Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


122 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading For Our Day!
This book is simply superb. I first read this book online, and just now re-read it. Simply stated, this is THE book that will change the way that we view many of todays world events. Mr. Richardson has brought the religious aspects behind the events of todays news into a very, very crisp focus. There are many books out there that discuss Islam from a comparative...
Published on May 11, 2006 by Alexandrios

versus
16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Standard Model of Millennialism
I was lent this book by the same person who lent me Islam and the Jews: The Unfinished Battle and Inside Islam: A Guide for Catholics. Since I have an interest in millennialism generally, I dived straight in. Richardson's work is a prime example of what John Reilly called the 'Standard Model' of Christian millennialism. This is the common-sense, popular, literal model...
Published on June 28, 2009 by Benjamin Espen


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

122 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading For Our Day!, May 11, 2006
This review is from: Antichrist: Islam's Awaited Messiah (Paperback)
This book is simply superb. I first read this book online, and just now re-read it. Simply stated, this is THE book that will change the way that we view many of todays world events. Mr. Richardson has brought the religious aspects behind the events of todays news into a very, very crisp focus. There are many books out there that discuss Islam from a comparative religious perspective, but what Joel has accomplished here is nothing short of astounding. It is as if he has cut through all of the peripheral issues and nailed only what needs to be said.

Joel begins the book by discussing the growth rates of Islam, mostly due to births, but also due to new waves of conversions since 9-11. This fact is one that very little like to face. His presentation is very gentle yet direct. The research is also very impressive.

Next Joel compares dozens of Islamic doctrines about the Islamic Messiah figure known as the Imam Mahdi. This chapter alone makes the book worth reading. Especially with the Iranian President's claims to be called to usher in the emergence of the Mahdi. Next he compares dozens of aspects of the Mahdi's life and mission to the Bible's end-time figure known as the Antichrist. The similarites between the two is simply stunning. You have to read this.

After this, the subject of the Islamic Jesus of his end-time mission is discussed. Very frightening and fascinating stuff.

Other apects of Islamic doctrines are analyzed such as the Muslim practice of beheading and Islam's plans for world domination. One chapter that I also really appreciated was his analysis of the Islamic practivce of al-taqiya, or the Islamic practice of lying. This chapter also should be read by every media person and every politically correct brain-washed person in the West.

The book is not a comfortable read as it is also very challenging to ones own personal response to the material. Joel does not call for hatred against Muslims, but rather love. This is very difficult for me personally as I still have family who are missing or dead in Sudan today. My family still is unsure if my brother is alive. Nevertheless, since I am a Christian, this book speaks directly to what I need to do.

This book is a must read. Good job Mr. Richardson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


166 of 187 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frightening Comparative Analysis of Islamic and Christian Eschatology, September 28, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Antichrist: Islam's Awaited Messiah (Paperback)
This book is a fascinating, frightening comparative analysis of Islamic and Christian eschatology. The author is a Christian (Protestant) who has studied Islam during the course of his long-term involvement in interfaith dialogues. Drawing from the Koran and the Sunna--the two principle sources of Islamic doctrines--he has identified the prophesied Islamic Messiah, Muhammed al Mahdi, as a figure quite similar to the Christian "Antichrist," as described in the book of Revelations, and in the Judaic prophecies of Ezekial and Daniel. He then demonstrates that the returning "Jesus" (Isa) of Islamic eschatology is quite similar to the Christian "false prophet," who will, in fact serve the Antichrist in the conquest and destruction of Israel, presenting himself to the world as a non-divine "Jesus" who is subservient to Allah and his Mahdi. The author's interpretation of the two prophetic traditions is that the Mahdi will re-establish the Islamic Ottoman Empire, which was essentially built on the foundation of the Orthodox Christian Byzantine Empire. This book is particularly frightening in light of the current turmoil in the Persian Gulf. For example, the militias of the Shi'a leader of Iraq, Mohktada al Sadr, is now called the "Mahdi" army. Muhammed al Mahdi is supposed to return to earth, presumably reuniting the Sunna and Shi'a factions of Islam by his presence. The prophesied destruction of Israel in the end times is supposed to originate in Khorasan, modern day Iran. Skeptics will scoff at the whole concept of prophesy, and the perrenial concerns about the "end times," but, after reading this book, I certainly wonder if we are witnessing the beginning of a pan-Islamic reign of terror in the Middle East, and around the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


126 of 141 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IS THE PRINCE OF PERSIA destined to bring forth the final antichrist deception? It may well be so..., October 1, 2007
By 
This review is from: Antichrist: Islam's Awaited Messiah (Paperback)
Within the Shiite Sect, (which is predominate in Iran), it is prophesied that there is a coming 12th Imam who is the great spiritual savior. This Imam is named Abu al-Qasim Muhammad or also called Muhammad al Mahdi. He is said to have been born the son of the 11th Imam, Hasan Al-Askari and his wife, the granddaughter of an Emperor. There are conflicting statements of her name being either Fatima or Nargis Khatoon.

Most accounts of the story say that al Mahdi went into hiding as a child around the age of 5 years (about 13th Century). It said he has been `in hiding' in caves ever since but will supernaturally return just before the Day of Judgment. According to the Hadith the criteria for the Hidden Imam are:
He will be a descendant of Muhammad and the son of Fatima
Will have a broad forehead and pointed nose
Will return just before the end of the world
His appearance will be preceded by a number of prophetic events during 3 years of horrendous world chaos, tyranny and oppression
Will escape from Madina to Mekkah, thousands will pledge allegiance to him
Will rule over the Arabs and the world for 7 years
Will eradicate all tyranny and oppression bringing harmony and total peace
Will lead a prayer in Mekkah which Jesus will be at his side and follow in
Remarkably, the 12th Imam theory plays heavily into the world's current concerns with Iran. The Shiite Muslim President of Iran, Ahmadinejad, is deeply committed to the Islamic Messiah, al Mahdi. There have been many through the years claiming to be the Hidden Imam but Ahmadinejad believes he is yet to come. He claims that he is to personally prepare the world for the coming Mahdi. In order to save the world, it must be in a state of chaos and subjugation. Ahmadinejad claims he was "directed by Allah to pave the way for the glorious appearance of the Mahdi". This apocalyptic directive includes some very scary proclamations.

The 12th Imam: Why Is This Especially Important Now?

While Christians look for Jesus' 2nd coming, the Jews await the Messiah and Muslims await the 12th Imam. However, of the three, Allah's designated Mahdi is the only one who demands a violent path to conquer the world. Mr. Ahmadinejad, and his cabinet, say they have a `signed contract' with al Mahdi in which they pledge themselves to his work. What does this work involve? In light of concerns over Iran's nuclear capabilities, Mahmoud Ahmadinejad has reportedly stated Israel should be wiped off the map. He spoke to the United Nations in September '05. During that speech he claims to have been in an aura of light and felt a change in the atmosphere during which time no one present could blink their eyes. Iran's PM is also said to have spoken in apocalyptic terms and seems to relish conflict with the West whom he calls the Great Satan. This is while he proclaims he must prepare the world for the coming Mahdi by way of a world totally under Muslim control. He is working hard to bring about the world-wide horrors that must be in place for their al Mahdi to bring peace.

This notion and goal, along with a violent hatred of infidels, America and Israel reminds us of Biblical prophecies of the coming anti-Christ and the pledges of millions to a deceiving False Messiah who will claim to bring peace. Could this 12th Imam Mahdi and his servant Ahmadinejad spark the last days of the coming true Savior?

Here is a book which examines these very current events from the perspective of Islamic eschatology: what many believe is THE INEVITABLE unfolding of EndTime events. The author makes a very good case for understanding the very real conflict between BIBLICAL prophetic truth, ... and the Islamic-agenda in our very day and time. - Read it, ... and then PRAY for wisdom and insight.
Pastor Len Hummel, Clearlight Ministries, Intl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Powerful Book!, May 6, 2006
By 
R.C. PhD (Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Antichrist: Islam's Awaited Messiah (Paperback)
This book was one of the most unique and powerful books that I have read in quite some time. The information here is clearly presented and so compelling that I could not put it down for two days. Mr. Richardson has written a well-researched, intriguing, insightful, frightening and extremely relevant book for these times. The only reason I am hesitant to use the word "masterpiece" is because I don't want to overdo it. Yet I cannot praise it enough. While the book is written for a Christian audience, I highly recommend it for anyone who is interested or concerned with the present situation in the world with the rise of Islamic extremism. Five stars for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book with great insights !, April 26, 2006
This review is from: Antichrist: Islam's Awaited Messiah (Paperback)
On the whole this book is really stunning ! The case made for an Islamic Antichrist is extremely convincing.

The author shows a remarkable knowledge, not only of Islam's books but also of the prevailing Muslim mentalities. Incidentally, it was a relief for a Catholic, to read a book on End Times which implicitly ridicules the widespread claims that the Catholic Church was the Beast of the book of Revelation.

The importance of the Imam Mahdi (or Hidden Imam) for Muslims, especially Shi'as, is clearly expounded. It resonates stunningly with several recent declarations of Iran's president Ahmadinejad.

It is impossible to recall all the great insights found in this book. The one which impressed me the most is in the chapter about "Potential Problems With The Thesis". I had been wrestling for years with the impossibility for a Muslim to demand worship for himself, as prophesied by St Paul ! I could not understand how that could be possible, and the author provided a very plausible explanation involving a false resurrection. Amazing... .

The last part of the book "How Should We Respond" is vital. These three chapters relieve the feeling of fear and helplessness brought about by this book, concerning the future that awaits us Christians. Being mentally and spiritually prepared to the looming hardship is crucial; This is why I recommend this book to my brothers in Christ so that they spread its thesis as much as possible among believers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling Book!! Mandatory Reading!!!, April 14, 2007
By 
Gregory Nyman (Winchendon, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Antichrist: Islam's Awaited Messiah (Paperback)
Joel Richardson has written one of the most powerful books in recent times, as it deals with Islam and the West, and in particular Christians. He is very well versed in the Qu'ran as well as Islamic culture, and his book is very balanced, fair, and informative. There are many chapters devoted to the "End Times" scenario, and Joel not only examines the Biblical account but he compares it to the Islamic account as well. And let there be no mistake about it - he is right on the money on most counts. There is no force in the world today which can replace what Islam represents, as it deals with the Anti-Christ. The author even devotes a number of chapters to what may be criticisms of his book, by honestly pointing out some discrepancies towards what others have written, but he quickly sets the record straight and answers these same objections. Then he devotes some material to what Christians should be doing to prepare for martyrdom, as well as listing current resources and mission groups who are ministering to the Muslims in the world.

This is a book filled with love towards the Muslims, and not a bashing of their religious faith. The fact that it flies in the face of Christian eschatology is unfortunate, but true nevertheless. It is compelling reading and a book which should be read by all vigilant and thinking Christians and non-Christians alike.

The chapters Joel Richardson devotes to what appears to be the last 30 years of prophecy within the evangelical church, or what has passed as prophecy is well worth the price of the book, and as others have pointed out, the sad part about this whole new paradigm, is that the Church of Christ have been looking in the wrong place for the wrong things to occur, instead of looking directly at the prophecies which are crystal clear as it concerns Islam and the awaiting Messiah they are looking for.

Highly recommended!!! Should be given at least 10 Stars!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unveiling diabolical Islamic eschatology, May 9, 2006
By 
Robert A. Sievers (Bradenton, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Antichrist: Islam's Awaited Messiah (Paperback)
This book is flat out amazing. I have never seen anyone make such a good case for what Revelation 17 means. The author maps Islamic end times characters to those of the Bible, with stunning similarity. Yet the spooky part is in the Islamic view, they are all backwards. For the first time, I have an understanding of how certain end time events will likely happen.

One of the best parts of the book is one of the later chapters where the author examines our response to events that may seem destined to occur. Specifically, he discusses how to overcome any potential feelings of resignation when the end is known.

This is the best book I have ever read on either Islam or end times, and I am not prone to hyperbole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Think Piece, July 18, 2006
By 
This review is from: Antichrist: Islam's Awaited Messiah (Paperback)
I was recently handed this book along with all kinds of high praises for it. But I must admit that I approached it with a very strong measure of skepticism. However, the more I read, the more my cynicism melted away. I found this piece to be quite different than what I expected. It was well thought out, well organized, well written and very well researched. And though quite scary, it was a pleasure to read. I was very impressed by the information and the authors ability to present it in a very reasonable tone. I would now also highly recommend this work to anyone who is even slightly concerned with the future of Islamic extremism. I rank this up there with the top four or five best books that I have read in recent years. I was sad however to see the review below by "Bookworm". Its obvious this individual never even picked the book up. This is clear by his or her claim that the majority of the references in this book are from the Iranian President. In fact, the Iranian President is not even quoted once in the book, at least not that I can remember. But after reading the authors chapter on the Islamic art of deception, I was not at all surprised to see this. I'm very glad that I got past my cynicism and read this book. I would definitely say that it is a must read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The credibility issue, December 16, 2006
By 
Lynne M. Whelden (WILLIAMSPORT, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Antichrist: Islam's Awaited Messiah (Paperback)
What makes this book riveting is that it makes sense out of the hazy and vague commentary of most end-times books based on Revelations. Suddenly the pieces you've wrestled with for years (Gog, Magog, armies from the North, beheading the saints) come together. It's like, "Why didn't I think of that?" But more importantly, you realize that, given the scenario he outlines, we're likely within a few decades of the climax.

Don't let the editing mistakes get in the way of enjoying this book. Hey, I just finished writing one and I can appreciate the struggle of trying to cross all your tees and dot your eyes. I hired a proofreader and even she missed alot of stuff. And give Joel a break. He can't even use his real name for fear he'll be killed. I'm sure the circumstances under which his book were written were grim at best.

This is a must-read book, not only for christians, but for all world citizens of the 21st century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful, and not at all panicky, June 24, 2006
This review is from: Antichrist: Islam's Awaited Messiah (Paperback)
The thing I appreciate most about Joel's research and presentation is the thoroughness of his examination of the Islamic texts, including those outside the Koran. For one who doesn't claim to be an Islamic scholar, he does an outstanding job of sifting through the many texts and commentaries and pulling out the nuggets that I believe best represent the truth behind who the Mahdi, Isa, and the anti-Christ truly are. But never in this explanation does Joel sound outlandish or alarmist. I believe that this is due to his genuine concern for Muslims in general, and specifically their deception perpetrated by a false religion. For some this may sound arrogant, but I know from personal experience with Muslims in Iraq, members of the Muslim faith still seek the forgiveness and relationship that is lacking in their religion. This book draws the full circle of Islamic/Christian escatology, which leads the reader back to the question, "So what then shall I do?" In the end, the Christian reader will be challenged to love and reach out to the Muslim, while not being deceived about the complexion of future events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Antichrist: Islam's Awaited Messiah
Antichrist: Islam's Awaited Messiah by Joel Richardson (Paperback - April 7, 2006)
Used & New from: $23.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.