Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


122 of 128 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Archetype Card Collection
"..archetypes are not passive entities floating around in the psyche like old family portraits hanging in a dusty ancestral castle. They take an active role as guardians and inner allies, awakening you when you're in danger of falling into destructive behavior." ~Caroline Myss

Caroline Myss has created an 80-card deck with an instruction booklet. The...
Published on March 23, 2004 by Rebecca of Amazon

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dark Side?
Caroline Myss does not go to the Dark Side with these archetype cards! Don't know why, but just as there is a light or solar side to the archetypes there is the polar opposite, the Dark Side as well. She does try to point out the shadow side but again the descriptors are vague an they are on the "UP" New Age side. The Buzz Words she uses for the archetypes could be...
Published on November 9, 2008


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

122 of 128 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Archetype Card Collection, March 23, 2004
This review is from: Archetype Cards (Cards)
"..archetypes are not passive entities floating around in the psyche like old family portraits hanging in a dusty ancestral castle. They take an active role as guardians and inner allies, awakening you when you're in danger of falling into destructive behavior." ~Caroline Myss

Caroline Myss has created an 80-card deck with an instruction booklet. The informative booklet is essential for understanding the Archetype Cards, however choosing the cards was quite an easy process. Within a few minutes you find all the cards you need to understand which Archetypes are most active in your psyche. This can encourage a greater understanding of who you are and your purpose in life.

Everyone has the "Child, Victim, Saboteur and Prostitute (not for sale)." There are few different "child" elements to choose from.

The booklet explores the meaning of each card, but I really think the cards will jump out at you when you see your inner world unfolding in pictures. When I went through the entire pack for the first time, I ended up with two extra cards. Once I thought about it a bit more, I took out the two extra cards and finally had the correct cards.

My cards turned out this way:

1. Child - Magical/Innocent Child - Sees the potential for sacred beauty in all things. The belief that everything is possible.

2. Victim - This Archetype reveals areas where you might allow yourself to be victimized. Also deals with forming personal boundaries.

3. The Saboteur - Fears related to self-esteem that might cause you to block your own empowerment and success.

4. Prostitute - Not what you think, but rather it means that you are "not for sale." This shows your need to birth your self-esteem.

5. Teacher - Love to communicate richness of experience.

6. Poet - Finds beauty in life and tries to express soul insights in symbolic language.

7. Lover - Passion and devotion to someone or something. (Um, Amazon? lol)

8. Goddess - Nature, life force, etc. This can also manifest itself in extreme self-indulgence. Caroline also shows the "shadow" versions of each Archetype.

9. Healer - Transforming pain into healing.

10. Damsel - Explores the possibility of succeeding without a knight and looking at romance in a healthy way.

11. Angel - A desire to help those in need.

12. Artist - Seeing life symbolically. Expressing a dimension of life that is beyond the five senses.

After using this card deck to understand my light/dark qualities I can now try to avoid the negative aspects by emphasizing the positive traits. This all makes sense even if you didn't make a sacred contract before arriving on the planet.

If you study these cards, you will find yourself analyzing people. Yep, Virgo, that is what we do. I recently told someone not to be such an energy vampire. Although, maybe that is my own inner Vampire making me aware that someone is draining my life force. That was one of the cards I took out of the pack at the start.

If you are looking for a companion to the cards: Caroline Myss' Journal of Inner Dialogue will impress you.

Caroline has been a part of my "birthing of the self" in a big way and I think she has some interesting items that are healing and entertaining.

Once you find your Archetypes, you can make notes in your journal and really start to understand who you are and why you are walking this earth.

~The Rebecca Review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Deck, November 14, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Archetype Cards (Cards)
My interest in archetypes and how they are presented in tarot decks is what drew me to this particular deck. I wanted to work with something that dealt with pure archetypal energies and so was quit drawn to give Myss's cards a try.
At first I was a little put off by the abundance of red coloring and also the cover picture is not the best the deck has to offer. I read a review here though and the reviewer mentioned the very items I was concerned with but also had many wonderful things to say about this deck.
The cards are sturdy and durable, the colors vibrant and alive. The artwork and symbolism reflects beautifully the energy of each of the cards titles. The Light (positive and helpful) and Shadow (negative, problematic, challenging) notations on the cards give a rich spectrum of meaning to the archetypical energy they describe.
This deck is a wonderful tool for self-awareness and development. Spending some time and reflection on each card, is a great way to let those parts of you that wish to be acknowledged and heard come to the forefront. If there are particular aspects of yourself you?d like to develop, or make stronger, working with this deck can aide in that endeavor.
A simple reading you might like in using these cards follows:
The Problem or Challenge Solver: When you have a particular small ?now? problem that you?d like insight into, here is a very simple three-card spread.
Draw three cards at random and lay them out in a row left to right.
Card 1 represents the problem or the energy that is fueling the problem.
Card 2 represents the way through the problem and the energy that
can guide and support you.
Card 3 represents the probable outcome or where this can possibly go if the energies are fully supported and encouraged
There are several situations when this reading is appropriate.
Some of them are:
1.When you feel like ?something? is amiss in a situation, but you can?t put your finger on it.
2.You think you know what the problem is but it is something else entirely.
3.It can confirm for you what the problem area is when you already had some idea to begin with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Deck, October 8, 2003
This review is from: Archetype Cards (Cards)
The cards are 5 1/2 inches long and 3 1/2 inches wide. I have very small hands and have no trouble shuffling this deck. There are 74 Archetype cards, and 6 blank cards. The edges of the cards are rounded, and boasts over 63 border colors.

Yes, you read right--63 border colors. Each card front has 3 elements: a center image enclosed in an octagon, a pale yellow partial circle enclosing the center image, and a colored border on the top and bottom of the card. As I began to work with these cards, I realized that there were many shades to the borders. I counted 8 different shades of brown, 17 shades of green, 14 shades of blue/purple, 4 shades of pink/mauve, 8 shades of orange/yellow, 9 shades of red, 3 black borders, and 2 unusual border colors like steel gray (Mediator) and plum gray (Engineer). Each border color has an imbedded etched design that's a shade lighter than the border color and is the same etched design that's on the box.

Talk about rich! When trying to find the words to describe some of the borders, I thought I'd have to dip into my son's crayons! Here are just a few of the border colors: earthy taupe, creamy tangerine, midnight blue, olive green, deep mauve, teal, sienna, honey, moss, chocolate, lavender, sky blue, forest green, amber, indigo, sand, seafoam green--it's enough to make your mouth water! (By the way, I just made up most of those color names based on what they looked like to me.) There are 6 blank cards that are bordered with the same bright red as the box, although the border is more narrow. The octagon in the center is blank for you to make up your own Archetype cards, and, as with the rest of the deck, contain the scripts "Light Attributes" and "Shadow Attributes".

Accompanying this deck is a 105 page Guidebook that is the same size as the cards. You need not to have read Caroline's book Sacred Contracts to use this deck, because the Guidebook gives you the mini-version of her take on the 4 survival Archetypes common to all (Child, Saboteur, Prostitute, and Victim), Archetypes in general, and even questions for self-examination in determining Archetypes that play a major part in your life.

Some card examples: The Poet is a profile of an African-American woman with glasses. As she speaks, a pair of doves seem to fly from her mouth. The Guide is a women dressed in royal blue, and she blends in with the blue background. An owl is perched on one hand, and a latern is held in the other. This card reminds me of The Hermit in traditional Tarot. The Rebel is what looks to be a teenage girl, sitting upon a sofa that's perched on a tree trunk. The Detective is a woman with a book to her face, peeping out of a hole in the cover. The Addict is a man pushing against a tidal wave, the Bully is a blustering, blowing storm cloud, and the Destroyer is an erupting volcano. The Rescuer features a woman in a boat, about to throw a heart-shaped life preserver overboard. The Dilettante features a 5-armed woman, which is a very accurate way to look at the "jack of all trades, master of none" aspect of this Archetype. The Prostitute is reminiscent of Demi Moore's character in Indecent Proposal, especially as a nude woman covered with money.

A deck this universal could be used for divination, daily meditation, writing (character development), etc.

This is an outstanding deck in terms of size, construct, artwork, color, and Archetypal accuracy. If you're interested in the subtle nuances of Archetypes and how they play out in your life, or if you're interested in better understanding yourself and others, I would recommend this deck.

(To see 6 card images from this deck, visit the Reviews--Decks section of [...])

Janet Boyer, author of The Back in Time Tarot Book: Picture the Past, Experience the Cards, Understand the Present (coming Fall 2008 from Hampton Roads Publishing)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Use for These Cards, October 24, 2003
By 
This review is from: Archetype Cards (Cards)
I use them for creative writing. They're perfect for short stories or screenwriting. Shuffle the deck and then pick 2, 3, or 4 archetypes and you have the basis for your characters! For example, the "Vampire" archetype could be a lawyer, a lover, or even a literal vampire.
You can put them into a setting, scene or conflict, or just freewrite and see where they take you. This is exactly the kind of writing tool I've been looking for. I tried using tarot cards but with 74 "characters" (versus the 22 Major Arcana of the tarot), there's a lot of possibilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable ... profound!, October 30, 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Archetype Cards (Cards)
Whether you are a counselor, therapist, psychic, or are exploring your own interior landscape, these cards will help you move past superficial analyses and solutions to the core!
Inspired by Carl Jung's psychologically rich concept of archetypes and the collective unconscious, this deck describes the positive and negative characteristics of 80 elements of the psyche which transcend culture and time, which are, in a word, universal.
Just thumbing through the cards filled me with goosebumps as Ms. Myss showed me positive or negative characteristics of elements of my own nature that I hadn't recognized till now ... elements that I have been struggling with as negative, or depending on as positive, without seeing the opposite side and allowing them to operate three dimensionally in my life.
These cards can easily be used for formal readings, as with the Tarot, or by simply pulling a card to see what archetype is working in a particular situation ... they are as surprising and inspiring and downright useful as the Creative Whack Pack, and as easy to use, because all the information you need is right there on the card!
If you want to hone your abilities to reach profound psychological depths, go straight to the shopping cart button ... do not pass go ... do not collect $200!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Archetype Cards are a Fabulous Writer's Tool, February 18, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Archetype Cards (Cards)
These cards are great as a writer's tool. I bought The Archetype Cards by Caroline Myss to help in my writing.

I shuffle the cards deal out 3 or 4 depending on how many characters I need and then use my creativity to write a story.

Long or short, complex or simple these cards are great for stimulating your muse and taking your ideas in unexpected directions as you write.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dark Side?, November 9, 2008
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Archetype Cards (Cards)
Caroline Myss does not go to the Dark Side with these archetype cards! Don't know why, but just as there is a light or solar side to the archetypes there is the polar opposite, the Dark Side as well. She does try to point out the shadow side but again the descriptors are vague an they are on the "UP" New Age side. The Buzz Words she uses for the archetypes could be expanded more and maybe divided into levels like physical, emotion and mental. All in all, these cards do not reflect the Jungian archetypes Carolyn develops so well in her book, "Sacred Contracts."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Tool for Writers, April 4, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Archetype Cards (Cards)
While Caroline Myss wrote these cards intending them for introspection and application to self-realization and empowerment, they have another valuable use.

Countless books are published guiding authors to develop rich, meaningful characters. To me, writing a lengthy character biography or "interviewing" the character are gimmicks that don't work very well. I need to know how a character will react to a set of circumstances. And that reaction needs to mirror the complexity of a real person--not the cardboard stereotypes we see all too often in genre fiction. This may be easy when we are patterning a character after ourselves or someone we know well, but relying on our own life experiences is too limiting when we are building characters that are far different from ourselves.

These cards provide a great and easy-to-use way to build real characters with all the complexity we find in real life. And they don't necessarily require a great deal of study. Though the companion audiobook adds a more thorough appreciation, the cards by themselves along with the little booklet that is included are enough to get going. The pictures and the keywords on each card provide visual cues that don't send you back and forth to a reference guide.

I think every fiction writer needs a set of these cards in their drawer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Archetype Cards Need More Content, May 14, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Archetype Cards (Cards)
I have recently been very fascinated with Caroline Myss and was excited to get her Archetype Cards to enhance my understanding beyond listening to her CD sets, but I was disappointed with the cards and the booklet that came with them because, although they are pretty with wonderful artwork, the content and the expanded learning is just not there for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Archetypes following her soul contracts theory, July 10, 2009
This review is from: Archetype Cards (Cards)
Myss has a soul contract theory where people have 12 archetypes in their soul at any given time that they are carrying out. Archetype are roles/positions that people take on. Some examples are King, Queen, Prince, Hermit, Divine Child, Prostitute, Thief, Martyr, Pioneer, Priest and Dilettante. The cards mention the good qualities and bad qualities of each archetype. These cards illustrate numerous archetypes. Her ideas are brilliant and the cards are soothing and colorful. I am a psychologist and have found clients like this deck to tell them different facets of their persona. I have found this useful for myself regarding my personality and certain paths I needed to undertake this lifetime.
I recommend this deck but I caution the reader to read her book Soul contracts first in order to understand how to use this deck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Archetype Cards
Archetype Cards by Caroline Myss (Cards - September 15, 2003)
$19.95 $15.64
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.