Customer Reviews


499 Reviews
5 star:
 (437)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


169 of 180 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Album Gets Classic Treatment
The overview, for those who have recently arrived from Mars and never heard of Jimi Hendrix, or who have recently started studying rock history and never heard of ARE YOU EXPERIENCED?: In his liner essay to this CD, Dave Marsh calls this "the greatest, most influential debut album ever released," and it's hard to counter his praise. Hendrix is one of the few 1960s rock...
Published on February 25, 2002 by Tony C

versus
376 of 402 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MEET THE NEW BOSS, SAME AS THE OLD BOSS
The majority of my Amazon reviews deal with audio mastering, so I will be focusing only on the CD, and will defer comment on the DVD content to other reviewers.

The last Hendrix catalog mastering overhaul was performed in 1997. I have just finished comparing this new 2010 edition to the 1997 "Are You Experienced" remaster. The result? If you're considering...
Published on March 9, 2010 by BOB


‹ Previous | 1 250 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

376 of 402 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MEET THE NEW BOSS, SAME AS THE OLD BOSS, March 9, 2010
By 
BOB (LOS ANGELES, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The majority of my Amazon reviews deal with audio mastering, so I will be focusing only on the CD, and will defer comment on the DVD content to other reviewers.

The last Hendrix catalog mastering overhaul was performed in 1997. I have just finished comparing this new 2010 edition to the 1997 "Are You Experienced" remaster. The result? If you're considering buying this set with the expectation of new or improved remastering, save your money: This "remaster" is sonically indistinguishable from the '97 release. Furthermore, the track times exactly match the 1997 CD, and both freedb and iTunes recognize the 2010's ISRC disc code as the '97.

(Although I have referred to my A/B set-up in previous Amazon reviews, I should reiterate: My comparisons are made on two Sony XA7 transports wired into a Camelot Uther DAC via matched-length Acoustic Zen coax cables and monitored thru Sennheiser 590's. This configuration allows me to compare two CD's playing simultaneously, and instantly switch back and forth between them, rather than having to physically change out discs in one transport. If there's a better way to perform an A/B listening test, I haven't found it.)

No matter what other reviews you read here, THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO DISCERNIBLE DIFFERENCE IN SOUND OR MIXING. Anyone contradicting this a.) is mistakenly comparing either the original, awful 80's CD, the 1990 truncated disc, or the 1993 MCA remaster (check the copyright date on the J-card for your version), or, b.) has never upgraded to, or even heard the 1997 remaster (which many fans tragically eschewed, justifiably annoyed with the prospect of replacement for the 4th time in a decade), or, c.) has bad hearing, inferior equipment, and/or plain old wishful thinking. Anyone who insists they can hear a difference between this disc and the '97 would, no doubt, also testify to spontaneous, full-body levitation when an ultrasonic dog whistle is blown in proximity to their personage.

At the Amazon street-date sale price of $8.99, at least this new edition isn't sold at some egregious premium for the additional content, and yes, there is the spiffied-up digipak package, revamped booklet and a short-duration DVD. Admittedly, if you've never upgraded to the '97 Experienced remaster, then this is an auspiciously-priced opportunity to do so, as you also reap the new, added booty in your purchase.

But, if you're like me, and you already own the '97, does that really justify re-acquiring this album FOR THE FIFTH TIME (I'm actually on my sixth go-round, as I bought all eight of the super-kewl Japan LP-replica mini-sleeves a few years ago), only to end up with two sets of the exact same audio? Honestly, just how many times would you actually watch a 20-minute DVD?

The cleverly-worded marketing text above, and the sticker adorning the shrinkwrap, are definitely emphasizing "digitally remastered", when in actuality, there's nothing new, audio-wise, to be Experienced at all.

3/10 UPDATE: Due to the volume of inane comments, adverse e-mails and contradictory reviews, I decided to go directly to the source: I e-mailed Experience Hendrix LLC in Seattle. Here is their response:

"The new Experience Hendrix/Sony/Legacy Recording CD releases, except for SMASH HITS, have been remastered for the new releases. Having said that, the sound won't be significantly different compared to our 1997 releases. Whereas the 1997 remasters were much different than their predecessors--largely because we used the flat masters for the first time. This time (2010) we reverted to the original flat master tapes that were employed in the 1997 release."

There you have it, folks, cut-and-pasted directly from the auspices of Queen Janie: No 'significant' difference in sound, certainly no remixing, and they utilized the '97 source material. To appease, I have replaced my original cynical observation (that this release is the exact same '97 disc, just gussied-up and repackaged), with the phrases "This 'remaster' is sonically indistinguishable from the '97 release" and "THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO DISCERNABLE DIFFERENCE IN SOUND OR MIXING". To be sure, this splits the metaphorical hair at the level of a sub-atomic particle (and, as far as I am still concerned, this 2010 Experienced is "newly remastered", my hiney), but my review text is now copacetic with EH-LLC's statement.

Anyone who still wishes to argue the issue, your transport to The Infinite is now boarding at Gate 12 for immediate departure, where "EXP" will be blasted on the cabin sound system for your listening pleasure during liftoff... and please enjoy your one-way trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


169 of 180 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Album Gets Classic Treatment, February 25, 2002
By 
Tony C "Tony C" (Los Angeles, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Are You Experienced (Audio CD)
The overview, for those who have recently arrived from Mars and never heard of Jimi Hendrix, or who have recently started studying rock history and never heard of ARE YOU EXPERIENCED?: In his liner essay to this CD, Dave Marsh calls this "the greatest, most influential debut album ever released," and it's hard to counter his praise. Hendrix is one of the few 1960s rock gods who is worshipped as much by the children of those who grew up with his music as by their parents. This was the world's introduction to his psychedelic guitar, trippy lyrics and throbbing basslines, and his voice was clear from the start. It's rare to find more than one or two signature songs on a debut -- even Bob Dylan, the Beatles and the Rolling Stones needed a running start to become the artists we think of today -- but Hendrix has five: "Purple Haze," "Foxey Lady," "Fire," "Hey Joe" and "The Wind Cries Mary." Thirty-five years after its initial release, ARE YOU EXPERIENCED? is prized both for its historical significance and its rocking sound, perfect for summer road trips or dorm room parties.
With this CD release, the classic has been given its due. The remastered sound brings out every whine and whistle of Hendrix's guitar, every reverberation of Mitch Mitchell's drums, every "plunk" of Noel Redding's bass, restoring to the sound the layers it was intended to have.
Marsh trips over himself to praise the album -- at one point, he suggests the Universe was created for the sole purpose of producing it -- but in his four pages he adequately places the album in its historical context.
In selecting the six songs (Tracks 12-17) to add to the album's original 11, MCA and Experience Hendrix did a bang-up job of adding to the classic without breaking up the flow. The casual observer who's never heard the original vinyl would barely notice anything was changed, which is quite a feat, given how carefully crafted the album was.
Rock fans will groove to Hendrix's vision and guitar-playing. Die-hard Hendrix fans and music historians will love the CD, making it a must-have for anyone's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These editions are terrific, but....., March 11, 2010
By 
If you already have the 1997 MCA editions of these (Are You, Axis, Ladyland), then you basically have these remastered versions minus the (short) DVDs. There's really no discernable difference in audio quality between these 2010 remasters and the 1997 remasters. They sound identical.

BUT...if you really need the DVDs and/or you don't own the 1997 issues, by all means GO FOR IT!

So take the five star review for the quality of the music, keeping in mind you may already have these versions in your collection if you're considering purchasing these reissues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The debut that lit the world on fire, October 26, 2002
By 
K. Bentley "amateur critic" (Stratford, CT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Are You Experienced (Audio CD)
Many artists have released excellent debut albums, but this is probably the debut that stunned the music world the most. It introduced the world to a 24-year-old gypsy named Jimi Hendrix, and his rather unique mix of blues, Bob Dylan, avant-garde experimentations and the Beatles. ARE YOU EXPERIENCED? definitely is one of the most essential albums in rock history. A lot of the songs are still played on the radio to this day ("Purple Haze," "Hey Joe," "Wind Cries Mary," "Fire," etc.) and it has influenced a countless amount of people to pick up guitars and just rock out.

In terms of songwriting, a few rival with Hendrix. From the beauty of "may this be love" to the chaos of 'i don't live today' and the On The Road-esque 'highway child,' Hendrix, besides being probably the best guitarist of all time, was an excellent and prolific writer, who used sound effects and chords at all of the right times.

My personal favorite track on this album is the 7-minute psychedelic/avant-garde jam "Third Stone From the Sun." With the experimentation of weird voices, weird poetry, jazz, and of course, Hendrix's legendary guitar distortion, it's an underrated track, but embodies basically everything Hendrix could do.

If you want to get into Hendrix, this is the place to start, and in my opinion, this is his best album. Now with music worse than ever, where's Hendrix when you need him?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get Experienced, June 8, 2001
This review is from: Are You Experienced (Audio CD)
Are You Experienced? is the debut album from the original guitar god, the late, great Jimi Hendrix. Along with drummer Mitch Mitchell and bassist Noel Redding, he created one of the most original sounds in music and laid down guitar work that has yet to be duplicated. The album opens with one of the most instantly recognizable guitar riffs in music history, the opening line to "Purple Haze". The song became an anthem of the psychedelic rock sound and coupled with "The Star Spangled Banner", punctuated Mr. Hendrix's performance at Woodstock. "Hey Joe" is a cover song that Mr. Hendrix adds a subtle yet powerful guitar. "The Wind Cries Mary" is a quiet, reflective song that is followed up by a complete 180, the manic and reckless "Fire". "Stone Free" is rollicking song while "Foxy Lady" has a start stop, punchy sound. The album's finest song, and probably the best thing he recorded, is the title track. A swirling, shuffling, cornucopia of sounds with a razor blade guitar, the song is everything that makes Mr. Hendrix great. Are You Experienced? spent almost a year in the top ten and brought the Seattle born artist world wide acclaim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vinyl track list correction; sound quality, March 10, 2010
By 
Eugene (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Are You Experienced (Vinyl) (Vinyl)
I just wanted to point out that item description on Amazon is incorrect for this 2010 vinyl reissue. It should only include those tracks on the original US edition.

About sound quality - I own the tri-color original and this one hands down sounds incomparably better! Amazing clarity of voice, instruments, bass is in a right place - just a perfect balance! Balance is a key word here. To me it is the best sounding Hendrix ever. And it is not easy for me to say that because in 99.9% I prefer originals or early pressings to reissues. This reissue may just change my mind. Highest recommendations! P.S. Listened on Project-Debut III with ortofon 5E.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MTV Supporter, There's A Reason Why Nobody Likes Your Reviews!, November 6, 2005
This review is from: Are You Experienced (Audio CD)
This album was released 15 years before MTV came into being so its a no brainer why there were no videos made of these songs. I hope you're just a joker because if you're not you need serious psychological help.

With that out of the way, There is nothing overrated about this album whatsoever. Jimi Hendrix's guitar playing has yet to be matched by anybody else. "Purple Haze", is the ultimate acid rock anthem. It is still played on countless movies and T.V. shows. Hendrix redefined what the guitar could do with his use of distortion and feedback and lightning fast hammer ons, pull offs and bends. He even plays with his teeth and behind his back. Can Good Charlotte do That! One of the best things about Hendrix is that he didn't release any visual representations of his songs(or at least none that I know of). In other words, he didn't release any proto-MTV videos that would have watered down his work and made him less serious as an artist. Now don't get me wrong, some videos are legendary. Just look at Madonna's, "Like A Prayer", or Peter Gabriel's, "Sledgehammer", to see how good videos are made. I'm off subject so back to Hendrix.

Like I said before, the album opens with the legendary acid rock anthem, "Purple Haze", featuring one of the most recognizable guitar riffs in rock history and one of Hendrix's best solos. "Manic Depression" is another catchy acid rock tune with Mitch Mitchell on drums as the driving force of the song. "Hey Joe", is an instant classic. A familiar ditty about a jealous husband who shoots his wife dead after finding her having an affair and then fleeing to Mexico. The album never lets up. "The Wind Cries Mary", is a classic blues rock song and, "Third Stone From The Sun", is six minutes of crazy and erratic guitar playing(has a very psychedelic feeling to it).
"Foxey lady", is one of the first libido driven songs and who can forget, "Fire", one of the most classic anti-love songs ever.

Extremely good album that is a must have by lovers of classic acid and psychedelic rock. Very accessible so it shouldn't be hard to find. After you listen to this, be sure to check out his other two albums; "Axis Bold As Love", and, "Electric Ladyland".

P.S.
I know MTV Supporter and other MTV loving
losers are going to say this review isn't helpful
but I don't care. As long as I get my point through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Feeling kinda stupid!, March 9, 2010
By 
XJ32 (Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
Well,

Being the Hendrix fanatic I am I jumped on the whole lot...big mistake, the DVDs are cool, but short (about 20 min each). Unless you have do not have these CDs already, or you must have the DVDs, skip it.

These are the SAME remasters from before. As another person pointed out, the track times are the same and when I ripped them into ITunes, it recognized them as the 1997 editions.

I feel like I just wasted $40

I should have waited for reviews!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN EXPERIENCE THAT CHANGED IT ALL!, October 16, 2001
This review is from: Are You Experienced (Audio CD)
He has been dubbed as one of the greatest guitarists of all time yet there is something about Jimi that seperates him from the rest. He was larger than life, he always pushed the limits and it shows it on this wonderful album. It was raw, hip, cool over the edge rock that would change music forever.
ARE YOU EXPERIENCED is Jimi Hendrix' debut album and it is considered by many his best. I can only say that is definetly essential Hendrix material. The album opens with the ground breaking PURPLE HAZE followed by the fast guitar riffing MANIC DEPRESSION. Next is another Hendrix classic the bluesy HEY JOE then the bizarre LOVE OR CONFUSION. Hendrix shows that his music is not all rough with the beautiful MAY THIS BE LOVE. After that is one of my favourites I DON'T WANT TO LIVE TODAY followed by the unique WIND CRIES MARY. The beat picks up with the classic FIRE then comes the lengthly blues jam of THIRD STONE FROM THE SUN. Things heat up with FOXEY LADY and ARE YOU EXPERIENCED? then things get bluesy again with STONE FREE and 51ST ANNIVERSARY (another fave of mine). The hit HIGHWAY CHILE turns up next then the groovy CAN YOU SEE ME and REMEMBER the album closes with a bluesrock tune RED HOUSE.
In conclusion ARE YOU EXPERIENCED? is essential listening for all music lovers. It is a true work of art and easily one of the best albums of 1967. Bottom Line, ARE YOU EXPERIENCED? is the ultimate musical experience. Why? because music has not been the same since!
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't scuttle your old REPRISE pressings just yet!, January 14, 2011
By 
Swamiji (Deer Park, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Are You Experienced (Vinyl) (Vinyl)
I am surprised to see many here comparing this latest EH reissue favorably against the original Reprise vinyl pressings from the 60's and 70's. I beg to differ.

The Tri-color Reprise from 1967 has incomparably greater dynamic range, as well as greater contiguity with the original master tapes which, as many will attest, are apt to degrade or go missing over time and end up replaced with 2nd or even 3rd generation safety copies. I for one do not buy this business about EH locating the first generation master tapes in the possession of a private collector in Texas: this sounds too much like a marketing gimmick for my taste. Moreover, from what I am able to gather, the latest vinyl release of AYE on Sony Legacy is just the '97 digital remaster loaded onto vinyl and not, as many wrongly assume, the product of a purely analogue process. This being the case, it suffers from some of the same shortcomings as the CD version, namely increased compression and digital "hardness", of which the original analogue Tri-color is completely free.

Many listeners unfortunately mistake the increased loudness created through maximization and narrowing of the dynamic range for "better sound quality", though this just isn't the case, since it gives the sound what many have aptly referred to as a "hard edge" and further serves to obscure acoustic separation and detail preserved within the wider (though not seeming as bright or as loud) sound stage of the original pressing. So my advice to those who are considering selling or trading their Tri-color or tan label Reprises and replacing them with these latest whiz-bang "Eddie Kramer-did-it-and-he-knew-Jimi!" pressings, you would do well to give both copies another judicious listen before consenting to trade the priceless cultural artifacts of a fabled era for the sham pearls of a corporate marketing machine that is now eagerly attempting to capitalize, gallingly enough, on the inspired efforts of a musical genius in whose destruction it played a substantial and reprehensible role.

And far from "beating" the Tri-Color "hands down" in audio quality, this pressing appears to be thoroughly creamed by even the 1970's tan label Reprise reissue.

Besides, when was the last time you remember getting an original Reprise Jimi Hendrix record that was pressed off-center, warped, and had little bits of white paper stuck to its edges?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 250 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Are You Experienced (Vinyl)
Are You Experienced (Vinyl) by Jimi Hendrix (Vinyl - 2010)
Click for more info
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.