Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Server But SMB Services Could Be Improved
Bought the 16GB-RAM version of this guy a few weeks back to replace a Dell Linux server which was noisy and bad. MacMini just as if not more fast than the Dell it replaced, and is whisper silent which is awesome. More than capable of running multiple linux server VMs for additional applications.
Easy to administer from the command line of course but it's nice to...
Published 16 months ago by B. Jacobs-swearingen

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the value it once was
I just want to point out the pricing of this product. For an additional $240 over the MD366LL/A model here at Amazon you get an extra 1TB drive and the $20 Server application. Assuming you are buying this for server use, thats $220 for a 1TB drive. You will undoubtedly need external drives for more capacity anyway, so ask yourself is $220/1TB worth it?

I don't...
Published 12 months ago by Thomas Almy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Server But SMB Services Could Be Improved, March 30, 2013
This review is from: Apple Mac Mini MD389LL/A with Lion Server (NEWEST VERSION) (Personal Computers)
Bought the 16GB-RAM version of this guy a few weeks back to replace a Dell Linux server which was noisy and bad. MacMini just as if not more fast than the Dell it replaced, and is whisper silent which is awesome. More than capable of running multiple linux server VMs for additional applications.
Easy to administer from the command line of course but it's nice to have VNC remote desktop as an option as well.

Only major thing to be aware of going in is that the filesharing services only service SMBv2. Windows clients will not have trouble with this but it will break (for now) requests from Linux samba clients, until the maintainers of the linux cifs client project incorporate support SMBv2. Backwards support for SMBv1 would have been nice, but the speed boost with SMBv2 is very noticeable and it's really on the linux developers to get their cifs client caught up to improvements in the technology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the value it once was, July 31, 2013
By 
Thomas Almy (Tualatin, OR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Apple Mac Mini MD389LL/A with Lion Server (NEWEST VERSION) (Personal Computers)
I just want to point out the pricing of this product. For an additional $240 over the MD366LL/A model here at Amazon you get an extra 1TB drive and the $20 Server application. Assuming you are buying this for server use, thats $220 for a 1TB drive. You will undoubtedly need external drives for more capacity anyway, so ask yourself is $220/1TB worth it?

I don't have this model, but bought and continue to use the original Mac mini with Snow Leopard Server. Back then the $1000 price got you the second hard drive instead of a DVD drive over the mid-price model, but Snow Leopard Server OS cost $500, so you were only paying $500 for the hardware! Apple reduced the price of the server $480 but didn't lower the cost of the system at all.

These minis work well as server computers, but I'd recommend buying the "regular" Mac mini and Server app separately to save money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful Little Tyke, October 22, 2013
By 
Tony Caravan (Malibu, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apple Mac Mini MD389LL/A with Lion Server (NEWEST VERSION) (Personal Computers)
The Mini is not so mini anymore, it's about 8" square; but that said, it packs a powerful punch. I added 16 more gigs of DRAM and hooked it up to a Thunderbolt Display, and it's a pretty darn good computer. I can run Photoshop, InDesign, Safari, Mail and other programs at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, March 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apple Mac Mini MD389LL/A with Lion Server (NEWEST VERSION) (Personal Computers)
Best Mac mini money can buy!
Outperform latest iMac! Great for professional it home use. Recommending 8GB Memory or above (supports up to 16GB).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Mac owner, December 16, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apple Mac Mini MD389LL/A with Lion Server (NEWEST VERSION) (Personal Computers)
To tell you the truth, I am still getting used to my Mac Mini so this may not be the best review, but as a 20 year PC user, I finally made the switch.
Is it different? Yes.
Is it confusing? At times it is, but the more I use it, the better I like it.
I do like the processing speed for movies and graphics. I was finally able to covert the two hours of HD video from my in-laws vacation into a movie, although I had to buy a Samsung DVD writer ($29 on Amazon) because there is no optical drive. My son, who has an iPhone and Macbook pro, is helping me with a few things and the interconnectivity of all the Apple devices is cool. I guess my next phone will be an iPhone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well made, well packaged, April 25, 2013
By 
J. Crisler (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apple Mac Mini MD389LL/A with Lion Server (NEWEST VERSION) (Personal Computers)
Apple server works well out of the box. Clean packaging easily configurable Server.

Server OS is included, but it could also be purchased for $20 in the App Store.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Price, December 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apple Mac Mini MD389LL/A with Lion Server (NEWEST VERSION) (Personal Computers)
Ordered for the price and am very happy with this ordering method over buying direct from Apple.
Saved money on tax. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best !!, January 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apple Mac Mini MD389LL/A with Lion Server (NEWEST VERSION) (Personal Computers)
It's the best computer I have ever invested in. It will run both mac os and windows, I love it.
jack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as advertised...., February 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apple Mac Mini MD389LL/A with Lion Server (NEWEST VERSION) (Personal Computers)
This was sold as "Apple Mac Mini MD389LL/A with Lion Server" and it actually came with Mavericks Server on it, saving a couple versions worth of upgrades to get to a contemporary version of the OS. Being that Mavericks is less than 5 months old it shows that Apple isn't letting this model lie dormant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mac Mini as a music server, January 20, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apple Mac Mini MD389LL/A with Lion Server (NEWEST VERSION) (Personal Computers)
I bought the Mac Mini to use as a dedicated music server. It comes with 4GB of memory installed, which I upgraded to 16GB myself. It also has a 2TB HDD inside. That should be big enough for all but the largest of music libraries. The sound quality is good right out of the box providing you use a decent USB DAC. It uses iTunes for your music library which everyone is familiar with. After I get my library organized, I plan on running Audirvana or Pure Music on top of iTunes to take the sound up another level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.