Start reading Arabian Sands (Penguin Classics) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

Arabian Sands (Penguin Classics) [Kindle Edition]

Wilfred Thesiger , Rory Stewart
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (71 customer reviews)

Print List Price: $17.00
Kindle Price: $11.84
You Save: $5.16 (30%)
Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $11.84  
Hardcover --  
Paperback $12.76  
Mass Market Paperback --  
Unknown Binding, Import --  
Kindle Daily Deals
Kindle Delivers: Daily Deals
Subscribe to find out about each day's Kindle Daily Deals for adults and young readers. Learn more (U.S. customers only)

Book Description

Arabian Sands is Wilfred Thesiger's record of his extraordinary journey through the parched "Empty Quarter" of Arabia. Educated at Eton and Oxford, Thesiger was repulsed by the softness and rigidity of Western life-"the machines, the calling cards, the meticulously aligned streets." In the spirit of T. E. Lawrence, he set out to explore the deserts of Arabia, traveling among peoples who had never seen a European and considered it their duty to kill Christian infidels. His now-classic account is invaluable to understanding the modern Middle East.




Editorial Reviews

Review

"Following worthily in the tradition of Burton, Lawrence, Philby and Thomas, ["Arabian Sands"] is, very likely, the book about Arabia to end all books about Arabia." -"The Daily Telegraph", London "The narrative is vividly written, with a thousand little anecdotes and touches which bring back to any who have seen these countries every scene with the colour of real life." -"The Sunday Times", London

Review

"Following worthily in the tradition of Burton, Lawrence, Philby and Thomas, ["Arabian Sands"] is, very likely, the book about Arabia to end all books about Arabia."
-"The Daily Telegraph", London

"The narrative is vividly written, with a thousand little anecdotes and touches which bring back to any who have seen these countries every scene with the colour of real life."
-"The Sunday Times", London

Product Details

  • File Size: 5293 KB
  • Print Length: 367 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0002170051
  • Publisher: Penguin Classic (January 2, 2008)
  • Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0031TZ9BC
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #72,845 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
82 of 82 people found the following review helpful
Format:Paperback
The deserts of Arabia cover more than a million square miles. The southern desert occupies nearly half of the total area. It stretches nine hundred miles from the frontier of the Yemen to the foothills of Oman and five hundred miles from the southern coast of Arabia to the Persian Gulf. It is a wilderness of sand, a desert within a desert, an area so enormous and so desolate that even Arabs call it the "Empty Quarter."
Wilfred Thesiger was born in Addis Ababa in 1910 and educated at Eton and Oxford. Though British, he was repulsed by the softness and rigidity of Western life, "the machines, the calling cards, the meticulously aligned streets, etc." In the spirit of T.E. Lawrence, Thesiger spent five years exploring and wandering the deserts of Arabia. With vivid descriptions and colorful anecdotes he narrates his stories, including two crossings of the Empty Quarter, among peoples who had never seen a European and considered it their duty to kill Christian infidels.
Thesiger greatly illuminates our understanding of the nomadic bedouins of Arabia. He loved, admired, respected and was humbled by a people who lived desparately hard lives in the harshest conditions with only a few possessions that might include saddles, ropes, bowls, goatskins, rifles and daggers and traveled days without food and water. Yet these people were unflappably cheerful, welcoming, generous, self-reliant, loyal and dignified. Thesiger explains why the Bedu with whom he traveled refused to forecast the weather (blasphemy against God)or could discern where to find a hare in the sand (only one set of tracks into the buried hole). As a reader I could almost sense I was traveling with Thesiger, could not help but mourn the passing of the way of life he described, and, as he, pondered the meaning of the word "civilized" as we Westerners conceive the term.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
82 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A key to understanding the Arab world February 1, 2000
Format:Paperback
Besides being a wonderful book, as other reviewers have remarked, 'Arabian Sands' is important reading for anyone who wants to understand the culture and history of the Arab countries of the Middle East and North Africa.
The Bedu are, and always have been, a small fraction of the Arabs; historically, they have been disliked, mistrusted and often hated by the settled Arabs of the Middle East. In North Africa, the Berbers (a completely different people, with non-Arabic languages) have sometimes been confused with the Bedu. The Bedu way of life is now nearly extinct; Thesiger's book, which describes his travels with the Yamani Bedu of Southern Arabia, is the only careful account of Bedu culture and Bedu peoples I have ever come across. I know of no similarly illuminating study of the Qaysi Bedu of Northern Arabia, not even the works of T. E. Lawrence.
The historical importance of the Bedu in the Arab world is that on several occasions from the 8th century to the 20th century, Bedu tribesmen formed the core of armies that swept across the Middle East and/or North Africa. Invading Bedu armies overthrew decadent regimes in North Africa in the 13th century, and effectively destroyed Berber power on the North African coast. Bedu formed the core of the Arab armies that defeated the Turks in the First World War, and were the core of the army which Ibn Saud created that turned him from being a refugee into being the founder of Saudi Arabia as it is today. How did the small number of people who comprised the various Bedu tribes exercise such military power throughout the Arab World? Read "Arabian Sands" to understand this.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
Format:Paperback
A book about "the spirit of the land and the greatness of the Arabs."
This is a must read for anyone interested in the tribal Arabs of the desert (southern Arabia). I had this book for many months until I got around to reading it and then I absolutely couldn't put it down. The excursions of Wilfred Thesiger (Umbarak) take place during the 1940s. Thesiger loved the Bedu tribes (Rashid)and he writes from the heart, which is why I think the text is so readable. You relive this phenominal experience with him. Thesiger never fit in with his own people of England. He couldn't bare to live amongst the materialistic culture he found in the western world and felt more akin with his Arab friends yet as a "Christian" he could never be one of them. His relationships with two of the Rashid in particular, bin Kabina and bin Ghabaisha and the love, admiration and loyalty he had for these two young men was very moving. Amazingly Thesiger survives many dangerous encounters while traveling in the desert with his Arab companions. How he ever survived some of these excursions is astonishing; between the lack of food, water, heat and cold exposure but mostly other hostile Arab tribes. His companions and he escape being killed by mere hours. By our western standards many people would think Thesiger's companions to ultimately be murderous and barbaric yet I have met very few westerners that held the same unbreakable code of honor that many of Thesiger's Arab companions lived by. Their generosity, faith in god, honor, dignity, strength and endurance is nothing short of amazing. They would give a stranger who stumbles upon their camp the last scrap of food and final cup of water even when starving in the desert for days.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars A different world
This book gave me an insight ino a world I had never known about. How different and interesting it seems. Read more
Published 9 days ago by Sanni M. Slabbert
4.0 out of 5 stars Off beaten tracks and tired narratives
Towards the end of this book, when the ruler of Abu Dhabi is discussing the Palestine war between Muslims and Jews with Wilfred Thesiger, one of the Bedus enquires, “Who are the... Read more
Published 1 month ago by Venkat Ramanan
4.0 out of 5 stars Exploration classic
I have been wanting to read one of Mr. Thesiger's books for some time, and I am glad I did. This was a good, detailed book that showed his knowledge and appreciation for the... Read more
Published 1 month ago by LittleLionMan
3.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating tale!
Having watched a very cursory programme on TV about Wilfred Thesiger & his travels through the 'Empty Quarter' I was keen to learn more. I was not disappointed. Read more
Published 1 month ago by S A Willis
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT A COCKTAIL TABLE BOOK.
I ASSUMED THERE WOULD BE MORE PICTURES AND LESS NARRATIVE. BOOK WILL REMAIN ON SHELF. STILL IT'S A GREAT REMINDER OF THE SIGHTS WE VISITED ON OUR LAST TRIP TO THE ARABIAN DESERT.
Published 2 months ago by RASue
5.0 out of 5 stars "Lawrence of Arabia" just scratched the surface
We know from LAWRENCE OF ARABIA and other sources that the "Empty Quarter" desert of Saudi Arabia can kill the unprepared or unwary. Read more
Published 2 months ago by Allen Smalling
5.0 out of 5 stars What is the review about ? The condition of the book or the story.
Recently I visited Uba Dhabai and Oman. Saw the dessert and met Beduin people. So it is wonderful to read what the author experienced.
Published 3 months ago by Mrs. J.M. Scholten
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating classic!
This is a wonderful book, especially for anyone who enjoys travel writing. Thesiger travelled across the "Empty Quarter" of Arabia in the late forties with Bedouin as... Read more
Published 3 months ago by Carol Martin
5.0 out of 5 stars Part of his brilliant autobiographic travel books
Brilliant look at Thesigers travels in Iraq in 1950s. Such an incredible man who endured extraordinary hard ship to see almost unknown cultures now largely gone. Read more
Published 4 months ago by cja
4.0 out of 5 stars A westerner's adventures in Arabia's Empty Quarter
In some ways this is a difficult book; one wonders why Thesiger punishes himself this way, and given the cheating, lying and murderous instincts of many of the Bedu he meets on his... Read more
Published 4 months ago by Ethel Pollock
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Forums

Topic From this Discussion
rory stewart Be the first to reply
Have something you'd like to share about this product?
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions


Look for Similar Items by Category


ARRAY(0xaafac720)