body of work in general and `Annie Hall' in particular is its rewatchability. As unrealistic as the many cinematic gimmicks are, the characters are intensely real. They are people with which we can sincerely associate. Try that with your usual Ben Stiller character.

Highly recommended classic among both Allen movies and all movies in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An all time great, now finally on blu-ray, June 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Annie Hall (DVD)
Just to add my voice to the choir: Quite simply one of the best films
about romantic relationships ever made. Brilliantly written.
Brilliantly acted -- Diane Keaton is tremendous, the supporting cast is
full of gems and Allen himself takes the leap to present himself as a
real (if funny) human being and not a walking joke. And brilliantly
photographed by the great Gordon Willis of 'The Godfather' and many of
most important films of the 70s and 80s.

Wildly funny and ultimately heartbreaking. It's hard to imagine anyone
who has ever been in love, or struggled through grown-up relationships
NOT identifying with a lot of this film. I loved it in my late teens
when it first came out, and I love it even more 32 years later. Every
time I see it I notice different details, depending on my own current
life experiences. A film of enormous wit, humor, invention, and
understanding of the human heart. Its completely unique, playful and
idiosyncratic in style and approach, but that experimentation somehow
only makes it more accessible and universal. If you haven't seen it,
you owe yourself a try, even if you're not a Woody Allen 'fan'. And if
you saw it long ago, it may be time for another look.

For some insane reason, the US DVD is not enhanced for 16x9 TVs,
whereas the UK disc is, so if you have a region free player, and don't
want the blu-ray for some reason I recommend getting a copy of that.

But the blu-ray is a very nicely done step up (especially over the
non anamorphic US DVD). Is this a reference quality disc that
will blow you away? No. But the gains in depth, clarity, richness
give the film more immediacy, and certainly make the blu-ray
worthwhile if you love the film. (Of course, as always with Woody
there are no extras. Sigh...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love and loss in Manhattan., November 22, 2001
This review is from: Annie Hall (DVD)
'Annie Hall' has been called the first modern romantic comedy, but it is actually the ultimate anti-romantic comedy. Where the movement of the classic rom-com is the union of two mismatched lovers, the kiss, marriage - a forward movement which is' in effect' sexual sublimation - 'Annie Hall' begins with its romance's break-up, and proceeds with a vignette narrative structure, in which time and space are fragmented: far from gathering any momentum, the film, with is modest highs and lows, kind of peters out, just like romance in real-life.
'Annie Hall' is, as everyone knows, the first truly great Woody Allen movie. All the cherishable elements from his previous films are here - the nervy wisecracks (which, far from containing life's anguish, seem to helplessly acknowledge the impossibility of ever doing so); the visual and narrative trickery; the flippant allusions etc. - but are given depth and feeling by the focus on character. The opening monologue sets the tone - Alvy's stand-up routine (an address to the public) as confession (private): this is a relationship constantly being pushed into social situations (family, parties, night classes etc.).
The movements through time and space, the documentary feel for real locations, the recognition of the emotional import of seemingly trivial events, all combine to create a complex picture of people alive and in love in a particular place and time. In the case of Alvy especially, these elements serve to reveal the character his joking is at pains to deflect.
The film is the closest American film every came to the spontaneity of the French New Wave, without being cripplingly self-conscious about it - the inventive chopping between visual registers and narrative moods; the romanticising of city life; the seemingly casual, but crucial and resonant, allusions to films, books, music etc.; the satire of cultural pretensions; above all, the very modern, elusive relationship at its centre - all creating a film as fresh, funny and poignant as the day it was made, one done a great disservice by its sappy imitators. Diane Keaton has rarely been more enchanting, the fluidity between herself and her character so evident, she seems to be laughing with us at the film she's in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Because we need the eggs, July 2, 2004
By 
This review is from: Annie Hall (DVD)
Ok, let me get this one thing out of the way: when I was 12, Annie Hall beat Star Wars for the Best Picture Academy Award, and I was not a happy kid. However, time can do funny things...
I first saw this picture a few years later, with my first real girlfriend (hi, Lisa!) on the revival circuit. I found it witty and intelligent, as I have with most of Woody Allen's films. I have to say that, to my 16-year-old mind, it still didn't make a huge impression. Twenty years and a failed marriage later, however, I think I can honestly say that I now get it.
Annie Hall is, to me, Woody Allen's greatest triumph as a filmmaker and a storyteller. It's a bittersweet, often hilarious recounting of a relationship from its start to its inevitable end. We see Allen at his most honest, at times brutal examination of himself and his destructive approach to relationships as he plays Alvy Singer, a funny, neurotic comedian (not a great stretch for Woody, granted). All the angst, the neuroses, and manic phobias that at first seem so idiosyncratic and charming, eventually become tiring and sad. Here is a man who is so attached to his psychoses that he would be an empty shell without them, and we see the painful fact of this in his reflections of previous relationships and marriages throughout the course of his adult life. Ultimately, this is a character so galvanized by his fears and phobias that he is simply incapable of managing a complex adult relationship, one free of paranoia and anxiety and this is his tragic downfall. In short, he is a small child trapped in the body of a small man.
This is not, however, one of Allen's Bergmanesque forays into introspection. The knee-slapping hilarity of many of the scenes help draw us into his world and the relationship he has with Annie (Diane Keaton, marvelous as always), his friends, his family, and the world around him. A particular favorite is when, on their first meeting, Alvy and Annie exchange basic getting-to-know-you small talk, and their hidden meanings and anxieties are shown to us in subtitles. Other scenes involving a movie-line blowhard, a lost mantra, and Annie's decidedly white-bread family are the stuff of legend, and they never fail to bring a smile to my face.
Though this film is nearing thirty-years old, it shows no sign of aging. The themes are familiar and universal; who hasn't fallen desperately in love, only to feel the painful tentacles of fear come creeping in the moment they've opened their heart for all the world to see? This film will never lose its place in my heart as one of the best films I've ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Can I ask you? Is this a sandwich?", June 18, 2004
By 
S. Johnson "xerxes" (Portland, OR United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Annie Hall (DVD)
Woody Allen is definitely a "love him or hate him" kind of guy. If you hate him, then you're probably not even reading this. For those who like/love him, there is little disagreement that Annie Hall is his Crown Jewel. For those that don't know much about him or his work, this movie is a wonderful place to start.
Although it's a bit difficult to see what Annie sees in Alvy (though this adds to the charm), Keaton's Annie is absolutely adorable in her awkward self-consciousness. Fantasy, nostalgia, tenderness, and some of the funniest dialogue in movie history make this one of the best movies ever.
I've seen it several times now (I own it), and I love it more with each viewing. My highest recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forever entertaining, October 13, 2003
This review is from: Annie Hall (DVD)
Woody Allen's professional integrity has held fast for over a quarter century. Commercial concerns have never deterred the artist from pushing through on a particular idea or project. It is well known that over the many years of filmmaking, he created an insular production company and connected himself to people (producers) who would accept any film proposal on face value - sometimes merely on the bases of one telephone conversation. In some cases, Allen's films were great successes, 'Hannah and Her Sisters' and 'Crimes and Misdemeanours', but sometimes his ideas didn't pan out and the picture lost money. Woody Allen is often quoted as saying, "If I don't like something, it doesn't matter how many awards it's won. It's important to keep your own criteria and not defer to the trends of the marketplace." (Allen never attended the Oscars during the 70's 80' and 90's because his band performed in New York on Monday nights.) When ~Annie Hall~ opened in the late seventies, the studio was nervous. In fact they didn't know what to make of this strange picture, but decided to take a chance anyway. ~Annie~ turned out to be a commercial and critical success, which also launched Diane Keaton as a major Hollywood star.
This is not just a good film but a great film. Every scene has at least three to four gags that seem to never grow stale. When Alvie Singer (Woody Allen) meets Annie for the first time, she's obviously quite nervous and fills the pregnant silences with "La ti da, la ti da..." He says, "I'm dating a woman who says, "La ti da". This reminded me of Seinfeld's famous, "Yada yada yada..." Allen's wit runs hot and fast in this film and one has to pay close attention to catch all the great lines. One of my favourites is a short conversation about the media that Alvie has with his ex wife, Robin:
Robin: "I'm so tired of spending evenings making fake insights with people who work for Dysentery."
"Commentary"
Alvie: 'Oh really? I heard that Commentary and Dissent merged and formed
Dysentery."
In comedies particularly, the chemistry between the actors is essential for the joke and scene to work. The chemistry between Keaton and Allen has now become legendary. In the hilarious "Lobster" scene, you can tell they really like each other and have a lot of fun, on and off screen. They were of course once a couple, but they continue to be great friends and attribute their professional and creative successes to each other. One can see this relationship blossoming in ~Annie Hall~.
This film really launched Allen into the mainstream, however, because he never makes films for the popular marketplace, he moves in and out of the general public eye. This is the classic Woody Allen picture and one of his better films, that should be a part of every film lover's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How could he have mis-read those signs?, April 23, 2002
By 
Steven Cain (Temporal Quantum Pocket) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Annie Hall [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A true work of genius. Even by Allen's own standards, this movie is a classic. So few films have Maximum Initial Impact, in that they fail to deliver maximum enjoyment on one's first viewing.
While Annie Hall certainly bears considerable repeated viewing, it is simply stunning first time through. Apart from the brilliant dialogue and character depth, it contains so many all-too-human touches. I loved the part on the first date when he asks Annie if he can kiss her before they start, just to take away the tension of will-they won't-they kiss, so that they may more easily relax and enjoy their first time out.
As a fairly linear romantic comedy, it is unsurpassed, yet there are also many surrealistic elements which give it a quality that one usually associates with European movies.
Woody Allen shoehorned so many brilliant and original ideas into Annie Hall that it is staggering to recall that they were all from the same movie. Everything from the Jew-hating grandmother to the kids in his class telling the camera what they ended up as in adult life, serve to keep you off balance, so that you never slide into a "well I can see what's coming up next" state of complacency.
Allen is a master when it comes to relationships and human failings (and strengths) and his hilarious handling of sexual interactions - "I'm just trying to work some circulation back into my jaw" - makes this one of those rare movies in which virtually everybody can find something to make you squirm and say, "Oh man, he's right".
Annie Hall is classy, it's beautiful, it is full of love, wisdom and compassion, and above all it is utterly hilarious. A breathtaking work of genius (repetition on "genius", there) from a man who has no equal in the film industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paradoxical, Lighthearted Flick, June 7, 2002
This review is from: Annie Hall (DVD)
Woody Allen begins "Annie Hall" (named for the title character, played by the inimitable Diane Keaton) with a speech in which he relates to the audience his attitude about romantic relationships (gleaned from either Sigmund Freud or Groucho Marx): "I'd never belong to any club that'd have me as a member."
Enter the somewhat giddy Annie, a somewhat sophisticated, somewhat naive transplant from the midwestern hinterlands. Annie and Alvy Singer (Allen's character) soon fall in lust, and the movie explores what happens when the sex and novelty of the relationship wear off.
Alvy soon displays the stock trait of Allen's persona: Neurotic perfectionism. Very set in his ways, he becomes frazzled when Annie (and in flashbacks) the other women in his life venture outside the rigid routines Alvy has set in stone.
Another paradox that manifests itself is Allen's classic disdain for political conservatives (targets of his ire are Eisenhower, William F. Buckley and Commentary magazine). Yet, Alvy is a very *socially* conservative person, who looks down on drug use, rock music and the religious cult fads that characterized the 70s. A great line from the movie is when Jeff Goldblum -- at a pretentious Hollywood party -- calls his guru to get the latest mantra.
Another gem is Christopher Walken's small role as Annie's brother, which will have you howling once Alvy is riding in his car.
Like it's twin, "Manhattan," "Annie Hall" is a love-letter to New York City (not just Manhattan, but to Brooklyn as well, where we visit Alvy's unique childhood home on Coney Island). But, I prefer this one to "Manhattan," because of its fresh concept, more screen time for Diane Keaton and Allen's "I Hate L.A." scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Annie Hall
Annie Hall by Woody Allen (DVD - 2000)
$14.98 $7.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.