Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of My Favorite Seasons of the Show For Certain
I know I am in the minority here but this one is definitely one of my favorites. As I said before I enjoy all the seasons of Dallas, especially the later ones. This season, known to me as 11, is the last one for Linda Gray. Steve Kanaly has 5 episodes in the middle of the year before leaving for good, and Priscilla Presley had departed. However, I would say their...
Published on April 21, 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shame about the DVD standard
This is a great fun season with some fun new characters (especially George Kennedy- a great actor and Cathy Podewell) and some great plot twists, but, oh dear, a TRULY TERRIBLE DVD TRANSFER--the wort of all the previous seasons. Why????????????????? Even when showing it on my blu ray, it still looks blurred, fuzzy, almost like a copy of a copy of a copy. Are Warners now...
Published on February 10, 2010 by Les G. Solomon


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of My Favorite Seasons of the Show For Certain, April 21, 2009
This review is from: Dallas: Season 12 (DVD)
I know I am in the minority here but this one is definitely one of my favorites. As I said before I enjoy all the seasons of Dallas, especially the later ones. This season, known to me as 11, is the last one for Linda Gray. Steve Kanaly has 5 episodes in the middle of the year before leaving for good, and Priscilla Presley had departed. However, I would say their absence is not a big deal since they had been pretty islanded from everyone else by that point anyway. This season we have the final divorce and revenge of Sue Ellen, a new and humorous marriage for JR, further romantic fun for Bobby, and the interesting development of Cliff having a daughter with Afton and being taken in by Bobby alongside JR as a partner in Ewing Oil. Also, powering the season is Oscar-winner George Kennedy, who came in and truly delivered a great performance as Carter McKay, taking over Westar and becoming a new and strong Ewing nemesis. There is an exciting range war for Southfork the first part of the season, a funny storyline for JR in a small town, and then a big trip to Russia towards the end, not to mention the classic where Bobby and JR are stuck in an elevator and are forced to confront each other. The ratings slide continued, and my belief is that this was a self-fulfilling prophecy-for example, Priscilla and Steve had to go due to shrinking budget because of shrinking ratings due to the departure of Victoria Principal, yet, their fans then left and so the ratings went down further. This I can understand, but as long as you're a fan of JR first and foremost, you can continue to enjoy the show all the way I believe. This season Sheree J Wilson was added to the main title, and it also starred George Kennedy as Carter McKay, Andrew Stevens as Casey Denault, Cathy Podewell as Cally Harper, Audrey Landers as Afton Cooper, Beth Toussaint as Tracey Lawton, Leigh Taylor-Young as Kimberly Cryder, William Smithers as Jeremy Wendell, and Ian McShane as Don Lockwood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shame about the DVD standard, February 10, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dallas: Season 12 (DVD)
This is a great fun season with some fun new characters (especially George Kennedy- a great actor and Cathy Podewell) and some great plot twists, but, oh dear, a TRULY TERRIBLE DVD TRANSFER--the wort of all the previous seasons. Why????????????????? Even when showing it on my blu ray, it still looks blurred, fuzzy, almost like a copy of a copy of a copy. Are Warners now just rushing these out to the conclusion with no concern of quality at all? It also arrived in terrible shape (Amazon bad packaging) Again a shame as it has one of the best episodes of the latter part of the series ("The Sting", more plot twists and surprise returns than any of any episode)With only three box sets to go (season 13 and 14 and the telemovie set)can't Warners at least look at the poor and shoddy prints they are selling to the public??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Dallas' Season 12 [MINOR SPOILERS], January 31, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dallas: Season 12 (DVD)
Season 12 of 'Dallas' was by far a vast improvement over the past few seasons (at least the ones released on DVD). Ever since the notorious "dream" season, it felt like the show had lost its footing. There was too much time and energy devoted to trying to make-up for the wasted season, too much character development lost and simply jumbled and confused, too much attention given to a few weak characters (Jenna Wade and her daughter Charlie, to be exact). From the first episode of the season, it felt like the show and its producers had wiped the slate clean and gone back to the show's glory days. There was suspense and action from the first scenes of the show; returning faces like Afton Cooper; new ones like the complex character of Carter McKay. In all, up until perhaps the last episode of the season, this was by far the best paced, best written season since the pre-dream one.

The Good: Certain things worked well. There was the feeling that the producers knew some characters had run their course and finally they did their best to write out those characters, and plots, that really tended to bring the show down. Jenna Wade (played by Priscilla Presley) is out; so is her daughter Charlie and, for the most part, Ray Krebs. Yes, Ray appears in what can be called a guest appearance early on in the season; but then he's effectively given a send-off and we only hear of him by name. Lucy Ewing-Cooper, who returned at the end of last season, returns full-time to the cast. Her cynical quips and strong dislike for J.R. made the show feel like it did in its early days. There was also the departure of some lesser known characters like J.R.'s police department contact who moves on from helping J.R. and his illegal plotting to be replaced by someone new; the Ewing's lawyer, who seems to have a plot or role that requires him to be the surrogate father-protector of the Ewing's interest also makes an appearance. There was also some great character moments that finally brought about some much needed changes to the show; after seasons of fighting and threats, Sue Ellen finally sets out on her own and decides to give J.R. a dose of his own medicine. In many ways, the season served as a swan song and send-off for Linda Gray and the Sue Ellen character. It was nice to see her finally out on her own, not threatened by J.R. Cliff Barnes also moves on plot wise from always setting out to destroy Ewing Oil to actually working with Bobby and J.R.! He's also given a new love interest and a plot that will spill over into the next season involving a returning old character, Afton Cooper. The show's nemesis Jeremy Wendell is finally written out in an interesting plot that involves both J.R. and Sue Ellen and the entire Southfork clan. A new nemesis, Carter McKay, is introduced but unlike past 'Dallas' bad guys, this guy actually his complex, has a heart and isn't entirely bad nor without motive. In all, the characters were the best part of season 12; they all interact, mingle, have scenes with one another and the usual 'fight for Ewing Oil' plot is put on a back burner.

The Bad: There isn't much to complain about with season 12. Some may feel on the fence about the new character of Cally, J.R.'s new love interest. While it was refreshing that she wasn't one-sided or as greedy and power hungry as J.R.'s past love interests, she did feel a bit too 'different' and as if the producers tried a bit hard to make her a true outsider to the whole 'Dallas' cast and characters. I didn't buy into their relationship; it was hard for me to, within the span of a few episodes, understand why J.R. would take a liking to her and want to stay married to her when she, at times, did things or asked of him things that Sue Ellen would or has over the past few seasons. Is it old age, her young age? I don't know but I look forward to seeing how her character is fleshed out because right now it just seems as if she was made to be a more naive, younger, foolish version of Sue Ellen. Another thing that I didn't understand was Bobby's ongoing relationship issues with April Stevens. To me, the characters simply had no chemistry and their relationship seems forced. Her character, one that was introduced in the 'dream' season and then re-introduced in the next season, seems flawed and confused, as if the producers have forgotten how she started out with an agenda and mean streak and now she's supposed to be overly needy and pleasant? I don't get it. Bobby's character felt off for the first episodes of the season. I didn't get why all of the characters, including Bobby and Miss Ellie, also suddenly seemed so cold and mean-spirited toward Sue Ellen after seasons of showing they understood her issues and troubles with J.R. I won't even get started on the attempt to wrap the Pam Ewing plot - it should have just been left alone. The season seemed to lose a bit of steam during the final episodes that contain the annual 'let's get out of 'Dallas' and into a foreign country' set of episodes. There really was no threat, no urgency, no conflict that drove the trip and having scenes of the the cast sight seeing just wasn't compelling television. Also, the cliffhanger left much to be desired. For a show that basically created the cliffhanger and perfected it, this season ended with a whimper and also made Linda Gray's departure a bit of a let down. Again, there was little suspense or a moment that had you out of your seat screaming for more. Instead you're left with a rather neatly-wrapped season with the most suspense and mystery left with a new plot for Miss Ellie and Clayton to have to deal with in the next season.

In all, despite some flaws, this season was a vast improvement over the last few released on DVD. I wasn't as crazy about the DVD transfer; there were a few scenes that looked a bit out of focus or low quality. I also wasn't crazy about how yet again we're left with a season release with absolutely no special features. Why not some commentary from Linda Gray? An in-depth look at the Cally character? These seasons have so much potential for a special feature or two but are usually left with nothing. Here's hoping Warner will make up for it with something special in the last seasons and (hopefully) the t.v. movie release. This season is definitely worth buying and worth watching. As I usually say with 'Dallas', it's still better than a majority of the shows on television these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sue Ellen Ewing's Final Season, March 3, 2009
This review is from: Dallas: Season 12 (DVD)
Dallas Season 12 concludes the Sue Ellen Ewing storylines, and introduces Carter McKay played by George Kennedy, and Cally Harper Ewing played by Cathy Podewell, both of which become regular cast members in the next season.

Season 12 is also when Sheree J. Wilson, who plays April Stevens Ewing, becomes a regular cast member, and also marks the return of Lucy Ewing.

Dallas The Complete 12th Season (1988-1989) WOULD BE PERFECT for a July release!

Please release Season 12 for the Summer of 2009!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Season, July 17, 2009
By 
William Jurgens (Fountain Hills, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dallas: Season 12 (DVD)
Season 12 is definitely my favorite season, it has a little of everything. Sue Ellen finally finds a way to get the better of J.R., Bobby finds a new love, and probably the most romantic encounter ever for Bobby. J.R. actually shows he does have a heart, and is somewhat confused by it when he truly does grow to love his new wife Cally. There is even foreign intrigue, when J.R. and Bobby must travel to Moscow to find out a sinister secret of a massive oil deal. But, by far the most interesting story of all, Cliff Barnes finally gets what he has wanted all these years, and becomes a full partner in Ewing Oil. He actually manages to have a working relationship with J.R. But this cannot last, like the old saying, be careful what you wish for.

Overall, this season has it all, and really shows why this series had the resiliency to continue for another 2 seasons following. Not just the great story lines by great writers, but truly this was one of the best casts ever assembled for a TV series, all true professionals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The year of "let's ...", December 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dallas: Season 12 (DVD)
"Dallas: The Complete Twelfth Season" - really season eleven when you realize that the first was just a trial mini-series - might be described as the experimental one. It could be divided into four segments, tied together with enough major and minor developments to make it cohesive.

The segment which started the season is "Let's give J.R. a young bride." This storyline puts our hero (Larry Hagman again giving Emmy-worthy performances) in mortal peril by a pair of yokels (Cliff Potts and Sherman Howard) that he runs into after he has taken their young sister to bed. The eldest Ewing son finds himself a member of a chain gang, an escapee, and eventually the husband of the much younger Callie, wonderfully played by Cathy Podewell.

From that storyline the show moves to "Let's see how Sue Ellen gets her revenge." This gives the former Mrs. J.R. Ewing (Linda Gray) the opportunity to plan for the ultimate "payback" as the producer of a film that will reveal to the entire world how ruthless her former spouse is.

Then, the plot intertwines with "Let's see who will replace Bobby's beloved Pam." Bobby (Patrick Duffy) is involved with not one, not two, but three women during this season: an old flame from his past (Irena Ferris), a new one (Beth Toussaint), and one who is trying her best to get on his good side and his into his bed (Sheree J. Wilson). By the end of the year, Pam becomes a memory and the youngest Ewing son has found her replacement.

Finally, the season ends with "Let's show 'Dynasty' how it's done and REALLY go to Europe." Like its chief competition, Dallas has a storyline where many of the principal characters go to Europe, but the cast and crew did go wherein "Dynasty's" European trip was on a Hollywood set. The trip allowed for some magnificent locations which made up for a rather lackluster ending to the season.

As the season progresses, the show will see the departure of several major characters which would leave the next two years spent seeking to continue this "experiment" with new players to interact with the one reason for the show's existence in the first place: J.R.

This particular season compilation is possibly the worst transfer of them all, with occasional "blurry" images and poor sound. However, inasmuch as there are no "extras," it's obvious that Warner Brothers is not worried about its customers who, like me, will buy the show regardless of the quality of the release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dallas Admirer, February 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dallas: Season 12 (DVD)
I found the 12th season of Dallas more interesting. They shot the episodes in other countries, such as, Vienna and Russia. I enjoyed that Bobby's and J.R.'s children had a greater part in this episode plus the unique romantic liaisons among the Ewings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-so Season, So-so Video, February 21, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dallas: Season 12 (DVD)
Certainly not the best season storywise, but it wasn't the worst either. Hadn't watched this season since it first aired, so it had some intrigue for me. Some stories are laughable (like Haleyville), and Sue Ellen's storyline is a complete waste. She should have gone to jail (and left the show) in the Season Premiere for shooting J.R. in the Season 11 Finale. Instead, we're subjected to boring, predictable scenes with her and Don Lockwood throughout the season as they work on her movie (which was just an excuse to take viewers down memory lane during the show's glory days). At least there are still several fan-favorite characters left this season, and a few familiar faces return to Dallas this year (Lucy, Ray, Afton). By Season 14 (maybe Season 13?), I recall there were few original or long-time characters left in the cast. The video quality could definitely stand to be cleaned up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glad to have it but some disc issues, November 21, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dallas: Season 12 (DVD)
As one who likes to have all the Dallas seasons in my collection, I'm very glad to have this. What I don't understand is that inevitably anymore, there is always one disc here and there that has jumped a little in a scene or pixeled and I say we had better luck back in the day with VHS tapes. These mass produced discs are always a gamble and it's more of a pain to return the whole thing for a replacement on a couple discs where a scene has jumped or is pixeled because the manufacturer lacks quality control on disc checking. When you return many of these items, you find that there's a different disc with the same issue, hence why you just learn to live with the messed up disc or buy a second set! (makes me wonder if that's what is going on to make more money for these manufacturers, etc)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Season - one of my favourites!, April 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dallas: Season 12 (DVD)
This season is one of the better ones, JR is getting a few good ones here (he certainly did not expect his hunting trip to turn out this way)! There are a number of great scenes, two of my favourites are when his new wife enters the dining room at Southfork to everyones surprise (but not to JRs pleasure) and this wonderful scene when Bobby and JR get stuck in the office elevator and are forced to spend the night there (Bobby having a box of the finest French Red Wines and not wanting to share with JR - just enjoy what happens)! Carter McCay is a worthy opponent in this season, the way he makes it to the top even JR has to admire. Sue Ellens ambitions in the movie industry and Cilff Barnes new job round up the whole thing. All in all most certainly a good buy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

April Showers
April Showers by Arthur Lewis
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.