Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEM

Color: Blue|Change
Price:$29.62+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 31, 2012
I bought this at a little bit higher price than most of the other obvious "knockoff" smart covers on Amazon were selling for. This listing said Apple Smart Cover and had a "By Apple" listed below it. I had seen other listings from this seller than said not the genuine apple smart cover, and since the cover I ordered did not say this, I went ahead and ordered feeling pretty confident I was ordering what they described as the real deal. It wasn't until I received the email to review where it stated it was not the real Apple smart cover.

On to the cover, it works ok. It doesn't always line up perfectly as my genuine smart cover did and the it doesn't stick to the front as well, but when it closes it does put the ipad into sleep and take it out when opened. Can't really use it as a stand like the original because the magnets don't appear to be as strong, it just collapses. The edge opposite the hinges is starting to fray after having only used it a week (it has never left the house and used for 8 hours maybe tops) and there are quite a few strands of white threading sticking out the sides.

All in all, if you're just looking for something to protect the screen when not in use it would be okay, but if I had known to begin with I would have spent a little more and got a guaranteed genuine apple smart cover from another seller.

Update: After speaking with the seller it turns out the error was with how Amazon groups their product listings and the seller's listing of a non genuine cover was grouped under a cover made by Apple. After searching for a few other products and reading some reviews I see how this error could occur and wish Amazon would change their listing process to prevent it.
55 comments| 180 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2012
This cover is described as an iPad smart cover. But, its a flimsy copy of Apple's real cover, and does not interact with the iPad at all to put the device in sleep mode when closed (the standard timeout must shut the device off).
0Comment| 101 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2012
Im hugely disappointed by the fact that out of all these reviews on this product, NO ONE managed to figure out that this is a KNOCK OFF of an apple product. It should be illegal for this seller to say that this is "by Apple" under the products title. When it arrived in the mail, I immediately knew it was a knock off. The packaging was cheap, the pictures printed on the back of the packaging had crappy resolution and were printed by a crappy printer. What made me absolutely sure that it was fake, is that it does not have the trademark "Designed by apple in California" which all GENUINE smart covers have printed on the inside in very small text. My friend has one of the real smart covers, and I compared it to his, it was obvious that the metal part of the cover where the hinge is was made out of a cheaper, lighter material.

Fakeness aside. The cover is alright, I would probably rate it 3 stars if I hadnt been scammed into thinking this was a legit Apple smart cover. The magnet that holds the cover on is just as strong as the apple one. But the magnet that keeps the cover closed and triggers the wake/sleep on the ipad is very weak, it flops open if i hold it upside down. Also the cover just doesn't fit it quite perfectly the way the real Apple one does. If i'd known I was buying a fake smart cover i would have just bought the 8$ one where they dont try to pass it off as an actual apple product.

And by the way, everyone that complained in their reviews that this cover "doesnt protect the back of the ipad", well, you must have some sort of learning disability because this COVER (not CASE) is clearly designed to only protect the front screen of the ipad.
77 comments| 162 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2012
As others have noted, this cover is not actually made by Apple. The differences are subtle but apparent. The edges start fraying immediately and no amount of trimming stops it. The cover seems quite flimsy, as if made of cardboard, and does not fold up as easily as a genuine Smart Cover. This would be OK if the cover was advertised as a clone, but it's presented as an Apple product, and its clearly not. Avoid unless you are prepared to quickly buy a new one.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2012
At $14.99, I was definitely skeptical and prepared for the worst. When I received the product, I wasn't surprised that it was a knock-off, but it does the job and for the price, it's a good deal. Just don't order expecting an actual Apple product.

I did a side by side comparison with an actual Apple iPad Smart Cover purchased from a local Apple store.

The breakdown:
* This product is flimsy compared to the apple product. The panels of the apple product are much more rigid, while this product's panels flex and bend.
* This product has much more of a plastic feel than the polyurethane of the apple product. It is smooth without texture.
* This product ships from China and takes about two weeks to arrive.

The bottom line:
* you get what you pay for and for the price, this is a good value.
* The magnetic on-off switch works well.
* The stand features work well.
* The magnet connection is not as strong as the apple product, but it still does a good job of staying on. Just don't grab it by the cover alone or the iPad may drop.
11 comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2012
This is not an authentic Apple branch product......came in a broken previouly opened box.......cheap made.........I'm sending it back right away.......
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2012
The product has been previously opened and bad condition... poor quality. Definitely, not authentic Apple's product. The pink is not Apple's cover color and the inner color is light grey, not pink. The seller just copied the picture from Apple's website.

Had sent it back already.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2013
OK, first of all, most or all of these products listed here are fakes. I would go out on a limb and say that all of them are. How do I know? Because I used to sell them on Amazon just like this listing. I want you to use your critical thinking for a moment...Why can you buy an original Apple product here on Amazon for half price? Hmmmm? Well, because they are counterfeit. Do you think the largest company in the world does not control their inventory and their retail distribution? How many times have you seen an Apple product on sale? Rarely if ever and it is always from a reputable retailer authorized by Apple. Can you imagine all these small retailers , like "Joe's Online Store" or "Super Deals" or whatever calling up Apple and saying "We would like to sell your merchandise for half price on Amazon and dilute your brand name", and then Apple says "sure, how many would you like?" Know you are buying a fake accessory if you are paying half price, after you come to grips with that, then the real question is, how do you get the best fake on Amazon? So, I would look at the reviews on the individual retailer and the higher the score the more likely that you are going to get a quality fake. However, there is no way to guarantee that you are going to get a good fake. Most of these are going to be decent, but some will be garbage. Also, consider the price that these are listed for. Again, use your critical thinking and consider, how one can sell this item for $5? Only one way, it has to cost $1, after they pay for shipping $2.5 and pay Amazon their 15% then that leaves the profit. Use your brain folks! If you have an item and the price here is $12-$15 then the cost is probably $4-$7 and then there is enough profit left here where they can run a small business.
BTW, same thing for every "original Apple product in bulk packaging" Apple does not do this either. If you see products like this they are fakes, know that. Same thing for most phone cases that are name brand, like Speck and SPG etc..unless it is sold by the manufacturer on Amazon.
Do not believe that because it is fulfilled by Amazon that it means the product is original or of high quality. There is no one in the Amazon warehouses that are inspecting these incoming products to see if they are original. Amazon cares about two things: Making money and making sure that your experience with Amazon is good and they only care about that because they know if you have a bad experience then they won't make money. These will disappear someday when it becomes problematic for Amazon but in the meantime they are a big money maker and they are looking the other way. They can do this because it is a marketplace and they are not purchasing the merchandise and selling it to you. Hopefully this was educational. You know what mom and dad always told you, right? "If it seems to good to be true, it probably is" On Amazon and the Internet, it is always true!!!! Good luck and use your brain! For those of you without a brain, you are excused and I have something to sell you.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2012
Very nice product and it works perfectly. It doesn't have the technical issue where if you put the cover to the back, the iPad locks. Anyways, it works....and yah....but it's not genuine. (WHAT??? NOT GENUINE??? IMPOSSIBLE!!!) NOT OG APPLE. No original packaging, no manual (although I doubt there is one), and no expensive price. Well, lets get to the specs

PROs
-fits both iPad 2 and 'the new iPad'
-perfect fit and works flawlessly on both tablets
-thin and light
-pretty strong magnet, but not too strong
-extremely fast delivery (wow...2 days)

CONs
-not Genuine Apple
-To find a good original one, look at the tile: ipad, IPAD, I-pad, I-PAD, i-Pad, Ipad, I-Pad, and IPad are all incorrect spellings. The title should be "iPad". The model number should not be there. Color is never parenthesized. The seller should be Apple
-gets stains easily
-kindof heavy with a case
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2012
I ordered a total of 63 of these cases in a variety of colors for our school, and only 2 of them were the "fake" covers described by other users. They were in the exact same Apple packaging as the legit ones, and are stiffer on the hinge parts and use flimsier stiff braces. They do use less powerful magnets than the official ones since the screen does not unlock with these 2 covers. I don't think I could tell the difference between these two fake ones and the official ones without opening the packaging, but holding them side-by-side you can see the differences. See a customer image here:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/customer-media/permalink/mo1QVGW5FB2YW9K/B004QKM3AA/ref=cm_ciu_images_pl_link
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 42 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.