Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hang on to your hats - 2012 is coming!
I found this book an enjoyable, humorous and informative read. Mayan cosmology has always been a source of interest to me, chiefly because the Mayans were able to plot planetary and solar cycles with extraordinary accuracy - at least equal to the efforts of our astronomers with their telescopes today. According to the Mayans, 2012 marks the end of this particular...
Published on February 12, 2007 by Chez

versus
148 of 166 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars REVIEW OF APOCALYPSE 2012
On one level the book works for me. Volcanism, variability of the earth's magnetic fields, extreme variability in solar activity, and the potential catastrophic effect of extraterrestrial objects are indeed threats to what, with our limited time view, we consider to be an optimum and stable world. The writer also refers to science which shows that extreme variability in...
Published on April 1, 2007 by Roger Smith


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

148 of 166 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars REVIEW OF APOCALYPSE 2012, April 1, 2007
By 
On one level the book works for me. Volcanism, variability of the earth's magnetic fields, extreme variability in solar activity, and the potential catastrophic effect of extraterrestrial objects are indeed threats to what, with our limited time view, we consider to be an optimum and stable world. The writer also refers to science which shows that extreme variability in these areas is the rule, not the exception. The earth has ranged from a frigid snowball to a completely ice free planet. Atmospheric carbon dioxide has been orders of magnitude above current levels and oxygen has ranged down to near zero. The magnetic poles have swapped ends frequently, if not regularly. There is evidence that suggests the earth has collided with large objects from space. We do not fully understand, and are not able to predict with accuracy, what is going to happen in these areas. Therefore, we can not rule out such catastrophes during our lifetimes.

However, the theme of this book is that the Mayan calendar ending 2012 portends the end of civilization at that date. The author rather glibly moves from the descriptions of variability of these natural phenomena to the conclusion that his scientific investigations support the end of civilization at this date. It is quite a leap from saying we may be hit by a meteor at any time, to saying science tells me its 2012.

PROBLEMS WITH THE BOOK'S SCIENTIFIC INVESTIGATION

Since the author builds his case on unrelated facts in several fields, his scientific case rests entirely on the validity and total weight of those independent, incremental threats. I have therefor largely skipped over what I think are inaccurate or irrelevant observations and just focused on a few examples where it is easy to exhibit errors. However, the major science writing flaw is not the facts themselves but the easy morphing from mentioning something as a possibility and then assuming it to be firm prediction. An example is Yellowstone major eruptions 2 million , 1.3 million, and 640,000 years ago which the author spins as "probability statistics" indicating "that we are right on schedule for the next big blow". If this is really his idea of probability statistics he should definitely stay away from Las Vegas.

Magnetic Pole Shift: In this discussion the author mixes discussion of a possible potential magnetic pole shift and an impossible physical pole shift. Obviously a physical pole shift would have enormous climatic and tectonic consequences with tremendous changes in rotational kinetic energy. The earth would literally tear itself to pieces, but with no extremely large external energy input this is not possible. No mainstream scientists have proposed that this is even remotely possible. When the author states that the intensity of hurricanes and tornadoes will be effected by a magnetic pole shift he can only be confusing the coriolis effect (caused by the physical rotation of the earth) with the magnetic effect. Nonetheless, a magnetic pole shift is a matter of concern, but no evidence has been presented that it is scheduled for 2012.

Volcanism: Aside from the example above there are some factual mistakes. One bit of silliness is the claim that the Bush administration has "authorized the drilling of an additional 10,000 oil wells in Yellowstone, in addition to the 5,600 already there." There are no oil wells now and none planned. Besides the fact that no mineral extraction is allowed in the National Parks, oil is found in sedimentary basins so it wouldn't make sense to drill into a caldera looking for oil. I guess blaming politicians and oil companies for the end of civilization gives credibility to the book?

In a second bit of silliness, the author writes of the possibility that terrorists would insert a thermonuclear device into the Yellowstone caldera, igniting the super volcano. One would suppose that terrorists possessing such a weapon, presumably tactical in size, would opt for setting it off in a major city rather than undertaking to move a hard rock drilling rig into a National Park and risking the probability that almost nothing would happen when it exploded underground.

A third problem with this section is the confusing of cause and effect. The author frequently invokes the Gaia Hypothesis about which he has written a previous book (which I have not read). At one level, about which there is not really any scientific controversy, the Gaia hypothesis is merely that the total geologic, climatic, and biological systems of the earth exhibit remarkably stable equilibrium in that they can recover from large perturbations. If the systems were inherently unstable some of the extremes (the snowball earth, the ice free earth) would tip into instabilities such as a hothouse Venus or a frigid Mars. At another level, Gaia becomes almost a philosophy of "Mother Earth" taking care of herself and is outside the realm of scientific inquiry. The author seems to me to be unsure of which of these he is invoking and to some extent by bringing in the Gaia Hypothesis he undermines his apocalyptic message.

In the section on volcanoes it is correctly stated that volcanic eruptions affect the climate. The author states that the eruptions cool the planet and that volcanic eruptions are the Gaia response to global warming, ergo since the earth is warming we are going to have massive volcanic eruptions to cool it. COOL! Except that while volcanoes both cool and warm (they are a major source of carbon dioxide so that they cool in the short term but warm the climate in the longer term) they are the cause of some climate changes, not the effect. There is no evidence that climate causes volcanic eruptions.

Sun Spots: Scientifically this is the most interesting part of the book and presents a clear picture of how dependent we are on a fluctuating heat source which emits radiation which could also fry us. Joseph points out that extreme climate variability has happened in the historic era. As he points out Iceland lost half of its population and the colony in Greenland died out entirely in the Maunder Minimum. It is well known by historians that Iceland and Greenland before 1300 both supported Viking farming communities with the climate being warmer than it is today. Strange this doesn't show up on Al Gore's hockey stick temperature chart, but then propagandists must learn to fudge the data when necessary to motivate people to do the right thing!

It is difficult to make the Sun scary. Joseph perhaps tries too hard in describing the proton storm of January 20, 2005, or perhaps he just got his physics wrong. Joseph reports that the protons got to Earth in 30 minutes, traveling at about a quarter of the speed of light. "At even a fraction of the speed of light, the mass gets much heavier. So those protons instead of being nearly weightless, would have impacted the Earth with the force of tiny pebbles." If we assume for ease of calculation that Joseph's "tiny pebble" weighs one gram (1/26th of an ounce) then he would be claiming that the mass of one proton was multiplied by 6.022 followed by 23 zeros.( 600 billion trillion). Chemists will recognize this as Avogadro's Number. As the speed of a particle is increased its kinetic energy increases with the square of the speed. Under Einstein's E=mc2, that energy increase actually increases the mass. Combining the kinetic energy equation with the e=mc2 gives us the formula for computing the mass increase. For a speed of one fourth of the speed of light the mass increase is only just over 3%, not 600,000,000,000,000,000,000,000 times!

Space: This section almost entirely rest on the theories of A. N. Dimitriev and could have been (was?) written by reading his paper "PLANETOPHYSICAL STATE OF THE EARTH AND LIFE." This article is very strange, seeming to be more mystical than scientific. Example. "These fundamental processes of change create a demand within all of Earth's life organisms for new forms of adaptation. The natural development of these new forms may lead to a total global revision of the range of species, and life, on Earth. New deeper qualities of life itself may come forth, bringing the new physical state of the Earth to an equilibrium with the new organismic possibilities of development, reproduction, and perfection." And it goes on and on. At this point in the book I am beginning to think that perhaps I am one of the last to be in on the joke.

The giveaway the book is possibly meant as a parody is in the conclusion of Chapter 8, Heading into the Energy Cloud. Joseph says that we may have to escape the Earth by colonizing the stars.

"Work is underway. In southwestern New Mexico .... the mandatory neofascist/Freemason cabal secretly run out of the Vatican by rogue elements of the CIA, working day and night to liberate trillions in mob accounts (illegally and immorally held hostage by greedy international bankers), with which they will buy up tracts of land, where they will create an underground city (because if the city were above ground people might start asking questions), breed special livestock and foodstuffs, and assemble a modular spaceship enabling a pod of 160 (the ideal number) or 144,000 (the other ideal number) chosen individuals to flee the earth just before it blows apart in December 2012 and soar, using a miniature controlled nuclear fusion reactor, to a nearby star system that we, for the purposes of this off-the-record discussion, will call Rom, where a type M, earth like planet awaits colonization."

Conclusion: Okay, so maybe the book is some sort of spoof. If so, Joseph is ridiculing the significant part of our population which is gullible enough to believe in the end of the world theories. But, on the other hand, he seems to be marketing the book as apocalyptic, not as a comic send-up of such books. Certainly a lot of money was made on the Millennium scare so maybe Joseph is just trying to cash in on the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 103 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little like a schizophrenic campfire story - very strange and hard to categorize., February 8, 2007
By 
M. Strong (Milwaukee, WI USA) - See all my reviews
Never have I been so aware of an author's shortcomings - both in terms of knowledge and writing - while reading a book. With Apocalypse 2012, Joseph has pieced together one of the odder literary offerings I've ever come across.

For starters, the book jumps frenetically from one topic to another with nary a transition to be found. The first 20 pages are so disorienting that you wonder whether a Ritalin prescription isn't in order for Mr. Joseph. Our friendly author also can't help throwing in personal experiences that - while presumably cathartic for him - have nothing to do with the book. So we hear about his divorce, his parents' divorce and his dad's subsequent death, his own financial and writing woes from time to time for no apparent reason.

Then there's the topic... that the world will endure some massive transitional (and death-filled) moment on 12/21/2012. This is accoring to Mayan astrological study. Joseph doesn't seem to know whether to mock the hypothesis or take it seriously for most of the book, which incidentally comes off as a faux-science scary bedtime story. After discussing global warming, human threats, the transit of our solar system through a rough galactic patch, super-volcanoes, terrorism and religion, Joseph seems to decide that something big is indeed in the works and that our best bet to prepare is to: 1. Pray; 2. Smash Volkswagon Phaetons (I'm serious); 3. Build underground cities with the money we'd otherwise spend experimenting with nuclear fusion.

So why even three stars? Because the book does manage to capture your imagination in plenty of places and gets you thinking some big existential thoughts and that's an acomplishment in its own right.

A goofy, disjointed ride that might just be worth your time if you like scary bedtime stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining as fiction, worthless as anything else, March 20, 2007
I stopped reading Apocalypse 2012 last night even though I'd almost finished. The book stretches suspension of disbelief on the concept of prophecy alone but when the author started citing the Bible Code as irrefutable he lost me completely as a reader. The Bible Code has been so thoroughly discredited by scores of mathematicians that its not even worth discussing the Codes' validity. (Wikipedia Bible Code, Google Bible Code and add refutation to the search.) The debunking pages even give the Bible Code perpetrators space for their papers and refutations but nothing stands up under peer review. I have to discourage you from reading it unless you just want to and/or for entertainment purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hang on to your hats - 2012 is coming!, February 12, 2007
I found this book an enjoyable, humorous and informative read. Mayan cosmology has always been a source of interest to me, chiefly because the Mayans were able to plot planetary and solar cycles with extraordinary accuracy - at least equal to the efforts of our astronomers with their telescopes today. According to the Mayans, 2012 marks the end of this particular civilization - make of that what you will.

But this book is not only about the Mayans - it's about the possible ramifications of observed earth changes, global warming, solar changes and meteors - all scientifically validated as far as I know from my own research.

On top of this, there's fascinating information on Jewish, Christian and Islamic doctrine. The Messiah from everyone's point of view - politics, mythology, and a very interesting chapter on the I Ching, or Book of Changes, revealing a time code hidden within the hexagrams. Also covered is Drosnin's "The Bible Code".

I'm a little perplexed as to why this book has attracted (some) such negative reviews. There was certainly no religious fundamentalism, fanaticism - or even fatalism within its pages as far as I could decipher. Just an extremely well researched gathering of facts, history and probabilities.

Even if you're not at all interested in the Apocalyse - you will learn much from this book. And there will be quite a few chuckles along the way. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A book without a purpose, dont make the same mistake I did., March 10, 2007
The thesis of the book is basically something interesting (end of the world, significant change, etc.) is going to happen in 2012, and if it doesn't 2012 is really just a case study for something interesting happening at some point in the future.

Such a broad thesis allows the Author to assemble a rather diverse array of physical phenomena, metaphysical concepts, that may support the author's general thesis.

I paid $40 bucks for the audio download ... BIG WASTE OF MONEY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bunkum and Bosh...., March 15, 2007
By 
Apocalypse 2012 is an entertaining read and that's all it is. Mayan predictions about 12-21-2012 have been discussed and written about for some time. Lawrence E. Joseph is just one is a lengthening line of authors that look to exploit nervous readers about what MAY happen in the future. The same predictions were made by other writers for the year 2000. I am amused that in 2007 we're prepared to seriously pay any credence to a backward people that practiced human sacrifice and managed to disappear from the planet....probably due to bad agricultural practices.

All of the other problems Joseph discusses have occured many times. The supervolcano isn't in danger of blowing anytime soon. Shifts in the magnetic poles have happened before and man managed to survive. Planetary alignments happen several times every decade.

Apocalypse 2012 is the equivalent of a ghost story intended to scare adults and lacks any touches of scientific study.

Entertaining but still bunkum and bosh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If this is science I am Superman, September 24, 2007
This book is a tour through some of the cutting edge research in; volcanology, geology, astronomy as viewed by some controversial figures in those fields. Mostly a non-scientific look into the fringe elements surrounding 2012, the end of the Mayan Long Count. The book dissapoints on two counts; it promises to add some insight into the 2012 popular discourse, and it claims to be a scientific investigation. Unfortunately it does neither, as it adds nothing new to the understanding of 2012, the Maya or the Mayan Calendar, and it fails miserably to explain any valid scientific research. But It does expound profusely on controversial research without ever presenting it in a scientific manner. In the growing universe of popular culture 2012 literature, this book sits at the bottom of the pile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not really about 2012, September 17, 2008
This review is from: Apocalypse 2012: An Investigation into Civilization's End (Paperback)
If you are thinking of buying this book to learn about 2012, do not bother. As other reviewers point out, this book is more about the personal meanderings of a marketeer and have little, if anything, to add to the 2012 story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Scientific?, March 5, 2007
By 
A more accurate subtitle would have been 'A Pseudo-Scientific Joyride Through La-la Land'. I couldn't discern any scientific evidence for the earth (or the human species) coming to an end in 2012. Presenting a laundry list of possible global catastrophies does not argue for a particular millenium, much less a particular date.

In attempting to lay a foundation for the 'everywhen' nature of time that enables prophecy, Joseph even trots out a bona fide Russian mad scientist to tour some Soviet era psychic espionage equipment. It never seems to occur to him that had these programs been even marginally successful, this would certainly be one of the most secretive and well guarded facilities on earth.

Not sure why I bought this book. As an earlier reviewer pointed out, it could have been the subtitle. Don't be fooled like I was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read, but type needs to be bigger-good suggestion for 2nd edition, May 15, 2007
By 
denny "Book Guru" (Sterling Heights, MI USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My first impression is that the 53 year old author should know better and not have such small type as I had a hard time reading this book because of that and I am 53 also. What Joseph did was learn about, and summerize, everyone else's research he could find, which includes just about all credible sources to his credit, and he comes to the conclusion that something is going to happen most likely because too much evidence from all over the world idependantly says it will, and to therefore, make good use of the time we do have left, good advice. While it is an entertaining read there is no original work and no smoking gun produced from this author that something cataclysmic will happen. The most interesting parts to read are when he went to russia investigating the energy cloud the solar system is entering and the parts about the sun cycles. If you want a good overall read on 2012 this is your book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Apocalypse 2012: An Investigation into Civilization's End
Apocalypse 2012: An Investigation into Civilization's End by Lawrence E. Joseph (Paperback - January 15, 2008)
$14.95 $11.24
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.