Customer Reviews


327 Reviews
5 star:
 (249)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray: One of the best teen romantic comedies of all time in HD. AWESOME!
One of the best teenage romance films of all time.

Like many teenagers and young adults, "Say Anything..." was the ultimate teen romance film when they first saw it back in 1989. And for some people, within the last 20-years, the movie still left an impression on those who watched it.

The film received rave reviews from critics, the publication...
Published on November 10, 2009 by Dennis A. Amith (kndy)

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love the movie--the DVD still needs work
I have loved this movie since I first saw it in high school. I've owned the VHS for years and watched it often. I still quote many of the classic lines with old friends to reminisce. It's a good, light-hearted 80's romantic comedy.

Having said that, the DVD disappointed me. The first thing I noticed when I started watching the DVD was how the screen jiggled...
Published on December 31, 2005 by Jonovitch


‹ Previous | 1 2 333 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Movies Must Be a Cusack Tradition, March 19, 2001
This review is from: Say Anything [VHS] (VHS Tape)
"Say Anything" pinpoints a different kind of 80s love story movie, with less ridiculous attempts at comedy and more of a meaningfull plot. John Cusack spent most of the 80s spinning out classic teenaged comedy, but cuts down on the often needless immature and spastic humor in this movie. His trademark I think is his nervous and eager personality as the classic underachiever. Playing C student Lloyd Dobbler about to graduate from high school, he falls helplessly in love with the shy and lacking of self-esteem validictorian Diane Cort, played by Ione Skye. Lloyd lives with his sister Constance, a single mother and an un-credited part played by John's sister Joan Cusack, and focuses his life around kick-boxing. Lloyd and Diane wind up falling in love despite their differences, but are torn apart by the legal troubles of Diane's father, played excellently by John Mahoney. The movie centers around Cusack's determination to hold on to his relationship with Skye, doing everything it takes for them to stay together. The performances and original storyline are what make "Say Anything" great, and the movie is full of scenes that will never die. Scenes like Cusack holding a radio above his head outside Skye's bedroom window one night playing "In Your Eyes" by Peter Gabriel. No one by John Cusack could've done something better and more effective in a film. "Say Anything" in my mind is a new classic, a movie worth having when the box office keeps pucking up the same romantic attempt at garbage every year, I give the movie 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful Movie, March 6, 2002
This review is from: Say Anything (DVD)
Say Anything is, in my opinion, the shining film in Cusack's incredible career. Funny, charming, and original, Cameron Crowe wrote and directed a "teen" movie that appeals to any generation without using any of the typical "adolescent" flair. No cheesy humor, no stereotypical characters, and certainly no cookie-cutter plot. What we see is an emotional masterpiece: Lloyd Dobler, a nervous but charming 18-year-old, and Diane Court, the beautiful valedictorian. Portrayed by Cusack and Skye, their on-screen chemistry convinces you of their true desire and love for one another.
The DVD is PACKED with extra goods: ten deleted scenes, thirteen extended scenes, and five alternate scenes. The extended scenes even change between color and black & white so you can tell what's new, and what's in the movie. Not to mention two full length trailers, eight TV spots, and of course the best of all, the commentary! John Cusack, Ione Skye, and Cameron Crowe all reunite to pay tribute to and reminisce the wonderful film from 1989. The picture and sound quality are perfect; this is well worth your hard earned money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here's a rarity--a gentle, civilized teen comedy., March 5, 2001
This review is from: Say Anything [VHS] (VHS Tape)
If you're seeking an antidote to "American Pie" or some other incredibly vulgar teen flick, you can't possibly do better than "Say Anything," which balances its robust humor with tenderness and delicacy of feeling. This would be the greatest date movie of all time, if only girls wouldn't punch their boyfriends at the end and say, "Why can't YOU be more like Lloyd Dobler?" As played by John Cusack, Lloyd is probably the most lovable fictional teen since Huckleberry Finn, and Ione Skye, as Diane Court, is equally memorable as the inaccessible dream girl who is really sweet and vulnerable at heart. Add John Mahoney's masterful performance as the overprotective dad who turns out to be a thieving, manipulative liar, as well as the frisky supporting performances of Lili Taylor, Joan Cusack, Eric Stoltz, Loren Dean, Jason Gould and others, and you have one of the great teen romantic comedies of all time. "Say Anything" actually dares to take the feelings of its characters seriously, and to create genuine laughs that arise naturally from the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my own boombox tale, February 16, 2005
By 
Edward Rogers "radioted" (Taunton, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Say Anything (DVD)
I tried holding the boombox blasting In Your Eyes outside of my girlfriend's house one night. She looked out her window, said what the hell are you doing? And that was that. She'd never seen the bloody movie!! **Update** She's not my girlfriend anymore!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Modern Romance Classic, July 4, 2004
By 
This review is from: Say Anything (DVD)
It's so pertinent for our times. I think almost anyone can relate something similar in their lives to the scenes in this movie. That's why it's so appealing. In a world where not every guy gets the girl, this is the stuff of dreams...and for a little while, somebody out there who is watching it gets to live that dream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite teen movie!!, November 8, 2006
By 
D. Miller "Derek Fawaz" (Dearborn, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Say Anything (DVD)
I rented Say Anything from the library because I read all of the good ratings it received from both the people and critics. I could see why they felt the way they did about this film, it truly is a sweet story to watch. John Cusack plays a wonderful performance for the cool Lloyd Dobler as well as the beautiful Ione Skye as valedictorian Diane Court. It is a great experience about true love between two different high school graduates in the same class: one who is sophisticated yet trapped in her own world and the other remaining hopeful of becoming a kick boxer. Say Anything in my opinion, is Cameron Crowe's best film with Jerry Maguire coming in second, that is how good it is. It is a teen romantic comedy with a genuine heart and intelligence that I just had to buy the DVD. The John Hughes "brat pack" films are great, but Say Anything is one of the best you'll ever find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two Movies In One, July 23, 2002
By 
Kevin Caffrey (Fredericksburg, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Say Anything (DVD)
Right off the bat, if you've seen this movie and love it - get the DVD. It's one of the best DVDs I've seen, with deleted scenes, extensive audio commentary, trailers, etc. etc. etc. The four-star rating is for the movie itself; the DVD gets a solid five stars.
"Say Anything" is really two movies in one. The 'main' story is of sensitive, would-be-underachiever Lloyd Dobler's (Cusack) pursuit of beautiful overachiever Diane Court (Skye) after graduating from High School together. The story of how their relationship develops is quite realistic and the acting from Skye and Cusack is very subtle and effective. The other storyline in this film is between Diane and her father, played incredibly by John Mahoney (from TV's "Frasier"). Having chose to live with her father after her parent's divorce, Diane is incredibly close with him and is her only real friend before she meets Lloyd. However, her father's questionable business practices are called into question and her faith and trust in him are put on the line. This part of the movie, in my opinion, is more interesting than the love story between Lloyd and Diane if only for how realistic and fresh it seems compared to the typical "overbearing" fathers of movies that involve teenagers. John Mahoney really puts in a remarkable performance as the father. If you're a fan of his work, or even only casually familar with him, this is a movie worth checking out.
When I mentioned "Say Anything" to someone recently, they were kind of uncertain as to why it had achieved the 'classic' status that it has. Apart from being a very good movie, it really closed out the era of 80s teen comedies/dramas nicely. Kids that were in high school in the 80s watching and laughing at everything from "Fast Times at Ridgemont High" to "The Breakfast Club" to "Ferris Bueller's Day Off", were growing up and entering a new decade. Released in 1989, "Say Anything" reflected high school kids graduating and taking that next step towards the future, as well as dealing with serious everyday problems. Its accuracy and tenderness in displaying this is what makes it so enduring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best "teen romance" movies ever., June 29, 2002
By 
This review is from: Say Anything (DVD)
SAY ANYTHING
Long before he wowed audiences with "Vanilla Sky" or stole the hearts of moviegoers with "Jerry Maguire", Cameron Crowe left his mark on Gen X'ers with this early effort. On the heels of countless John Hughes films, Crowe's romantic comedy was a coming of age for X'ers weaned on "Pretty In Pink" and looking for one last teen fairy tale before graduating to the reality of grown up life. Crowe nabbed John Cusack to play Lloyd Dobbler, the loveable lead in his grown up teen romance. Poised on the verge of adulthood, and unsure what life holds, Lloyd takes his shot at greatness by asking out the girl of his dreams, Dianne Court. (Ione Skye)
This odd pair seem mismatched for reasons that go beyond the usual high school cliques. That these two characters are from vastly different worlds is brilliantly demonstrated by their respective families. Lloyd lives with his single mom older sister (Joan Cusack) and drifts aimlessly through life as the eternal optimist, looking for a "dare to be great" situation. Diane's life is much more structured and planned out in great deal by her doting single father. (John Mahoney in pre-Frasier days.) With everything she ever wanted, Dianne realizes that she has missed out on the kind of friendships that drive Lloyd's life.
Their unlikely romance gets off to the expected shaky start, but Cusack's machine gun delivery of Crowe's razor sharp dialog win her over. It seems impossible for Dianne to resist his charm and completely believable that she would fall for him. She struggles to keep her life in order and keep him at a distance, but eventually lets him in. This movie features one of the most memorable song placements of the era, with Peter Gabriel's "In Your Eyes" playing at their most intimate moment and again later in a heart tugging scene outside Diane's window. (Admit it, how many guys have repeated this scene in the vain hope it might just win her back?)
As her new romance grows, Dianne has to watch as her father's world comes crumbling around them both. Torn between the two important relationships in her life and facing the culmination of her dreams, Dianne struggles with choices. Crowe writes one of the best and most realistic break up scenes ever captured on film. Who can forget the post break up line "I gave her my heart and she gave me a pen." From here the movie could easily have fallen into the trap that so many other teen love stories do, but Crowe uses the strong side characters to give the film an uncommon depth and genuine emotion.
With brilliant performances from Cusack, Skye and Mahoney, Crowe's dialog flows easily and gives "Say Anything" a beautiful realism from start to finish.
Included on this DVD are a number of bonus features including a running commentary by Crowe, Skye & Cusack. There are five alternate scenes that don't show much. The deleted scenes offer a lot more though, including a lengthy monologue by Mahoney about the quality of care for the elderly. A pair of theatrical trailers and full slate of TV spots combine nicely with a featurette complete a nice collection of bonus material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVDobler, the warrior for optimism, June 14, 2002
This review is from: Say Anything (DVD)
This review will only talk about the features included on this DVD edition.
---
"Say Anything..." is one of my favourite films, and this new DVD, put lovingly together by the passionate Cameron Crowe, more than does the film justice.
John Cusack (Lloyd Dobler), Ione Skye (Diane Court) and Camerone Crowe's (writer/director) commentary track acts as part reunion, part love fest, and part thoughtful discussion on a film they're all obviously proud to have been a part of. Crowe, as writer/directors are wont to do, takes the lead. The track begins with twenty minutes of reminiscences, before the movie even begins. When it finally does begin (I say finally, but really what preceded this was most welcome), Crowe effectively introduces scenes, relays their overall importance and their genesis, while always sharing the credit. At times I wondered why Cusack didn't get a screenplay credit, for all the times Crowe mentioned a line, or even just a word, that John came up with to help crystallize the character. Crowe's other strength is in allowing his co-commentators opportunities to shine, to give their side of the story. He draws on his experience as an ex-rock critic here, to great effect.
Cusack, to his credit, is open and honest about his misgivings about doing the movie. He didn't want to do another teen movie. But in hearing him tell about how his relationship with Crowe and the script deepened, he couldn't possibly turn the film down. Lloyd, a character women love and men want to be, was built out of an intense collaboration between these two men. They agreed on many thematic notions, such as the whole "optimism as a revolutionary act" worldview, spitballed new ideas, and allowed a nice middle ground between Lloyd's lighter and darker elements to prevail. Cusack is intelligent and intense here, without ever being pedantic.
Ione Skye, who often times gets criticized for her work in the movie (which makes a story she tells, about getting booed by a crowd of Down's patients in the nursing home the film was shot at, all the more poignant), is an easygoing revelation. She is unabashed in her love for the movie, her love for the script, her admiration of Crowe, and her schoolgirl crush on Cusack (which he reciprocates). It is this last point that makes me wonder if she deserves the criticism after all. The chemistry between these two is palpable, even to the actors on set. On more than one occasion Skye notes that the scene falls away, and she really believes that she is Diane and Cusack is Lloyd, and that they are in love. Cusack agrees, and that's more than enough proof for me to redeem Skye's work here.
Besides the commentary track, Crowe, a newly discovered DVD aficionado, revels in the medium's ability to present alternate, deleted, and extended scenes. He is generous with all three, warts and all.
The alternate scenes (11 minutes worth) for the most par, present versions that are obviously substandard to those perfect gems that appear in the movie proper. The phone booth scene and the post nose-breaking scene were all re-thought, re-shot, and done much better. Most tellingly, there are 5 versions of the boombox scene. In the two takes in Diane's bedroom, we hear an angry Elvis Costello song. In the three with Lloyd down below, it's a bouncy Fishbone number. This further illustrates Crowe's luck in finding Peter Gabriel's achingly perfect "In Your Eyes". In the Lloyd takes, Cusack experiments with standing and sitting positions, to try and gain the best tone for the scene. Mostly, he comes across as much angrier and more hurt than in the real scene.
The deleted scenes (13 minutes worth) are mainly short snippets, showing us information already covered better elsewhere. They're mostly clumsy and superfluous. Exceptions include a creepy scene where Diane must fend off the advances of one of her teachers at the party, Jim Court testifying before city council about the need for more personal nursing care like he provides, and several scenes of Detective Sims interacting with the old people at the nursing home that want to be heavy but come across rather comic, due to the amateurness of the actors involved.
The extended scenes (24 minutes worth) are uncomfortable to watch. They have no music, and periodically jump back and forth between black and white and colour. They mainly exist to show Crowe's prudence in editing.
Also included on this DVD are Crowe's on set photo gallery, some TV spots and trailers, and a quick featurette from 1989. This last bit is distinguished by Crowe's quick summation of Cusack's character: "Lloyd is a warrior for optimism". It's a perfect summation, for both the character and the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A chick flick that guys can enjoy, August 15, 2003
This review is from: Say Anything (DVD)
I usually detest "chick flicks" and all of their ilk. Ergo, I waited 14 years before watching "Say Anything...", Cameron Crowe's 1989 directorial debut. I finally gave in after seeing part of it while staying at a hotel while traveling, and fell in love with this movie. I can now see why people call it a classic.
I won't regurgitate the plot, I think you can figure it out for yourself. It's the classic "boy meets girl" sort of love story, except that the dialogue and situations are much more realistic than you find in most love stories produced by the Hollywood movie machine. You really feel the yearning need that Lloyd Dobler (John Cusack, in a brilliant performance) and Diane Court (Ione Skye) have for each other. The chemistry between these two actors is so great that you yearn yourself for these two to get together and live happily ever after. This is no small trick to pull on a cynical moviegoer such as myself.
The DVD extras are fairly standard. The deleted and extended scenes only prove how wise the editors were for cutting those scenes in the first place. The featurette is helpful, but not necessary, and the commentary by Crowe, Cusack, and Skye is one big (moderately informative) love fest. It was interesting to learn that Cusack and Skye probably would have hooked up, if either was single in real life at the time of filming, and to watch the famous scene where Lloyd serenades Diane with "In Your Eyes" playing on his boom box with the original music (some sort of dancehall reggae stuff).
Anyway, "Say Anything..." is a true classic, and couples should definitely make this a date movie. The only danger will be if women start pestering their boyfriends to act more like Lloyd Dobler (aka: The Sweetest Boyfriend on the Face of the Planet)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 333 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Say Anything... (20th Anniversary Edition) [Blu-ray]
$16.99 $9.03
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.