Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Translation of the Qur'an
This Qur'an is not only widely recommended throughout the Muslim Community and the Saudi Governmentm chances are if you are in any Islamic country this is the Qur'an found in most places. I have read other translations of the Qur'an and this by far is my Favorite one I am a revert Muslimah and this to me is very clear and understandable.There is no 100% accurate...
Published 10 months ago by Mary Atkinson

versus
8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading translations!
"The Noble Quran" is published in Arabia and has extremely misleading, hate-filled translations of the Quran which, in its original Arabic version, has no such messages. The translators and the commentators of "THE NOBLE QURAN" have injected venom into the word of God. It is as if they have the arrogance to know what God meant when he said certain things through the...
Published 24 months ago by Jeff Siddiqui


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Translation of the Qur'an, November 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arabic to English - Noble Quran (Pocket Size) Translated by Dr.Muhammad Muhsin Khan & Dr. Muhammad Taqi-ud-Din Al Hillali (34gm) (Paperback)
This Qur'an is not only widely recommended throughout the Muslim Community and the Saudi Governmentm chances are if you are in any Islamic country this is the Qur'an found in most places. I have read other translations of the Qur'an and this by far is my Favorite one I am a revert Muslimah and this to me is very clear and understandable.There is no 100% accurate translation of the Qur'an because there is not a 100% accurate translation of Arabic language into English to truly get the most out of Islam and the Qur'an one should learn the Arabic dialect. I recommend it highly. May peace and blessing be upon all who read. Alluhu Akbar Alhamhulillah!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Qur'an is truly a master piece, September 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arabic to English - Noble Quran (Pocket Size) Translated by Dr.Muhammad Muhsin Khan & Dr. Muhammad Taqi-ud-Din Al Hillali (34gm) (Paperback)
All throughout the Noble Qur'an is about the oneness of God. This is an inspiration to me. I'm studying different religions now. I may not be a Muslim. I was brought up to respect religious beliefs and cultures. May God bless You All.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refuting 1 star review, May 29, 2013
This review is from: Arabic to English - Noble Quran (Pocket Size) Translated by Dr.Muhammad Muhsin Khan & Dr. Muhammad Taqi-ud-Din Al Hillali (34gm) (Paperback)
The person who wrote the review titled "misleading translation " and gave this Quran one star is either misinformed or purposely trying to mislead people about Islam. The scholars who are putting the comments are doing so from authentic Hadith. These are not their own opinions. I will take one example, the example the reviewer used, to show what the tafsir of ibn kathir said on the subject of the 7th verse of surah Fatiha. The commentators are giving an explanation of what the Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) has said about the verse. Here is the proof: "صِرَاطَ الَّذِينَ أَنْعَمْتَ عَلَيْهِمْ غَيْرِ الْمَغْضُوبِ عَلَيْهِمْ وَلاَ الضَّآلِّينَ ]
(7. The way of those upon whom You have bestowed Your grace, not (that) of those who earned Your anger, nor of those who went astray).
We mentioned the Hadith in which the servant proclaims,
[اهْدِنَا الصِّرَاطَ الْمُسْتَقِيمَ ]
(Guide us to the straight way) and Allah says, "This is for My servant, and My servant shall acquire what he asks for.'' Allah's statement.
[صِرَاطَ الَّذِينَ أَنْعَمْتَ عَلَيْهِمْ]
(The way of those upon whom You have bestowed Your grace) defines the path. `Those upon whom Allah has bestowed His grace' are those mentioned in Surat An-Nisa' (chapter 4), when Allah said,
[وَمَن يُطِعِ اللَّهَ وَالرَّسُولَ فَأُوْلَـئِكَ مَعَ الَّذِينَ أَنْعَمَ اللَّهُ عَلَيْهِم مِّنَ النَّبِيِّينَ وَالصِّدِّيقِينَ وَالشُّهَدَآءِ وَالصَّـلِحِينَ وَحَسُنَ أُولَـئِكَ رَفِيقاً - ذلِكَ الْفَضْلُ مِنَ اللَّهِ وَكَفَى بِاللَّهِ عَلِيماً ]
(And whoever obeys Allah and the Messenger (Muhammad ), then they will be in the company of those on whom Allah has bestowed His grace, the Prophets, the Siddiqin (the truly faithful), the martyrs, and the righteous. And how excellent these companions are! Such is the bounty from Allah, and Allah is sufficient to know) (4:69-70).
Allah's statement,
[غَيْرِ الْمَغْضُوبِ عَلَيْهِمْ وَلاَ الضَّآلِّينَ]
(Not (the way) of those who earned Your anger, nor of those who went astray) meaning guide us to the straight path, the path of those upon whom you have bestowed Your grace, that is, the people of guidance, sincerity and obedience to Allah and His Messengers. They are the people who adhere to Allah's commandments and refrain from committing what He has prohibited. But, help us to avoid the path of those whom Allah is angry with, whose intentions are corrupt, who know the truth, yet deviate from it. Also, help us avoid the path of those who were led astray, who lost the true knowledge and, as a result, are wandering in misguidance, unable to find the correct path. Allah asserted that the two paths He described here are both misguided when He repeated the negation `not'. These two paths are the paths of the Christians and Jews, a fact that the believer should beware of so that he avoids them. The path of the believers is knowledge of the truth and abiding by it. In comparison, the Jews abandoned practicing the religion, while the Christians lost the true knowledge. This is why `anger' descended upon the Jews, while being described as `led astray' is more appropriate of the Christians. Those who know, but avoid implementing the truth, deserve the anger, unlike those who are ignorant. The Christians want to seek the true knowledge, but are unable to find it because they did not seek it from its proper resources.
This is why they were led astray. We should also mention that both the Christians and the Jews have earned the anger and are led astray, but the anger is one of the attributes more particular of the Jews. Allah said about the Jews,
[مَن لَّعَنَهُ اللَّهُ وَغَضِبَ عَلَيْهِ]
(Those (Jews) who incurred the curse of Allah and His wrath) (5:60).
The attribute that the Christians deserve most is that of being led astray, just as Allah said about them,
[قَدْ ضَلُّواْ مِن قَبْلُ وَأَضَلُّواْ كَثِيراً وَضَلُّواْ عَن سَوَآءِ السَّبِيلِ]
(Who went astray before and who misled many, and strayed (themselves) from the right path) (5:77).
There are several Hadiths and reports from the Salaf on this subject. Imam Ahmad recorded that `Adi bin Hatim said, "The horsemen of the Messenger of Allah seized my paternal aunt and some other people. When they brought them to the Messenger of Allah , they were made to stand in line before him. My aunt said, `O Messenger of Allah! The supporter is far away, the offspring have stopped coming and I am an old woman, unable to serve. Grant me your favor, may Allah grant you His favor.' He said, `Who is your supporter' She said, `Adi bin Hatim.' He said, `The one who ran away from Allah and His Messenger' She said, `So, the Prophet freed me.' When the Prophet came back, there was a man next to him, I think that he was `Ali, who said to her, `Ask him for a means of transportation.' She asked the Prophet , and he ordered that she be given an animal.
'' `Adi then said, "Later on, she came to me and said, `He (Muhammad ) has done a favor that your father (who was a generous man) would never have done. So and-so person came to him and he granted him his favor, and so-and-so came to him and he granted him his favor.' So I went to the Prophet and found that some women and children were gathering with him, so close that I knew that he was not a king like Kisra (King of Persia) or Caesar. He said, `O `Adi! What made you run away, so that La ilaha illallah is not proclaimed Is there a deity worthy of worship except Allah What made you run away, so that Allahu Akbar (Allah is the Greater) is not proclaimed Is there anything Greater than Allah' I proclaimed my Islam and I saw his face radiate with pleasure and he said:
«إِنَّ الْمَغْضُوبَ عَلَيْهِمُ الْيَهُودُ وَ إِنَّ الضَّالِينَ النَّصَارَى»
(Those who have earned the anger are the Jews and those who are led astray are the Christians.)''
This Hadith was also collected by At-Tirmidhi who said that it is Hasan Gharib.
Also, when Zayd bin `Amr bin Nufayl went with some of his friends - before Islam - to Ash-Sham seeking the true religion, the Jews said to him, "You will not become a Jew unless you carry a share of the anger of Allah that we have earned.'' He said, "I am seeking to escape Allah's anger.'' Also, the Christians said to him, "If you become one of us you will carry a share in Allah's discontent.'' He said, "I cannot bear it.'' So he remained in his pure nature and avoided worshipping the idols and the polytheistic practices. He became neither a Jew, nor Christian. As for his companions, they became Christians because they found it more pure than Judaism. Waraqah bin Nawfal was among these people until Allah guided him by the hand of His Prophet, when he was sent as Prophet, and Waraqah believed in the revelation that was sent to the Prophet may Allah be pleased with him." This is taken from the tafsir ibn kathir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MashaAllah, June 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arabic to English - Noble Quran (Pocket Size) Translated by Dr.Muhammad Muhsin Khan & Dr. Muhammad Taqi-ud-Din Al Hillali (34gm) (Paperback)
I keep this in my purse it is very small you may need reading glasses. I got it to always have a Quran on me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars noble quran. Bismialaah, January 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arabic to English - Noble Quran (Pocket Size) Translated by Dr.Muhammad Muhsin Khan & Dr. Muhammad Taqi-ud-Din Al Hillali (34gm) (Paperback)
im pretty satisfied with it even though there are slight manufacturing eras ( the bottom of the book was cut crooked, and some of the pages were crimped in the middle) otherwise it is exactly what I was looking for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, April 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Arabic to English - Noble Quran (Pocket Size) Translated by Dr.Muhammad Muhsin Khan & Dr. Muhammad Taqi-ud-Din Al Hillali (34gm) (Paperback)
It is awesome im very grateful also it will be very helpful to me to gain much more knowledge and wisdom and understand the truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading translations!, October 7, 2012
By 
This review is from: Arabic to English - Noble Quran (Pocket Size) Translated by Dr.Muhammad Muhsin Khan & Dr. Muhammad Taqi-ud-Din Al Hillali (34gm) (Paperback)
"The Noble Quran" is published in Arabia and has extremely misleading, hate-filled translations of the Quran which, in its original Arabic version, has no such messages. The translators and the commentators of "THE NOBLE QURAN" have injected venom into the word of God. It is as if they have the arrogance to know what God meant when he said certain things through the prophet Mohammed (saw). As if the translators had been contacted directly by God (Vahih) who said, "Here is a more complete version of what I meant when I was speaking to Mohammed, now go tell everyone else".

In important texts, there are always footnotes to help the reader gain a better understanding of what is written. There is however, a huge difference between a footnote comment and parenthetical comment inserted within the text. A footnote is related but not necessarily an actual meaning of a text, it is in part, a clarifying opinion of the author/translator and may be removed without doing any damage to the original text. A parenthetical comment suggests that the words are actually an integral part of the meaning of the original text and cannot be removed without changing the intent of the text.

Take the opening chapter of the Quran ("Al Fatiha" 1:1-7). Consisting of seven verses, it is simple enough and very much like "The Lord's Prayer". It goes something like this:
"Oh God, we praise your name, you are the one God, master of the Judgment Day, Lord of all worlds. Help us stay on the path of those who have gained your favor and not on the path of those who have incurred your wrath, or those who have gone astray".
It takes a conscious effort to turn this simple prayer, often known as the heart of the Quran, into a hate-filled diatribe that the Arabian publishers have done with "THE NOBLE QURAN". In their version, the last verse of the first chapter (1:7) ends with:
"...and not on the path of those who have incurred your wrath (such as the Jews), or those who have gone astray (such as the Christians)".

Uninitiated non-Muslims who may have the misfortune of coming across "THE NOBLE QURAN" when they were trying to learn about Islam, would be completely convinced that Muslims are instructed to hate (destroy) all Jews and Christians. We do not need such a misleading item representing Islam or Muslims.

Take the outlook at the difference in what the Quran really says about women and on adultery in Chapter 24 ("The Light") and how "THE NOBLE QURAN" presents the translation:

Verse 24:2 deals with punishment for and adulterer or an adultress. All versions I have seen, say that the punishment for either is a hundred lashes, but translators in "THE NOBLE QURAN" are not satisfied with this, they have added: ("this punishment is for unmarried person guilty of the above crime but if married persons commit it, the punishment is to stone them to death, according to Allah's law"). There is no such "law".

I have about a dozen different hard-copy translations, NONE of which include this condemnation of Jews and Christians or, the bloody-minded punishments. It matters not whether the translators are Sunni or Shia.

There are plenty of excellent, accurate translations of the Quran to choose from, this one must definitely be avoided.

Sept 2013 Update to my review. It appears that some later editions of "The Noble Quran" have removed the offensive and inaccurate additions made to the translations and placed them in the commentary footnotes. While this is a step forward in recognizing the Quran does not say the nasty, violent things the translators would like us to believe, it STILL keeps open a door for an unknowing reader to believe that the Quran instructs Muslims to kill for adultery and promotes hate of Jews and Christians.

There are many versions of the translation of the Quran available out there, I strongly believe any translation would be better than this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Arabic to English - Noble Quran (Pocket Size) Translated by Dr.Muhammad Muhsin Khan & Dr. Muhammad Taqi-ud-Din Al Hillali (34gm)
Used & New from: $7.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.