Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Voyage Cyber Monday Video Game Deals Outdoor Deals on HTL

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

  • List Price: $18.99
  • Save: $4.77 (25%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
Approximate Continuum Com... has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: *WITHDRAWN LIBRARY COPY* in exceptional condition; Appears to be unused. It does have customary library collection stamps/stickers. FULFILLED BY AMAZON. ELIGIBLE FOR FREE AMAZON PRIME SHIPPING OR FREE SHIPPNG ON AMAZON FULFILLED ORDERS OVER $35
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Approximate Continuum Comics Paperback – June 15, 2011

3 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
"Please retry"
$8.98 $0.81

Best Books of the Month
See the Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.
$14.22 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

  • Approximate Continuum Comics
  • +
  • My New York Diary
Total price: $29.20
Buy the selected items together

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Take an Extra 30% Off Any Book: Use promo code HOLIDAY30 at checkout to get an extra 30% off any book for a limited time. Excludes Kindle eBooks and Audible Audiobooks. Restrictions apply. Learn more | Shop now

Editorial Reviews


Trondheim, a 2006 Angouleme Festival Grand Prize winner, creates autobiographical sketches with a Seinfeld-ian mania for capturing the quotidian details of normal life, particularly its irritations. (Publishers Weekiy)

Trondheim suggests a French Woody Allen... Trondheim evokes, with the deft scrappiness of his agitated, angular figures, the universality of so many of our concerns and insecurities, and the completeness with which they surround us. (Max Winter - Boston Globe)

Some of the very first autobiographical works on the French bande dessinée scene, these little gems were a genuine game-changer for cartoonists and storytellers... Trondheim’s cartoon interior catalogue is always a supremely rewarding and enjoyable experience… (Win Wiacek - Now Read This!)

Trondheim… is truly at the height of his powers in Approximate Continuum Comics. (Rob Clough - The Comics Journal)

About the Author

Lewis Trondheim (one of the co-founders of the comics collective L’Association) lives and works in Montpellier, France. He won the career-spanning Angoulême International Comics Festival Grand Prize in 2006.

Hero Quick Promo
Holiday Deals in Kindle Books
Save up to 85% on more than 1,000 Kindle Books. These deals are valid until November 30, 2015. Learn more

Product Details

  • Paperback: 160 pages
  • Publisher: Fantagraphics (June 15, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1606994107
  • ISBN-13: 978-1606994108
  • Product Dimensions: 6.9 x 0.5 x 10.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 15.5 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,623,418 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 3 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
If you're not yet familiar with the comics of Lewis Trondheim, you probably should be. One of France's top creators, Trondheim's work is just starting to regularly appear on these shores. Two series dominate his American appearances: the Dungeon graphic novels with Joann Sfar and other collaborators; and his autobiographical travelogues, Little Nothings.

Both of those series are published by NBM, but for many years prior to Dungeon and Little Nothings, Fantagraphics was Trondheim's American publisher, most notably with the black-and-white series The Nimrod, which ran 7 issues from 1988 to 2003.

I only discovered Trondheim a couple of years ago, so Nimrod slipped under my radar, just as it did with too many US comics readers. Luckily, I found a few of the back issues this past winter, and they're great. One of the highlights was a series of autobiographical stories that looked at Trondheim's roles and misadventures in the Franco-Belgian comics scene. Those tales, along with a few chapters that have never appeared in the United States, are now collected in Approximate Continuum Comics.

If you've read Little Nothings, you know that it is comprised of one-page vignettes, beautifully executed in watercolor. Approximate Continuum Comics is much earlier work (first drawn around 1993 and 1994), so it's looser, rougher, and not quite as developed artistically. It's also a deeper story, chronicling an important phase of Trondheim's life. These were the years he made his real leap from self-published upstart to internationally published superstar.

It's a wonder how he got there. Trondheim (as depicted by Trondheim) is a mass of neuroses and tics. He's full of self-doubt and more than a little bit of anger.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
After years of following Trondheim's autobiographical "Little Nothings" series, I finally got the chance to read the volume that started it all. I've seen the french edition of this book described as a classic of comic book autobiography, and I have to say that it lives up to the hype. It is extremely funny, and it's probably the most enjoyable Trondheim book in print in English. It should appeal to everyone who has a soft spot for self-deprecating neurotics in the vein of Robert Crumb, Woody Allen and Larry David. Admittedly I kinda miss the beautiful watercolors he would start using in the later series. Also I don't like the way he draws his wife in this book, her bird-like features look more female in the "Little Nothings" books. But apart from that, I have nothing bad to say about his thoroughly enjoyable tome.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By John Platt on August 12, 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Sure, this material is close to 15 years old already, but it's still pretty easy to love. Give it a read, you'll love it too.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Approximate Continuum Comics
This item: Approximate Continuum Comics
Price: $14.22
Ships from and sold by

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: manga is it ok to