Customer Reviews


238 Reviews
5 star:
 (195)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


115 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creative family fun
This game is fun for ages 6 (reading) and up. Game players go around the table taking turns being the judge. One card is pulled and set out for everyone to see, It may say a word like fuzzy. In each players hand, they have five cards with random nouns on them and the player has to decide what best goes with "fuzzy". The game gets pretty funny when you don't quite have...
Published on November 15, 2008 by D. Runski

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Updated isn't always better
We had played this game with extended family members who had an older version and were excited to order it for our own family to play. Between the time they had bought the game and we bought it it had been "updated". What this ultimately means is that it has cultural references to current TV shows scattered through it and it will be outdated in a year. This is...
Published 10 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

115 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creative family fun, November 15, 2008
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Apples to Apples Junior - The Game of Crazy Combinations! (Toy)
This game is fun for ages 6 (reading) and up. Game players go around the table taking turns being the judge. One card is pulled and set out for everyone to see, It may say a word like fuzzy. In each players hand, they have five cards with random nouns on them and the player has to decide what best goes with "fuzzy". The game gets pretty funny when you don't quite have a card that goes. For instance, you may have words like, tomato, tornado and thistle. The cool thing about it is that you get to plead your case to the judge and try to get them to choose your card. It is a silly and fun game (for ages 6 and reading to adult) and really gets the creative "juices" flowing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as much fun as the adult version - plus shhh they might learn something, November 21, 2011
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Apples to Apples Junior - The Game of Crazy Combinations! (Toy)
** REGULAR VS JUNIOR **
What is the difference between Apples to Apples the regular version and this Apples to Apples Junior? It appears that the main difference is in the types of proper names & pop culture. The words in Apples to Apples Junior are not super simple, they have a very wide variety of vocabulary words, but they don't have as many references to politicians or movie stars - the types of things younger kids would not be aware of. There are still proper names, but they are more kid friendly, like Spiderman or The Statue of Liberty.

** HOW IT WORKS **
Apples to Apples is a party game, it really is for 4 or more people, and in this case it is better with more. There are two types of cards, red and green. The green cards contain adjectives (e.g. calm, bold, silly). The red cards contain nouns or actions (e.g. glass, hamsters, Superman). One person acts as the judge, they flip over a green card and reveal the adjective. Everyone else has red cards in their hand, from those cards they have to pick the card they think best fits the trait listed on the green card. They all place their cards face down and the judge mixes them up then turns them over. The judge then gets to decide which word best fits the adjective. The person whose card that is wins the green card. You play until one person reaches a certain number of cards. The person who won the card then acts as the judge the next time.

** WHY ITS FUN **
What makes this game so much fun is that you have a limited number of choices of cards in your hands, so you often don't quite have the best match, so sometimes the matches are really silly. The judge is under no obligation to pick the card based on the definition - sometimes the funniest combo wins. It's also fun to try to subtly (or not so subtly for kids) influence the judge to pick your own card without giving it away.

** EDUCATIONAL VALUE **
Each adjective card has several synonyms listed on it. So if the child isn't familiar with the word they can figure it out from the synonyms listed. It's great for building vocabulary. The red cards have little sayings related to the words as well. My kids like to read out each card as they turn it over.

** AGE RANGE **
The rules are very simple to understand, but the cards do not have any pictures or anything to indicate what the card is to a child who can't read. My son is a very early reader and we got frustrated playing with him because he had to have the cards read to him constantly and since the cards are supposed to be a secret (so the judge doesn't know) this makes it very difficult. So I would say this is definitely a game for a child who can read at least somewhere around those step 3 readers. However, as long as everyone can read, this is a great game to play with kids and adults, since as I said above the only difference with the adult version is the references to proper nouns.

** RECOMMENDATION **
We've had a great time playing this game, both with the kids and the regular game with groups of adults. A lot of laughs always results and I feel like its reinforcing good vocabulary in the kids as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game - makes everyone think!, August 30, 2009
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apples to Apples Junior - The Game of Crazy Combinations! (Toy)
We made a family summer visit and one evening their 10 year old brought out this game. It was a great ruckus, and we bought it right when we got home. It is probably one of the most versatile, social, "intelligent" games around. It's amazingly simple, and does a great job of creating humorous and good natured competition.

Since winning is entirely based on the opinion of the dealer/judge, the game scales perfectly with whoever is playing. Since everything is pretty much in the open, "cheating" doesn't really exist, and it's loads of fun to argue over which word should be the best match. It's also offers insight into how your youngins' think. For example, my 6 year old, acting as a dealer, gave us a card of "Fragile." We played the cards "Brains," "Plates," and "Alaska." Now, I think Alaska was a great answer, but my son picked Plates.

There is no mean-spiritedness in the game at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, December 3, 2008
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Apples to Apples Junior - The Game of Crazy Combinations! (Toy)
This is a great family game. This game is fun for any age that can read. It can be played with odd or even numbers. The game encourages table talk and developes logical thought in younger players. Great for large gatherings. Don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My kids love it, fun for grownups too, October 16, 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apples to Apples Junior - The Game of Crazy Combinations! (Toy)
It is very hard--and by very hard I mean next to impossible--to find a game that your kids will enjoy and that won't cause your brain to melt out of your head. Apples to Apples is a rare example of a game all ages will enjoy. My kids and I have had lots of fun playing, and it's easy enough to "cheat" to let the youngest win if that's how things are done in your house. It really makes the kids think about the meanings of works and their synonyms, so it has educational value as well. There are LOTS of cards so you can play over and over without hitting the same subject twice. All in all one of the best games for kids and grownups I've played in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, easy to pick up, October 15, 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apples to Apples Junior - The Game of Crazy Combinations! (Toy)
This is one of the best group games we've come across. Though labeled as "junior", adults in our group enjoyed it as much as the younger players. Just as much fun as the regular edition, just with concepts easier for younger players. Great group or party game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One the best games ever, January 9, 2010
By 
John R. Prince (Fort Worth, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Apples to Apples Junior - The Game of Crazy Combinations! (Toy)
My wife and two kids (ages 7 and 9) are really into board games. In fact, it's becoming hard to find new ones we don't have. We were given this game as a gift--and I was surprised I had not even heard of it. We had no idea what to expect, but I was encouraged by the reviews I read on here.

I must say this is one of the most entertaining games we've ever played as a family. I rank it second behind HyperDash, and Apples to Apples Jr. is definitely our new favorite board game.

The concept is surprisingly simple:
1. Players are provided five red cards made up of "things". For example, "Teeth", or "Dark Alley".

2. Each player takes turn being the "judge". The judge pulls a green card that needs comparison (typically in the form of an adjective or adverb). For example, "Graceful", or "Scary".

3. All other players submit the red card in their hand that they feel best compares with the green card. The judge then makes a decision and the card the judge feels best compares with the green card is the winner (and that player receives a "point"). The first to four wins.

What is so fun about this is playing to each judge's mindset. For example, when my nine-year-old son is the judge and asks to compare something that is "Magical", he might feel a card with "Lunchroom" compares better than "Clouds". Or my-seven-year old daughter might feel a pencil is more "Frail" then "Paper" because she breaks the tips of her pencil quite often. You get the idea... Thus the strategy is to think in terms of what the judge likes best.

I cannot recommend this game enough. While it can be played with 2+ players, the more people playing the better, which is actually a plus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Updated isn't always better, August 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apples to Apples Junior - The Game of Crazy Combinations! (Toy)
We had played this game with extended family members who had an older version and were excited to order it for our own family to play. Between the time they had bought the game and we bought it it had been "updated". What this ultimately means is that it has cultural references to current TV shows scattered through it and it will be outdated in a year. This is a very fun game otherwise, but because of the updates, it doesn't deserve anything more than three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Apples to Apples Jr. is great, April 2, 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Apples to Apples Junior - The Game of Crazy Combinations! (Toy)
My kids love this. Even my 6 year-old can play, although she needs help to read some of the words.
I thought the comparisons would be too abstract, but the kids seemed to grasp the object of the game more easily that I did at first. DE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Family Fun, January 13, 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apples to Apples Junior - The Game of Crazy Combinations! (Toy)
It's a fun game with a lot of laughs for the whole family. We are planning to get the adult version soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.