Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Zoverstocks
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Anthology
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Anthology Import

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, March 5, 1998
"Please retry"
$46.20 $3.02

Hot Hot

Product Details

  • Audio CD (March 5, 1998)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Mci
  • ASIN: B00000DB12
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #340,069 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Mississippi Summer
2. Verdi Cries
3. Strange Affair
4. She Moves Among Men
5. Lay This Body Down
6. Band Played Waltzing Mati
7. Night Comes In
8. King Of Rome
9. Lisbon
10. Month Of January
11. Hard Love
12. Dark Eyed Sailor
13. Heather Down The Moor
14. Cold & Raw
15. Sudden Waves
16. No Man's Land/Flowers Of

Editorial Reviews

UK pressing was originally recorded between 1976 and 1992. Features 16 tracks. Music Club. 2004.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Peter Durward Harris HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWER on May 12, 2005
Format: Audio CD
June first came to the attention of the folk music community at the Sidmouth festival in 1967 but she wasn't able to pursue her career fully at the time. She was still completing her education, as her appearance as a contestant in the University Challenge TV series in 1968 showed. After completing her studies, June worked for a while as a librarian while pursuing her folk music interests on a part-time basis. Eventually, she recorded an album in 1976 with Maddy Prior (of Steeleye Span) as the Silly Sisters and this gave her the breakthrough. June committed herself to music fill-time and her solo debut album followed later that year.

This compilation is assembled from her five solo albums on the Topic label and her first three solo albums on the Cooking Vinyl label. Her two albums with Maddy (as the Silly Sisters) are not represented even though the second was on the Topic label.

Like other leading British folk singers, June has not stayed within the confines of traditional folk, but has crossed over into other musical areas - however, in the period covered by this compilation (1976 to 1992), June never strayed far from folk music. Sometimes accompanied by standard folk instruments such as fiddle, guitar and bass but at other times accompanied by keyboards, this compilation shows off June's superb contralto voice to great effect. Most of the songs are melancholy but nevertheless very enjoyable. The standout for me is The band played Waltzing Matilda, an anti-war song written by a Scots-born Australian.

Whether June really is the first lady of British folk music or not (there are others who also have strong claims to that title), she is certainly one of the finest folk singers that Britain has ever produced.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?