Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


100 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous display. Some reviews here are quite bogus.
I've owned this display a few months (just got the wife one this week, too!), and it's a FANTASTIC display. I moved from my original Apple 23" Cinema Display to this 24" LED Cinema Display, and don't regret it for a second. The screen is incredibly vivid, and if you don't have any obvious windows behind you, the glare from the glass is a non-issue. This holds true for...
Published on January 30, 2009 by William Grose

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars over priced, under featured
The 24" Apple LED Cinema Display (mb382ll/a) seems to be over-priced and under-featured.

The display lacks needed controls (e.g., brightness), relying on the user having
a computer that knows the secret of controlling the display. And, no, not even all Macs know
how to do it.

The display is glossy, with lots of glare. The display stand is...
Published on January 10, 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

100 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous display. Some reviews here are quite bogus., January 30, 2009
This review is from: Apple LED Cinema Display 24-Inch MB382LL/A (Personal Computers)
I've owned this display a few months (just got the wife one this week, too!), and it's a FANTASTIC display. I moved from my original Apple 23" Cinema Display to this 24" LED Cinema Display, and don't regret it for a second. The screen is incredibly vivid, and if you don't have any obvious windows behind you, the glare from the glass is a non-issue. This holds true for Apple's current notebook lineup.

What I'm really tired of is people complaining that it only works with the Mini-displayport-equipped notebooks. While this is TRUE, it's not like Apple is hiding it from anyone. It says so right on the box! Apple is switching all its equipment, as they have said, to mini displayport. End of story. If you don't have a new Apple notebook, you can't use the display! Go get a different display! Nobody is forcing you to buy this one!

Now, getting back to the review, some might complain that the better part of nine-hundred dollars is a lot of money for a 24" display. But there is a reason for the price-tag. Several reasons, in fact. First, it uses an IPS panel, which provides wonderful color, and fantastic viewing angles. Every four-hundred dollar screen of this size at Best Buy will be a TN panel, which while having the fastest refresh rate, provides terrible color accuracy and viewing angles that fall off drastically when viewed from any angle other than DEAD center. IPS panels are considerably more expensive for this reason. Second, this is an LED backlit display, not a traditional CCFL backlit display. This means the screen reaches full brightness almost instantaneously after turning it on, whereas CCFL LCD screens take some minutes to achieve the same goal. And, of course, LED lit screens are wonderfully bright compared to CCFL. There is currently, as of typing, no screen out there this size which is LED lit and IPS for this price.

Next, let's add the fact that it will power your new MacBook/MacBook Pro/MacBook Air because it provided a power plug for your laptop! So now you can leave your laptop charger in your bag! Now, let's add that this screen has two fairly decent speakers and a rear-facing subwoofer built in. Sure the quality of the speakers isn't going to be so much that you replace a high-end desktop speaker system with it, but for me, for quiet music and YouTube etc, it's perfect. And it also has three USB ports in the back for plugging in your other devices. Oh, and it has a webcam/microphone built in!

The ONLY reason I don't give the display 5 stars is because Apple has a bit of work to do in their "dust-free environments." I've used four of these displays, and each one has had between one and five dust flecks or debris of some sort under the glass. Many people won't notice, but they're there, and others have reported such things on the Apple Discussion Boards.

In any case, this should not put you off buying what is perhaps not even arguably the most stunning display on the market (provided you have a new Apple notebook of course!). I, for one, could not be happier. It takes my breath away every time I turn it on.

To sum up, for the cost of this display, you get a stunning LED lit, IPS panel, which serves as a docking station of sorts to your Apple notebook by providing USB ports, microphone, webcam, speakers AND power to it. Great stuff. I think it was worth the money.

4.5/5

*EDIT 5/20/10*

There are now third-party adapters to let you use your own older MacBook/other laptops with the Cinema Display. Use at your own risk. They're definitely not a guaranteed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking at every angle., December 26, 2008
This review is from: Apple LED Cinema Display 24-Inch MB382LL/A (Personal Computers)
The new Apple Cinema Display is absolutely a site for sore eyes. There is nothing else in the market today that will even come close to the magnificence of this display, cheaper but not better. If you have a new Macbook consider it naked without this display.

Everything from design, to functionality, to connectivity far exceeds what anyone expects from a premium computer display. Using this product makes you question how you ever used anything else. Reading the specs and viewing pictures does no justice to this display. This is a feat that must be experienced at first hand.

Design and functionality go hand and hand. With a built-in webcam, self-powered usb ports, 2.1 speaker system, microphone, and macbook charge cable, nothing else works better and easier than this display. Why buy a cheaper screen that has none of these features. You will still have to power both your Macbook and display with separate power cables. Then you will need to connect external speakers, more wires and another powered source. Then of course an external usb hub, if it needs to power an external HHD you will also need to power that as well, add another cable. Want a camera and recording device? You can either keep your macbook open at all times or buy external ones, more cables to add. Getting cluttered yet?

Once all these things are connected you've got a huge octopus with an endless mass of tentacles. Now you want to take your Macbook portable, like you would any laptop, you would think this would be easy. While disconnecting all these external devices just think when you come home you will have to attach them all back. Sounds like fun right. Do it at lease three times a week and the fun will cease to exist.

One cable powers your display, connects from your power socket to your display. That will be the only cable hanging from your outlet. One more cable comes from your the back of the display and connects your macbook. Thats it, all done. The Apple Cinema Display will detect your macbook and work seamlessly. To take your laptop on-the-go just disconnect one cable and your done. One cable does everything.

Another note about the new display is that it is incased completely in aluminum and glass. No external buttons can be found anywhere. Where is the power button? There is no power button. The display turns on the instant your macbook is connected and turns off the instant it is disconnected. Just like the macbook, if something does not have to be there, it isn't. Simplicity is the key.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect, February 20, 2009
By 
Roger Maxwell (Clarksville City, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apple LED Cinema Display 24-Inch MB382LL/A (Personal Computers)
+ Absolutely beautiful monitor - high quality appearance and feel
+ Awesome image quality
+ Very bright
+ Zero dust under the glass as reported by other users

- Built-in speakers are sufficient, but unimpressive
- I had hoped for no dead pixels, but there was ONE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Companion for Your MacBook/MacBook Pro, March 5, 2009
By 
Nathan M. (Nashville, TN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apple LED Cinema Display 24-Inch MB382LL/A (Personal Computers)
Despite the premium price, this is hands-down the best external display to use with a MacBook or MacBook Pro, especially if you plan on using the dual-desktop arrangement (utilizing the laptop AND display).

The built-in MagSafe adapter is the best feature. It completely negates having to carry the regular power adapter from home to work and back every single day, which is something that I always found to be a pain. The MagSafe adapter is extremely convenient.

Additionally, when the USB cable is plugged into the laptop, it automatically activates the built-in speakers and recognizes the iSight as the primary camera in case you need to use iChat to video conference.

As many others have found, this is not a display that is widely compatible with other laptops or even older Apple laptops. The display is powered by a mini Display Port, which is only used on the newer MacBooks and MacBook Pros. While I am sure that certain adapters can provide functionality with other laptops, this display is really meant to be used as a companion to the newer Apple notebooks.

Overall, the display looks great. I find the glossy screen to make the colors more vivid. However, I have talked to others that are irritated by constant glare of this display (and the new glossy notebook screens as well). While this could be a potential problem, the screen is bright enough that the glare is not very noticeable unless you are in direct sunlight.

I would highly recommend this display to compliment a MacBook or MacBook Pro. It is the best on the market and Apple always seems to create products with stunning industrial design while maintaining the overall quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely stunning display..., August 10, 2009
This review is from: Apple LED Cinema Display 24-Inch MB382LL/A (Personal Computers)
I recently sold my 20" iMac and purchased this Apple LED Cinema display to use with my 13" MacBook. Let me just say right of the bat, this is the most beautiful, well-constructed display I've ever used. Immediately after plugging the mini displayport into my MacBook, the display light to full brightness and auto adjusted the settings. The 3 USB ports on the rear of the monitor work perfectly and it's great to have the magsafe power charger handy. The monitor's only weakness, in my opinion, is the audio speaker quality. Don't get me wrong, for speakers built into a monitor it sounds great. However, compared with my Logitech Z2300's it's not even close...but I digress. 1080P video runs smooth with exceptional clarity. Also, the depth of color is fantastic - it actually makes my slightly older unibody MacBook look bad (the new MacBook Pros & Air have the updated LED displays that should be on par with this monitor). I can honestly and without any doubt say, if you're at all considering this monitor, you should definitely purchase it - you will NOT be disappointed! Apple LED Cinema Display 24-Inch MB382LL/A
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best...for the MacBook, March 18, 2009
This review is from: Apple LED Cinema Display 24-Inch MB382LL/A (Personal Computers)
I have chosen not to categorize the $900 price tag below. Whether this baby is worth $900--or less...or more--depends on you. Personally, I believe it's worth every cent.

THE GOOD:

This monitor was very well-built. Apple "sculpted" it with a brushed aluminum exterior--so that it will match almost any other Apple product. Most other 24" monitors that I've owned--including a Dell and an NEC--were coated with hard plastic and became hot during extended usage. I sometimes use this monitor all day, and it remains cool to the touch.

It's extremely easy to set up: just plug-and-go. The "power box" has actually been built into the monitor--so that you won't have to worry about having a giant brick on or under your desk. Also, there is no "On/Off" switch. To turn it on, simply plug it into your MacBook. To turn it off,...yep, you guessed it. You can easily increase its brightness or calibrate its color in the same way that you would on your MacBook. In summary, the monitor itself has absolutely no buttons of its own.

I'm not a professional photographer; but, based on what I've seen, the brightness and color output on this monitor are nothing less than amazing...and embarrassingly better than that which you will find on any Dell. The higher-end $2000+ NEC monitors are, of course, a different story.

One outstanding feature of this monitor is that it charges your MacBook while connected, so that you don't have to take out and unravel your portable charger every time you bring your MacBook home.

Another feature of this monitor is its built-in speakers--also made by Apple. They are not Bose, but they do sound nice enough so that you will not have to buy external speakers.

You know, I hate to add propaganda to my reviews; but this is probably the most beautiful monitor on the market.

THE BAD:

The screen is coated with glass. The advantage: you can finally safely use Windex to clean your screen! The disadvantage: the screen is tremendously glossy. This doesn't bother me because I don't work in an extremely well-lit environment. Of course, if you do, you can always phase out the gloss by increasing the brightness--being careful not to fry your retinae.

The monitor has three USB outputs. Well, that's good...but that's it. There is no HDMI, DVI, or audio output. It is designed to stream images and audio only from a MacBook.

THE UGLY:

This monitor was made only for the new line of MacBooks. It has a "mini-display port" output, while the new MacBooks are currently the only laptops with a mini-display port input. So, if you don't have a MacBook made since late 2008, don't buy this monitor. Of course, there are third parties that claim to offer a special adaptor that will allow you to use this monitor with other computers; however, even if this is the case, Apple has stated that it will not warrant the monitor under such conditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful ... !, September 15, 2009
This review is from: Apple LED Cinema Display 24-Inch MB382LL/A (Personal Computers)
As a long-time Mac user ... didn't even consider this 8 weeks ago when we got a new MacBook Pro 13" ... when my spouse started doing more 'homework' in the bedroom on the older 'noisy-fan computer,' something had to change, and the 24" LED Apple Cinema Display popped out as a solution.

The range of screen real estate auto-adjusts right when you connect your laptop ... Amazing! Yes, a little pricey in the splurge-worth-every-penny sense, and yes, if you've got the right computer (or are ordering one), then these are the top 'cool' features we like:

* Greener / cleaner
* Beautiful design
* Built-in speakers "let music flow" (in our small-average sized room is very, very pleasant)
* Connects to MacBook Pro with *built-in* 3-way cord (weren't sure if it was a separate purchase at first ... it's included)
* Laptop connection gives "instant-on" with display, and lid closed ... "It just works" factor ... you can even wake/sleep laptop via blutooth devices*
* Built-in iSight / Mic works great
* Sound / Brightness adjustable from

*It goes very nicely with Apple's wireless bluetooth keyboard and mouse from Apple, to simplify and de-clutter our space. Wonderful, in a word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The picture of this monitor does not do it proper justice, March 20, 2009
By 
This review is from: Apple LED Cinema Display 24-Inch MB382LL/A (Personal Computers)
I do a lot of graphic/photoshop work, and this display is a joy to work with. This was my first 24" monitor (I upgraded from an old generic 17" LCD) and the size blew me away.

A glossy finish with amazing viewing angles, vivid colors, and pretty much everything you could want. Of course the casing is slick and the black bezel is also awesome. Goes well with my bluetooth apple keyboard/mouse. If they managed to shove the imac into this monitor (So I wouldn't have my macbook off to the side) it would be the perfect setup.

I do feel it was overpriced, however the quality and design of this monitor are unparalleled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for MacBook Pro (late 2008), February 19, 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (Northern California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apple LED Cinema Display 24-Inch MB382LL/A (Personal Computers)
Just plug it in to your MacBook Pro (late 2008) and it works. The display is excellent and the connectivity to the MacBook Pro (late 2008) works perfectly.

This monitor is designed as an extension of the MacBook Pro (late 2008) and connects via the new Mini Display Port. You cannot directly connect this monitor to a Windows workstation or a HDTV. The only outputs on this monitor are power to the MacBook, Mini Display Port and USB.

I would have given this 5 stars if Apple had included a HDMI port.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning display, well worth it., February 10, 2010
This review is from: Apple LED Cinema Display 24-Inch MB382LL/A (Personal Computers)
As a confirmed MacHead since 1984 I was initially not interested in this display because of the cost. Dell Ultrasharps at a few hundred less had always worked well for me and my Macs. I am very familiar with all of the other high end displays and what they offer in the $1,000 range such as NEC and others.. It became clear to me that for the price this monitor is very, very good. Since I have a MacBook Pro with mini-display port I am set with the connectors on this monitor that basically make it a docking station for my Mac Book. The monitor is bright with excellent color and even tiny text is easy to read. Of course it is very well made and looks fantastic. if you are thinking about getting one just go ahead and do it because you will be glad you did. I've noticed btw that lots of PC owners running windows are buying these along with an adapter so they can use it on their DVI equipped PC's. You can get a DVI adapter for around $75.00 This display has built-in speakers which sound surprisingly good as well as microphone and camera that work perfectly over iChat or Skype. Given how much time I spend in front of a computer the display is of paramount importance and this one will last years making it a wise investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Apple LED Cinema Display 24-Inch MB382LL/A
Used & New from: $495.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.