Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Sixx AM Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Mother's Day Gifts Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer starwars starwars starwars  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando ReadyRide Bikes from Diamondback SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 30, 2005
For over 8 years now, CKY has fought tooth and nail to maintain their raw, truthful and honest selves both as individuals and a band. From the homegrown, riff-driven efforts of "Volume 1", to the simplistic and hard hitting "Infiltrate.Destroy.Rebuild", and now to the giant, riffing beast that is "An Ånswer Can Be Found", CKY once again has done what only CKY can do, record an album that not only surpasses the others, but one that also yet again defies the naysayers and critics that would rather see CKY just go away because they bring too much originality to the table. Deron Miller, Chad Ginsburg, and Jess Margera are as unrestrained on this record as any before it; and they are in top form. This record is a completely different outing from the other two, and those without an open mind may have difficulty adapting in the new direction this album takes us, but there is much to be found in the 11 tracks on this album.

The first thing you notice when you pick up the album is the minimalistic artwork. To the average person, it may not look like much. But the angstrom symbol (Å) donning the cover stands for the "Ålliance" - the global network of fans who spend their own blood, sweat and tears supporting CKY in their own way. The fans that continue the demand for a change in music. This album is dedicated to these loyal fans, with whom the band stays connected with through the official website (which is also maintained by fans of the band) at ckyalliance.com. Even the title itself sparks something of a personal meaning to any individual that reads it, the feeling from it inspires hope and is self-empowering. Perhaps the "answer" is yourself, something within, or the way this band does what it does.

All the tracks were recorded and mixed by Chad Ginsburg, who wears many different hats in the role of the band. Ginsburg, who poured countless hours in the studio meticulously checking each track to ensure 100% CKY quality and perfection, brings about a level of respect that should be given to him and the band, even if you don't like their music. It's highly rare, if not impossible, to find anyone else doing this very thing in the music industry. There is no stooge checking in and asking to remove this solo, that track, change these words, use this artwork. None of that. Ginsburg oversees all aspects of recording, and the result is a more true offering that is untouched by the label, as how it has been with everything they have ever done and will continue to do.

But just what is CKY? What do they sound like? That is one of the hardest questions to answer about the band, because they don't sound like anything else out there. Ask any fan of the band and they'll all tell you "just listen to them!". They can go from fast, chugging riffs (Sporadic Movement, My Promiscuous Daughter, Sniped) to slow and mellow tracks (Close Yet Far, Behind the Screams, Don't Hold Your Breath) at a moments notice. Deron Miller, the brainchild of CKYs monstrous, catchy riffs has really come into his own with the work on "An Ånswer Can Be Found", evolving and refining himself over time since the days of "Volume 1". The most noticeable change from the last album to this album is that there are no synth keyboards at all, and that there are guitar solos. Ginsburg handled all the solos on the record. With influences ranging from Joe Satriani, and Yngwie Malmsteen, he proves that great rock and roll solos and the art of shredding has not been lost in today's nu-metal world.

At the meat of this review, the music, clocks in at just about 40 mintues total. The band likes to keep their albums between 30-45 minutes, because they believe thats the "perfect" length for an album. Not too short, and not too long. Straight and to the point. "Suddenly Tragic" opens up the album, ripping right into your ears with hard and heavy guitars. Margera lays down the beat with an old school feel, complimenting the melodic guitar lines of Miller and Ginsburg. Within the lyrics lie some of Millers simple yet true to life messages of "use the height of confidence, to break the common ground; beyond a bad experience, an answer can be found." "The Way You Lived" brings back a certain vibe and surrealness of the fan favorite "To All Of You" from Volume 1. The fuzzdriven guitars take you on a slow melodic run all throughout this song, which contains a haunting chorus and catchy riff which almost feels like a short soundtrack to a dream. "Familiar Realm" the first single from this album is reminiscent of "Flesh Into Gear" from Infiltrate.Destroy.Rebuild. You can really hear the progression in Millers vocal abilities in this track, most noticeably on the chorus and the outro where there are variations on the vocals. "All Power To Slaves" is a hard hitting track that once again puts Millers vocals and the combined efforts of Miller/Ginsburgs guitar/engineer work on display. The line screamed by Miller "All power to SLAAAAAAAVES" will stick with you.

A little over halfway through the album at track 7, it breaks off into an interlude, aptly titled "Behind the Screams". This short minute and a half acoustic track provides the perfect breather point as well as serve up some sweet acoustic stylings with a classical flair. This proves that there really is more to Deron Miller, and hopefully we can see more songs like this in the future. However the song feels too short, and perhaps could have been a little longer. "Deceit is Striking Gold" is perhaps the bands most "different" track from everything they've ever done. Margera really keeps things flowing on this track with the drums, probably his best recording on the album, even though he has really stepped it up in this album overall. "As The Tables Turn" provides more great Miller riffs with an ending containing one of the most catchy and epic guitar lines heard since possiby "Disengage the Simulator". Very memorable and very melodic, as is the closing track "Don't Hold Your Breath". This song is so beautiful that you almost wouldn't believe that this is CKY, complete with intertwining acoustic and electric guitars under Miller's smooth vocals.

The production quality is top notch, the guitar playing is spot on, and the sequencing is tight. The move from "Infiltrate.Destroy.Rebuild" to "An Answer Can Be Found" is a big one, and you owe it to yourself and the band to check it out. This album has originality flowing from every pore; truth and honesty from the lyrics, and a take no prisoners attitude, it's just "CKY" being who they are.
22 comments|48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2005
I have had this album for a while now but I just decided to write a review on it. I was happy that CKY had a new album out, so I bought it. It was awesome. There are a lot of guitar solos on this album, which is good in a way. I enjoy almost every track on this album.

1. Suddenly Tragic: 5/5. This song is very catchy, and the solo is pretty cool.

2. The Way You Lived: 3/5. This is pretty catchy, but it's also quite slow. But it's still okay.

3. Dressed in Decay: 5/5. I like this song a lot. I didn't really like it unitl I actually took the time to listen to it.

4. Familiar Realm: 5/5. This was the first single off of this album. It's very good, catchy, and I think some people can relate to the lyrics.

5. All Power To Slaves: 5/5. This is one of the best songs on the album. I love the solo. The whole song is really catchy.

6. Tripled Manic State: 5/5. This song is also one of my favorites on the album. It is so catchy and what makes it different from other songs is that the verses are fast and the chorus is slow. Usually a verse is slower than the chorus. But whatever. It's a great song.

7. Behind the Screams: 5/5. This is a classical style melody with no drums or anything. It is all instrumental. This is very peaceful and relaxing.

8. Deceit is Striking Gold: 4/5. I like the intro to this song. The intro sounds familiar but I don't remember where I heard it before. But it's a great song.

9. As the Tables Turn: 4/5. This song is awesome. I didn't really appreciate it until I heard it from start to finish. My only complaint is that the guitar solo doesn't really fit the rest of the song.

10. Sniped: 2/5. This is by far the heaviest song on the entire album. I had no idea what Deron was growling. But I guess it's okay if you like heavier stuff.

11. Don't Hold Your Breath: 3/5. This is a nice slow song. It's no "Close Yet Far", but I still like it.

So, buy this album because it is one of CKY's best.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2005
this cd was one of the greatest cds that i've heard in a long time. i believe that cKy is one of the best bands today in their genre. they are able to improve on their cds every time, they will not allow sloppyness from themselves and put it out onto a cd. also, they play music because of their love for music, they dont play just for the money. here is my view of the songs

suddenly tragic - probably the best rock song on the cd, its a really good opening song to a cd, catchy, but cant compare to 96 quite bitter beings

the way you lived - kinda a slow song, very well set up, not my favorite on the cd, but i listen to it everytime

dressed in decay - very catchy chorus guitar and drums, this song is a very good song about not being a anorexic or bulemic person,lol

familiar realm - the first single off of the cd, very great song that everyone will like, its one of my favorite on the cd

all power to slaves - very catchy music to it,decent lyrics, an overall good song

triple manic state - probably tied for my favorite with suddenly tragic, very catchy opening, the best solo on the cd, its the 2nd most metal song on their cd i think, next to sniped

behind the screams - this is a great song to show how well of a guitar player chad and deron are, dont know who pay this though, its an instrumental on an acoustic with not bass or drums, this is really good guitar work

deciet is striking gold - catchy title, more like old school cKy, the music flows very well with the lyrics

as the tables turn - an average song, kinda slows down in the middle, not my favorite, but i like it

sniped - the most metal song on the cd, the lyrics and the music at the chorus are really cool and flow really well, somethimes i cant understand the lyrics, but i really like the song

dont hold your breath - the last song on the cd, similar pace as close yet far, really grat slow song, even though the lyrics are kinda sad about ditiching some one you love, lol. this song is really great ender to the cd.

this is the best cKy cd in my opinion, i like it a lot, you wont be disappointed buy buying this cd. it's a change from IDR but that's a good thing, you don't want the pretty much same cd over again
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2005
CKY has always been of a different breed than many other of the other rock musicians that sadly pollute or radio waves and grace the cover of magazines such as the disgraceful "Rolling Stone". Throughtout their astonishing 8 year career CKY have never lost the one thing they have always held true to themsleves, their integrity. Ever Since this band has been in exisatance they have written, arranged, and produced all their own music which is a rarity in the world of trendy rock music these days. From the moment you hear CKY you can instantly tell that you are listening to something truly different and special. CKY are attempting to bring rock music into a new direction with their original, umistakable, distinct style. "An Answer Can Be Found" is no different. Everything about this album stands out, from the cover art, to the crisp clean and signature production style of CKY guitarist Chad Ginsburg, to the music contained within. "Suddenly Tragic" kicks off the album a little bit different than the past 2 CKY albums, the drum intro by Jess Margera is just a warm up for one of the albums most complex and cathciest riffs to come. Deron Millers infectious lyrics of a victim and his love/hate relationship with his bully in an attempt to stop the bully years later from commiting suicide is nothing short of pure brilliance. Their are guitar solo in this song is also a highlight. Up next is the slightly slower paced song "The Way You Lived". a song of a widower whos wife committed suicide and haunts the house where he resides, he then asks her to please love so he can move on with his life. This second song as always opens up with yet another catchy signature CKY riff from Deron Miller that leads into some nice drum work by Jess Margera. Derons vocals are phenomenal and the backing vocals by Jena Kraus give this song a very sad and haunting feel whos melody will stick with you for days to come. "Dressed In Decay" is about a woman who starves herself in an attempt to obtain visual perfection. The riffs on this song, particullary during the chorus are very memorable and this song definately holds its own against the previous 2. "Familiar Realm" is the albums 1st single. It has one of the best intros on the entire cd and is an instantly catchy hit. Chad Ginsburg wrote the majority of the lyrics which are written to be simple and positive which is just the lift that this song needed. When this song was 1st released it was inside my head non stop. "All Power To Slaves" opens up with a fantastic riff. This song is dedicated to the CKY Alliance and its message of the minority overthrowing the majority is clearly known. Chad Ginsburg also does an impressive solo on this song, his lead work is very impressive despite its shortness. "Tripled Manic State" is becoming a fan favorite and it is easy to see why. The intro to this song just grabs you and will not let you go which suddenly leads into another CKY signature riff reminessent of "Inhuman Creation Station" the lyrics on this song are original and very well written. The drumming of Jess Margera and the solo by Chad Ginsburg fit in perfectly. "Behind the Screams" is a beautiful acoustic piece instrumental written and performed alone by Deron Miller and is a sad yet beautiful intermission. "Deceit is Striking Gold" has yet another great intro that just kicks you in the face. Derons simple yet though out lyrics about a gold digging girlfriend are very satisfying. This song is full of odd time signature and rhythm changes and Jess Margeras drumming ability to keep up with them is astonishing and is top notch. it is one of his best performances. "As The Tables Turn" is next and it yet again has an intro that sucks you in and prepares you for what is to come. Deron Millers guitar playing on this song is very complex and quite tricky yet it still maintains the signature catchiness of the rest of the album. Jess Margera is also the star of this track as he does do some fancy footpedal work on the kick drum. Any music fan will appreciate its lyrical message of a cocky and pompus celebrity who one day doesnt have the star power they once has and is reduced to nothing. The Final 2 songs are "Sniped" and "Don't Hold your breath". "Sniped" is without a doubt the outright heaviest song on the album and CKY's heaviest song to date. Deron gets a chance to show of his metal vocal ability and he pulls it off with ease. the lyrics are also well written and the riffs get quite complex, this is signature CKY but on a heavier scale. True to form CKY chose to close off this album with a ballad. "Dont Hold Your Breath" has haunting and beautiful lyrics that tell the tale of 2 lovers who go out to the beach one night with different intentions. One wants to have a good time and the other just wants to be taken away by the undertow forever, it is a very moving and beautiful song that contains a very blues influenced Chad Ginsburg solo and is a very fitting and mellow closer to the album.

Many people seem to criticise this album for not going in the same creative direction as "Volume 1" or "Infiltrate.Destroy. Rebuid" but I see this as a positive thing, as a band CKY have always evolved and have never been afraid to try different things. Vol.1 and IDR are records of the past and this is CKY evolving toward the future, not trying to re-invent what they have already created in the past. How do you expect a band to evolve if all they do is make the same sounding record over and over? that is total contradiction I dont know about you, but in my opinion I would get bored very quick. A reviewer below me mentioned that CKY should have spent more time creating this album than on their video series. To clarify, CKY spent over 2 years creating this album and it came out as a masterpiece, they spent NO TIME creating their home videos during the making of this album NONE, there have been no new CKY videos in the past 2 years. Dont let that false misinformation sway you in your decision onto whether or not purchase this CKY album.

To conclude, keep an open mind and open ear while listening to this CKY album. They have always been one to evolve and change so dont buy it if you want or expect another "Volume 1" or "Infiltrate.Destroy.Rebuild" this is neither of those, this is a new direction for CKY and for the rest of rock music, this is "An Answer Can Be Found" and if you approach it with an open mind I think that you will finally see it for the amazing album that it truly is.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2005
Let me start this review by saying that on the first listen this album didn't do anything for me. But that's not uncommon for me-most albums I do end up liking, I don't notice anything special about at first. But then there are other CDs-such as Susperia's "Vindication" and Novembers Doom's "The Pale Haunt Departure", and countless others that I've listened time and time again yet still can't find much special about. Thankfully, CKY's new album grew on me IMMENSELY, just like "Infiltrate Destroy Rebuilt" ("Volume 1" was one of the rare CDs I loved as soon as I got it). This CD is better than "Volume 1" in my opinion, but a "Far Cry Behind" (excuse the cheesy Foreign Objects song title pun-I just had to do it) "IDR". However, everything I love about CKY is here-they're insanely talented musicians who can write pop rock. All these songs are in the intro-verse-chorus-verse-chorus-bridge-chorus structure, but unlike boring bands like 3 Doors Down and Staind who have the same formulas, CKY use incredibly complex and tricky guitar riffs throughout the song. Anyone who's heard what Deron did on the Foreign Objects can agree with me-the guy can shred that f*cking guitar. Jess is a solid drummer, not the best ever, but still great, and I know him and Deron are pretty much lifelong band mates, so who knows what the band would sound like without him. A new addition to the band is Chad Ginsburg's solos. While on past records he pretty much just did what Deron did, he busts out beautiful, heavy, crushing and melodic solos throughout the record, showing he's not just a backup for Deron. Why he didn't do solos before is beyond me. The bass on this album is great as well. Deron and Chad both played the 4-string I believe, and they mixed it in wonderfully. It adds a lot of boom, and yes, it's audible! It really does add a lot to the music, unlike some bands who might as well not have a bassist.

My favorite tracks on the album are "Dressed in Decay", "Familiar Realm", "Tripled Manic State", "Deceit is Striking Gold", and "Sniped". "Dressed" features an amazingly catchy vocal line with excellent lyrics, from my point of view about a once beautiful woman who's life is pretty much going down the crapper. "Familiar Realm" features great guitar riffs, and it's very slow and groovy, yet melodic. You'll get it stuck in your head after a while. "Tripled Manic State" starts out with some raging, jagged riffing, before going into a catchy verse with excellent vocals by Deron. The lyrics at times can be cheesy, but the overall idea of the lyrics is cool. "Deceit" very much resembles "Inhuman Creation Station" from the last album, as they both have very funky, Clutch-like grooves and lyrics that fit perfectly with the music. "Sniped" is unlike anything CKY's ever done before. This song is definitely the most metal the guys have ever been (I'm talking about CKY here-not Foreign Objects). Deron pretty much sings in an extreme metal voice, much like he did in FO, and again, there are insanely catchy vocal lines. It's cool to see the guys experimenting like this and I wouldn't mind seeing more heavy tracks like this in the future.

Then there's some tracks that are good but don't really stand out, at least more than the tracks mentioned above. They are "Suddenly Tragic", "The Way You Lived", "All Power to Slaves" and "Don't Hold Your Breath". As I said before, they're all good songs, and they do have SOME standout parts, but overall, they just don't match some of the other songs on the album. "Suddenly Tragic" suffers from mediocre lyrics, but it has a great guitar / bass hook. "The Way You Lived" is an extremely melancholy song, but even through all the darkness there's beauty in the music. I love the way Deron sings "I won't always be this lonely...". "Slaves" is a good rockin' tune, but at this current time, I can't really even recall anything from it, so there's a fine example of how it doesn't really stand out. "Don't Hold Your Breath" is the acoustic closer that suffers just because it's no "Halfway House" or, even more, "Close Yet Far". If it didn't have those two precious remarkable album closers to match, it'd probably be a really standout song, and it still is a good one, but it just simply can't match "HH" or "CYF".

Then there's the one track I always skip-"As the Tables Turn". I believe this is the track Deron wrote about ex-bass player Vern whatever his last name is. I just don't see anything good about the track-it's pretty boring, no really remarkable riffs, it drags on, etc. But hey, that doesn't mean you won't like it.

Another interesting track is the acoustic interlude "Behind the Screams", showing how good these guitarists are, even without 10,000 watts of distortion and feedback. This is quite a beautiful little number; it reminds me of In Flames' acoustic interludes on their old albums. It's beautiful, harmonic guitar, but complicated and it changes a lot. Sadly, it's only 1:34, but it's a cool little breather from the rest of the album.

So, if you don't feel like reading all that, just read this: this is a damn good rock album, probably one of my favorites of 2005 (along with Dark Tranquillity's "Character" and System of a Down's "Mezmerize"). Any hard rock / CKY fan should check this album out, and f*ck Rolling Stone and their one star reviews. I mean, how can you take a magazine that ever gave 50 Cent a 4 outta 5-star review seriously?
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2005
oh my god i love this album. it is THE GREATEST! I listen to this pritty much every night. any ways...

Deron Miller has come a long way from IDR his vocals have improved a heap. compair Sink Into The Underground (i luv these songs) to Tripled Manic State (no.6 on the album).

By the way yes Jess Margera is the big brother of Bam Margera (the pro skateboarder off jackass) but no he is not in th band he just helps produce the video clips. the people in CKY are Deron Miller on lead vocals & back-up guitar, Chad Ginsburg on lead guitar & back-up vocals, Jess Margera on drums and lastly Vernon Zaborowski on bass guitar & backup vocals. So Bam isnt in it!

this album to me is album of the year then it is Disturbed's Ten Thousand Fists wich I also recomend. Both of these are worth the money so go and buy them cos THEY RULE! but CKY dose more so.

!!!!!!!!!!!!!THEY AER SO WORTH IT SO GO AND BUY THEM!!!!!!!!!!! ENJOY!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2005
In my opinion, this is by far the best CKY album yet. It's so different from all the other albums they have done. All i have to say is that this is an amazing album and everyone should buy it. It's awesome.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2005
As a loyalist to cKy and a member of the Ålliance, I'm imposed to be biased. So what. This IS the rock album of the year. What the unistar graders don't have is a concept of music. POP music will fade... cky is not POP. They are eternal. And Vern only recorded on I.D.R. Before that, Chad and Deron did bass, as they did on this album. Idiot. And the riffs are kind of common, but not really. "All Power to Slaves" is (from what I've heard), the sequel to "Escape from Hellview" (sequel to "96 Quite Bitter Beings"). And from listening to APtS, You kind of get a nostalgic felling of "96QBB" and "Escape". Plus, cKy is ever changing. Just go from "Volume 1" to "Answer". They keep changing just so slightly, but still staying cKy. This is why I say the best is here and yet to come. Because when you hear cKy, you should think improving perfection.

Oh, and by the way, "Force.Change.Now" is meant for people to open their minds and stop being conformists. Not "Let us on MTV because we're rebels." Maybe you nay-sayers should take this theory to heart...
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2016
I am completely disgusted with this seller. Disc came "supposedly" new. Hard to believe considering the proof of purchase had a punch hole thru it. Moisture damage to the artwork. Scratches on the case and no seal. Total junk. Basically false advertising. Buyer beware.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2005
CKY is an awesome band that not enough ppl have heard about. I have all the cds and they never get old, and i like every song more and more each time i hear them. I listen to bands like Pantera, Sepultura, Rammstein and all that, but CKY has been a band i cant label, with Sepultura and all them they're immediatley labeled "Heavy Metal" and you cant label CKY as "rock" or "alternative", they dont sound like a band you heard last year on the radio with a new one hit wonder, these guys are completely original, dedicated to theyre fans and music, and i think they put almost all theyre energy into theyre CDs. I recommend for everyone to buy at least one CKY cd!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.