Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kindle Version Has a link for the DVD download
For those that didn't know when you order the kindle version there is a link in the book so you can download the Video Editing stuff that comes on the DVD with the paperback book. So save your self some money and get the kindle version.
Published 15 months ago by K. Hatton

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Already out of Date
This could be a great book for learning to use Final Cut Pro X but unfortunately it is already out of date. The files in the data disk included with the book will not work. The publisher provides a download fix on their web site but it is hard to find. (I should also point out that they took a month to come up with the fix after the release of version 10.1 of FCPX. They...
Published 5 months ago by K. Danko


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kindle Version Has a link for the DVD download, March 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For those that didn't know when you order the kindle version there is a link in the book so you can download the Video Editing stuff that comes on the DVD with the paperback book. So save your self some money and get the kindle version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent way to learn FCP X, June 5, 2013
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Final Cut Pro X (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
I just finished Chapter 12, the last chapter, yesterday. Weynand's book is a truly excellent way to learn Final Cut Pro X--at least it works perfectly for my learning style. When you load the footage from the DVD onto your computer and follow the instructions, you'll see immediately if you performed the right steps. FCP X is quite different from FCP 7, and making the switch isn't very intuitive. So, unless you're a technical whiz kid or want to explore each bit of the interface on your own, getting instructions from an expert really makes sense. Personally, though I recognize that teachers like Larry Jordan are terrific, I find that learning from online videos is not as good as learning by doing. And, unless you have a personal tutor by your side, to guide your every move, there's no better way to absorb the material than from a book, because books let you go at your own pace. By the time you finish "Apple Pro Training Series: Final Cut Pro X," you won't know everything there is to know about this powerful and deep app, but you'll know more than enough to do some solid editing. Just make sure you buy the second edition (2013), because FCP X has changed a lot since the first edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Already out of Date, January 22, 2014
By 
K. Danko "kldsf" (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Final Cut Pro X (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
This could be a great book for learning to use Final Cut Pro X but unfortunately it is already out of date. The files in the data disk included with the book will not work. The publisher provides a download fix on their web site but it is hard to find. (I should also point out that they took a month to come up with the fix after the release of version 10.1 of FCPX. They should have been able to do it much faster and they should have let people know that it was in the works.) As you move through the lessons, many things do not look or behave as they are described in the book which is a problem for someone trying to learn the software for the first time. My suggestion for people thinking about the book would be to wait for the 3rd edition or select another book that has already been revised for FCPX version 10.1. It is unfortunate that the author doesn't maintain a web site dedicated to her book which could contain revised material better suited to the new software. In short, the author and publisher should provide better customer support.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Covers basics only, March 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Does a good job of covering the basics and setting up some of the things like effects. Doesn't seem to cover syncing or multi cam, music video issues.
No coverage of naming or renaming clips. Covers keywords but not real logging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this is you've upgraded Final Cut Pro X to version 10.0.9!!!, November 1, 2013
I purchased the Kindle version and downloaded the media content from the internet in the specified area per the author.

WARNING: The lesson plans included in this package WILL NOT WORK if you have upgraded to Final Cut Pro X v 10.0.9. I have 10.0.9, and FCP cannot import the Lesson Plans. When I try to Import Media for the Lesson Plans that accompany this book, Final Cut Pro errors out and says, "No importable files. None of the selected files or folders can be imported. Change the selection and try again."

The author states that the content was written to version 10.0.7. So if you've upgraded FCP X to 10.0.9, the Lesson Plans cannot be imported. Let the buyer beware.

So without the Lesson Plans working, this reduces the effectiveness of this package significantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not sure it works, December 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Final Cut Pro X (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
The DVD or downloaded content doesn't load correctly on the latest generation MacBook Pro 15 and there is no way to forward questions or ask for help on the book's website. I am stuck with an expensive paperweight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, August 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Final Cut Pro X (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
When Apple updated the legacy version of FCP to FCPX, I could hear the collective moans. Many editors jumped ship and switched to Adobe. Nothing wrong with that. I'm an AE user myself. With FCPX sporting a completely new architecture, whether I stayed with FCP or moved over to Premiere, I was going to have to learn a new program. Thus, I decided it was in my best interest to hold off, before making any long-term decisions. In the meantime, I continued using FCP7. After careful consideration, and after the dust settled, I finally decided to stick with FCP.

I am an Apple Certified Pro in both FCP6 and FCP7. All my training has been done through Diana Weynand and her team. Whether in a classroom, online, or through her Apple Professional Training Series books; Diana is pretty hard to beat, and this book is no exception. It not only provided the quality training I've become accustomed to from Diana, it also reaffirmed my decision to stick with FCPX. Honestly? I was a little nervous making the switch from the legacy version to FCPX. We all love what's comfortable and familiar, right? Diana makes it easy! She really does know her stuff. That's why Apple continually asks her to write these certified training books. She helped get me where I am today as an editor, and she will always be one of my first resources when it comes to FCP training. That's not a knock at all on the other great training options out there (Larry Jordan, Michael Wohl, etc). All are extremely knowledgable and professional in their own right. I've just decided to stick with what has always worked for me. Truth be told, Michael Wohl's FCPX book is next on my list, and I routinely follow Larry Jordan's newsletter and his knowledgable insight into this crazy world of editing!

Bottom line, I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn the basics of Final Cut Pro X, especially if you're a legacy user making the switch. Diana's method of training will help make FCPX seem like less of an obstacle to overcome. While there is always room for improvement, FCPX is getting better and better with each upgrade. Future upgrades are only going to improve upon an already great program! So, what are you waiting for? Download FCPX, buy Diana Weynand's book, and start editing in FCPX!...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Out of date, the lessons don't work with FCPX 10.1, February 7, 2014
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Final Cut Pro X (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
I have to say I feel duped. I've just downloaded FCPX 10.1 and bought this training book. It doesn't work. FCPX can't see the enclosed disk and you have to search the forums to find how to update the training media so you can view it.
Once you've done that you find the interface with 10.1 is not what is being described in this training book. Struggle on to lesson 1 and you'll find that you can't view the lessons at all.

Waste of money unless you are using an old version of FCPX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Training Material, March 18, 2013
By 
Roderic Don (Newark, DE USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've dabbled with FCP X 10.0.7 for a while now, importing some old footage and trying to go through the manual and look at some online tutorials. But this course is the real deal. Not only does it provide some excellent media to work with (both video and audio), it also really demonstrates a workflow and methodology for skimming to find 'good' footage and marking it, and putting it all together in the timeline. All in a very friendly manner. Top notch training material.
I highly recommend this to anyone that wants to really get into the power of FCP. The Kindle edition is a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Needs work beyond keeping up with versions, February 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Final Cut Pro X (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
The author could improve her focus and consistency in many areas. First, she jumps around, even within a single page, between various concepts in a way that is manic and confusing. For example, in the middle of some editing task she shifts to a discussion about color correction or audio noise, but doesn't fully address that. She seems to think this is clever and "real world, but it is simply jumbled. Second, because she throws in so many ideas and poorly formed concepts, it is hard to follow the actual lesson steps. A simple sequence of tasks can be spread over multiple pages and interspersed with so much babbling. Apparently it never occurred to her (or her editors) to separate the theory from practice in order to increase clarity as well as efficiency. Third, is it really too much to ask that when referring to a button or other widget to ALWAYS use the exact name of that button (this can be maddening). I get the distinct impression this book was never tested on an actual student.

Look no further than the Apple Pro Training series on Logic Pro X by David Nahmani for a stark contrast and how this can be done right. The Logic Pro X book is clear, consistent and supports learning in a way that is fun and engaging. The Final Cut Pro X book is a chore to work with and learning is achieved at the cost of struggling and frustration.

Now on to this version issues. It is really sloppy and handled poorly and the author and publisher should be ashamed. One link to example files in the Kindle edition leads to a dead 404 page. Wow, talk about shoddy QA. The complexity in the instructions on how to update the old training files with the new training files is such a jumbled mess it is almost laughable, but sadly is the readers painful introduction to something that, with the right people behind the wheel, should be fun and engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Apple Pro Training Series: Final Cut Pro X (2nd Edition)
Apple Pro Training Series: Final Cut Pro X (2nd Edition) by Diana Weynand (Paperback - March 2, 2013)
Used & New from: $37.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.