Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Use This Book!, November 11, 2000
By 
Ronald Geyer, AIA (Greenville, SC USA) - See all my reviews
Since first encountering Egan's text a little more than 20 years ago, I've continued to return to it for solid information. Complex material is presented in a way that allows me to apply it to unique conditions at hand. Some of the world-class acoustics consultants with which we've had the privilege to work rely on Egan to help communicate complex ideas. Without compromising too much real technical nuance, the ideas are so clearly communicated that I was able to offer the book to members of a church in eastern Europe working to improve the condition of their worship space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for architects, August 31, 2000
I am an acoustical consultant... I have read a lot of books onarchitectural acoustics. I found this book unique of its kind. The concepts are introduced by plenty of figures and illustrations with informative text that make the discussed subject easy to read and comprehend especially by the architects. Writing on the figures and using checklists added a lot of understandibility. Also the text itself is informative and directly address the subject. In other words, the book is excellent and comprehensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent source for beginner and professional, May 3, 2000
By 
A really excellent introduction and overview of architecturalacoustics from the point of view of an architect. Little in the way ofmathematics, excellent illustrations, very useful tables, a convenientlist of often used formulae in the back. The best book I know of for an introductory textbook. I use this book often. Topics covered include:
Basic Theory Sound Absorption Room Acoustics Sound Isolation Mechanical System Noise and Vibration Electronic Sound Systems
Christopher Brooks Orpheus Acoustics END
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have, May 11, 2000
I'm a architecture student and I think this book is like a bible of acoustics in architecture. It brings detailed info for designing places with good acoustic performance whit various technics and for the most different type of places like a simple residential to auditoriums and concert rooms. I have other acoustics books (like William Cavanaugh's) and they always make mention to David Egan's book. If you're in search on books about architectural acoustics, I think that must be the first one to buy. It's a must have in any architect biblioteque.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Graphic Textbook Shows What Sound Looks Like!, December 20, 2010
OK, the book is old. The reviews are old. The hard cover copy (McGraw Hill, 1988) at Acoustiblok offices is battered, frayed and festooned with as many Post It notes as garlands on a parade float. Because almost every page of this almost 300 page edition is titled and illustrated, the book remains an easy-to-use and valuable resource for engineers, tweaking audiophiles, salespeople and sound-proofing customers. If "a picture is worth a thousand words," a graphic must be worth 450! Egan's classic clearly communicates complex laws, principles and concepts with simple drawings and straight-forward explanations. Bravo! A joy to page through, refer to and browse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and Concise, June 24, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Architectural Acoustics (J. Ross Publishing Classics) (Paperback)
This book tells you what you need to know. As an engineer designing difficult A/V installations (among other things) I found this book very helpful. There is a good balance between the theoretical and the practical. The various topics are treated in a self-contained manner, chapter by chapter (e.g. echo and reverberation within a performance room, machinery noise isolation and so on). If you have a specific requirement or problem to solve, having to do with Architectural Acoustics, this book will get you from A to B quickly and efficiently, and leave you with the feeling that (a) there is no mystery, there are no black arts involved and (b) with application of the correct techniques and calculations, you can take on straightforward assignments with some confidence.

I would regard this as an excellent reference guide for the practitioner of, well, Architectural Acoustics. If your aim is to go build a sound studio, then there are more specific how-to guides out there. Although the book explains the background (and some of the mathematics) of wave propagation theory quite well, and even though the topics are laid out with minimal reliance on mathematics, the book is still going to be more helpful to those who have a reasonable grasp of basic theory and a good grounding in physics and maths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good basic book, October 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Architectural Acoustics (J. Ross Publishing Classics) (Paperback)
I purchased this volume because I do writing about acoustics and sometimes want to see terminology and style used by others in the field.

As advertised, the writing in this book is clear.

One note - this seems to be a reprint of a book last edited more years ago than one would think from the metadata on Amazon. If you're looking for the latest technical info on the subject, you may wish to look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best introduction to architectural acoustics, August 14, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Architectural Acoustics (J. Ross Publishing Classics) (Paperback)
Even after having collected and read quite a few of the modern textbooks on architectural acoustics, Egan's Architectural Acoustics (1988 hardback edition in my case) still stands as the most accessible first foray into the subject. I frequently use this book in my consulting practice when I need to illustrate a fundamental concept, such as sound isolation, auditorium shaping, or the basic acoustical conditions necessary to support various styles of music. Even though the binding has mechanically failed, I have not yet been able to bring myself to part with the book long enough to have it rebound. Perhaps the new softcover binding will actually hold up better to repeated reading, as this book will surely receive and deserve!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Architectural Acoustics--Egan, December 8, 2007
This review is from: Architectural Acoustics (J. Ross Publishing Classics) (Paperback)
Over the years I have bought two text books on this difficult subject, and never could get past more than two chapters. In contrast, this book is both readable and extremely well organized with a summary of the main points at the end of each chapter. For any formulas used in the text, he defines the symbols along with the formula. No looking back to early chapters.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for general acoustics., February 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Architectural Acoustics (J. Ross Publishing Classics) (Paperback)
I love this book, I had it when it first came out then got it again later, this is the second time. It is broad coverage that gives good illustrations too. Not the most In depth book but great general over all book, prob one of the best I've seen for that. I would say a must for architects and audio people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Architectural Acoustics (J. Ross Publishing Classics)
Architectural Acoustics (J. Ross Publishing Classics) by M. David Egan (Paperback - January 30, 2007)
$64.95 $57.13
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.