Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Breed
This book is by far the best on M&A. To understand what makes this book the best, it is necessary to understand what a comprehensive book on M&A should have and how other books on the market stack up on required content:

1) A discussion of the legal framework in M&A

2) The Strategic case for M&A - Why M&A as opposed to Organic growth strategies...
Published on December 1, 2005 by Ganesh V Jois

versus
28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for the money
I found the book a good overview of M&A, but it was a bit on the theoretical side. While Bruner is generally a good writer, the 1000+ page tome can sometimes become a bit suffocating. Moreover, the book presumes a considerable knowledge of finance to really understand the content. Nonetheless, I think at $50 bucks, it is a good buy. Other books I have found highly...
Published on November 13, 2005 by Dr. Robert Adams


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Breed, December 1, 2005
By 
Ganesh V Jois (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Applied Mergers and Acquisitions (Hardcover)
This book is by far the best on M&A. To understand what makes this book the best, it is necessary to understand what a comprehensive book on M&A should have and how other books on the market stack up on required content:

1) A discussion of the legal framework in M&A

2) The Strategic case for M&A - Why M&A as opposed to Organic growth strategies

3) The importance of Due Diligence - Why, What, How

4) Synergies - Types, estimation

5) Valuation for M&A - DCF, Multiples, Break-up, LBO, etc.

6) Accounting (Investor Perception) issues - Accretion, Dilution

7) Structuring the Transaction - Cash vs. Stock, Earnouts, Taxation issues

8) Pitfalls and how to avoid them - Overpayment, Thinking like an investor, etc.

This is the only one on the market that does justice to all topics. Other books on the market have an exclusive focus on one or two issues. For instance, Arzac's book is the most comprehensive valuation guide available but is weak on issues like due diligence. Gaughan's book has all the legal procedures and forms that one would need to know about but is has next to nothing on valuation. Marren's book is outdated and full of spreadsheets with almost next to nothing on other topics. DePamphilis' book is weak on valuation but covers many of the other topics. Books by Reed & Lajoux cover Structuring, Taxation, Due Diligence in separate volumes and in that sense they are discontinuous.

This book puts all topics together and provides a very good treatment of each. The book may not be the best for Valuation alone or for Structuring alone but it is a great one-point reference on all topics. It has very good bibliography and those who want to delve deeper can always pick up the specialized books.

For some reason, however, I never got the CD with my purchase and therefore, please check before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for the money, November 13, 2005
This review is from: Applied Mergers and Acquisitions (Hardcover)
I found the book a good overview of M&A, but it was a bit on the theoretical side. While Bruner is generally a good writer, the 1000+ page tome can sometimes become a bit suffocating. Moreover, the book presumes a considerable knowledge of finance to really understand the content. Nonetheless, I think at $50 bucks, it is a good buy. Other books I have found highly readable on the subject include Mergers and Acquisitions by Depamphilis (3rd edition) and Arzac's Valuation (1st edition). Both of these books come with very helpful software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Nice Book, April 9, 2006
By 
Barrier Options (London School of Economics) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Applied Mergers and Acquisitions (Hardcover)
very nice overview on MnA. Good introduction and provides references for those who wanna dig into specific topics.

However, this is a general overview for a wide range of MnA topics, you will not gain a specific expertise from this book.

For me, the most useful way of learning a topic like MnA is by actually looking at spreadsheets and exhibits instead of reading bunge of writings. This book has many nice exhibits/tables to demonstrate the calculations, so after the reading, I can look at the exhibits/spreadsheets to see if I understand how the numbers are calculated.

this should be the first read, arzac should be followed up to gain a more solid background in valuation.

No comments on the CDROM, I didn't buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best text on M&A, January 26, 2007
By 
Top Cat "TC" (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Applied Mergers and Acquisitions (Hardcover)
After attending an executive program in mergers and acquisitions, I decided to purchase this book after reviewing a variety of books on the subject. I also own Arzac's book, but it is only applicable to valuation.

This book is simply the best text on M&A and it has served as a nice supplament to program that I attended. Between the program and reading this book, I now feel like I am an expert on the subject.

Arzac's book on valuation provides the final topping on the subject manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Book on Mergers and Acquisitions for Neophytes and Veterans Alike, September 27, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Applied Mergers and Acquisitions (Hardcover)
Applied Mergers and Acquisitions is an excellent and very readable book on the subject of M&A written by a knowledgeable author who has been in the trenches. From the basics of this field to the technical details of mergers and acquisitions, this book can serve as a handy reference guide to M&A for every practitioner "who always wanted to know more about M&A but was afraid to ask."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOUGH SUBJECT MADE EASIER TO UNDERSTAND, January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Applied Mergers and Acquisitions (Hardcover)
VERY COMPREHANSIVE.....THE AUTHOUR`S MASTERY OF THE SUBJECT MATTER IS REFLECTED IN EVERY PAGE,I LOVE THE FACT THAT HE RE EMPHISIZED THAT MOST MERGERS DONT WORK OUT AS IT WAS PLANNED.INDEED MOST MERGERS DO FAIL. MERGING IS JUST LIKE PIPE FITTING ,IT REQUIRES SPETIALTY TOOLS AND SKILLS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Step by Step, October 5, 2012
This review is from: Applied Mergers and Acquisitions (Hardcover)
Definitely! once of the most concise and step by step process book. I have read books about valuations and mergers, and they just give you an overview. But definitely, this book helps you prepare, plan and execute, considering all the variables you might come across in a M&A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and well written!, July 9, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Applied Mergers and Acquisitions (Hardcover)
Truly an essential reference for M&A. I found the book incredibly helpful in assessing M&As for future value. The case studies particularly helpful. Every executive should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent text, March 26, 2012
This review is from: Applied Mergers and Acquisitions (Hardcover)
I use this book to teach a class on M&A at both the undergraduate and graduate level. The coverage is perfect and has a nice balance between rigor and readability. The 2004 publication date is starting to feel a little dated. Although he has been elevated to Dean, I hope Dr. Bruner finds time to update this excellent text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very rich - very analytical, September 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Applied Mergers and Acquisitions (Hardcover)
Definitely an impressive book, fruit of a rich experience of the author. Every single item is documented.
The structure also is very clear enabling to come back later on and pick-up the info you just need.
Most of the info remains valid today, despite the book was edited 10 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Applied Mergers and Acquisitions
Applied Mergers and Acquisitions by Robert F. Bruner (Hardcover - March 26, 2004)
$100.00 $59.42
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.