Customer Reviews


221 Reviews
5 star:
 (119)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


235 of 247 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good little Macbook
This Macbook was released in late 2006/early 2007. Although that may seem like a long time ago in computer-time, this Macbook still stays current. It comes loaded with features that many modern-day PC Laptops lack. It's fully compatible with all of Apple's latest programs and is still quick and nimble even today. My model is loaded with the Calistoga chipset and can...
Published on June 12, 2011 by Joshua B. Brackin

versus
143 of 181 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars THINGS WENT WRONG - NO CUSTOMER SUPPORT
Didn't write a review until now because I wanted to give east coast macs a chance to make things right. Got the run around.
Microsoft office crashed and cd doesn't work and security is outdated. Researched east coast macs - BBB gave them an F and
Ripped Offed reported scams with ebay as well as amazon. I should have suspected something when the computer was...
Published 22 months ago by Lilly


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

235 of 247 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good little Macbook, June 12, 2011
This review is from: Apple MacBook 13" White Intel Core 2 Duo T7200, 2.0 GHZ, 1GB, 160 Gb Hard Drive, DVD Burner, Wi-fi, Camera, Mac Os 10.6 Snow Leopard and Ilife (Personal Computers)
This Macbook was released in late 2006/early 2007. Although that may seem like a long time ago in computer-time, this Macbook still stays current. It comes loaded with features that many modern-day PC Laptops lack. It's fully compatible with all of Apple's latest programs and is still quick and nimble even today. My model is loaded with the Calistoga chipset and can support up to 3.2 GB of RAM (even though Apple will tell you that it will only take up to 2 GB). This RAM upgrade makes a huge difference with the overall speed of the system. I also upgraded mine to a 500 GB 7200 RPM Hard Drive which drastically increased the system speed.

It's not a gaming computer. This model comes with 64 MB of shared Video Memory. It's more than enough to stream 720p videos, but not enough to enjoy any serious gaming. This is more of a media device anyway. The only cons that I can think of are that it does not include an SD Card Port and that it only has 2 USB ports. Both of these issues are minor and are the same for all Macbooks. I can confirm that it is fully compatible with the upcoming release of OS X Lion and runs it well. I use it in conjunction with my iPad 2 and iPhone 4 and couldn't be happier. If you're someone that is looking for a good laptop that can do business and entertainment related tasks, then this is the one that you want. It's not a gaming computer or the best choice for heavy graphic work. However it will do everything else with ease and is an awesome addition to my Mac collection.

*NOTE: To run OS X Lion, you must upgrade this to at least 2 GB of RAM. The included 1 GB is not enough to run the new system.

EDIT: After installing the latest update for OS X Lion, the system now recognizes all 4 GB of RAM! It would not recognize more than 3.2 GB in Snow Leopard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Value for the Money - Good but Older Used MacBook Product, December 23, 2012
This review is from: Apple MacBook 13" White Intel Core 2 Duo T7200, 2.0 GHZ, 1GB, 160 Gb Hard Drive, DVD Burner, Wi-fi, Camera, Mac Os 10.6 Snow Leopard and Ilife (Personal Computers)
I will try to provide potential future consumers with an accurate and thorough review of this computer.

The Apple MacBook notebook offered for sale on this Amazon catalog page presents a good value for the money. Of course, this is an older model Apple product, having been released and sold approximately at retail stores in 2007 and 2008.

As such, it is reasonable that one can expect it to have some cosmetic signs of previous use (for instance, some peeling/cracking to the edges of the palmrest is a famous and common issue on the original white MacBook models), and to be of different appearance from what Apple is currently selling through its Apple Store outlets. Apple no longer manufactures any portable notebook in a white-colored plastic body (having since moved on to the 'aluminum' colored "unibody" design).

All this being said, the average consumer should still find this to be a nice looking computer, and it is capable of running the large majority of the software that is out there today for the Apple Macintosh platform (as of the time of my writing this review, late 2012/early 2013)-- probably greater than 99% of what is available today.

This machine runs Snow Leopard, which offers a high level of compatibility both with Mac software products from earlier in the decade (i.e., the PowerPC era circa 2002-2006/7), all the way up to recent software releases like productivity suites such as Microsoft Office 2011, iWork '09, iLife '11, as well as serving as an above-average to good platform for Photoshop CS4 and CS5 and CS5.5, Logic Pro / Logic Studio and some light video work and editing with Final Cut Pro and Final Cut Studio 3. (None of these additional software products is included with the device, aside from the operating system).

For the software all users can appreciate, the latest versions of iTunes, Safari, FireFox, Chrome, and Skype all run on this model.

It can even play some not-too-3D-graphics-intensive games like the popular Minesweeper and WoW respectably enough, limited only by the use of an Intel-based integrated graphics chipset.

Amazon 'on-demand' streaming video (currently Adobe Flash based), YouTube (both Adobe Flash and HTML5 based), Google Video (Adobe Flash or HTML5), Netflix (through the downloadable Microsoft Silverlight plug-in) and Hulu (Adobe Flash) streaming work quite well on this machine, although you may wish to add more RAM or limit the number of applications you are multitasking with if you are intending to have HD level video output with these streaming services (720p grade quality seems to be the upper limit on this machine for these services).

Facebook applications depending on Adobe Flash also run very well on this model in my personal experience. You can watch standard video DVDs, and burn audio discs and data CDs. It has a built in 'iSight' webcam (approximately 1.3MP resolution) and microphone for video chatting or Skyping.

This MacBook can be expanded up to 4GB of RAM (it uses DDR2 SDRAM SODIMM sticks; use 256MB/512MB/1GB/2GB PC2-5300 or PC2-5400 modules for best compatibility); it comes default from the manufacturer with 1GB of RAM, so there is still some potential room to grow. It can handle any 2.5" SATA hard drive from the usual 60GB/80GB/120GB/160GB suspects all the way up to the current 1.0+ terabyte models (if you should feel the need to upgrade). There is no SD or media card slot on this model. The LCD is a glossy finish widescreen display supporting up to 1280x800 resolution. Mini-DVI video output, digital headphones out, digital microphone/line-in, 1 IEEE1384 Firewire port, 2 USB 2.0-compliant ports, built-in gigabit wired ethernet and high-speed wireless 'Airport Extreme' networking round out the set of features on this laptop.

This machine does not run Mountain Lion, but Snow Leopard, as said before, can run the majority of everything important out there software-wise at the moment, and is among the most consistent and reliable releases of Mac OS X that Apple has thus far released.

If you can live knowing you are not running the latest model (which may be hard for some users, given the designer brand nature of the Apple name), instead appreciating the still high level of software compatibility this model allows and recognizing the general elegance and snappiness of the Apple software interface [even on an older model], and if you can live with small cosmetic shortcomings given the age of the device, this is a *more than fair* value that should get most users through at least two years of good use.

An additional plus comes from the Intel architecture of the CPU on this MacBook; you can use BootCamp, or, if you prefer, VMWare / Parallels, to run Microsoft Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 and Windows 8 as well as any PC portable with similar hardware features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mac laptop, March 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apple MacBook 13" White Intel Core 2 Duo T7200, 2.0 GHZ, 1GB, 160 Gb Hard Drive, DVD Burner, Wi-fi, Camera, Mac Os 10.6 Snow Leopard and Ilife (Personal Computers)
Great laptop bought one from Mac a few years back still works great and our son wanted a MacBook but he's only thirteen so we didn't want to get a brand new one just in case he ruined it so we searched online for like two months and found this one. He loves it basically exactly like mine not much of a difference. Great product decent price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, August 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apple MacBook 13" White Intel Core 2 Duo T7200, 2.0 GHZ, 1GB, 160 Gb Hard Drive, DVD Burner, Wi-fi, Camera, Mac Os 10.6 Snow Leopard and Ilife (Personal Computers)
It was a big step for me to order a computer from the Internet.
However, I trust Amazon a great deal.
The MacBook, I use as we "speak", was listed as used.
It was brand new and had minor scratches on the screen.
Everything in perfect order.
I highly recommend this seller!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and worth it!, July 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apple MacBook 13" White Intel Core 2 Duo T7200, 2.0 GHZ, 1GB, 160 Gb Hard Drive, DVD Burner, Wi-fi, Camera, Mac Os 10.6 Snow Leopard and Ilife (Personal Computers)
I purchased from eSales Connect. Extremely fast shipping. Paid less than $250 total for the Macbook and shipping. It came with Microsoft Office already installed. Great customer service. The Macbook had minor defects, I mean minor. Screen is perfect, keyboard perfect, trackpad perfect, dvd burner perfect. The only thing that I noticed that I will have to replace soon is the battery because it holds only about 2 1/2 hour of charge but I found the battery online for about $40, so not bad. I waited a couple of weeks before reviewing this product because I really wanted to test it out. My uses for it include: school, programming, and streaming/watching videos. For all those uses I can't complain, it does it all just fine. I might purchase another just because of the quality and price. Hope this review helps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


143 of 181 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars THINGS WENT WRONG - NO CUSTOMER SUPPORT, December 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apple MacBook 13" White Intel Core 2 Duo T7200, 2.0 GHZ, 1GB, 160 Gb Hard Drive, DVD Burner, Wi-fi, Camera, Mac Os 10.6 Snow Leopard and Ilife (Personal Computers)
Didn't write a review until now because I wanted to give east coast macs a chance to make things right. Got the run around.
Microsoft office crashed and cd doesn't work and security is outdated. Researched east coast macs - BBB gave them an F and
Ripped Offed reported scams with ebay as well as amazon. I should have suspected something when the computer was first delivered. It was basically delivered in a box with one piece of bubble wrap and had a fuuny smell like it was old sitting in a basement. They wanted me to send it back and me pay shipping but Amazon advised stop using it. I am now renting a computer until I hope my claim is resolved. The name of the guy I talked to at east coast name was Zac and his partner is Fernando and he was specifically named as the person who ripped people off along with his side kick. Googel East Coast Macs and you can read for yourselves. I also wrote this review so others can not be ripped offed through a reputable company like Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Laptop doesn't even work., January 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apple MacBook 13" White Intel Core 2 Duo T7200, 2.0 GHZ, 1GB, 160 Gb Hard Drive, DVD Burner, Wi-fi, Camera, Mac Os 10.6 Snow Leopard and Ilife (Personal Computers)
The computer is scratched all over and it doesn't work. I'm able to turn the laptop on but it shuts down immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, August 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apple MacBook 13" White Intel Core 2 Duo T7200, 2.0 GHZ, 1GB, 160 Gb Hard Drive, DVD Burner, Wi-fi, Camera, Mac Os 10.6 Snow Leopard and Ilife (Personal Computers)
I was real skeptical about buying a used Mac Book online, But I have to say that this product is great and the company is also vey helpful and kind. The Mac Book came quick in the mail and well package and this product is great. I would recommend to buyers to by from this company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Laptop completely broken, January 9, 2014
By 
Cardinale (Barquisimeto,Venezuela) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apple MacBook 13" White Intel Core 2 Duo T7200, 2.0 GHZ, 1GB, 160 Gb Hard Drive, DVD Burner, Wi-fi, Camera, Mac Os 10.6 Snow Leopard and Ilife (Personal Computers)
I ordered this used laptop because it was described as "Used very good condition". But the laptop is completely damaged and altered.

First of all, the laptop never turned on. I pressed the power button with the charger connected and nothing happened. I went to an iStore and they said me: The laptop was opened, the battery is generic, the charger is generic.

Very dissapointed with this product. This was my "christmas gift" from my father.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MACBOOK FOR THE PRICE OF A PC, March 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apple MacBook 13" White Intel Core 2 Duo T7200, 2.0 GHZ, 1GB, 160 Gb Hard Drive, DVD Burner, Wi-fi, Camera, Mac Os 10.6 Snow Leopard and Ilife (Personal Computers)
Exactly as advertised. I needed a laptop that could travel with me, stay at work and be compatible with my other Mac devices. I'm just happy I didn't have to buy a PC for the same price and not get the stamina this little guy has. Won't find a better deal either. Apple still refurbishes and sells these for close to $1000. Thanks eSales Connect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.