Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The recipe for this book was so perfectly rendered, it has that quaint whimsical feel of an old folktale!
Granny Smith was hankering for a good old apple pie for dinner. When she glanced about her kitchen, she found most of the ingredients that she would need, except for the most important one. It really isn't easy to make an apple pie without apples. Granny put on her thinking cap and decided a little trading might be in order. She did have a tree just bursting with...
Published on November 21, 2009 by D. Fowler

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars When life gives you plums, trade them for apples!
Granny Smith wants to bake an apple pie for dinner. The problem is, she only has plums! So she sets off with her plums to see if she can find anyone who would like to trade. In a very Jack-and-the-beanstalkesque quest, she goes from plums to feathers to flowers to gold to a puppy and finally to apples. The story is cute enough and I really like that Granny Smith's apple...
Published 10 months ago by Celeste


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The recipe for this book was so perfectly rendered, it has that quaint whimsical feel of an old folktale!, November 21, 2009
This review is from: An Apple Pie for Dinner (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Granny Smith was hankering for a good old apple pie for dinner. When she glanced about her kitchen, she found most of the ingredients that she would need, except for the most important one. It really isn't easy to make an apple pie without apples. Granny put on her thinking cap and decided a little trading might be in order. She did have a tree just bursting with plums and someone might just want some of those in exchange for some apples. She "filled a big basket with plums from her tree. Then she put on her bonnet. She pulled on her shawl. And she set off." Someone just had to have apples for that pie.

There were all kinds of things to be found, but no apples. The plums were traded for a "bag of fluffy feathers," the feathers were traded for a lovely bouquet of flowers, the flowers were traded for a gold coin (to a prince no less!) and the gold coin was traded for a puppy. The gold coin was given to a mother who needed to feed her children, but a puppy certainly wouldn't make a good apple pie. "I'm looking for apples . . . do you know where I might find some?" No, no, no. The prospects for finding some apples were looking very dim, but Granny kept on smiling and went on her way. Was she ever going to find some apples for that mmmmm spicy little pie she wanted?

This is a charming little story that looks and reads like a folktale and, according to the author, is based on an English one called "The Apple Dumpling." The recipe for this book was so perfectly rendered, it has that quaint whimsical feel of an old tale. The mixed-media artwork is very "green" and was made from many interesting items, including things found in the trash and at rummage sales. In the back of the book is a recipe for an apple pie that children can help with. If you are a Yankee trader and enjoy a good folktale now and then, pull up a chair, grab a fork and get ready to enjoy some apple pie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who doesn't love Granny Smith?, November 8, 2013
This review is from: An Apple Pie for Dinner (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is a beautiful children's book complete with gorgeous illustrations. We get to follow Granny Smith on her quest to make the perfect apple pie. It's a progressive story that uses catching phrases and beautiful pictures to create a flow from beginning to end that will have your 2-6 year old engrossed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't know how a kid can resist this book, November 1, 2013
This review is from: An Apple Pie for Dinner (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I knew my kids would be all over this book because they watch people make cakes on YouTube. The illustrations are very, very unique. They pop out and give a 3D effect, and the characters resemble dolls to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars When life gives you plums, trade them for apples!, October 29, 2013
This review is from: An Apple Pie for Dinner (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Granny Smith wants to bake an apple pie for dinner. The problem is, she only has plums! So she sets off with her plums to see if she can find anyone who would like to trade. In a very Jack-and-the-beanstalkesque quest, she goes from plums to feathers to flowers to gold to a puppy and finally to apples. The story is cute enough and I really like that Granny Smith's apple pie recipe and instructions are included at the end of the book.
I'm not too crazy about the illustrations. They look like Claymation and are a little creepy. Overall this is a cute story. My daughter is only 1 and this book is a little long for her, but she is younger than the intended audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautfiul story accompanied with interesting art, October 28, 2013
By 
Sibelius (Palo Alto, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: An Apple Pie for Dinner (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is a nice, simple tale with a message of selfless sharing for the benefit of all. Susan VanHecke's story is beautifully laid out and will engross your audience even with those as young as 3 years of age.

The accompanying visuals really pop out utilizing 3D mixed-media, bas-relief. This gives the characters a claymation type appearance that is sometimes off-putting to adults but kids really do love it. At the end of the book is a 2 page Apple Pie recipe with written instructions intended for children to take on. Be sure to give them an assist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great bedtime story book for your kids, October 27, 2013
This review is from: An Apple Pie for Dinner (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Nice hardcover book with a meaningful story. Also the illustrations are well done.

The story is about an old grandmother who one day wakes up and decides to bake an apple pie but doesn't have apples as the key ingredient. She then goes on this journey of bartering and trading.

What I really liked about this story is it showed generosity and kindness, which are important values to instill in one's kids. Although our daughter is still too young to understand the meaning of the words, we will definitely read this story to her as one of her bedtime stories.

One last comment, there even is an apple pie recipe which we hope to try one day at the end of the book.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mixed media art meets a cute storybook, October 27, 2013
This review is from: An Apple Pie for Dinner (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
"An Apple Pie for Dinner" is a really cute story about a grandma on a quest to make apple pie when she is missing the main ingredient. You follow her as she trades what she has for what she needs. Very cute story. The illustrations are mixed media art and really lift the book to a higher level. I loved the expressions of the people in the story and am amazed at what a mixed media artist can bring to life. I enjoyed the book and will read it again and again grandchildren.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing else beats a hot apple pie!, October 26, 2013
This review is from: An Apple Pie for Dinner (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
If you've ever watched the A&E show "Barter Kings," where two guys start with one thing and keep trading until they've got something else they want, that'll give you an idea of Granny Smith's dilemma when she wanted to bake an apple pie, but all she had were plums. In the story, based on an old English folk tale, Granny starts off with her plums, trading for this and that until she finally has the apples she needs. She also makes a lot of friends along the way and invites them all to come home with her and share her pie. Appropriately enough, the author shares Granny's recipe with readers, and if you've never been tempted to bake an apple pie, this may put you over the edge, thinking about the warm golden brown crust filled with steaming apples, and the scent of cinnamon filling your house.

This is a marvelous story for kids and grown-ups alike, and credit goes to both the author and the illustrator. How the illustrations were created is described at the back of the book. The use of mixed media is very innovative, and I've only seen it used before in a couple of books.

Highly recommended reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Those illustrations!!!, October 25, 2013
By 
OutlawPoet "OutlawPoet" (My Den of Iniquity - Vistors Welcome) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: An Apple Pie for Dinner (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I'd like to start by praising the illustrations in this book. Even the resident five-year-old noticed them and was absolutely thrilled with them. She had so much fun trying to figure out the various mixed media used. The illustrations look incredibly lush and are just gorgeous.

As for the story, it was silly and so much fun. My daughter enjoyed guessing what items Granny would trade for next and had fits of giggles more than once as we read. After each page, I would ask her if a pie would be good if made with the weird ingredients Granny collected on her journey.

The bonus was the recipe for apple pie in the back of the book! Guess what we'll be baking next weekend?

This was a very unique and attractive book that was as much fun for me as it was for my daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best childrens books ever..., August 24, 2012
This review is from: An Apple Pie for Dinner (Hardcover)
Such a heartwarming story, with incredible illustrations... I was first introduced to this book by checking it out at our library and reading it to my 2 boys, ages 4 and 2, they were complety engrosed, the overall message is priceless, I love this book so much I bought our family a copy as well as my sisters children, Love Love Love it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

An Apple Pie for Dinner
An Apple Pie for Dinner by Susan VanHecke (Hardcover - August 20, 2009)
$17.99 $10.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.