Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best in Class Warranty
Considering a laptop costs anywhere from $900 and up, the price for extending the coverage to an additional 2 years with 3 years of total coverage from the date of purchase is a great deal. I purchased a Refurbished MacBook Pro and while traveling to Costa Rica had the unit fail completely (logic board). I took it to an Apple Store and in 5 days, the unit was fully...
Published on May 23, 2011 by L. Iacono

versus
184 of 190 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Necessary but expensive
Please note, this version of the Applecare Protection Plan is only for the Macbook, the Macbook Pro 13" and the Macbook Air.

The Macbook Pro 15" and 17" are covered under another version of the Applecare Protection Plan - AppleCare Protection Plan for Mac Laptops 15 Inches and Above (NEWEST VERSION) - For Portable Apple Computers 15 Inches and Above...
Published on April 5, 2011 by KSSQUARE


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

184 of 190 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Necessary but expensive, April 5, 2011
This review is from: AppleCare Protection Plan for Mac Laptops 13 Inches and Below (NEWEST VERSION) (Personal Computers)
Please note, this version of the Applecare Protection Plan is only for the Macbook, the Macbook Pro 13" and the Macbook Air.

The Macbook Pro 15" and 17" are covered under another version of the Applecare Protection Plan - AppleCare Protection Plan for Mac Laptops 15 Inches and Above (NEWEST VERSION) - For Portable Apple Computers 15 Inches and Above

The Applecare Protection Plan - an expensive but necessary requirement if you buy an apple laptop.

Why is it a requirement? Because Apple doesn't make the hard drives or the logicboards (motherboards) or the processors or the DVD burners inside their machines. Apple sources its parts from component manufacturers like Seagate, Nvidia, Intel, Sony etc etc. These parts just like all electronic components can and may fail after a period of time. Once a part fails, Apple is generally known to charge extremely high fees to repair or replace parts.

For example - Motherboards - $800 to $1200. Superdrive replacement - $200 to $300. LCD screen replacement - $500 to $600) It's better to be pay for Applecare once than pay Apple exorbitant repair fees every time a part fails.

Basically, the A.P.P. is a 2 year warranty extension to your apple laptop (that comes with a one year hardware warranty), it provides unlimited phone support and hardware diagnosis. It also offers Mail-in repair for Mac notebooks using a prepaid shipping box provided by Apple and service by an apple store or an Apple Authorized Service Provider.

Every mac (just like any other computer maker) comes with a 1 year standard warranty with 90 days of telephone support. During that one year, your hardware is covered against defects and failure by the standard Apple warranty (but not damage caused by you or accidents) If you purchase Applecare, then it adds 2 more years of hardware coverage against defects and unlimited telephone support after the one year is up.

The A.P.P. also gives you global repair coverage so if a hardware issues arises while you're in another country and there's an Apple Store or Apple Authorised Service Provider near by, you can take your mac in for diagnosis and repair.

It does not offer any sort of damage protection or on-site repair.

Please remember to buy the A.P.P. if you plan to do so before the first year of ownership is up. If you bought your machine on X Date 2011 - buy the A.P.P.before X Date 2012. Apple will not honor an A.P.P. policy bought even 2 days after the first year is over (in most cases unless you get lucky and speak to a friendly agent on the phone willing to relax the rules a bit)

I HATE to be recommending an extended warranty, but it's a necessary evil. There is no guarantee that something will go wrong with your expensive mac notebook after the first year but if something does go wrong after the first year, it's better to be covered by the A.P.P. and avoid paying those exorbitant repair/replacement costs.

If you don't want to buy Applecare, a great alternative is SquareTrade 3-Year Laptop/Tablet Warranty Plus Accident Protection (Laptop/Tablet $1000-1250). They have a protection package for computers too AND it includes damage protection (which Applecare doesn't offer)

NOTE - Don't buy Applecare from Apple. Look around - there are good deals to be found at Authorised Apple resellers and other legit online outlets which sell Applecare at a better price than Apple itself.

Hope this helps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best in Class Warranty, May 23, 2011
This review is from: AppleCare Protection Plan for Mac Laptops 13 Inches and Below (NEWEST VERSION) (Personal Computers)
Considering a laptop costs anywhere from $900 and up, the price for extending the coverage to an additional 2 years with 3 years of total coverage from the date of purchase is a great deal. I purchased a Refurbished MacBook Pro and while traveling to Costa Rica had the unit fail completely (logic board). I took it to an Apple Store and in 5 days, the unit was fully repaired and is, actually, a new laptop.

Likewise, I purchased a MacBook 13" for my daughter a few years ago and her computer had problems as well. Likewise, her unit was completely repaired under the extended warranty. I have friends with similar circumstances over the years and never have I heard a negative comment regarding the service.

The phone service is equally impressive, having called in both instances to see if the problems could be resolved via special instruction from a rep. I find it very hard to believe anyone will have any trouble getting the best service available with these extended warranties.

Laptops are portable units that are likely going to test gravity a few times in their lifespan. Not purchasing an extended warranty is rather frivolous, especially considering that it will only add up to a little over a $100 per year for Apple Care Protection. I know my laptop is definitely worth it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Be careful with AppleCare on Amazon, April 27, 2012
By 
Mark Zettlemoyer (Philadelphia, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AppleCare Protection Plan for Mac Laptops 13 Inches and Below (NEWEST VERSION) (Personal Computers)
I have more of a gripe with the "old version" AppleCare sold through Amazon, where I wrote a review as well, but I also had trouble with this "new version": an incredible hassle, at least when purchased through sellers in the Marketplace.

First, importantly, while Amazon is an authorized Apple retailer, sellers in Amazon's Marketplace are not. This means Apple does not have to honor the purchase. There is no official "old" and "new" version by Apple, it's Amazon's lingo only. When I thought I was ordering the "new", hassle-free version (where you can register quickly online), I received instead the "old version" which requires a lot of time on the phone with Apple, who -- again -- don't need to honor the purchase because it's not authorized. I had to return to seller.

Second, you can get AppleCare legitimately and for less money at authorized retailers. Check out B&H Photo in NYC and online [...]. I paid $190 and registered online the same day.

Third, I've had trouble ordering the "old version" from the Marketplace as well. Many sellers don't know the difference, and may not care about the hassle they're roping you into. The short of it: For AppleCare, stay away from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 59 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Peace of Mind is the main value of this plan. It is subjective, no way to value it objectively., September 4, 2012
By 
This review is from: AppleCare Protection Plan for Mac Laptops 13 Inches and Below (NEWEST VERSION) (Personal Computers)
To be specific, here are main reasons why this kind of plan not worth the money:
1. Electronic products often fail for following common reasons: Bad connection in assembling process, such as loose soldering; Over heating for failed components or circuits. Those problems, if ever exist, will happen during the first year under normal usage and covered by standard, free, one year warranty. It is very unlikely to happen after one year, unless you hardly used it during first year. If so, why buy it now?
2. On 2nd and 3rd year, the value of the product depreciates significantly. In general, if you buy it for $1500 new, it will worth $1000 or $750 after 2 years. So your loss will be much less than you think. But even in this worst case, you still can sell the computer for parts, further reduce the loss.
3. But fundamentally, assuming Apple makes money selling this plan (no brainer!), then statistically you lose. Buying the plan and hope to make the money back, is like going to Las Vegas to get rich.

But, you do lose less money if you:
1. Buy the high end laptop which cost $2000 or more (so insurance is relatively cheaper);
2. You use it extensively (long hours, heavy load), pushing the product to the limit (under extreme environment) without abuse (more chance to fail and needs coverage).
3. Buy the plan cheaper by shop around.

This plan is basically a type of insurance. You should only buy insurance for things that you can't afford to lose, such as fire, life and no fault auto insurance. And typically, plans like Applecare is statistically much more expensive than those standard insurance. I read Best Buy's financial report couple of years ago. Their profit of selling goods only covers their operation cost. The net profit all come from the protection plan they sell. That's how lucrative those plans are and that's why the cashers are required to ask if you want to buy those plans.

So if you can afford to buy another new laptop when this one fails, take the chance, skip the plan. If not, then you shouldn't buy this one and no need to buy a plan. There are plenty of used Apple laptop on market, and they used to be same expensive as this one, with or without plan, and they are still working properly. Chances are, they can even satisfy your needs just as well as new ones, at a fraction of the new price.

For all the reasons to buy the plan, ask this simple question: Does this reason still hold, if the price of this plan increase to $300? $400? ... $700...? At what price point this reason will be invalid?
But wait...you say: Apple is not asking for $700. Good! It means Apple set the price based on some analysis, or statistics, that they can make the maximum profit at current price. It means you will pay more, on the average, than you will get! The difference includes Amazon's commission, Apple's profit, their operation cost, credit card's transaction cost, plus tax...

For me, I bought more than 20 desktop, laptop, tablet and phone since 1995. None of them failed within 3 years, or before I sold them. If the plan cost only $50 and I am buying a $1500 MBP, well, I might buy it.

Am I saying that people who buy this plan are all insane? Absolutely not! "Peace of Mind" has its value, and it is very subjective. Only you can determine how valuable it is to you.

Everything I said above, is based on valuation of "Peace of Mind" to me, which is obviously very low. If you look into the details from both technical and business point of view, maybe you will feel more comfortable not buying the plan at current price. And that's the whole purpose I write this review. Hope it helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't leave home without it, October 1, 2011
This review is from: AppleCare Protection Plan for Mac Laptops 13 Inches and Below (NEWEST VERSION) (Personal Computers)
I have been buying Apple Care Protection Plans since the very beginning of the concept. Although my Apple products rarely need "Care", I have dealt with Apple numerous times regarding things that they shouldn't even be respondent to, such as 3rd party application conflicts. They will stay on the phone with you for hours if necessary, and they are always the epitome of politeness and expertise! Could be the reason they have been #1 in support for several years running!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Local Insurance company get you same thing and better for $35 a year, July 12, 2013
This review is from: AppleCare Protection Plan for Mac Laptops 13 Inches and Below (NEWEST VERSION) (Personal Computers)
A type of insurance called Inland Marine Insurance, sold by state farm, farmers insurance, etc. etc. only costs $30 to $40 a year for TOTAL coverage on your laptop. If it gets stolen, drop it in the lake, spill water on it, it dies and fries, covers all manner of stupidity. Also there is a 0 deductible and 0 depreciation. They will cut you a check for cost of NEW replacement of same item.

This little known secret type of insurance covers multiple items under one policy, say one policy I cover my macbook Pro AND my Mac AIR. Been using it for 20 years, it works, its perfect. Several tightwad millionaire friends of mine have been preaching the wonders of this insurance for decades.

I absolutely would not dare think of spending crazy money for Apple care when for a LOT LESS, you get a LOT MORE coverage under Inland Marine Insurance. Apple would FIX your problem at 2 years.....the insurance cuts you a check for a NEW one. The choice is clear.

YOU DO NOT have to own a business to have this insurance, in fact everyone I know that uses this insurance are just private people, contact your local State Farm or other insurance agent and ASK THEM about it, most write policies of this type.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars don't skip buying this, January 3, 2012
This review is from: AppleCare Protection Plan for Mac Laptops 13 Inches and Below (NEWEST VERSION) (Personal Computers)
i tutor people on macs, iphones and ipads. often they want to skip buying this plan. i talk them out of making a big mistake. i have bought this plan on every apple product i've bought. every time i need to use it, i am so grateful i have it. i use my equipment all day long. i have had hard drives crash on me. i have had the power cords stop powering up. i have had the battery completely die. And so on. All I do is make an appointment at the genius bar (online with an app). this is often the same day but at most next day. i walk into the apple store, walk back to the genius bar. they take me immediately and fix my machine in fifteen minutes or less. it is just great.

Visit my blog with link given on my profile page here or use this phonetically given URL (livingasseniors dot blogspot dot com). Friday's entry will always be weekend entertainment recs from my 5 star Amazon reviews in film, tv, books and music. These are very heavy on buried treasures and hidden gems. My blogspot is published on Monday, Wednesday & Friday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Simple math, June 19, 2012
This review is from: AppleCare Protection Plan for Mac Laptops 13 Inches and Below (NEWEST VERSION) (Personal Computers)
Let's think about why warranties, like this applecare, exist. Do companies do it to make money, or to lose money? You are paying $245 with a maximum payout of $2100, the price of the laptop (and a likely payout worth less than that if the laptop can be repaired) for 2 extra years (since 1 year warranty is included). So, in order for this warranty to be worth it, there has to be a 245/2100 chance (or an 11.67% chance) that the laptop will completely fail in years 2 and 3 to the point where you get a $2100 payout.

Also, read the fine print...this warranty doesn't cover negligence, so if you drop it or something like that, you're SOL. I have had about 25 apple products over the last 20 years and only ONE has failed (the logic board on an imac in 2006). Even in that case, the problem occurred in year 1, so it was covered under warranty anyway. If you end up buying every warranty you see (for appliances, electronics, etc), you're spending WAY more than if you just paid out of pocket for the rare instances in which the device failed. This isn't like insurance where you pay a few dollars to get a million dollar payout...you pay an proportionally LARGE amount with respect to the payout you might get.

Do yourself a favor...instead of buying warranties, put the money you would have spent on the warranty in a savings account. Then when something breaks, pay for it yourself from that savings account and you'll see how much cheaper it is to self-insure small dollar items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GOOD INSURANCE DEAL, March 3, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AppleCare Protection Plan for Mac Laptops 13 Inches and Below (NEWEST VERSION) (Personal Computers)
In 2007 I bought a refurbished Black MacBook from Apple and got the AppleCare Protection plan. About 14 months after I got the MacBook the logic board went bad. Apple took the laptop, sent it off to that magic Apple repair place and within 4 days I had a replacement. They used my larger hard drive and memory and placed them into a new body. Whatever the AppleCare plan cost back then paid for itself many times over with that one repair.

In 2013 I bought a 13" MacBook Pro from Amazon; the one with the 750 gig hard drive, dvd drive, 2.9 gig Intel Core 2 and 8 gig of RAM. The price was very good. Remembering my prior repair, it was a no brainer for me to once again get the AppleCare Protection Plan for Mac Laptops. Use it once and it's paid for itself and then some. Hopefully I will never need it. I have car insurance too. Hopefully I will never need to use that either. In both cases, Mac and car, it is far better to have and not use than to need and not have.

By the way, the 2007 MacBook is still running just great. All I have needed to do was replace the battery in February 2013. I expect the MacBook Pro to be equally durable as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars As noted by another reviewer, you can insure your ..., July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AppleCare Protection Plan for Mac Laptops 13 Inches and Below (NEWEST VERSION) (Personal Computers)
As noted by another reviewer, you can insure your laptop through your insurance company for MUCH less. I just signed up for a policy with State Farm that is $27 per year for my Macbook Air 13 inch. It includes full replacement value coverage regardless of the cause of a problem - dropped, in a fire, lost, stolen, water damage, etc. Apple does not cover those instances - it only covers issues due to the laptop component failures. I will never buy another Apple warranty again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.