Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book!
I have been learning to use App Inventor since I first got a smart phone about six months ago. This book is a much needed learning text for App Inventor. It teaches by having you build examples apps with each one getting a little harder and introducing new concepts.
It starts with Hello Purr, a variation of Hello World. The book makes even this well-known app fun...
Published on May 24, 2011 by NM

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is available free online on MIT site...wastage of my money
This book is great for School children or High school goer. Also a great tool for someone trying to learn the Mobile Apps.
But you will be wasting the money as the same book is available to download for free from MIT website.
Published 5 months ago by AnandS


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book!, May 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: App Inventor: Create Your Own Android Apps (Paperback)
I have been learning to use App Inventor since I first got a smart phone about six months ago. This book is a much needed learning text for App Inventor. It teaches by having you build examples apps with each one getting a little harder and introducing new concepts.
It starts with Hello Purr, a variation of Hello World. The book makes even this well-known app fun because of a couple of variations it throws in.
In the meantime it explains everything step by step and teaches useful programming practices like testing often, in fact each time you add something new to your program.
The chapters are all well illustrated including a few fun photographs of real people illustrating something about the app.
The book is divided into two main sections. The first section, thankfully, is all the fun apps which you build and learn by doing.
The second section, called Inventor's Manual, is also very interesting when you are ready for it. It discusses issues from a programmers point of view with suggestions on incremental development and similar helpful programming design tips.
It also includes an in depth discussion of all the features, components, and blocks in App Inventor.
The two sections of the book, the tutorials and the Inventor's Manual together provide far more coherent and approachable documentation for App Inventor than Google's on-line documentation.
For anyone who craves a little structure in their learning, I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Describes a bold new programming paradigm, May 25, 2011
By 
Sam Trenholme (Puebla, Puebla, Mexico) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: App Inventor: Create Your Own Android Apps (Paperback)
App Inventor: Create Your Own Android Apps describes and shows people how to use a new web application platform which has the goal of allowing non-programmers to be able to make Android apps. This book is for people who have never programmed before who wish to develop Android apps. "App Inventor" should not be confused with the Android SDK, which is geared towards professional programmers who already know Java, nor with the Android NDK that uses C++.

Computers have made a lot of progress in the last three decades. We have moved from machines that can only work with 80 column text using a fixed-width font to machines with sophisticated graphical user interfaces. This transition has been done piecemeal, starting with the transition from the Apple II to the Macintosh, followed by the transition from DOS to Windows for business computers, which was then followed by the transition of the Internet from Usenet and other text-only applications to graphical web browsers.

The only technology that hasn't made this transition is the interface used by programmers. Programs are still made using the paradigm of an 80-column terminal with a fixed-width font.

App Inventor breaks this programming model. Programs are developed with a mouse; the program structure is described using graphical components resembling pieces of a jigsaw puzzle. The App Inventor book walks you through the process of using this platform, starting with a simple "Hello, world" application and finishing with advanced topics such as using Android's web API.

One issue I had with the system is that App Inventor needs a fast computer with a large screen to function well. While I was able to build basic applications on my test system (an Atom N455 Netbook with a small 1024x600 screen), the emulated system I was developing on ran very slowly and developing applications required a lot of switching the window between the web page with the application and the Java-generated page for programming the application's logic.

I might have had better luck running the system using my 64-bit Linux system which runs the Android SDK noticeably faster, but unfortunately I was unable to synchronize App Inventor with its included Android emulator in Linux.

App Inventor shows a lot of promise, and the O'Reilly book does a good job of describing how to use this development toolkit. Unfortunately, the technology is a little too cutting-edge to use with the low-end computers many people have today. Only get this book if you have tried out App Inventor and it runs well on your system.

DISCLOSURE: A digital copy of this book was given to me because I am a member of the O'Reilly Blogger Review Program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource for multiple age levels, July 16, 2011
This review is from: App Inventor: Create Your Own Android Apps (Paperback)
We used this book to teach a week-long summer camp to high school students and found it to be a very helpful resource. Soon, we will also use it to help 20 high school teachers understand how to develop apps for their science/math courses. In the Fall, we are planning to use this for our new CS Principles course at my university.

This book was selected because of the combination of very cool examples, and a writing style that is very engaging and informative. The book has sections with many examples, as well as chapters that address specific topics within the App Inventor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is available free online on MIT site...wastage of my money, October 21, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: App Inventor: Create Your Own Android Apps (Paperback)
This book is great for School children or High school goer. Also a great tool for someone trying to learn the Mobile Apps.
But you will be wasting the money as the same book is available to download for free from MIT website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Obsolete, March 8, 2014
By 
D. Brian Burghart "busy guy" (Reno, Nevada United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: App Inventor (Kindle Edition)
This is the book for teaching the old version of App Inventor. The application has been completely updated, and you'll spend more time trying to figure out how to adapt what's in this book to AI2 than you will doing the tutorials or building apps. Both this version and the updated version are available for free on MIT's App Inventor site at [...].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Got it for a class, May 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: App Inventor (Kindle Edition)
This book was a required text for one of my classes. I felt that for someone as myself, new to this technological world, this book was a bit too "advanced". Perhaps, again because 'Im a slow learner, it may work for someone who is familiar with the basics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource...., June 8, 2011
This review is from: App Inventor: Create Your Own Android Apps (Paperback)
I am a high school technology educator and I got this book to start a section in my class about app development. This book is great, very easy to read. There is not a lot of technical info to get lost in. The pictures are great and it really is a piece of cake to make the first app. I am testing it with kids this next school year and I think it will be a great success. I can't say enough good things about this book it was a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to follow, April 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: App Inventor: Create Your Own Android Apps (Paperback)
This book made it easy for an IT-phobic person to create my own apps. I highly recommend it and am glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good lord, it's Abelson!, November 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: App Inventor: Create Your Own Android Apps (Paperback)
Both easy to understand and yet delivers some computational concepts. I'm not a programmer (well I diddled a bit in Basic and Logo way way back). Besides, it's Abelson! That should be enough for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bon ouvrage, November 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: App Inventor: Create Your Own Android Apps (Paperback)
Bien, didactique, en deux parties :
Première partie, apprentissage par l'exemple.
Deuxième partie, cours d'informatique qui reprend les notions vu dans les exemples.

En ce qui concerne la langue, une fois que l'on a le vocabulaire technique, l'ouvrage est rédigé dans un langage pas trop compliqué, compréhensible en grande partie même si l'on ne parle pas anglais couramment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x98c4951c)

This product

App Inventor: Create Your Own Android Apps
App Inventor: Create Your Own Android Apps by David Wolber (Paperback - May 13, 2011)
$39.99 $23.51
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.