Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for references
I used this book for reference during my grad introduction to finance class. It was very helpful for whenever I needed to go back to some concept or definition. I never really read a full chapter, but as mentioned went directly to portions of the text. This worked perfect for me.
Published on December 24, 2012 by R. ECHEVERRIA

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs a good editing
This is an exhaustive text on corporate finance; however, it is best used in conjunction with clear lectures. The exercises in the text can be quite challenging; however, there appear to be more than a few errors or inconsistencies between the text and Damodaran's helpful website. Trying to discern which version of a question and answer is correct can be a somewhat...
Published 23 months ago by YoungSally


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs a good editing, March 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Applied Corporate Finance (Paperback)
This is an exhaustive text on corporate finance; however, it is best used in conjunction with clear lectures. The exercises in the text can be quite challenging; however, there appear to be more than a few errors or inconsistencies between the text and Damodaran's helpful website. Trying to discern which version of a question and answer is correct can be a somewhat frustrating process. Unfortunately, these inconsistencies seem to persist even through new editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for references, December 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Applied Corporate Finance (Paperback)
I used this book for reference during my grad introduction to finance class. It was very helpful for whenever I needed to go back to some concept or definition. I never really read a full chapter, but as mentioned went directly to portions of the text. This worked perfect for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Applied Corporate Finance like nothing else, March 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Applied Corporate Finance (Paperback)
Aswath Damodaran once again proved why he is one of the best professors in Finance. The book stayed true to its objectives and made applying theories and concepts into real situations easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Properly due to the nice organization of the book, December 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Applied Corporate Finance (Paperback)
Explain Corporate Finance so clearly. Properly due to the nice organization of the book. I enjoy the section on Optimizing capital structure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes.. it has met my expectations. Example ..., October 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Applied Corporate Finance (Paperback)
Yes..it has met my expectations. Example : It refers to the crisis of 2008, and how to deal with it.
I am still reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst text book I've ever read, April 27, 2014
This review is from: Applied Corporate Finance (Paperback)
This book is horrible. My head spins trying to read it. It's over 700 pages long to explain in the most wordy way possible what should just be straight forward concepts and math. If you are assigned this book, good luck! I hope you have a professor who can teach, because this book is the worst "teacher" I've ever experienced in undergrad and grad school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good!, January 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Applied Corporate Finance (Paperback)
This book is written by Aswath Damodaran. I saw his course in the open course on line. He is very knowledgable and passionate with high reputation so I have high expectation to read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT for Engineers..., July 11, 2011
This review is from: Applied Corporate Finance (Paperback)
I would not recommend this book to Engineers trying to learn Corporate Finance. The writer does not (unfortunately) employ a mathematical approach to the subject. Sometimes he even prefers to "describe" equations with words, instead of giving the equation in mathematical form.

Also, there are MANY typos and calculation errors in various tables. Totally unacceptable for such a book.

The material is very un-organised. Some exercises are placed in the wrong Chapter, which does NOT provide all the data necessary for solving them. Unless you read the next Chapter also, you cannot find the solution on your own.

Overall seems like a book which was written in a hurry, without being checked and tidied-up.

The author's site on the other hand is a very useful source of information, all for FREE. Very nice thing, especially in our days when you usually have to pay for everything...

To sum up: Perhaps being an engineer and a beginner does not allow me to appreciate this book that much. Still, I would not recommend it to non-finance people (like engineers) as their first introduction to the subject.

Alex-Greece
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Applied Corporate Finance (Paperback)
5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right book, great price., February 15, 2011
By 
Mr. Ralph (Virginia, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Applied Corporate Finance (Paperback)
It was the right book for the class but at a fraction of the cost at the campus bookstore. New too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Applied Corporate Finance
Applied Corporate Finance by Aswath Damodaran (Paperback - March 8, 2010)
$154.34
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.