Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never had a problem in almost 4 months.
This is the greatest investment especially for those who like to record several HD movies and events such as UFC in HD. Only downside to the technology is the inability to distinguish what data lays on the DVR from data in the Xpander. Also my co worker who had his crash was sent a brand new one within a couple weeks by the manufacturer. Also 5.1 sound works perfectly...
Published on January 27, 2008 by J. Bennett

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DVR Expander NOT compatible with TiVo DVRs
I purchased the 1TB Apricorn DVR Expander, and I unfortunately discovered that it does NOT work with the TiVo HD and TiVo Series 3 DVRs, even though the product description states that it will work with ANY DVR that has an active eSata port. I only purchased that DVR Xpander because it offers such a high amount of extra recording hours (562 hours of SD programming, and...
Published on January 11, 2009 by The Secret Star


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never had a problem in almost 4 months., January 27, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apricorn 500GB Esata Interface DVR Xpander (Personal Computers)
This is the greatest investment especially for those who like to record several HD movies and events such as UFC in HD. Only downside to the technology is the inability to distinguish what data lays on the DVR from data in the Xpander. Also my co worker who had his crash was sent a brand new one within a couple weeks by the manufacturer. Also 5.1 sound works perfectly normal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars works fine with Cox Phoenix SA8300HD, March 30, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apricorn 500GB Esata Interface DVR Xpander (Personal Computers)
Used to supplement storage capacity of SA8300HD as supplied by Cox in Phoenix. From out of the box till all set up and recordings scheduled in about 30 mins; no problems at all in about a month and a half of use. Seems to work fine in conjunction with DVR's internal drive to spread recording and playback loads, can record two while playing back a third show. I'm now able to plan for recording and holding far more HD movies without the constant hunt for shows to erase as was the case without this extension drive. Still a little concerned that this drive seems to be running constantly - how long will it last - as there seems to be no provision for it to shut down and rest as does the SA8300HD's own internal drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of three external drives I tried..., July 14, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apricorn 500GB Esata Interface DVR Xpander (Personal Computers)
I tried, in order, 1) the Cavalry 500GB drive, 2) the WD My DVR Expander, and 3) the Apricorn 500GB DVR Xpander with my SA8300HD DVR from Time Warner.

Of the three, only the Apricorn provided trouble-free playback. I had to return the Cavalry and WD, and have kept the Apricorn. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great with Comcast, September 17, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apricorn 500GB Esata Interface DVR Xpander (Personal Computers)
Simple hookup and it works exactly as others have stated with comcast. If you swap your DVR or switch companies you will need to reset the drive but otherwise exactly what I wanted at what I think is a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to Install. A little slower than the internal drive., November 16, 2008
This review is from: Apricorn 500GB Esata Interface DVR Xpander (Personal Computers)
Overall it Apricorn 500GB Esata Interface DVR Xpander is easy to install and works pretty well. The only problem I have noticed is when I am recording 2 programs and trying to watch a previously recorded program. The drive does not seem to be able to keep up and the video streams become pixelized. This never happened with the internal drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DVR Expander NOT compatible with TiVo DVRs, January 11, 2009
This review is from: Apricorn 500GB Esata Interface DVR Xpander (Personal Computers)
I purchased the 1TB Apricorn DVR Expander, and I unfortunately discovered that it does NOT work with the TiVo HD and TiVo Series 3 DVRs, even though the product description states that it will work with ANY DVR that has an active eSata port. I only purchased that DVR Xpander because it offers such a high amount of extra recording hours (562 hours of SD programming, and 125 hours of HD), and I have had to regrettably send the Expander back to the company that I purchased it from. Clearly, this will be and IS the same problem with the 500 GB Apricorn DVR Expander.

If anyone out there has a TiVo HD or Series 3 DVR and you want to add extra recording space to your DVR, then you will have to purchase the Western Digital My DVR Expander, which is the ONLY Expander on the market that is compatible with the TiVo HD and TiVo Series 3 DVRs. (This is the official word from the TiVo Company Customer Service Technical Support staff themselves.) To anyone who owns a TiVo DVR, do NOT purchase this 500 GB DVR Expander because it will NOT work with your DVR.

Also, if anyone out there does buy the Western Digital My DVR Expander for their TiVo DVR, then be aware that that Expander actually adds a lot MORE recording space to a TiVo DVR than what the product description states on the box. The recording space on the box for the Western Digital DVR Expander states that it will only add 300 hours of SD recording space and 60 hours of HD, but it will actually add 626 SD hours and 72 HD hours to a TiVo DVR. My personal TiVo HD DVR originally held only 184 SD hours and 21 HD hours, but my recording space went to 810 SD hours and 93 HD hours when I plugged in the Western Digital Expander to my DVR.

Overall, the Western Digital My DVR Expander is truly a BETTER buy than the 500 GB (or the 1TB) Apricorn DVR Expander for those who own a TiVo HD or Series 3 DVR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Time Warner - Stops live TV pause and replay, January 1, 2009
This review is from: Apricorn 500GB Esata Interface DVR Xpander (Personal Computers)
A known issue is with Time Warner, or Comcast using time warner software (Houston 2009) , when the DVR is connected the HD dual tuner box will no longer allow pausing, rewinding or anythign else on live TV. It records as expected, but in our mind is useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tivo HD, September 20, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Apricorn 500GB Esata Interface DVR Xpander (Personal Computers)
This product does not work with Tivo HD DVR. This DVR Expander locked up my tivo. But it claims it will work any DVR equipped with an active eSATA port. But it does NOT. So if you are looking for one that works with the TIVO HD get the WD 500GB My DVR Expander eSATA. But Must follow Instructions. That is what I Did, and it worked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Apricorn 500GB Esata Interface DVR Xpander
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.