Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Book
I have been waiting for another Sarah Booth mystery and I was not disappointed. Bone Appetit had all the qualities I look for in a cozy: suspense, love, female friendship, dogs, and was a darn good read besides. Because of a past tragedy, Sarah Booth had to be dragged into this adventure but she didn't let her personal feelings stop her from helping others and solving the...
Published on June 25, 2010 by Sylvia

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A step in the right direction
I have loved this series up until the time that Sarah Booth becomes a "star." Part of the enjoyment of this series
is the rural Mississippi setting and the cast of characters. Her new love Graf is not appealing. He is so one dimensional, and cannot hold a candle to the more complex Coleman. In past books the tension and dynamics of the Sarah/Coleman relationship was...
Published on September 7, 2010 by Cotton's mom


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A step in the right direction, September 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bone Appétit (Sarah Booth Delaney Mysteries) (Hardcover)
I have loved this series up until the time that Sarah Booth becomes a "star." Part of the enjoyment of this series
is the rural Mississippi setting and the cast of characters. Her new love Graf is not appealing. He is so one dimensional, and cannot hold a candle to the more complex Coleman. In past books the tension and dynamics of the Sarah/Coleman relationship was interesting and believable. Graf Milieu (what a name!) needs to go. Bring Sarah back permanently to Dahlia House and renew the relationship with Coleman. Ms. Haines paints beautiful pictures of the Delta. Please, no more Hollywood and Graf.
I did enjoy this book on the whole, partly because it was set in the South again and Sarah Booth was back in the harness with Tinkie, investigating murder. A good move in the right direction, Ms. Haines. As opposed to another of the readers, I think that the references to the "Delaney womb" are clever and humorous.Thanks for an overall enjoyable series, with the exception of the Hollywood departure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Book, June 25, 2010
By 
Sylvia (Charlotte, NC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bone Appétit (Sarah Booth Delaney Mysteries) (Hardcover)
I have been waiting for another Sarah Booth mystery and I was not disappointed. Bone Appetit had all the qualities I look for in a cozy: suspense, love, female friendship, dogs, and was a darn good read besides. Because of a past tragedy, Sarah Booth had to be dragged into this adventure but she didn't let her personal feelings stop her from helping others and solving the mystery. Ms. Haines' books are among the few that I must get the week they are purchased. Her descriptions of the Mississippi Delta and some of it's citizens are wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take another trip with Sarah Booth Delaney, July 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bone Appétit (Sarah Booth Delaney Mysteries) (Hardcover)
As expected, Bone Appetit, a Sarah Booth Delaney Mystery is another whirlwind trip through the Mississippi Delta with our favorite Private Investigator and her partner friend Tinkie Richmond. These two draw mysteries and murder like a magnet and before they can unpack to attend the Viking Cooking School, they are knee deep in another investigation. Both Tinkie's husband and Sarah Booth's significant other of the moment try to discourage the two friends and want them to close their PI business. This is about like trying to talk a boll weavil from attacking a big fat field of cotton. Haines plots are always fast moving and her books page turners which will keep you up into the night. Her "red herrings" are enough to open a fish market and exceptionally clever and her humor is marvelous. If the summer heat is getting to you, get a copy of Bone Appetit and settle down with a glass of sweet tea. You are guaranteed relief from the whatever is disturbing you and a read of pleasure. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bones Disappoint, November 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bone Appétit (Sarah Booth Delaney Mysteries) (Hardcover)
I thought her first books in this series were wonderful but do not enjoy the latter ones as much. I liked them before they went Hollywood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable entry, June 26, 2010
This review is from: Bone Appétit (Sarah Booth Delaney Mysteries) (Hardcover)
Their last case still haunts the Delta detecting duet (see Greedy Bones) as private detectives Sarah Booth Delaney miscarried and Tinkie Richmond's husband almost died. The pair needs pampering and massaging so they head off to the ritzy Alluvian Hotel for a weekend getaway and to attend a cooking gala.

Viking sponsors a cook off, but two of the contestants die from poisoning and a third lapses into a coma. Police Chief Jansen suspects Hedy Lamarr Blackledge is killing off the competition, but the visiting sleuths think otherwise and begin an inquiry abetted by Jitty the ghost appearing in several performing roles while their respective mates plead with them for an investigative timeout.

This is an enjoyable entry that fans of the series will enjoy though it reads in many ways like the last case with a near death experience. The story line is fast-paced as the two women investigate while Jitty provides clues and comic relief. Action-packed, Bone Appetit is a fun paranormal whodunit; just don't eat the food.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Hollywood Factor is Tiresome, June 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have read all the books in this series and I just haven't liked them as much since the HOLLYWOOD factor appeared. Graf's perfectness grates on my last nerve. He's rich. he's famous. He' gorgeous. He's a movie star! And like so many movie stars he's completely without ego or self-centeredness. Yeah right. Give me the endearingly flawed HUMAN Coleman Peters anyday. Graf is a superfical caricature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leaves me wanting more!!!, June 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bone Appétit (Sarah Booth Delaney Mysteries) (Hardcover)
As always, a great read!!! I have enjoyed all of the Bones books and this is no exception. Carolyn weaves an intriguing story with mystery, romance, an old Mississippi plantation home, a mouthy ghost(with only Sarah Booth's best interests at heart, of course), two sweetheart dogs, and a wonderful mix of characters that you feel like you know personally by the end of the book. I'm always anxious to start the new one, but hate to finish it because then I know it will be a while before the next one comes out. ;0
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A dissenter, July 14, 2010
This review is from: Bone Appétit (Sarah Booth Delaney Mysteries) (Hardcover)
I guess I'm the only one who found this book virtually unreadable. I used to like this series a lot. I started getting turned off when Sarah Booth made the virtually unheard of leap from local actress to B'way star to Hollywood starlet. In Hollywood, she manages to snag the one and only faithful, albeit ludicrously named, Hollywood hunk Graf Milieu who is quite solicitous of her career needs ("Do you want to return to Broadway Sarah Booth?").

But Sarah Boooth has not yet reached the pinnacle--in the last pages of this novel, she becomes God, or close enough. What next???

I think Ms. Haines has lost her way with this series and has taken what was a good cozy into the realm of an improbable and laughable fantasy-mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Summer Read!!, July 1, 2010
By 
This review is from: Bone Appétit (Sarah Booth Delaney Mysteries) (Hardcover)
Ms Haines never disappoints when it comes to Sarah Booth, Tinkie, CeCe, and the rest of the Zinnia Gang! I have read each one of her books in this series. Sarah Booth Delaney is a character you'll fall in love with. You'll fight with her, you'll cry with her, you'll laugh with her! The book's descriptions of the Mississippi Delta are phenomenal! Being from the area, the descriptions are accurate and comforting. I feel I can travel back home any time I want to with these books. The mystery, the romance, and the Southern charm will not disappoint you. If you haven't read the others, start with Them Bones first and read all the way through! The books gives a real glimpse into what it is like to be a strong, independent Southern young lady--but especially this one. If you've ever wanted to travel south, you can do it with this one! Honey, they are sweeter than sweet tea and finger lickin' good reads!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Carolyn Haines never disappoints!, September 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bone Appétit (Sarah Booth Delaney Mysteries) (Hardcover)
I have read all of the Sarah Booth Delany series by Carolyn Haines and and always anxious for the next. The characters are well developed as are the relationships between the characters. There is a good mix of humor with the more serious and emotional story lines interwoven to provide a rich reading experience. I like books with likeable sleuths and believable characters. Haines even has us believing that Sarah Booth's ancestral home is haunted by a humorous ghost that only she can see. I don't always buy into other-worldly story lines (in fact some do more harm than good by including such a premise in the storyline) but Haines neatly weaves this into the well-constructed whole of each book so that one finds it makes total sense that sarah can converse with this spirit. At the same time the book(s) do not rely on the supernatural for plot and the story unfolds in a down-to-earth manner that never leaves me questioning the author's veracity. Sarah Booth is not a perfect character and yet a very likable one. We feel with her as she goes through many difficult relationships and experiences. Her best friend Tinky is a delightful character and the loyalty between the 2 friends creates a desire in the reader to have a friendship like they do! I like the fact that her realationsips have not always been smooth or easy and that some are complicated. There is nothing flat or dry about Haines writing. It is rich with nuances and depth while throwing in enough humor to make the telling heavy. I have not been disappointed in any of the books of this series including this one and anxiously await the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bone Appétit (Sarah Booth Delaney Mysteries)
Bone Appétit (Sarah Booth Delaney Mysteries) by Carolyn Haines (Hardcover - June 22, 2010)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.