Customer Reviews


263 Reviews
5 star:
 (181)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


195 of 225 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total power, total performance, best ever...but not for all.
UPDATED 9-21-12...Systems in use for 3 months.

Pros: A total powerhouse, best laptop display ever made, perfect for professionals, AppleCare, portability, quad core Ivy Bridge processors in a laptop, USB 3.

Cons: You pay for quality, expensive for casual use.

Who it's for: Professionals, designers, media-heavy users, video and photo...
Published on June 25, 2012 by Davey Williams

versus
330 of 384 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It's great if you're lucky, just ok if you're not
I've had mine for just under two months, and had to have it replaced twice. If you do a quick google for Macbook Pro Retina Image Retention you'll see what I'm talking about. Apparently, Apple uses two manufacturers to supply their displays, Samsung and LG. The Samsung ones are fine, the LG ones show ghosting or image retention (IR) after a month or two of use. Both my...
Published 24 months ago by cs2


‹ Previous | 111 12 1327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apple(s) or Oranges: Is it worth it?, October 31, 2012
Recently on June 11, 2012, Apple released its brand new 15.4 inch Macbook Pro with Retina Display. This laptop is thinner, lighter, faster, and sleeker than ever before. It also comes with Apple's brand new 2880 by 1800 screen resolution with the all new retina display. With "over 5 million pixels on the 15-inch model, the Retina display on Macbook Pro is an incredible engineering feat" (Apple). But it is the opposite of heavy. With the thickness at just 0.71 inches, this laptop weighs barely 4.46 pounds. However, this all comes with a price. A whopping $2,199 plus tax (Apple). Most laptops that fit in the same criteria of this new Macbook Pro do not even come down to half this price. So is this new Macbook Pro worth its price tag?

Most laptops in the $1000 price range now already come with the same specifications as the Macbook Pro--the latest quad-core Intel Core i7 processors with hyper threading, an NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M dedicated graphics processor or better, and up to 16GB of GDDR3 RAM (Random Access Memory). These specifications are easily feasible in today's modern laptop lineups, with not even half the price (Newegg). Even if the processor of this new Macbook is faster with the additional costs, it will hardly be noticeable. Flash storage, such as the solid state drive that is available on the new Macbook, can be obtained with any other laptop as well. However, many other competing laptop brands cannot achieve the "thickness" and weight of the new Macbook Pro.

If you are looking for amazing hardware, you probably will not find anything noticeably different between the new Macbook and other competing laptop brands. This is because it all comes down to the design of this laptop. The Macbook is thinner and lighter than any laptop that would contain all these specifications. However, in order to accommodate for its small size, everything has to be integrated onto the motherboard in the new Macbook Pro. That means the RAM, the flash drive storage, the processor, and the graphics processing unit has to be made on the motherboard. This is problematic because if you wanted to upgrade the parts on your laptop, you would not be able to do that on the Macbook Pro. Everything is integrated; you cannot swap out old parts for new ones.

Almost no other displays on the market can match up to Apple's 2880 by 1800 pixel screen resolution. Not even flat screen LED televisions. With this, it delivers the most stunning, crisp video and imaging playbacks, immersing you into the screen with immense details. The design is lightweight and versatile; it has no large screws and rough edges that you would find on other laptops. The flawless design gives it a stunning look. However, this thin profile has led to Apple having to eliminate the optical drive and ethernet port. The Macbook Pro comes with a standard backlit keyboard. Most laptops can only give you the option of having it either on or off; Macbooks can adjust the intensity of its LEDs. On both sides of the keyboard, you will see two huge speakers with a built in subwoofer. These stereo speakers produce a huge sound in a small package. Compared with built in speakers on other laptops, the winner is clear. The speakers on this laptop are impressively louder than many other laptops. The battery life on this laptop is amazing and can easily be compared above many other laptops in the same benchmark.

Looking around on the design, there seems to be no vents or fans. But that is because they are hardly noticeable. Near the bottom of the left and right side of the laptop are two tiny slits for air to flow in. Under the display near the back of the laptop will be one larger vent where the intake fans are. These fans are thin and highly efficient. While moving the maximum amount of air with these fans, they are nearly silent (Apple). Other laptops have large vents with huge fans. However, the fan sizes on these laptops do not determine the cooling. Although large, these fans are immensely inefficient and can produce a lot of noise during extreme work or gaming. The only downside is that Macs cannot play many of these games because they are PC orientated games.

Apple's operating system OS X Mountain Lion and many previous versions of the Mac OS cannot run many programs that are oriented for windows based computers. This means programs such as the latest games today, the latest versions of Microsoft Office, and many other programs fit for Windows will not work on Apple's Macbook pro. You can run Bootcamp on a Mac, which allows you to use a windows operating system on your Apple computer, but that will take another $119.99 out of your wallet. Most of the programs on the Mac OS are oriented toward business or professional use--not for ordinary college or high school students. Most modern day students will rarely many programs that come with the OS. That is because most of these programs are based more for professional based use for music and video/image editing. For students who are picture enthusiasts, it is widely known that the application Instagram will more likely be used.

Most users today are not professional entrepreneurs or hard-core gamers. Most are just ordinary students or adults who use laptops for email, word processing, social media, web-browsing, and maybe a little bit of casual gaming. That would tone down the price of a modern day laptop to around $500 with necessary programs already preinstalled onto a typical user friendly operating system. So for a laptop more than four times the price of an average laptop with an operating system that is not essential for ordinary users, is the price really justified (Grevstad)? In the end it really comes down to the users. Ordinary users who will just use their computer to browse the internet or post "vintage" pictures on Instagram will not really get much out of it. But for movie editors and hardware engineers, this laptop's hardware and software will definitely meet their needs. "If, however, you're a serious content creator or an image or video enthusiast, dealing daily with 20-megapixel-plus photos or multiple 1080p video clips, the MacBook Pro with Retina Display is not just a wish-list or status-symbol laptop--it's a ticket to new levels of productivity. (Grevstad)"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best laptop ever, August 23, 2012
This is my first mac computer and it is the best money i have ever spent. It is lightening fast, great display, tons of features, incredibly thin and light. I recommend this to anyone and it is definitely worth going over budget for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite amazing computer, July 29, 2012
By 
Adam "Adam O" (DAVIE, FL, United States) - See all my reviews
Wont reiterate the other reviews other than to give my quick point of view. LOVE the screen, crazy beautiful. Very fast due to the SSD, mountain lion is a required upgrade for this laptop. Safari is so much faster and the computer is made for this version of OSX. Thin, light and reminds me of my partner's air in size! Even though some webistes and software are not compatible with the retina display, they will be soon, and are not that big of a deal to me. Love this thing! Best mac and computer I have ever owned and have owned 10 macs over the past 8 years!! You wont be disappointed when you see this thing. If you are on the fence head to the Apple store to check it out, I did and ordered one on the spot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, July 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apple MacBook Pro MC976LL/A 15.4-Inch Laptop with Retina Display (Personal Computers)
this is the most incredible computer i have ever seen/owned. i bought 2 of them and could not be happier. this is the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expensive, expensive, expensive but you (might) get your money back with higher productivity, June 28, 2012
This review is from: Apple MacBook Pro MC976LL/A 15.4-Inch Laptop with Retina Display (Personal Computers)
This is one nice laptop!

Pros:
1) Superfast in starting up, opening large software or files due to SSD. This is the No. 1 reason to get this over the Regular MacBook Pro (a comparable Regular with 512gb SSD costs more).
2) Retina display is nice! With the right software and content, words on screen look like print (you have heard this already). It may not be a necessity at the moment but is a plus - maybe more important down the road (in 1 year when all web contents have adapted to Retina).
3) Screen reflection is much, much less than Regular. This is a big plus. Of course the matt screen on my old MacBook Pro virtually has no reflection at all, but the images on the glossy screens (including the Retina) are more crisp and have more vibrant colors. Most people can probably bear the muted reflection on the Retina.
4) Looks and feels super thin compared to the Regular MacBook Pro. By no means does it feel light given the thinness, but that does not bother me.
5) Without HDD and superdrive, it has less moving parts so (presumably and hopefully) will be less likely to break down.
6) Much less fan noise than the old MacBook Pro.

Con:
1) Expensive, expensive, expensive when compared to PCs these days, but not so much to Regular MacBook Pro given the SSD already included in the Retina.
2) You need to buy a lot of accessories and they are expensive too. How expensive? You may need: minDisplayPort -VGA adaptor (for LCD projector), miniDisplayPort - DVI adaptor (for older Apple Cinema Display); MagSafe to MagSafe 2 adaptor (to use old power source); Thunderbolt Gigabit Ethernet adaptor (for Ethernet); Apple USB superdrive (for CD/DVD); AppleCare (You just bought a very expensive computer. Would you like to insure it for the next 3 years?); a nice and sturdy bag (to protect the investment you just made:-). These accessories (necessary for many people) will cost as much as a decent PC computer!
3) Some older software won't run or will have problems. As with any (Apple) hardware upgrade, you may end up upgrading some softwares too, which will end up costing more.
4) Not upgradeable once bought. This may turn off the do-it-yourselfers. The main drawback to me is you cannot just buy a new battery and replace yourself. I had to replace the battery twice with my old MacBook Pro in 4 years.

Summary:
It is expensive, but for enhanced productivity, it is worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best laptops on the market, June 30, 2012
If you are looking for an Apple computer, and money is no object, look no further. This is by far Apple's best laptop, and possibly the best laptop available today.

Pros
1. The retina display -
This screen has to be seen to be believed. The resolution and pixel density are simply unreal. Colors and viewing angles are fantastic. Beware - once you use this display, everything else will seem inadequate.
2. Flash storage -
Flash storage means there is no physical spinning hard drive. Think of an extremely large thumb drive. What does this mean for performance? Blazingly fast boot up times, faster application opening, and faster performance all around. Not to mention, flash storage is completely silent.
3. Performance -
Even the lowest level configuration MacBook Pro has insane performance. At least 8 gigabytes of RAM, the latest Intel quad-core processors, and flash storage all equate to terrific performance for you. You simply haven't experienced computing until you've tried this laptop.
4. Software -
OSX is rock solid, very smooth, and intuitive. I find my productivity increased substantially in comparison to a Windows machine. If you prefer Windows, you are free to install a copy using the software's built in "Boot Camp". I haven't personally used this feature, but there are likely several demonstrations on the web, and it is likely to run very well considering the laptop's stellar internals. The upcoming Mountain Lion (free with a purchase of this machine) should only improve on an already great experience.
5. Design -
This computer is unbelievably thin. It manages to near the portability of an Ultrabook while making no compromises for performance.
6. Much-needed improvements -
There are a few smaller, but welcome, additions to this model over previous generations. USB 3.0 ports will allow for faster data transfers - even on the USB 2.0 products you already own. An HDMI out port will allow for you to display your screen on your HDTV, and is much simpler than the dizzying array of dongles required on the previous MacBook Pro. The fans on the system are very quiet,

Cons
1. The price -
This is the biggest one, and needs to be said. This is NOT a budget computer. However, you get what you pay for, and it's difficult to consider this laptop to be over priced when looking at what is included, and at comparable Windows machines.
2. Graphics card -
The graphics card included on all models is lackluster. Some have claimed to run into lag in basic operations, but I haven't noticed any to speak of, and it is likely you won't either. If you are unsure, try the product in your local electronics store to decide for yourself. You shouldn't expect to run the latest releases, such as Battlefield 3, on max settings, but it will likely suffice for casual games and most hardcore games on lower settings. Tests have been done running Diablo III at reasonable settings with fairly good results on this computer. Still, this is not a gaming machine, and due to the graphics performance and lack of quality titles on Mac, you should look elsewhere if you are in the market for such a laptop.
3. Heat issues
- Due to the thinness of the computer and Apple's choice of metal in the design, the computer will likely get hot when running more demanding tasks. This is not to say it will overheat easily, but you will be able to tell when your MacBook is really working.

In conclusion, the Cons I've presented are relatively minor issues. If you aren't a huge PC gamer, and you have the money, I cannot recommend this laptop highly enough. I've simply loved every minute I spent using it. It's difficult to avoid hyperbole when describing this machine, but I contest it's the best laptop by any company to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Premium computer at a premium price, June 19, 2012
This is not a computer for the masses, this a piece of machinery that provides a different set of performance that any of its peers, and that a premium performance comes at a price. Like with any other technology you might want to wait and expect for prices to go cheaper, but I you are the kind that like to have the best that the market has to offer, then there is no doubt, this is your computer.

I consider the fact that is virtually a non upgradeable laptop to be a drawback, more over because of the stiff prices that apple offers for the higher end versions. But then again if you really need the extra performance then the price is right. I would have thank apple to disclose more openly that it is almost impossible to upgrade by you own, but they seldom discuss those topics.

Now to business: The retina display. Which is what you are paying for is just amazing. If I were to compare the experience is like going from your CRT screen to a LED screen. So much brighter, crisper, detailed, just remarkable. If you are thinking of a Retina is because you already own a MBP or a MBA and I would consider the Retina MBP to be in between of those two needs. Outstanding performance with great portability.
I thought of giving 4 starts because of the impossibility to upgrade by your own, but I consider it to be unfair, I you don't need the extra performance to begging with is unlikely that you will need it in the future, unless you become a graphic designer 2 years down the road, so to take 1 start because I can't save 300 to upgrade the HD and the memory might be not what the rating is about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Time for some laptop love: For work I have this Mid-2012 15" macbook ..., August 9, 2014
By 
Justin (Portland, OR, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Apple MacBook Pro MC976LL/A 15.4-Inch Laptop with Retina Display (Personal Computers)
Time for some laptop love :
For work I have this Mid-2012 15" macbook pro retina, but with 16GB RAM
It is an expensive laptop, it has 16 GB of RAM, an older i7 processor, and they all come with SSD Only as storage.

It is an absolutely incredible machine. At two years old, I had one complaint - the 512GB SSD, the largest they sold at the time, wasn't big enough. I just completed a 1TB upgrade with the Transcend Jetdrive 725, and I am again 100% happy with my laptop.

I use this laptop 6-10 hours every day. It handles the usage like a champ.
I run Multiple VMs for testing and helping out clients - with 16GB ram and the SSD, these present no problem whatsoever.

It is very thin (at the cost of upgradability), and it is very light, but the unibody construction means I can pick it up by a single corner and it doesn't noticeably flex at all.

I use my laptop as hard as anyone, and I love this machine. I strongly recommend the macbook pro retina line to anyone that really uses their laptop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not just about the Retina display, June 19, 2012
By 
Tetsu Noguchi "tekkster" (Santa Clara, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Apple MacBook Pro MC976LL/A 15.4-Inch Laptop with Retina Display (Personal Computers)
I have had some time with the MacBook Pro Retina Display now, having purchase one and spent a couple of days spending time with it setting it up for the wife. Stunning screen, impossibly thin, blazing fast app opening speeds, and unbelievable lightness.

The raison d'être of the MBP Retina may be the screen itself for many, but for me its other factors are what really shine. As stunning as it is (I surfed a few high rez images and was dutifully impressed), what gives it such incredible value in my eyes is the thinness, lightness, and incredible performance that was clearly evident.

Now, I've used SSD based systems before, and have often been impressed by the speed of read access, but opening heavy applications and large files on this machine is so blazingly fast, it reminds me of the older SSD concept (see Violin Memory, Texas Memory Systems, etc.) where non-volatile storage was emulated through RAM chips instead of Flash disks. We're talking that kind of speed here.

Though I generally avoid using profanity in written word, this machine's speed is...in a phrase...un-freakin'-real.

Yes...it's that fast.

The other significant factor with this laptop is the weight and thinness. It's...well...it's unbelievable, really. Compared to a previous gen 15" laptop, it's simply another world of lightness. So light that it almost seems like it should be in a different category. It is as close to a MacBook air as one would expect from a 15" laptop.

Some other interesting little notes....

it's weird to not have a Gbit ethernet port on this machine. It's weird to see an HDMI port on this machine, but there they are. Stranger still is having USB ports on both the left and right side. The strangest....no optical drive slot. Sure...you know it's not gonna be there when you order it...but it's weird nevertheless.

The keyboard is a little weird for me too. I hadn't realized that the power button was now gone from MBPs, and it's integrated into the chicklet keyboard.

I will say tho, that the magsafe connector i a little strange. Perhaps it's just the version I have that's finicky, but there definitely seems to be some inconsistency in powering the laptop. Sometimes the green light turns on, and sometimes it doesn't. we've tried in a few different wall sockets and the inconsistency occurs every time. But doesn't occur with our other laptops. So my assumption here is there's something about the magsafe connector point itself, or maybe some circuit issue that is strictly focused on the machine I have (well, really, that I set up for my wife).

Also the power brick is pretty big. surprisingly so. Too bad they couldn't make that smaller. adaptors are probably the most annoying thing I have to lug around when traveling, and having a larger one to contend with is annoying.

Me, otoh, am a huge fan of the 17" laptop and have 3 generations of them. never owned anything else....so I'm a little sad that there isn't going to be one anymore. As high a resolution as the MBP Retina is, when it comes to working with word documents side by side, it's really not that different form a previous gen MBP 15" screen. If screen real-estate is as big for you as it is for me, well...you may not be as impressed with the screen as everyone else.

All in all, though, for that lightness and speed, I think I'd be willing to make that sacrifice with my next laptop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, but Dead Pixels Annoying, July 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love it! I really enjoy working on this piece of equipment. As a computer programmer who has worked on a lot of different machines, I really like this laptop, and miss it when I'm at work. It's thin, light, has a great screen, and is very user friendly.

For those of you who are considering buying a laptop, consider this piece of advice: put your money into the screen. You stare at the computer's screen for hours and hours on some days; imnsho it is the most important component on any laptop. A crappy screen will give you headaches, eye strain, and fatigue. The retina display on this unit makes it easy to work on for a full day.

EDIT: Lowered this from five to four stars because I'm getting a lot of dead pixels on the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 1327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.