Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book for MATLAB!
This book explains the material very well. I took the class Fall 11 and heavily relied on the book for my success. It thoroughly explains the processes and math and does not assume you know background material. Key MATLAB programs are demonstrated and the steps explained well. I recommend it for anyone needing to understand MATLAB in an engineering and numerical...
Published on January 18, 2012 by Tibbetts

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There is a free pdf version available
I highly recommend preforming a search for this book on Google.
You'll be able to get the entire book for free as a pdf.

Here is a link, but again, you can just Google it.
[...]
Published 10 months ago by ivyxe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There is a free pdf version available, October 14, 2013
I highly recommend preforming a search for this book on Google.
You'll be able to get the entire book for free as a pdf.

Here is a link, but again, you can just Google it.
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good startup book to learn Matlab, September 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Applied Numerical Methods W/MATLAB: for Engineers & Scientists (Hardcover)
I've been reading this book and it gives you plenty of examples to understand the basic concepts of Matlab. It is very similar to the programming language Python, with small differences between the two languages. However, it would be wise to get at least the 2011b or higher version of Matlab to follow with this book due to how it codes Matlab expressions. The exercises at the end of each chapter do get moderately difficult as there is a lot of bookkeeping to do in terms of keeping a function/script and knowing how to apply them in Matlab language without any errors so the program knows what you are attempting to have it do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book for MATLAB!, January 18, 2012
This review is from: Applied Numerical Methods W/MATLAB: for Engineers & Scientists (Hardcover)
This book explains the material very well. I took the class Fall 11 and heavily relied on the book for my success. It thoroughly explains the processes and math and does not assume you know background material. Key MATLAB programs are demonstrated and the steps explained well. I recommend it for anyone needing to understand MATLAB in an engineering and numerical analysis setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Numerical methods with mat lab, July 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Applied Numerical Methods W/MATLAB: for Engineers & Scientists (Hardcover)
Very bad quality papper and said to be hardcover and it was not. Not bad but i wasn't what I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, April 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Applied Numerical Methods W/MATLAB: for Engineers & Scientists (Hardcover)
Its a nice book that gives beginners an introduction to Matlab. It doesn't do much more than that, so if you already know better, don't bother. However, for those starting out with Matlab, it does a very good job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hard to read, March 22, 2014
By 
Justin (Seattle, Wa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Applied Numerical Methods W/MATLAB: for Engineers & Scientists (Hardcover)
Got this book for an Intro to Numerical Methods class. Dunno if it was my instructor, or the book, but only ended up reading a couple chapters of it, virtually all the info in the book related to MatLab is contained in the matlab help file... and I ended up getting all the math proofs in my notes in class... So really didn't need the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great even for MATLAB beginners, January 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Applied Numerical Methods W/MATLAB: for Engineers & Scientists (Hardcover)
This is not a book to learn MATLAB. This is a book that teaches numerical methods (it does that very well). Great examples and great practice problems enabled me to grasp the material easily. The MATLAB exercises made it easier for a beginner programmer like me to write my own numerical analysis programs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource, January 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Applied Numerical Methods W/MATLAB: for Engineers & Scientists (Hardcover)
I am taking a MATLAB class at my college. I am new to programming languages; and in spite of that, this book has been extremely helpful.

The book reach its shipping destination in a fairly quick time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, January 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Applied Numerical Methods W/MATLAB: for Engineers & Scientists (Hardcover)
Great book to a somewhat difficult software to understand. It helped me understand the basics of the software and used the internet to understand more difficult subjects
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Matlab and Science, January 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Applied Numerical Methods W/MATLAB: for Engineers & Scientists (Hardcover)
I needed it for school and it came in handy. The book explains the material well. I had not programmed before and this helped me understand a little more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Applied Numerical Methods W/MATLAB: for Engineers & Scientists
Applied Numerical Methods W/MATLAB: for Engineers & Scientists by Steven C. Chapra (Hardcover - January 27, 2011)
$170.10
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.