Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's The One, July 26, 2000
By 
Harry N. Cohen (New Haven, Ct. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anthology: Downtown to Sunset Boulevard (Audio CD)
There are numerous Petula Clark compilations available; some good,some not quite so good. This 2cd 41 cut collection is by far the best. Emphasis is on Petula's American career. All 15 of her top 40 hits(Downtown,A Sign Of The Times,Don't Sleep In The Subway,etc) are included. Also here are rare cuts such as 1971's On the Road,arranged by Michel Legrand and Pet's recent Sunset Boulevard recordings with the BBC Orchestra.You'll come away after listening to this collection in awe of this singer's ability to make any type of song hers and hers alone.Best of all, Petula herself contributed comments on each cut.You can't miss with this one...some great photos,too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOMETHING OLD, SOMETHING NEW, February 25, 2000
This review is from: Anthology: Downtown to Sunset Boulevard (Audio CD)
The best and most successful of the female pop stars who invaded our shores as part of the 60s British invasion, Petula Clark hit the top of the charts with her first U.S. release - "Downtown" - and continued with a string of hits that earned her critical acclaim and two Grammy Awards. Included here are her 15 familiar Top 40 hits, together with songs from various film and stage performances, plus a number of previously unreleased tracks that showcase her ability to successfully explore diverse music genres. In 1975, she reunited with Tony Hatch, composer of most of her 60s catalog, for sessions that produced "You Are My Song" and "Didn't I Say I Love You?", both intended for an album that was never completed, heard here for the first time, as is "Fly Away", from her 1980 film "Never Never Land". "Two Lives", from a 1991 L.A. session, is a techno-charged number that allows Petula to harmonize with herself in addition to supplying the background vocals, and the result is stunning. "Tell Me It's Not True", from "Blood Brothers", is a studio version recorded in NYC while Petula was starring in the Broadway show, and is dramatically different from but no less effective than the cast album recording. In addition to terrific photographs, the included 28-page booklet includes Petula's comments about each of the tracks on the two CDs. An absolute must for long-time fans, and a worthwhile investment for anyone who remembers the "Downtown" days and is interested in hearing the eclectic sounds that evolved throughout the 36 years since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PROBABLY THE BEST PETULA ANTHOLOGY EVER!, February 18, 2000
By 
This review is from: Anthology: Downtown to Sunset Boulevard (Audio CD)
Having probably 99% of all the material Petula Clark ever recorded, I am truly amazed and surprised at this package. It covers so much territory, and it is a definitive package for a Pet novice, who wants to get a taste of what Petula Clark is all about from all aspects of her career in America, and for the devoted fan, collecting from what I am told the first time ever that Warner masters were used for the hits on Disc 1, plus all the unreleased treasures and first-time US release of various gems. For the US debut, I AM YOUR SONG, is a particular suprise, as this extended version with bridge to the original fade out far surpasses the original British Polygram single release. I am absolutely grateful to those who got the superb FLY AWAY from the 1980 film, NEVER NEVER LAND finally on CD where it belongs. This is one of my all-time favorite Petula songs other than her hits. I've already practically worn out (if that is possible) this portion of Disc 2. The first play of DIDN'T I SAY I LOVE YOU?, when it came to the chorus sounded very retisant of Dusty Springfield, which is the first time I've ever heard this resemblance in a Petula Clark record, though the song is a Hatch-Trent collaboration, makers of the many 60's Petula hits. My suggestion to the readers who are hesitant, take the initiative and buy this one. You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Grouping of Songs - A Complete Set!, February 29, 2000
This review is from: Anthology: Downtown to Sunset Boulevard (Audio CD)
This is a very complete CD of Petula Clark's hits thruout the years. Starting with Downtown and ending with her versiou of Sunset's 'As If We Never Said Goodbye'. Lots inbetween! All her hits, as well as versions of her Broadway plays and others (I Don't Know How to Love Him from Superstar is pretty good!). Edelweiss, Walk Through The World (Goodbye Mr Chips), and other Broadway songs. Very good sound quality on the earlier songs (I have an earlier 'hits' CD, and when I put this one in the player, the quality was a definate improvement). But ALL the good songs are here. If you are looking for a CD with a wide range of her hits - and songs she simply does well - this is a great CD. I'd highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DOWNTOWN TO SUNSET BOULEVARD, WITH A LOT OF MAGIC IN-BETWEEN, February 18, 2000
This review is from: Anthology: Downtown to Sunset Boulevard (Audio CD)
The name Petula Clark may invoke memories of "Downtown" for the average American, but die-hard fans know her triumphant introduction to the top of the U.S. charts in 1965 was simply a new phase in a career that had started some 26 years earlier in her native Britain. This 2-CD set is an amazing collection of 41 tracks that includes her very familiar 15 Top 40 hits of the mid to late 60s, and also features recordings from the various film and stage musicals in which she's starred. Among those tracks being issued here for the first time is "Two Lives", with its multiple vocal tracks allowing Petula to harmonize with herself; its techno beat is sure to have you dancing even as you wonder, "Can that REALLY be Petula Clark! " The acompanying 26-page booklet - with lots of excellent photos - gives pertinent background info, plus comments about each of the songs from Petula herself. A "must" purchase for anyone who appreciates crystal-clear vocalization and music that will keep you humming and smiling long after you listen to it . . . and you will be listening again, and again, and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I CROWN PETULA BRITISH ROYALTY FOR THE WORLD THAT LOVES HER, April 18, 2003
This review is from: Anthology: Downtown to Sunset Boulevard (Audio CD)
I JUST LOVE PET, WHO HAS BEEN PERFORMING WORLDWIDE FOR APPROX 58 YEARS AND SINCE A CHILD IN WAR TORN, BOMBED OUT LONDON, WHERE AS A CHILD SHE SANG ON THE BBC TO THE WWII TROOPS AND LATER ENTERTAINED THEM IN PERSON---WOW---SO MUCH PETULA---FOR SO LONG---ALL OVER THE WORLD:)
PETULA HAS A DVD AVAIL AT PBS.ORG AND IT HAS LOTS OF ARCHIVAL FOOTAGE THAT IS REMARKABLE. IF YOU GET A CHANCE TO SEE HER IN PERSON, I SUGGEST IT MAY BE ONE OF THE UNKNOWN GEMS IN ANYONES LIFE---THINK OF 58 YEARS OF PERFORMING---ON TOP OF HER GAME WORLDWIDE AND WITH HUMILITY, PASSION AND COMPASSION.
THIS WONDERFUL LADY HAS DONE IT ALL!
LONG TERM MARRIAGE, CHILDREN, INTERNATIONAL CAREER AND ABOVE IT ALL --- SHE IS A DARLING, TO SO MANY FOR SO LONG. LOVE YOU PET, THANKS FOR SHARING YOUR TREMENDOUS VOICE AND PERSONALITY WITH US THROUGH THE YEARS----A LEGEND, A ICON, AND MUCH, MUCH MORE THAN NORMA DESMOND EVER DREAMED OF!
I SUGGEST HER MOVIES "FINIANS RAINBOW", "GOODBYE MR. CHIPS" AND HER PERFORMANCE IN "BLOOD BROTHERS" AND ANYTHING FROM HER BROADWAY PERFORMANCE IN "SUNSET BOULEVARD"
"I JUST COULD LIVE WITHOUT YOUR LOVE".....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning compilation with sound quality to match, July 6, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Anthology: Downtown to Sunset Boulevard (Audio CD)
This is certainly one of the best Petula compilations around, covering all aspects of her career from Downtwown to the end of the last century. It does not include any of her pre-Downtown material, nor does it include any of her French recordings, but these aspects of Petula's career are not widely known in America. For anybody interested, there are other Petula CD's which cover those recordings extremely well.
Most of the first CD is filled with Petula's American hits from the sixties. The last few tracks on the first CD and the whole second CD cover many different types of song, including stage and screen songs. None of these songs are anything like her hits from the sixties, although anybody familiar with Petula's pre-Downtown work will see it as a return to her roots. Petula has been both singing and acting since the 1940's. In the early days, acting was her priority.
For those of you who are only interested in her sixties music, this collection is probably not the one to buy. I've set up an Amazon guide (So you'd like to ...... know which Petula compilation to buy) which compares the merits of around thirty different Petula compilations, many of which I own. If in doubt, read that guide.
This is a top-quality compilation, impeccably remastered. If you have wide musical tastes, this will provide many happy hours listening. You can't get bored with such a varied collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A review of Petula in her most comprehensive form, February 29, 2000
By 
Ward J. Lamb (slate hill, new york United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anthology: Downtown to Sunset Boulevard (Audio CD)
This cd has it's ups and a few downs. The 60s material is terrific and fresh as the day it was written. Petula has a fresh as spring pop instrument that worked perfectly with Tony Hatch and his great songs.CD 2 is great for fans like myself, but more in search of a defining sound to match the last 2 decades. Two Lives produced by Michael Jackson is one of disc twos highlights. She shines on As if we Never Said Goodbye from Sunset Blvd. Petula is a great pop vocalist despite some of the uneasy moments in the more recent recordings.She is most at home in non planned formulaic structured songs.My favorite Petula hit is "You'd Better Come Home" It is moody, sultry and bittersweet.The most bizarre track is the country flavored "Never Been a Horse That Couldn't be Rode". I'm giving it 4 stars even though I feel this cd set is a must for pop enthusiasts.The 2nd cd is just too inconsistent.Her 90s hit "Oxygen" is suspiciously missing, and that was a gem!Oh hell, buy it you'll be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CD made in Heaven for Petula Clark fans..., July 4, 2000
By 
This review is from: Anthology: Downtown to Sunset Boulevard (Audio CD)
What a collection of songs by the international singing star, Petula Clark. You will want to have this in your collection. It is going to get played to death in my house. From concert appearances to the West End and Broadway, here is one star who can belt a song. Saw her in "Blood Brothers" in New York, still remember all of that great music. You will hear a song from this show on this CD as well as a selection from "Sunset Blvd."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Collection of Petula's hits and more with great sound, May 4, 2000
By 
Bradley Olson (Bemidji, MN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Anthology: Downtown to Sunset Boulevard (Audio CD)
This collection of Petula's music really showcases her talent very well spanning from the classic hits like "Downtown," "Don't Sleep In The Subway," etc. to showtunes to a decent sampling of some of her more recent recordings to rarities (such as the TV Special promo). For those fans who listened to country radio in 1982, her country hit "Natural Love" is included in the set which is otherwise hard to find on CD, except for the out of print compilation "Treasures, Vol. 1" on Scotti Brothers. The liner notes feature Petula's comments on each of the songs included along with an essay and are great. If you only need one set of Petula's music this is the one to get for 2 CD's of classic music as the sound quality is much better than the GNP Crescendo hits CD from 1986.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.