Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apocalypse Z
WOW!!!

What if you woke up one day and all your family and friends were dead or a zombies.
That's what happen to a group of young adult in this great novel from G.E Swanson.

This is a must read, it made me feel that I was unprepared and needed to go shopping.
A military plot gone wrong...
Published on November 12, 2012 by jacquelyn smith

versus
28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So bad it's ... bad
I don't write reviews as a habit, but I'm compelled to after finishing this novel. I've read in excess of 40 zombie novels, not to mention countless end-of-the world stories. "Day By Day Armageddon", "World War Z", the Morningstar series; you get the point. This book is without a doubt the worst read in the genre. While I give any author credit for taking the time to...
Published on September 4, 2012 by Z1N1


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So bad it's ... bad, September 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apocalypse Z (A Zombie Novel) (Kindle Edition)
I don't write reviews as a habit, but I'm compelled to after finishing this novel. I've read in excess of 40 zombie novels, not to mention countless end-of-the world stories. "Day By Day Armageddon", "World War Z", the Morningstar series; you get the point. This book is without a doubt the worst read in the genre. While I give any author credit for taking the time to write and publish, the plot is terrible, the characters wooden, and the setting/timeframe implausible. I'm an amateur shooter, but I can tell you the physics and utilization of the firearms as described in the story just don't make sense. Walking Dead readers, walk on by this corpse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Teen-Age Z Drama (Spoilers), May 9, 2013
By 
Warren Ayen (Chicago, IL, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apocalypse Z (A Zombie Novel) (Kindle Edition)
After I finished Apocalypse Z: The Beginning of the End and was eager for more ZA (zombie apocalypse) reading, I went to find his second and third books. Unfortunately they haven't yet been translated to English, but this one showed up in the list instead.

I regret purchasing it. Just a few pages in and I felt like I was reading something someone typed out on a computer and printed into a book sans any kind of of editing. There was little to describe the world, with most of the writing focusing on quick, short actions with minimal descriptions of what was actually happening. It was difficult to picture this particular ZA with any real degree of certainty, and the worst part was that all of the characters pretty much had a single mind and personality; I felt no distinct difference between Jet and Mark or any other set of characters that strangely all found each other attractive. Contrived sex scenes and romance just further added to the misery.

If you're fond of pointless romance with no real story and characters that have no basis in reality, this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste tie time, March 8, 2013
This review is from: Apocalypse Z (A Zombie Novel) (Kindle Edition)
The author couldn't figure out whether he was writing a teen novel or 50 shades of gray. Then in the middle of a zombie outbreak they stop to get clothes, and use up all their ammo?

Sorry I wasted my time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alright for Teenagers, So-So for Adults, February 13, 2013
This review is from: Apocalypse Z (A Zombie Novel) (Kindle Edition)
It's not the gratuitous sex and violence that makes this a bad book, or the absolutely juvenile and unrealistic way the author depicts sex and violence. He is an imaginative writer when it comes to violence and his scenes are a pleasure to read. However, there are many parts of the book that, even if one has suspended all disbelief, still make one cringe because they sound as if they were written by a 12 year old. The author does a good job of drawing the reader into the plot line and, even though the characters do not have much depth, the average teen boy can identify with them. It will provide a couple hours of entertainment even to adults, but don't expect Charles Dickens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars terrible, May 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apocalypse Z (A Zombie Novel) (Kindle Edition)
Is this written by a school child? Zero suspense; zero plot development; zero interest. One star is generous.I couldn't even be bothered to finish it. Lousy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Its bad, and it just keeps getting worse, February 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apocalypse Z (A Zombie Novel) (Kindle Edition)
Now i recently finished another zombie novel by a certain Spaniard. And after finishing that, i was looking for more interesting stories related to the same subject. So i decided to give Swanson a go.
I started out with an open mind, but i was quickly struck by the lack of detail and ability to tell a story. I kept on reading, because i honestly was hoping that the book would take a turn for the better, and that the writer would develop a story with more depth and prove me wrong on my initial assessment.
But it just keeps being poor, its like reading something made up by a 5th grader. It is sporadicly jumping from one action to the other, without being able to tell what is happening in between. There is nothing happening in between the lines, its all there right in front of you. With no detail and enthusiasm. Your young readers are not stupid, they are intelligent young human beings who deserves a challenge when reading, your work simply does not provide them with such.

Dear Swanson, until such a time where you are able to actually write something with even a hint of depth. Please refrain from publishing more stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apocalypse Z, November 12, 2012
This review is from: Apocalypse Z (A Zombie Novel) (Kindle Edition)
WOW!!!

What if you woke up one day and all your family and friends were dead or a zombies.
That's what happen to a group of young adult in this great novel from G.E Swanson.

This is a must read, it made me feel that I was unprepared and needed to go shopping.
A military plot gone wrong...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is fantastic!!!, October 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apocalypse Z (A Zombie Novel) (Kindle Edition)
It's great to see a book where young adults play the heroes and heroines. Usually it is the other way around and the younger people are the ones having to be rescued at some inconvenient point and tend to be portrayed as a hindrance at times throughout the story.

This book breaks that stereotyping cycle. The author has also given them skills, intelligence, courage, and the ability to think and react quick in stressful situations. Some may think that is farfetched, but I don't. Younger people can posses all those traits. Even as the world crumbles around them, they are forced to fight for survival all the while having to deal with other issues that are normal for people of that age group.

I have to agree with another review, reading fiction is supposed to be fun and getting lost in the story. While it does appear that this was aimed at a younger readership, there is still a lot going on that will keep almost anyone interested. This book has characters that are easy to like and care about. The story moves along smoothly and is packed with a lot of fast-paced action. The dialog is well written and the actions scenes are descriptive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved the book...Lots of action, July 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apocalypse Z (A Zombie Novel) (Kindle Edition)
I loved the book! The story was very good and had a lot of action. There were a lot of zombies and a lot of pounding, chopping, slicing, shooting, and chases.

I promise to keep it rather brief and try not to spoil it for anyone.

Not only did the characters in the story have zombies and bad guys to battle, but some of their own issues too. They didn't get through every encounter without consequence, and that presented more challenges and issues for them to deal with. Some of them made it, some didn't. While most were in their mid to late teens, the main characters ranged in age from 9 to 30 something, and were from different walks of life. Besides a lot of gross and gore, the author added some sexual content to the story, as it is a normal part of life. The scenes were descriptive and acceptable for an adult zombie novel, but didn't cross over into erotica. I liked the epilogue, it provided a nice close for this book, but left the story open for the series.

I rate this book to be between 4 and 5 stars, but since there isn't a 4.5 option, I gave it a 5. If you like good zombie action books, I recommend you read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It was awful, December 17, 2012
This review is from: Apocalypse Z (A Zombie Novel) (Kindle Edition)
This book had no character development, at times it made no sense why an average group of teens have all these survival skills. PS they were not sad when their parents and friends died I found this very odd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Apocalypse Z (A Zombie Novel)
$2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.