Qty:1
  • List Price: $18.99
  • Save: $3.79 (20%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Crisp, attractive copy. FREE SHIPPING w/AMAZON PRIME!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Approximate Continuum Comics Paperback – June 15, 2011


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$15.20
$4.81 $0.24
Showcase%20Weekly%20Deal

Frequently Bought Together

Approximate Continuum Comics + Nat Turner
Price for both: $28.66

Buy the selected items together
  • Nat Turner $13.46

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Image
Looking for the Audiobook Edition?
Tell us that you'd like this title to be produced as an audiobook, and we'll alert our colleagues at Audible.com. If you are the author or rights holder, let Audible help you produce the audiobook: Learn more at ACX.com.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 160 pages
  • Publisher: Fantagraphics (June 15, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1606994107
  • ISBN-13: 978-1606994108
  • Product Dimensions: 10.2 x 6.8 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 15.5 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,314,876 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

“Trondheim, a 2006 Angouleme Festival Grand Prize winner, creates autobiographical sketches with a Seinfeld-ian mania for capturing the quotidian details of normal life, particularly its irritations.” (Publishers Weekiy)

“Trondheim suggests a French Woody Allen... Trondheim evokes, with the deft scrappiness of his agitated, angular figures, the universality of so many of our concerns and insecurities, and the completeness with which they surround us.” (Max Winter - Boston Globe)

“Some of the very first autobiographical works on the French bande dessinée scene, these little gems were a genuine game-changer for cartoonists and storytellers... Trondheim’s cartoon interior catalogue is always a supremely rewarding and enjoyable experience…” (Win Wiacek - Now Read This!)

“Trondheim… is truly at the height of his powers in Approximate Continuum Comics.” (Rob Clough - The Comics Journal)

About the Author

Lewis Trondheim (one of the co-founders of the comics collective L’Association) lives and works in Montpellier, France. He won the career-spanning Angoulême International Comics Festival Grand Prize in 2006.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 3 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
If you're not yet familiar with the comics of Lewis Trondheim, you probably should be. One of France's top creators, Trondheim's work is just starting to regularly appear on these shores. Two series dominate his American appearances: the Dungeon graphic novels with Joann Sfar and other collaborators; and his autobiographical travelogues, Little Nothings.

Both of those series are published by NBM, but for many years prior to Dungeon and Little Nothings, Fantagraphics was Trondheim's American publisher, most notably with the black-and-white series The Nimrod, which ran 7 issues from 1988 to 2003.

I only discovered Trondheim a couple of years ago, so Nimrod slipped under my radar, just as it did with too many US comics readers. Luckily, I found a few of the back issues this past winter, and they're great. One of the highlights was a series of autobiographical stories that looked at Trondheim's roles and misadventures in the Franco-Belgian comics scene. Those tales, along with a few chapters that have never appeared in the United States, are now collected in Approximate Continuum Comics.

If you've read Little Nothings, you know that it is comprised of one-page vignettes, beautifully executed in watercolor. Approximate Continuum Comics is much earlier work (first drawn around 1993 and 1994), so it's looser, rougher, and not quite as developed artistically. It's also a deeper story, chronicling an important phase of Trondheim's life. These were the years he made his real leap from self-published upstart to internationally published superstar.

It's a wonder how he got there. Trondheim (as depicted by Trondheim) is a mass of neuroses and tics. He's full of self-doubt and more than a little bit of anger.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By John Platt on August 12, 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Sure, this material is close to 15 years old already, but it's still pretty easy to love. Give it a read, you'll love it too.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
After years of following Trondheim's autobiographical "Little Nothings" series, I finally got the chance to read the volume that started it all. I've seen the french edition of this book described as a classic of comic book autobiography, and I have to say that it lives up to the hype. It is extremely funny, and it's probably the most enjoyable Trondheim book in print in English. It should appeal to everyone who has a soft spot for self-deprecating neurotics in the vein of Robert Crumb, Woody Allen and Larry David. Admittedly I kinda miss the beautiful watercolors he would start using in the later series. Also I don't like the way he draws his wife in this book, her bird-like features look more female in the "Little Nothings" books. But apart from that, I have nothing bad to say about his thoroughly enjoyable tome.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?