Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
32
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$21.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 30, 2010
Interesting book that is written for the non-programmer and the programmer, who has the technical abilities but lacks the marketing skill to peddle his wares. There are some obvious stories as to the need to plan and the approach but there are a lot of other stuff that would assist the man of ideas.

The book starts in a typical way as to where you can start with an idea for the iphone, that can become the million dollar idea. It brings down your enthusiasm with stories about how nearly 99 percent of the applications in the store are not making the millions but the select one percent.

The book covers the store, the various pricing tiers and a lot of material can be had for 99 dollars once you become part of the Apple Developer Connection. It does give a good overview of the apple iTunes store for the un-initiated. The books in interspread with Interviews with successful UI designers who made it in the store, as well as the people from the industry (the advertisement industry).

The book can also be considered to be like a biography of the Tweeb application, its genesis , how it moved across and got what it needs to be a successful application.

The book is a good read and quite a lot of anecdotes, but then there is a bit of repetitive material but given the nature of the book and the fact that it is targeted at the noob, makes it a little bit of quick flip through some of the pages for somebody who has familiarity with the Apple Application Space.

The best part of the book, from my point of view, is the selection of tools that the book gives clues to use , though like an advertisement, it shows about the usefulness of some of the apps, and also provides other options. Particularly wire-framing part is full of great tips for the one to start scribbling their ideas into coherent set of documentation to share with the developer and to make it to the building blocks for a great application.

The other part of the marketing push with tips as to best sites that would generate the needed traffic is useful but can be more exhaustive. Did not talk much about the paid services that are offered for reviewing applications and how it helps in generating the foot falls required to generate interest in your product.

Overall, the book can take a three stars for the aggregation of content and the insight that it brings from some of the successful applications on the market. The book has a bit dated stuff too, but then in such a changing landscape it is expected. The book is definitely worth the time to the starter to the Iphone or any product guy to go and look into the details.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2012
I initially got this book to satisfy my inner desire and urge to dive into the app store market and I was not disappointed. Even though I haven't done so yet (it's not as easy as it sounds like, I'm sorry fellow programmers), I now understand what it takes to make it happen in the internet.

The book is made for Iphone Apps; however, the author did not stress that fact as much as I expected he would, but he painted a nice picture of everything that involves to have a presence online and to execute, run and maintain a successful app.

It is NOT to code apps, but a MUST if you want to be part of this world wide web craziness and be on top. It's fair game for everyone: it matters little who you are in the real world, online is a different animal.

This well-organized book made me rethink and strategize (i wasn't even thinking about needing a strategy) the development of a website, and everything makes more sense thanks to Ken.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2011
Everybody's doing it. They are sitting on that great idea for a next amazing application. The first lesson that Yarmosh empahsises is that your 'app idea must be more than just an idea.' The amazing rate of adoption of iOS-based appliances and the confluence of the effective marketing tool that is the appStore have created a new business model. One that allows for amazing exposure, huge first mover advantage and extremely low barriers to entry. One of the biggest challenges beyond actually creating the application is understanding the labyrinth that is getting it added to the store. Thankfully this book addresses this challenge and provides much much more. This is *the* textbook for iApp development. However, this book is not dealing with iOS coding, but instead with the larger process. It rises above the process of building the application and addresses the entire development process through building to delivery - moving from conceptualisation to realisation.

Yarmosh starts from basic business principles and quickly moves into the specificities that make the iApp business proposition a special beast. This book is directed at both entrepreneur and developer alike, and provides a comprehensive survey of the . Additionally, the content of this book provides an intriguing look at the mechanics that guide the business proposition that is the app Store and creates a bit of a case study source in itself. The inclusion of interviews/case studies with successful developers that rounds out an extremely valuable read.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2011
Whether you are a novice or an experienced entrepreneur, a "techy" or a business type you'll find Ken's book a one-stop-shop for everything you need to know about building successful apps for the iPhone/iTouch & iPad platforms and equally important marketing them.
I took the book with me to a Caribbean cruise, thinking to peruse through it in between trips to the pool and beach, but I ended up reading it cover-to-cover like a summer thriller. In spite of my 40+ years in technology, I found that App Savvy answered all my questions and some I didn't know to ask... Always to the point and never condescending. The interviews at the end of most chapter provided a well rounded perspective on the issues and links to additional resources completed this very thorough dissertation on everything mobile.
No - Ken is not a relative nor a friend...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2012
This book is the opinions of one former app businessman (he sold his App Empire). He got in and out when people expected less of app design and functionality and it was all new, and before this era where you have to be free and have 4.5 stars or no one downloads it. It's a tougher world out there. But...it's actually a good read, with a lot of tips and techniques I haven't seen elsewhere (yet...I'm an app biz newbie). It's light on design and technical, heavy on marketing. Still, covers everything but the kitchen sink, and therefore covers each topic only lightly, with one chapter. But it's entertaining and basically exposes one to the possibilities of being an "appreneur". I will likely read it again later and apply some of his ideas.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2010
I met Ken at ProductCamp DC and had the privilege to get an advanced copy of his book "App Savvy," published by O'Reilly. Ken is not only a great speaker in the mobile apps arena, he also did an excellent job writing about his "been there - done that" experience as an iOS product manager on some of his successful apps. This book is a concise, practical, step-by-step guide for anyone starting with Apple's iOS platform. It includes a wealth of useful information and tips ranging from product strategy (e.g. Blue Ocean), customer development, product launch, social media marketing, the iOS development/submission process, and post-launch support. On top of that, at the end of each chapter he included interviews with some of popular iOS developers/entrepreneurs (e.g. Mobclix, Smule) - lots of valuable lessons learned from the iOS community. Great read--highly recommended.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2013
I've read them all: App Empire, Appilionares etc. and this is the best app book you can get.

The book is really deep. And take you step-by-step through app development process from idea to app updates. I think it is a good book for advanced developers or beginners.

Get that book, It's the bible for every indie mobile app developer!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2010
Honestly, I don't write many book reviews and this may actually be my first Amazon one, but I absolutely had to write a great review for this excellent book. Most good technical people are lacking when it comes to anything on the business side of the house. So when an idea they perceive is great comes along, emotion eventually leads to diving in to implementation with little or no planning and eventually they have developed an great product that only they would buy.

With, App Savvy. Ken Yarmosh has given developers the missing link between that great app that only they and maybe their Mother would buy, and an excellent app that actually does well in the app store. He does this in several ways. First, he helps developers fight off the emotion that overcomes them when they have a great app idea that they KNOW will make them rich and shows them how to redirect this excitement into thinking critically about whether it will really be a success. Second, if the app really has potential, he offers an app development methodology that focuses not only on the technical but the extremely important and ofter overlooked marketing efforts that really make the app a success.

If you are planning on seriously developing apps that are successful in app store, I highly recommend that you buy this book and read it before you buy anything about Objective-C, Cocoa, OpenGL or the iOS SDK!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2010
The App Store has its own idiosyncrasies that can be confusing for a first-time developer trying to learn the creation and app submission process. Before you launch your first app to the App Store, be sure to read this book first! This book doesn't only cover apps -- it's also a helpful general business primer when it comes to strategy and marketing. If you have a "great app idea" and don't know where to start, this book will get you rolling by giving you an inside view of the entire process. I enjoyed this book because the information was concise and not wordy. One of my favorite features of this book is that at the end of every chapter, Ken interviews successful App Store developers so you can glean from their experiences. There are already lots of books that explain iOS coding. This book isn't about writing iOS code, but instead is about everything to do with building your own successful application and launching and marketing it to the world. Enjoyable read, and I definitely recommend it for anyone interested in getting into the mobile app business.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2011
>>>..."App Savvy" is a Business Strategy Guide that will help us build & turn our Ideas into an iPad & iPhone App that is what the Prospect/Buyer will notice - stand out & be purchased in the highly competitive App Store environment!!!..."App Savvy" goes beyond the technical aspects of iPad & iPhone design & development to include focuses on the business, product and marketing aspects critical to pursuing, complApp Savvy: Turning Ideas into iPad and iPhone Apps Customers Really Wanteting and selling our App---all essential ingredients for turning a great idea into a genuinely successful purchased product/solution!!!...
>>>..."App Savvy", from the Ken Yarmosh(A Mobile Product Strategist & Knowledge Authority)Team & Teammates, is a Business Guide for all, Designers, Developers, Entrepreneurs,etc. or just someone with a unique idea, that will walk us through every step in the App process with its Proven Success Process that includes numerous interviews from the App Store's most prominent Apps publishers!!!...
>>>..."App Savvy" with its 338+ Knowledge well-conceived & content delivered pages, from 1-Strategy, 2-Development to 3-Launch also includes a fine finish, recap, Appendix-Tips & Tools & Index that highlights not only the Here & Now but the Future!!!...>>>Going Forward!!!...Invest in your Purchase Review of "App Savvy" Today / Now!!!...Let's Roll!!!...Time is of the Essence!!!...Hang-On & Hang-In!!!...>>>...Carpe Diem / Seize The Day!!!...Michael!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse