Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Adele Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 21, 2009
I know I am in the minority here but this one is definitely one of my favorites. As I said before I enjoy all the seasons of Dallas, especially the later ones. This season, known to me as 11, is the last one for Linda Gray. Steve Kanaly has 5 episodes in the middle of the year before leaving for good, and Priscilla Presley had departed. However, I would say their absence is not a big deal since they had been pretty islanded from everyone else by that point anyway. This season we have the final divorce and revenge of Sue Ellen, a new and humorous marriage for JR, further romantic fun for Bobby, and the interesting development of Cliff having a daughter with Afton and being taken in by Bobby alongside JR as a partner in Ewing Oil. Also, powering the season is Oscar-winner George Kennedy, who came in and truly delivered a great performance as Carter McKay, taking over Westar and becoming a new and strong Ewing nemesis. There is an exciting range war for Southfork the first part of the season, a funny storyline for JR in a small town, and then a big trip to Russia towards the end, not to mention the classic where Bobby and JR are stuck in an elevator and are forced to confront each other. The ratings slide continued, and my belief is that this was a self-fulfilling prophecy-for example, Priscilla and Steve had to go due to shrinking budget because of shrinking ratings due to the departure of Victoria Principal, yet, their fans then left and so the ratings went down further. This I can understand, but as long as you're a fan of JR first and foremost, you can continue to enjoy the show all the way I believe. This season Sheree J Wilson was added to the main title, and it also starred George Kennedy as Carter McKay, Andrew Stevens as Casey Denault, Cathy Podewell as Cally Harper, Audrey Landers as Afton Cooper, Beth Toussaint as Tracey Lawton, Leigh Taylor-Young as Kimberly Cryder, William Smithers as Jeremy Wendell, and Ian McShane as Don Lockwood.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2010
This is a great fun season with some fun new characters (especially George Kennedy- a great actor and Cathy Podewell) and some great plot twists, but, oh dear, a TRULY TERRIBLE DVD TRANSFER--the wort of all the previous seasons. Why????????????????? Even when showing it on my blu ray, it still looks blurred, fuzzy, almost like a copy of a copy of a copy. Are Warners now just rushing these out to the conclusion with no concern of quality at all? It also arrived in terrible shape (Amazon bad packaging) Again a shame as it has one of the best episodes of the latter part of the series ("The Sting", more plot twists and surprise returns than any of any episode)With only three box sets to go (season 13 and 14 and the telemovie set)can't Warners at least look at the poor and shoddy prints they are selling to the public??
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 31, 2010
Season 12 of 'Dallas' was by far a vast improvement over the past few seasons (at least the ones released on DVD). Ever since the notorious "dream" season, it felt like the show had lost its footing. There was too much time and energy devoted to trying to make-up for the wasted season, too much character development lost and simply jumbled and confused, too much attention given to a few weak characters (Jenna Wade and her daughter Charlie, to be exact). From the first episode of the season, it felt like the show and its producers had wiped the slate clean and gone back to the show's glory days. There was suspense and action from the first scenes of the show; returning faces like Afton Cooper; new ones like the complex character of Carter McKay. In all, up until perhaps the last episode of the season, this was by far the best paced, best written season since the pre-dream one.

The Good: Certain things worked well. There was the feeling that the producers knew some characters had run their course and finally they did their best to write out those characters, and plots, that really tended to bring the show down. Jenna Wade (played by Priscilla Presley) is out; so is her daughter Charlie and, for the most part, Ray Krebs. Yes, Ray appears in what can be called a guest appearance early on in the season; but then he's effectively given a send-off and we only hear of him by name. Lucy Ewing-Cooper, who returned at the end of last season, returns full-time to the cast. Her cynical quips and strong dislike for J.R. made the show feel like it did in its early days. There was also the departure of some lesser known characters like J.R.'s police department contact who moves on from helping J.R. and his illegal plotting to be replaced by someone new; the Ewing's lawyer, who seems to have a plot or role that requires him to be the surrogate father-protector of the Ewing's interest also makes an appearance. There was also some great character moments that finally brought about some much needed changes to the show; after seasons of fighting and threats, Sue Ellen finally sets out on her own and decides to give J.R. a dose of his own medicine. In many ways, the season served as a swan song and send-off for Linda Gray and the Sue Ellen character. It was nice to see her finally out on her own, not threatened by J.R. Cliff Barnes also moves on plot wise from always setting out to destroy Ewing Oil to actually working with Bobby and J.R.! He's also given a new love interest and a plot that will spill over into the next season involving a returning old character, Afton Cooper. The show's nemesis Jeremy Wendell is finally written out in an interesting plot that involves both J.R. and Sue Ellen and the entire Southfork clan. A new nemesis, Carter McKay, is introduced but unlike past 'Dallas' bad guys, this guy actually his complex, has a heart and isn't entirely bad nor without motive. In all, the characters were the best part of season 12; they all interact, mingle, have scenes with one another and the usual 'fight for Ewing Oil' plot is put on a back burner.

The Bad: There isn't much to complain about with season 12. Some may feel on the fence about the new character of Cally, J.R.'s new love interest. While it was refreshing that she wasn't one-sided or as greedy and power hungry as J.R.'s past love interests, she did feel a bit too 'different' and as if the producers tried a bit hard to make her a true outsider to the whole 'Dallas' cast and characters. I didn't buy into their relationship; it was hard for me to, within the span of a few episodes, understand why J.R. would take a liking to her and want to stay married to her when she, at times, did things or asked of him things that Sue Ellen would or has over the past few seasons. Is it old age, her young age? I don't know but I look forward to seeing how her character is fleshed out because right now it just seems as if she was made to be a more naive, younger, foolish version of Sue Ellen. Another thing that I didn't understand was Bobby's ongoing relationship issues with April Stevens. To me, the characters simply had no chemistry and their relationship seems forced. Her character, one that was introduced in the 'dream' season and then re-introduced in the next season, seems flawed and confused, as if the producers have forgotten how she started out with an agenda and mean streak and now she's supposed to be overly needy and pleasant? I don't get it. Bobby's character felt off for the first episodes of the season. I didn't get why all of the characters, including Bobby and Miss Ellie, also suddenly seemed so cold and mean-spirited toward Sue Ellen after seasons of showing they understood her issues and troubles with J.R. I won't even get started on the attempt to wrap the Pam Ewing plot - it should have just been left alone. The season seemed to lose a bit of steam during the final episodes that contain the annual 'let's get out of 'Dallas' and into a foreign country' set of episodes. There really was no threat, no urgency, no conflict that drove the trip and having scenes of the the cast sight seeing just wasn't compelling television. Also, the cliffhanger left much to be desired. For a show that basically created the cliffhanger and perfected it, this season ended with a whimper and also made Linda Gray's departure a bit of a let down. Again, there was little suspense or a moment that had you out of your seat screaming for more. Instead you're left with a rather neatly-wrapped season with the most suspense and mystery left with a new plot for Miss Ellie and Clayton to have to deal with in the next season.

In all, despite some flaws, this season was a vast improvement over the last few released on DVD. I wasn't as crazy about the DVD transfer; there were a few scenes that looked a bit out of focus or low quality. I also wasn't crazy about how yet again we're left with a season release with absolutely no special features. Why not some commentary from Linda Gray? An in-depth look at the Cally character? These seasons have so much potential for a special feature or two but are usually left with nothing. Here's hoping Warner will make up for it with something special in the last seasons and (hopefully) the t.v. movie release. This season is definitely worth buying and worth watching. As I usually say with 'Dallas', it's still better than a majority of the shows on television these days.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2009
Season 12 is definitely my favorite season, it has a little of everything. Sue Ellen finally finds a way to get the better of J.R., Bobby finds a new love, and probably the most romantic encounter ever for Bobby. J.R. actually shows he does have a heart, and is somewhat confused by it when he truly does grow to love his new wife Cally. There is even foreign intrigue, when J.R. and Bobby must travel to Moscow to find out a sinister secret of a massive oil deal. But, by far the most interesting story of all, Cliff Barnes finally gets what he has wanted all these years, and becomes a full partner in Ewing Oil. He actually manages to have a working relationship with J.R. But this cannot last, like the old saying, be careful what you wish for.

Overall, this season has it all, and really shows why this series had the resiliency to continue for another 2 seasons following. Not just the great story lines by great writers, but truly this was one of the best casts ever assembled for a TV series, all true professionals.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2009
Dallas Season 12 concludes the Sue Ellen Ewing storylines, and introduces Carter McKay played by George Kennedy, and Cally Harper Ewing played by Cathy Podewell, both of which become regular cast members in the next season.

Season 12 is also when Sheree J. Wilson, who plays April Stevens Ewing, becomes a regular cast member, and also marks the return of Lucy Ewing.

Dallas The Complete 12th Season (1988-1989) WOULD BE PERFECT for a July release!

Please release Season 12 for the Summer of 2009!
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2013
Season 12 of Dallas did not disappoint in the drama and OMG department. Warning spoiler alert! This was a season where several people seemed to reach (or sink) to new levels in their lives. I was sad to see Ray Krebbs leave Dallas to be with his new family in Europe, but ever faithful Ray did return to help save Southfork from Carter McKay's army. Sue Ellen has reached a whole new level of confidence in her life, continuing her war with J.R. with a fearlessness and relish never seen before. Bobby finds a new love in his life, Cliff has shed much of his personal issues and feels more secure with himself, and Lucy moves back to her family. Also, corporate rattlesnake Jeremy Wendell returns as ruthless as ever before and determined to destroy J.R at all costs. Never fear, J.R. comes out okay, and personally I enjoyed seeing Jeremy The Untouchable get some very long overdue comeuppance. Oh, and J.R. adds a new member to his family in the form of innocent, country bumpkin-ette Callie. Crazy stuff.
This was a great season, and yes it is a definite buy. HOWEVER, perhaps you've noticed that the DVD packaging has recently changed, I think it was around Season 10, with those stupid DVD platter pages in the case. I really hate those, because the platters rub against each other, thus rubbing plastic edges against the disk underneath. My disks in Season 10, and 11 were nicked enough from those platters, but this season was terrible. The disks skipped, paused and one disk side almost didn't play. I'm surprised I was able to watch anything at all. The pages had rubbed so much against each other that the disks' surfaces were badly scratched and marked up. I know that I will have to replace this season at some point including possibly the other two previous seasons. To the person, or persons responsible for the Dallas DVD packaging, you are simply lazy.
So, buyers beware the packaging is not reliable. I know I'm biased being a Dallas superfan, but I personally think a show like Dallas definitely demands better packaging that has some thought and care behind it's manufacture.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2013
After TNT brought Dallas back for a new generation, I became interested in watching the original series. I have to say that season 12 is definitely the best so far. For starters, J.R. is still alive after being shot by Sue Ellen. He and Bobby travel to a backwoods city called Hayleyville where J.R. ends up flirting with a sweet innocent girl named Cally. After sleeping with her, her brothers send J.R. to a penal camp. He tries desperately to escape. Back in Dallas, the Ewings must deal with Carter McKay who has bought Ray Krebb's old house. McKay begins a turf war with the Ewings, even bringing in a militia. Meanwhile, Sue Ellen hires a director to make a movie based on J.R.'s life. All this and much more happen in DALLAS: SEASON 12!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2014
The early part of the season was funny when JR went to jail and Cally moves in at Southfork before the official Southfork wedding. A lot of these scenes were laugh outloud funny.
This was Linda Gray's last season on Dallas and I could never really accept Cally as his wife. No one could replace Sue Ellen. JR and Sue Ellen were just a great couple to watch!
Never got into the trips abroad in this season or later seasons.
Linda Gray directed an episode at the end of the season which was spectacular with the ball room dancing and the lovemaking scene with Bobby and April was so artfully done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2014
I have been watching the whole series of the original Dallas TV shows. Sue Ellen is sober and in charge of her our life in this season (which makes the shows better). I enjoy all of the shows since I have not seen them since the originally aired.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2013
Born and raised in Dallas, this show conjures up TONS of childhood memories for me! One of those was watching it every Friday night with my family and having to go to bed before Dynasty. I own the entire series and LOVE the big hair, ridiculous earrings, shoulder pads, J.R.'s safari shirts (what were those about?!?!?), you name it!! FOREVER A CLASSIC!!!!! (My FAVORITE show ever is LOST!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.