Industrial-Sized Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Ty Dolla Sign egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals TheGoodDinosaur Outdoor Deals on HTL

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
on September 27, 2008
This book starts out great with the discussion of how food can inflame the body with an unbalanced intake of omega 6 and omega 3 fatty acids. However the authors must be unaware that all grains, legumes and most seeds have a 20:1 ratio of Omega 6 to Omega 3 making them inflammatory. Several recipes in the book are then inflammatory because of the grain. This is a tough pill to swallow but it appears that the human genome functions better with a balanced 1:1 ratio of omega 6 to omega 3 fatty acids and this genetic trait was in place before agricultural practices which led to grain consumption and more recently seed oils which are very inflammatory. Foods consumed prior to agriculture would have been fruits and vegetables, wild game, fish and moderate portion of nuts. Ironically all these foods have a well balanced ratio of omega 6 to omega 3 fatty acids. Go Paleo!!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
32 of 42 people found the following review helpful
on August 22, 2008
Although there are good recipes in the book, I am amazed the authors endorse the use of canola oil and margarine. Canola oil comes from the rape seed, which is part of the mustard family of plants. Rape is the most toxic of all food-oil plants. Like soy, rape is a weed. Insects will not eat it; it is deadly poisonous! The oil from the rape seed is a hundred times more toxic than soy oil.
Canola is a semi-drying oil that is used as lubricant, fuel, soap and synthetic rubber base, and as an illuminant for the slick color pages you see in magazines. It is an industrial oil and does not belong in the body!
Margine is a synthetic food and a hydrogenated oil. Loads of literature to support eliminating it from your diet.
I use the recipes but make substitutions.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on March 9, 2008
For a book on anti-inflammatory foods, there were too many recipes using
one of the potentially inflammatory foods: tomatoes...from the nightshade family...
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on July 10, 2010
Tonight I made the Pink Salmon Cakes with Mango-Raspberry chutney and it was spectacular! Have tried several salmon cake recipes but this is TRUELY THE BEST I have ever had! It was light and deliciously full of flavors of the mango, raspberry, sweet corn and tomato..a great summer dinner. Husband doesn't like cilantro so I used parsley instead. Can't wait to try the other recipes!!!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on February 15, 2014
I was very disappointed that a book written for help people would use so much artificial sweeteners in the recipes.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2012
For anyone with any health problem, this book is a MUST! Tasty, innovation recipes list goodies in the ingredients. The recipes sometimes call for soy flour and that might be passe, but easy to adjust.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2014
This book provides great information and good recipes. It is exactly what I was looking for to help with my arthritis. The pancake recipe has become our family's favorite recipe---yum!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2013
This cook book has some great recipes and great information on the importance of omega 3 in your diet! I look forward to trying out more of the recipes!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on July 27, 2010
* TiTLE: `SOUND food principles, GREAT recipes!'

* REFERENCE: Rowe, Barbara and Lisa M. Davis, Anti-Inflammatory Foods for Health: Hundreds of Ways to Incorporate Omega-3 Rich Foods into Your Diet to Fight Arthritis, Cancer, Heart Disease, and More (Healthy Living Cookbooks). Fair Winds Press, 2008. ($19.95 US; £12.99 UK; $23.95 CAN)

* TAGS: health food, diet, nutrition, recipes, disease prevention, tomatoes, canola oil, omega-3 and omega-6

* WEBSiTE: {}

* MSWord document: {00=Bookreview4amazon=2010-07-26=barbarowe=omega3book4health=2008=.doc}

* Submission date: Tue., July 27, 2010

* Re-submission after editing on Fri., July 30, 2010 (1:00am)
A. Introduction

Although I do enjoy great food prepared by others much more talented and patient than I am, this reviewer never developed a sense for consistently caring for, and preparing, his own healthy food. But this book changed all that, in a practical and eye-catching way.

B. What I like about this book

In terms of format (presentation and appearance), the front page says it all: a) a 23-word title, b) three color-pictures with relevant food groups (walnuts, spinach, and smoked salmon), and c) the lead authors names with a mini-résumé behind their names, establishing their academic credentials (MPH, RN, LD, CNS, LDN, Ph.D., etc). As for the back page, instead of the standard endorsement by food industry and nutritionist celebrities, the authors and/or publishers have decided to reserve this space for providing more information about the book's content, and quizzing (via Multiple-Choice-Questions) the potential reader about his/her nutritional savvy, and listing no less than 10 recipes described in the book. On top of all these benefits, the book is reasonably priced ($19.95 US; £12.99 UK; $23.95 CAN)

As for the CONTENT (and substance): In addition to a section for Acknowledgments (pp. 184) and an elaborate index (pp. 186-192), the book is structured around the main food groups essential for good health:
* Introduction (pp. 7-23);
* Chapter 1: Boost Omega-3's (pp. 24-54);
* Chapter 2: Add-in antioxidants (pp. 55-85);
* Chapter 3: Fabulous fiber (pp. 86-117);
* Chapter 4: Change the energy balance (pp. 118-152); and...
* Chapter 5: Be carb savvy (pp. 153-183).

The introduction is worthy a separate mention: in this 17-page exposé, the authors introduce the readers to the basics of nutrition and principles for gaining and maintaining good health. They do so with a) two-column text; b) five tables, three figures, and two pictures! As they say, "A picture is worth a 1,000 words..." In this well-illusstrated book, the authors have made good use of the one picture/thousand words concept!

Each chapter basically follows the same pattern:
* An introduction to the subject with a two-column text;
* A `FYi' insert in the shape of text surrounded by a circle;
* A series of two-page recipes, with text on one side, and a full-page color photograph on the other page. The mouth-watering rendition of these full-page and full-color recipes is worth, by itself, the price of the book!

Each full-page recipe contains the following...
* Introduction to the recipe;
* Measurements of ingredients;
* Description of the various steps in the recipe;
* And finally a nutritional analysis (i.e., calories, fat, protein, carbohydrate, fiber and cholesterol content, if any).

Many, though NOT all, recipes come with full-page color photographs. Some recipes are illustrated with a two-page photograph a) `Flaxseed blueberry walnut pancakes' (pp. 98-99); b) `Fiesta gazpacho with grilled shrimp' (pp. 128-129); and c) `Orange mango chicken fajitas' (pp. 140-141). In particular, I like the recipes for...
* `Smoked salmon sushi' (pp. 46-47); and
* `Mediterranean stuffed tomato' (pp. 74-75).
* Of particular esthetic, culinary, and other value to this reviewer is the recipe for `Peach-berry Port Wine Gelatin!' (pp 176). The adjoining picture features no less than three delicious berries, namely raspberries, blueberries and blackberries (thank goodness, not the electronic types).

I also appreciate the great care the authors and publishers have given to the authors' background (See `About the authors,' pp. 185). Two engaging full-color photographs of the two authors, with matching informative and descriptive caption(s).

C. What can be improved

Alas, as much as I wish, as a book reviewer, to find something to gripe about a book under my review, in this case I could NOT find anything substantial. Since it is NOT designed to be an academic book, there is not need to complain about the absence of footnotes, endnotes, and references cited. This makes it all the more readable by its intended audience.

I am fully and painfully aware that Rowe and Davis did NOT get the fullest acclaim they deserve. Some reviewers take the authors to task about including canola oil (e.g., Telecia Radke), tomato recipes (e.g., Dr. Loulou) and omega-3 to 6 ratio (e.g. Dr. Mark S. Edinger). As any person who has lived long enough has discovered and knows, one cannot please all the people all the time. In my own medical school training, we was told tomatoes are good for our health as a good source for antioxidants. Now, according to Dr. Loulou, tomatoes should be avoided at all cost! Whom am I to believe? Same thing with canola oil. If you don't like it, leave it...! But please, do NOT ever ruin a book's rating (20%), just because you happen to find canola oil or tomatoes toxic for `your' body. If it is as toxic as Telecia says, why doesn't the FDA ban its import from Canada? With a rating of 1/5, Dr. Mark S. Edinger does NOT earn points for charity, compassion and generosity towards the authors (1/5 stars = 20%). Was the omega 6 to omega 3 ratio the ENTiRE concern of the book? If NOT, why would Dr. Edinger give such a low rating? Does he not remember that we will be judged by the measure we judge others... And I dare NOT judge Dr. Edinger, whether he is a lowly doctor in some rural county clinic, or the chief medical adviser to the latest Pope, as a rating of (-) infinity would NOT do proper justice to his misplaced impudence and utmost arrogance. In such important matters of truth vs. untruth, I'd rather be known as a no-respecter of persons...

This book has been published in 2008, and this review written in 2010. In two years, much can and does happen, requiring, amng other things, the update of the authors' biosketch. I can think of at least three-five things in the life of the LEAD author that may need to be updated in the next edition of this great book: a) city of residence, b) marital status, c) number of people living at home, d) possibly even her new vocational status, and e) update on the number of dogs living with the author at home.

In the acknowledgment(s) section (pp. 184), lead author Barbara Rowe mentions the need for, and assistance of, food tasters and testers. In anticipation of a new, revised, and improved, edition of this otherwise GREAT book, I endeavor to apply for the newly created official position of `food taster cum food tester...' Besides tasting the food, as a semi-professional photographer (or advanced amateur), I can also double as a self-appointed graphic reporter for the book's many recipes. If and once that happens, however, I could no longer write an impartial review, as it would be an inherent conflict of interest, being a food taster cum photographer vs. an objective book reviewer without any vested fiduciary interests!

D. Conclusion

This highly readable book is a great value, i.e., getting the proverbial most `bang for the buck!' [where else can one find a recipe with a full-color picture for $0.137 or 14 cents per recipe, assuming there are at least a hundred of them in this book?] Furthermore, it can change a reader's approach to his/her health through the preparation and consumption of a great variety of healthy and health-promoting foods. I suggest this book should be a daily companion of any housewife and/or househusband, or whoever prepares the meals for the loved ones in every English-speaking household in America and around the world... [A translation into major languages such as Spanish, French, Italian, Russian, Polish, and German, among others, should follow in short order...] Its place is on the kitchen counter, rather than collecting the proverbial dust on the shelves in one's personal library!

NOTE: No book, except perhaps for the Bible, is perfect and can, therefore, be improved upon; the same principle applies to a book reviewer like me. Should you, the reader of this review, have any question(s), comment(s), and/or suggestion(s) about my review, please feel free to contact me: I can be reached, at no extra cost to you, via email at {jpheldt123[at]yahoo[dot]com}. I will be looking forward to hearing from you soon.

* Book sent by one of the authors via USPS on Tue. July 20, 2010;
* Delivered on Wed., July 21, 2010; 11 AM c/o lead author;
* Read between Sat., 2010-7-24 (6:00a,) and Mon. 2010-7-26 (8:39am);
* Book review written between Mon. 2010-7-26 (7:00pm) and Mon. 2010-7-26 (8:40pm); further edited on Tue. 2010-7-27...
* Submitted on Tue., 2010-7-27;
* Revised on Thur., 2010-7-29;
* Re-submitted on Fri., 2010-7-30 (1:00am);
* Word count = 1,288/1,532.
= END =
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2015
Great information.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.