Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cassandra Wilson Delivers The Goods.
The jazz singer-songwriter Diva Cassandra Wilson delivers (yet again) the goods in her latest CD release titled 'Another Country'. It's her 8th album in 20 years : has great guitar orientated jazz sound, produced by Italian jazz guitarist/producer Fabrizio Sotti. She shows her great musical acumen in this album (10 tracks) : her wonderful 9 new compositions as well as the...
Published on June 27, 2012 by M. Mariba

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars So So
Cassandra Wilson is Cassandra on this recording. She does not seem to have the passion of previous recordings on this date. Her arrangements are not as unique as in past recordings. Enjoyable, but not up to what I have come to expect from Ms Wilson.
Published 8 months ago by DaveT


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cassandra Wilson Delivers The Goods., June 27, 2012
By 
M. Mariba "the teacher" (pretoria, south africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Another Country (Audio CD)
The jazz singer-songwriter Diva Cassandra Wilson delivers (yet again) the goods in her latest CD release titled 'Another Country'. It's her 8th album in 20 years : has great guitar orientated jazz sound, produced by Italian jazz guitarist/producer Fabrizio Sotti. She shows her great musical acumen in this album (10 tracks) : her wonderful 9 new compositions as well as the 10th classic aria cover "O Sole Mio" & her unmistakenly great vocals. Stand-outs/gems/solid tracks include "Almost Twelve" (up-tempo Spanish-influenced jazz track with Cassandra Wilson delivering great/interesting 'whispering' vocals), "Passion", "When Will I See You Again", "Another Country" (beautiful melody & vocals. This is the title track, great choice) & "Olomuroro" (another Spanish-inspired jazz track, wonderful duet. This is my favourite track from this album). Great tracks include "Red Guitar" (opening track, great Gibson guitar work & vocals. This is the first single from the CD), "O Sole Mio" (cover, Spanish-influenced jazz track), "Deep Blue" (great guitar finger pick-ups & piano combination) & "Letting You Go" (great guitar finger pick-ups & melody). The okay track is "No More Blues".

On overall, Cassandra Wilson delivers a wonderful CD in 'Another Country' : great compositions, well produced & beautiful musical execution. A well deserved 5 star performance & a highly recommended CD listening pleasure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Journey to paradise..., June 26, 2012
By 
This review is from: Another Country (Audio CD)
When I first saw that Cassandra Wilson's new CD would be titled "Another Country", I thought it was going to be an album of Country music. It is still Jazz. The album title alludes to the European touch brought in by guitarist and producer Fabrizio Sott, as well as the location of the recording, Florence in Italy.

The enchanting "Red Guitar" opens the album, featuring delicately strummed guitar and soft percussion perfectly showcasing her dusky contralto. The album comprises 10 tracks, 9 of which Wilson co-wrote, with the focus primarily on the acoustic guitar, with bass, percussion, electric guitar, and accordion making an appearance here and there. "No More Blues" is Blues, while "O Sole Mio" is the lone cover on the album, an old Italian song of regal beauty. Everything stands out; the lovely instrumentals "Deep Blue" and "Letting You Go", the delicate "Almost Twelve" finds Wilson singing in a soft falsetto with lilting percussion, the folky "Passion" (her lower register contrasting sharply with the falsetto on the previous song), "When Will I See You Again" evokes images of a rainy day in Paris, the Bossa Nova-tinged title track provides some rhythm, while closing is the African sounding "Olomuroro" featuring New Orleans Centre For Creative Arts Chamber Choir.

Cassandra Wilson takes you to another world, one of understated yet regal beauty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Sound for a Jazz Diva, June 28, 2012
This review is from: Another Country (Audio CD)
One of the things I look for in a jazz artist is a strong voice that tests itself over time in a number of different sounds and approaches. Cassandra Wilson is one of the great jazz artists (not just singers)because her creative spirit is restless, yet her vocal identity is consistent. Another Country is yet another pleasant surprise from this master: it's sultry, summery and tropical, Mediterranean in color and texture, yet clearly the work of a powerful African-American jazz visionary. The supporting musicians, especially guitarist Fabrizio Sotti (who evidently has worked with Ms. Wilson before, but who I'm not familiar with.) He is clearly an ideal collaborator. The songs are all memorable, and a refreshing change from the usual cover songs one hears from most jazz vocal albums. Hopefully Ms. Wilson will continue to write and record her own tunes!

One correction to an earlier comment: this is not a Blue Note album. It's Cassandra Wilson's first work for her own Ojah Music label, independently distributed. Good for her...as great as her long tenure with Blue Note was, this music has a freshness that feels liberating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her best work to date, August 17, 2012
By 
Don Jr (Rochester, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Another Country (Audio CD)
For the record, I own every release Cassandra has available in the U.S. In my opinion this is her best. I've listened to this one time and am currently playing my second time around. This is grammy material. The guitar and percussion work is beautiful and flat out amazing. I can't believe she still has this much in her. All her material has been top notch but this one especially captivates my soul. Its perfect in every way.

Edit: I cant stress enough what all the musicians bring to the table on this recording. Cassandra always surrounds herself with only the finest but this particular ensamble is really something quite special. Fabrizio Sotti is a name I will never forget. I had never heard of him before this album and Color me impressed. He was meant to perform with Cassandra. He is the true definition of a master at his craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Jazz, So What?, July 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Another Country (Audio CD)
If you know Cassandra Wilson than you know that not only does she have one of the most distinctive and sublime voices in all of music, but that she can not (or maybe will not) be put into a box. True, many consider her a jazz artist, and this album is anything but a jazz album. However, she has done many albums where her music is decidedly not jazz and, nonetheless, decidedly stellar. Add this new one to the list.

I would consider this music more of a rootsy Americana kind of thing. Very fine songs (all but two written or co-written by Wilson). Very fine guitar work by Sotti on electric guitar, and what sounds to my ear like both nylon and steel strung acouistic guitars.

Kudos to Sotti also on creating a very nice sound scape additionally with the general production. Use of accordian, multiple percussionists are used to effectively support Wilson's incredible voice/phrasing while never being overly busy or "in the way."

Congratulations to Wilson on her fine recording and new label.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another stellar release from the seductive contralto, October 27, 2012
By 
D. G. K. Silva "reading public" (St. John's, Antigua and Barbuda) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Another Country (Audio CD)
As an ardent fan of the artist, I only needed to hear of the planned release in order to allocate funds for its purchase. Accompanied by Fabrizio Sotti, with whom she had worked previously on her 2003 release, 'Glamored', Ms. Wilson continues to impress with rich vocal hues which I have likened to a soothing, warm cup of Folgers French vanilla cafe au lait. Sotti's acoustic guitar accompaniment simply adds to the intimate nature of this release, seeming to transport the listener to the Tuscan villa where the album was recorded. My favourite track is the title track, 'Another Country' with the first single, 'Red Guitar' still being a track I love to listen to. It is very well put together recording that simply adds to the already ample reason why Cassandra Wilson is one of the premier voices in jazz in this new millennium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks for this jewel, July 19, 2012
This review is from: Another Country (Audio CD)
This is the last effort by singer songwriter Cassandra Wilson. In this album she works with guitarist Fabrizio Sotti, who co-writes some of the songs and with whom she collaborated for her album "Glamoured".
This is a very brilliant cd, with many songs that are true masterworks; "Red guitar" (which she performed during her 2011 tour), "Almost twelve", "Passion", "When will I see you again", "Another country" and the instrumental "Deep blue" and "Letting you go" are my favorite from the album. This is a very very good album, and I can't wait to see Cassandra live in concert, this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, October 2, 2012
By 
K. Ball (Granger, IN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Another Country (MP3 Music)
I was looking for something new in the Jazz area along the lines of Diana Krall, Norah Jones, Melody Gardot, Madeline Peyroux, and I was pleasantly surprised with Cassandra Wilson and this CD. So much so I am trying to find another one along these lines that include the guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Country.,, July 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Another Country (Audio CD)
Don't know why we had never heard of Cassandra Wilson, but my husband heard Red Guitar on the radio and came home and told me. I immediately Googled her, listened to the song, then came here and ordered the CD. We loved the entire CD and will be buying more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars " ANOTHER COUNTRY ", August 14, 2014
This review is from: Another Country (Audio CD)
Referring to Cassandra Wilson as simply ‘a jazz vocalist’ is akin to categorizing Quincy Jones as a just ‘a producer’: technically, both terms fit, but they also simultaneously water down the performers’ versatilities and the levels of virtuousity that they’ve achieved after decades of proving themselves capable of delivering much, much more. In the case of Ms. Wilson, her appeal and longevity in the world of music is as much owed to her eclecticism as it is her velvety alto, and on her latest offering, Another Country, the Grammy-Award-winning performer layers those soothing and sensual vocals over songs that were recorded in three cities and two continents with a singular focus on an approach to instrumentation that is acoustic rather than electric.

It’s apparently not enough for Ms. Wilson to transport the listener to other realms of emotion and understanding with the dusky, velvet-dipped trills of her voice; she strives to pull them out of their own perspectives and enrich the experience with sounds that are influenced by, or perhaps native to, the locale of their origin. Paired back up with respected producer and jazz guitarist Fabrizio Sotti (they last collaborated on 2002’s Glamoured) and a host of other players (percussionists Mino Cinelu and Lekan Babalola, bassist Nicola Sorato and accordion maestro Julian Labro), Ms. Wilson employs a minimalist approach that’s almost a complete 180-degree turnaround from 2010’s Silver Pony, but the selections still manage to engage and enthrall: “No More Blues” throbs with a moody sense of indignation as Ms. Wilson struggles to get past a sense of loss with a mask of sass and pluck----“I left my home, I miss my friends but /I’m starting over, cuz I don’t want/no more blues----while “Almost Twelve” is a crisp and cosmopolitan-edged mid-tempo that bubbles with anticipation of the fun to be had and the memories certain to be shared, if only she can make her destination on time. The title track is one of the best in the entire set, with a feverish, percussive base setting the tone as Ms. Wilson’s alto dips into a passion so profound and a love so mystifying that it’s as if she’s stumbled into an unfamiliar, yet irresistable landscape: “From the beginning, I was swimming in the current of your skin, the autumn rains turned into thunderstorms/the waters rose and I was drowning in your arms. But when I woke up in the morning, I was breathing, oh I was breathing/ I was alive, and I saw another country in your eyes.”

Given that Cassandra Wilson is a master at her craft and an artist who can both beguile and transcend, the only notable flaw on Another Country is the across-the-board languorous pacing and the brevity of it all (just ten tracks), which doesn’t allow her to expound on the richness of her range. But that doesn’t mean Ms. Wilson’s latest CD won’t worm its way into your subconscious, overtake the iPod or take you out of your present environment to join her at home in New Orleans (“No More Blues”), explore Italy’s breathtaking beauty at her side (“Red Guitar”) or take in the mesmerizing metropolis of New York (“When Will I See You Again”). In other words, Ms. Wilson is a tantalizing tour guide for Another Country and presents a jaunt that’s well-worth the time and effort of the visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Another Country
Another Country by Cassandra Wilson (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.