Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Lisa Loeb AMO Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars3
5 star
67%
4 star
33%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$17.42+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 4, 2011
If you're not yet familiar with the comics of Lewis Trondheim, you probably should be. One of France's top creators, Trondheim's work is just starting to regularly appear on these shores. Two series dominate his American appearances: the Dungeon graphic novels with Joann Sfar and other collaborators; and his autobiographical travelogues, Little Nothings.

Both of those series are published by NBM, but for many years prior to Dungeon and Little Nothings, Fantagraphics was Trondheim's American publisher, most notably with the black-and-white series The Nimrod, which ran 7 issues from 1988 to 2003.

I only discovered Trondheim a couple of years ago, so Nimrod slipped under my radar, just as it did with too many US comics readers. Luckily, I found a few of the back issues this past winter, and they're great. One of the highlights was a series of autobiographical stories that looked at Trondheim's roles and misadventures in the Franco-Belgian comics scene. Those tales, along with a few chapters that have never appeared in the United States, are now collected in Approximate Continuum Comics.

If you've read Little Nothings, you know that it is comprised of one-page vignettes, beautifully executed in watercolor. Approximate Continuum Comics is much earlier work (first drawn around 1993 and 1994), so it's looser, rougher, and not quite as developed artistically. It's also a deeper story, chronicling an important phase of Trondheim's life. These were the years he made his real leap from self-published upstart to internationally published superstar.

It's a wonder how he got there. Trondheim (as depicted by Trondheim) is a mass of neuroses and tics. He's full of self-doubt and more than a little bit of anger. But what sets him apart from oh-so-many other autobiographical cartoonists is that he's also devoted to his life and his art. You might say that this is a book about beating yourself up in service of self-exploration, which itself is in service of creating great stories.

As Trondheim tells his story, we get to meet the other players in his life, including his partner, Brigitte (whom he marries halfway through the book), and cartoonists David B., Emile Bravo, Didier Tronchet, Jean-Christophe Menu, Killofer, and Philippe Dupuy, among others. These are all creators growing up alongside him and creating their own careers, and as his main sounding boards, they are also the primary avenue upon which he throws his insecurities. Now, I'm not well versed in European comics, so I don't have much of a clue who most of these people are, and maybe some of the book would have meant something more if I were more familiar with them or their work, but luckily you don't need to know much about them or the French comics scene to read this book. Some passages and references went over my head, but it's not a history book, so it could be forgiven.

The looseness of the art serves the story well, allowing Trondheim to depict a greater level of emotion than in his more recent stories, and also to be more surreal. Many segments of the book are dreamlike, which actually serves the diary aspect of the work well. It allows Trondheim to give his imagination form and to show how that imagination, which is his greatest asset, is on occasion also his worst enemy, since it allows him to blow any little event in his life way, way, way out of proportion.

The book ends with a unique element: several pages of rebuttals from the other comics creators depicted throughout. These are both hilarious and insightful, providing a broader picture of the tales within, and of Trondheim himself. It's a great way to bring the collection to a close.

By the way, the title of this book does give a hint as to its own weakness: As with most diary comics, Approximate Continuum Comics is not quite a complete story, but a collection of anecdotes that work together to tell a broader tale. Some details are missing, sometimes leaving you to wonder how Trondheim got from point A to point C. Some chapters end abruptly with no signal that the next page is the beginning of a new anecdote. A few story threads disappear. But the anecdotes are still more solid and deeper than those in Little Nothings, which restricts each story to a one-page gag.

The net effect is both satisfying and likely to leave you wanting just a little bit more. If that means buying and reading your next Trondheim book, so be it.

Reviewed by John R. Platt
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
After years of following Trondheim's autobiographical "Little Nothings" series, I finally got the chance to read the volume that started it all. I've seen the french edition of this book described as a classic of comic book autobiography, and I have to say that it lives up to the hype. It is extremely funny, and it's probably the most enjoyable Trondheim book in print in English. It should appeal to everyone who has a soft spot for self-deprecating neurotics in the vein of Robert Crumb, Woody Allen and Larry David. Admittedly I kinda miss the beautiful watercolors he would start using in the later series. Also I don't like the way he draws his wife in this book, her bird-like features look more female in the "Little Nothings" books. But apart from that, I have nothing bad to say about his thoroughly enjoyable tome.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2011
Sure, this material is close to 15 years old already, but it's still pretty easy to love. Give it a read, you'll love it too.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.