Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


159 of 166 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Childhood Distorted By Zappa Album! Film At 11!
Whenever anybody asks me what the best album to buy as a first Zappa album, I tell them either "We're Only In It For The Money" or this one, and I usually give this one a little higher boost.
Why? Because this is the album that got me into FZ at the tender age of 11 years old. By accident....
One balmy spring day in early '75, my (then) uptight, Catholic,...
Published on November 9, 2002 by Chris Matthews

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of the best nor one of the worst
This cd is a great tention releaver. It's funny in the way many people can understand. There's not suttle humor as in Lumpy gravy and no pressing ishues. Musically it's more polished and not all that hard to follow. Oh, it's good music but when contrasted against works like Shut up and play yer Guitar or some of his clasical works it falls down. I like the cd but...
Published on August 21, 1999


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

159 of 166 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Childhood Distorted By Zappa Album! Film At 11!, November 9, 2002
This review is from: Apostrophe (Audio CD)
Whenever anybody asks me what the best album to buy as a first Zappa album, I tell them either "We're Only In It For The Money" or this one, and I usually give this one a little higher boost.
Why? Because this is the album that got me into FZ at the tender age of 11 years old. By accident....
One balmy spring day in early '75, my (then) uptight, Catholic, ex-John Birch Society mother came home with a stack of records from the local Ridgecrest library that she thought looked appropriate for kids. My sister and I looked through the stack until.....Apostrophe! We looked at each other in shock: Mom brought home a ZAPPA record! At that time, only kids with hipster bros & sis's had heard his records. We knew the rumours: he talked about "naughty" things on his records! Was mom "letting her hair down"? No. She just thought that "the guy on the record cover looks like a jazz musician with a sense of humor", and "the song titles are funny".
Cool! Diane & I ran to the record player & were therein initiated into the universe of Frank Zappa. Of course we giggled through the obligatory scatology of "Don't Eat The Yellow Snow" & the adventures of Nanook, but there were other songs here that made some slowly emerging gears in my 11 year old head start to turn. What was so important about "St. Alfonzo's Pancake Breakfast"? What was "Cosmik Debris", and why was the man "jiving" him with it? Why did I like the instrumental "Apostrophe", and why did I feel in my gut that it was different somehow that other rock solos? Why did the man have the argument with the dog after the discussion of the importance of personal hygene in "Stink Foot"? My pre-adolescent brain began to burn with one of the most subversive things that rock n' roll ever did to kids. Sex? No (well, okay, maybe a little..). Drugs? No.
The frightening answer was......questions!! I was beginning to THINK FOR MYSELF, stimulated by Zappa's imaginative absurdity!!
Now, as an adult, I 've figured out those answers. "St. Alfonzo's" is a satire about religious hypocrisy & behaivior.
"Cozmik Debris" is a stab at mocking the "new age", and its voodoo b.s. "Apostrophe" is a solo in the Lydian mode, highly unusual. And the dog & the man were arguing about semantics.
Thanks, Frank, for making this guy think. Too bad, other adults didn't get warped like I did.
It's not too late. Buy Apostrophe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars - Great stuff but not as great as other Zappa material hence lower rating, August 11, 2007
This review is from: Apostrophe (Audio CD)
Look, I have to be objective here. I'm a big Zappa fan. I especially love his work with the original Mothers (ALL of it) and the work he did with his big band (Waka Jawaka, Grand Wazoo, Imaginary Diseases) as well as the Roxy and Elsewhere band. All of those aforementioned CDs get 5 stars in my reviews - some I would give 100 stars if I could. The ONLY reason I'm not giving Apostrophe (') 4.5 stars is it just isn't as good as the aforementioned material... but it IS good and worth adding to your collection.

Apostrophe (') is good fun and there is some great music here. But let's be honest, this release was used to finance more serious works by Zappa.

Yellow Snow and Nanook Rubs it are funny the first couple of listens.

St Alphonzo and Father Oblivion is at once humorous and very good music

Excentrifugal Forz is one of the high-lites but it is very short

Apostrophe (') is a great jam with Jack Bruce but it's just a jam, there's no serious writing here.

Cosmik Debris is another favorite and a indictment of new age mumbo jumbo.

Uncle Remis is a great commentary on the loss of focus and priorities when it comes to civil rights (whoa, are we movin' to slow? I can't wait 'til my 'fro is full grown - and so on and so forth)

Stink Foot falls into the same category as Yellow Snow and Nanook.

So yeah, this is a good Zappa CD. Is it essential? I guess that depends on what you are looking for in a Zappa release. It's good fun but the music simply isn't as good as that found on Roxy and Elsewhere, Waka Jawaka, Uncle Meat, Freak Out! and so on and so forth.

4.5 stars

BY THE WAY: Dweezil's Zappa Plays Zappa band is playing material from this release. Last night I saw this band and it was FLAT OUT AMAZING! Cosmik Debris and Uncle Remus (with Ray White singing!) were included in the very generous 2.5 hour set. If Zappa Plays Zappa comes to your town, for God's sake, GO SEE THEM! You will not be disappointed as this show rivaled the concert I saw in March 74 with Zappa and his Roxy and Elsewhere Mothers. Dweezil's band REALLY IS THAT GOOD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Concise but comprehensive, March 25, 2004
By 
Patrik Lemberg (Tammisaari Finland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Apostrophe (Audio CD)
Zappa took a compositional turn with this album. It's in the genre of "Over-Nite Sensation," but further developed towards whatever it is musicians think of when they hear "Zappa," and there was more like this and even further developed material to come. This album has a definitive main thread, even though it features four different drummers and four different bass players, because it's very bluesy. Even if the songs aren't played with typical blues progressions --with the exception of "Cosmik Debris"-- there's a bluesy feeling pretty much throughout, which mainly the guitar solos lend. But there's more than a feeling of blues to this album; the songs are complex to an unusual (yet not extreme) degree, but make sense, and are very well performed. "Apostrophe (')" is, in a way, an album in a genre of it's own - mainly for the highly individual compositions "St. Alfonzo" and "Father O'Blivion," but also much because of "Uncle Remus" with its feeling of soul and gospel that isn't much heard anywhere else in Zappa's discography. Many think that "Stink-Foot" is not a highlight, and while I understand that point of view (since it fills a fifth of this 32-minute album and doesn't have a compositional quality like the other songs) I still find it highly entertaining and needed because of its groove. Don't let the length of the album scare you, btw - the material on it is worth the money. 4 1/2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some of Frank's Finest, January 27, 2000
By 
Anthony Kroposky (Middlesex, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Apostrophe (Audio CD)
Love him or hate him, there is no denying that Frank Zappa produced some of the most interesting and musical recordings in Rock. Apostrophe(') is quite possibly one of Franks finest. The album opens with "Don't Eat The Yellow Snow/Nanook Rubs it". The titles are separated on the jacket, with different times listed for each, but in typical Zappa style there is no dead air between any of the tracks. This CD leans less toward the protracted jazz/rockish type of song writing of the mothers and leans more toward the more compact rock/pop song writing that characterized his later recordings. The disc continues on with "St. Alfonzo's Pancake Breakfast," which melts into "Father O'Blivion." One can't help but wonder where his inspiration came from for any of his music, and this is no exception. Then again, with song writing this brilliant, who cares? The music is funky enough to make you tap your foot, with hooks the will have you humming all day at work. Your going to want to run home and listen to this cd all the time. Words can't really do the music justice, but if you could imagine blues and funk mixed with jazz and given a good stiff does of sometimes brash irony, you'd begin to get an understanding. Of course Zappa is constantly experimenting with sounds and arrangements, and this disc is no exception. Unlike some of his other recordings, however, he seems to sticks a little closer to a more traditional vein. Well...traditional for him, anyhow. The CD continues on with "Cosmic Debris," a short, funny, R&B inspired tune about a "mystery man" that is classic Zappa.The album continues with "Excentrifugal Forz," "Apostrophe," a nearly 6 minute instrumental that reeks of early 70's funk, the Bluesy "Uncle Remis," and ends with the classic jam song "Stink-Foot." All of the tunes are tight and well written with superb musicianship and some really fine guitar work - something that Frank doesn't often get enough recognition for. This is the kind of CD you can listen over and over again and hear something new every time. As you might expect, its laced with irony and sexual innuendo - adult material and definitely something you shouldn't play around young children. Probably all of Zappa's work could be described as brilliant, but Apostrophe(') hits the nail square on the head. It's definitely worth the price of admission - and then some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You no longer have to choose between Zappa's two best albums, March 17, 2004
By 
The debate seems to be centered on which of Frank Zappa's albums is the best and the choice is between "Apostrophe" and "Over-nite Sensation." But such a debate is moot if you put the two albums on one CD, right? Besides, these albums run a bit short on their own, so putting them together makes sense on that economic level as well.
"Apostrophe," in its own words, "is an album of songs and stories set to music performed for your dining and dancing pleasure." The first four songs are about an Eskimo that almost makes sense, which makes this something of an actual concept album, at least for the first "side" of the record. What I remember is that "Don't Eat the Yellow Snow" was my first exposure to the musical stylings of Frank Zappa (my roommate did the "listen to this" bit with me). The best guitar solos are on "Cosmik Debris," "Stink-Foot," and the title cut. The lyrics are perhaps a dark shade of Zappa than you usually find, but it was 1974 and that could explain it right there since you should look for deep, hidden meanings in the songs of Frank Zappa, but just not in any conventional way.
Now, the reason I have this album can easily be explained by quoting the chorus of the first track, "Camarillo Brillo":

She had a snake for a pet
And an amulet
And she was breeding a dwarf
But she wasn't done yet
She had gray-green skin
A doll with a pin
I told her she was awright
But I couldn't come in
(actually, I was very busy then).
The lyrics are what hooked me, but I also like the way George Duke pounds the ivories during that song. Along with "I'm the Slime" and "Dirty Love" I think that the first three tracks on "Overnite Sensation" distill the Zappa essence as well as any comparable set you can find in his entire oeuvre. Perhaps the best proof of this would the anecdotal evidence that this is the album people who only own one Frank Zappa album happen to own. This would make sense since "Overnite Sensation" is probably more rock-oriented than most of Zappa's albums. For songs about in a similar vein, only about an Eskimo, check out "Apostrophe," which was produced in the same time with pretty much the same musicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great zappa album is also his most accessible, February 27, 2001
This review is from: Apostrophe (Audio CD)
This album goes nicely with that other masterpiece overnite sensation. In terms of musical complexity, it is perhaps the most 'easy-listening' zappa album. But don't let that fool you, because there is some incredible musicianship on this record! The yellow snow suite is the highlight for me. It has daft lyrics about eskimos, pancakes, huskie wee-wee,baby seals and yellow snow. It is a delight. If you've braved Ben Watson's poodle play book, you will be aware of the similarities between this album and King Lear, whether intentional/unintentional. Anyway there is a load of conceptual continuity in this album, especially the references to the poodle Fido. But this is for the intellectuals, mere music fans like myself get enough satisfaction from listening to Ruth Underwood's magical xylophone part on 'st alphonso's pancake breakfast', my favourite song on the album. Frank has a lot of stellar guitar moments on the album. His guitar bursts sounds great on nanook rubs it, there is great playing on apostrophe' and uncle remus and the stinkfoot solo is a slippery sounding masterpiece. Excentrifugal force is a joy, a short piece of music that could fit into a sci-fi movie i reckon. It's a masterpiece of recording technique and musicianship. Like the whole album. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of his best...simply delirious !, July 30, 2007
By 
Guy Campeau (Stoneham, Québec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Apostrophe (Audio CD)
This is one of my all time favorite album from Zappa. The first half of the cd is simply delirious. If you want to discover FZ, this is a good one to start with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soon to be reissued !!!, June 13, 2012
By 
MidWest Phil "Midwest Phil" (Northfield, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Apostrophe (Audio CD)
Give thanks to all who make the yellow snow - The Zappa Family Trust has finally regained control of Frank's catalog and ALL 60 FZ albums will once again be available at realistic prices before the end of the year.

First 12 albums to be released July 31 - followed by 12 more/month for the next 5 months.

The days of seeing insane prices on Zappa CDs is soon to be ended !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apostrophe ('), May 29, 2007
By 
This review is from: Apostrophe (Audio CD)
Frank Zappa-Apostrophe(') *****

The first half of the album is sort of a concept album, well a mini-concept album about an eskimo named Nanook and all of his wild adventures. The second half of the album just plays out like a well polished jazz record with satire thrown in for lyrical content. Filled with some of the most outragiously satirical lyrics in Zappas cannon, and some of the most amazing guitar work ever heard or played mixed with some of the strangest sounds ever recorded but by this time the world had come to expect that from the genius that is Frank Zappa, and some how all of this madness managed to become a hit album. How you ask well lets see.

By this time Zappa had earned much respect in the musician comunity and a large fan base because of his humor. By the time Apostrophe(') was released in 1974 the world had began to realize that listening to a Zappa album is like whitnessing a shock and awe mission and many were curious about it. With the large success and suprize radio air time of 'Dont Eat The Yellow Snow' Apostrophe managed to become a gold album, Zappas first of his career. The song had catchy lyrics, and a great melody, and not to mention the amazing guitar playing through out.

The first two tracks 'Dont Eat The Yellow Snow' and 'Nanook Rubs It' are combined together as a single just title 'Dont Eat The Yellow Snow' which is another reason why this album is essntial and so cool because this is the way that it was ment to be heard.

'Nanook Rubs It' is a bluesy song about the murdering of Nanooks favorite baby seal. 'St. Alfonzo's Pancake Breakfast' plays out like some strange love at first sight with Tina Turner singing backup. 'Father O'Blivion' is a fushion jazz track that is just so out of this world that it must be heard to apreciate, this track ends the mini-concept album.

The second half of the album opens with the Zappa classic 'Cosmik Debris.' This song has gone on to be a fan favorite appearing on almost all of Zappas post human compalation albums. 'Excentrifugal Forz' is just insane. Must be heard, and is truly one of the best songs that Zappa has ever written. The title track 'Apostrohe(')' is an amazing insrumental that contains some of the very best guitar playing ever recorded. 'Uncle Remus' starts out as a old time piano ballad, somewhat wild west-esq. Then it transforms into an all out guitar assualt on the ears. 'Stink Foot' is a song that not many feel is a highlight but that is just wrong, the song takes up a fifth of the 32 minute album, it is vital to the album and is perfect for closing an already great album.

Aside from Zappas guitar playing which is amazing and prevalant through out the album he also wrote everything he himself did not play. All the background music is of his own writing. All the Xylaphone, drum, ect. are all written by Zappa so not only was he playing and singing along but conductiong as well.

Apostrophe(') is an amazing album that no Zappa fan can not own and still call themselves a Zappa fan. This is essential to all jazz and rock collections!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2nd Zappa album in my life, and still a fave..., August 25, 2006
This review is from: Apostrophe (Audio CD)
Being a middle child in life, my parents ignored me. It's a strange way of starting a review, but bear with me. One of the benefits of being a middle child is that since your parents completely ignore you, you are left free to do pretty much anything that you want, including listening to music that your parents normally wouldn't allow you to. Hence, Mr. Zappa. It was almost a badge of honor to have a Zappa album, as people felt your intelligence was superior to theirs. This was my 2nd Zappa album, and I still dig it. It may not be as avant garde as Weasels Ripped My Flesh or as musically complex as Hot Rats, but so what? It's still Zappa, and it's pretty damn good. Father O'Blivion, St. Alphonso's Pancake Breakfast, and Stink Foot are fantastic songs, ones that Zappa did in concert quite often. Zappa rules, but you already knew that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Apostrophe
Apostrophe by Frank Zappa (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.