Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I have indigestion just looking at it!" - (Volume Christmas)
-Mrs. Slocombe looking at the turkey for the staff Christmas lunch.

This DVD contains the episodes, "Christmas Crackers", "The Father Christmas Affair", "Happy Returns" and "The Punch and Judy Affair". All of these episodes are hilarious and well-written. This is a great collection if you have never seen "AYBS?". However, if you already own the complete...
Published on September 10, 2005

versus
35 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Are You Being Disappointed?
Don't get me wrong, I LOVE Are You Being Served? I have most of the episodes memorized but this is a total rip off. The episodes shown here are available with the regular series DVDs and the quality is very poor. The "On Set Interview" lasts about 4 minutes and involves some reporter asking cast members if they like being on the show. DUH! Get the series, the movie...
Published on October 19, 2005 by Sam Patrick


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I have indigestion just looking at it!" - (Volume Christmas), September 10, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Are You Being Served? Christmas (DVD)
-Mrs. Slocombe looking at the turkey for the staff Christmas lunch.

This DVD contains the episodes, "Christmas Crackers", "The Father Christmas Affair", "Happy Returns" and "The Punch and Judy Affair". All of these episodes are hilarious and well-written. This is a great collection if you have never seen "AYBS?". However, if you already own the complete collection, the only thing different about this DVD, is that it contains an "On-Set Interview".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOO HILARIOUS!!!! Great way to get on the Christmas mood!, September 4, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Are You Being Served? Christmas (DVD)
This set is great to give to someone for Christmas that doesn't own the entire set on DVD. The scene where the mannequin's robe comes open and flashes Mr. Humphries is a classic. It always has me rolling on the floor. This DVD is great to help you get in the Christmas mood. I love watching the BBC Christmas comedies. I pull them out at Thanksgiving every year. GREAT to decorate the tree by. Another great Christmas DVD is the "Keeping Up Appearances Deck the Halls with Hyacinth." It also makes a great gift!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are You Being Served?, January 23, 2002
By A Customer
This hillarious blend of Father Christmas Affair, Cristmas Crackers, and Top Hat and Tails will surely tickle your funny bone.
In Father Christmas Affair, the staff are troubled with the problem of finding a Father Christmas for the store untill there is a fifty pound bonus.
In Cristmas Crackers, the staff get into the Cristmas season by having their usual(ly bad) Christmas dinner(except Mr.Lucas) and get into their holliday costumes to fit their winter wonderland department.
In Top Hat and Tails, The staff prepare to enter "The Golden Shoes Competition" how ever akwardly it seems. They also welcome their new akward robots who in time dance better than the staff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Celebrate Christmas with a Chuckle!, September 14, 2001
By 
The gang from Grace Brothers is back! Let's get into Christmas costumes and watch Mr. Humphries and Mrs. Slocumb and that hottie Ms. Brahms spread Christmas Cheer. Let's set the department store aglow in holiday designs. Let's watch Mr. Grace treat the staff to a Christmas lunch filled with fun and havoc....boy was that a luncheon we won't forget. Just like the set of 7 volumes, this Christmas edition will not disappoint. I love English comedies! And so will you as it will hook you into watching and loving the holidays even more. Well worth it....highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I waited 6 years to see these Christmas videos!, January 3, 2000
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ever since I first discovered this great series, I have wanted to see the Christmas shows. My local PBS never aired them and until I found this collection I was out of luck. I'm glad I found them! The shows are great, they are all must sees. I really wish that instead of 'Top Hat and Tails' they would have put on another Christmas special, 'the Punch and Judy Affair.' 'Top Hat and Tails' is technically not a Christmas special. 'Christmas Crackers' is my favorite on the tape, but 'Father Christmas Affair' is still excellent. The musical at the end of 'Christmas Crackers' is funny in standard AYBS style, but also quaint and nostalgic. Overall, this is a fine holiday collection from Britain's funniest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A notice to readers on this page, November 23, 1999
By A Customer
Some of these reviews on this page are for the film version of Served and not for the Christmas special offering. This can cause a deal of confusion, so be careful!
The 3 episodes on this tape were seldom seen in some areas that carried Served almost nightly; so it is good to be able to see them as a group. There is some degree on Political Incorrectness concerning blackface in one of the episodes, but it is handled well and will offend only those who wish to be offended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laughs Galore!!, December 8, 2002
This is a very funny video. It is non-stop laughter. If you like British Comedy this video is the one to buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ho ho ho, Little Boy...., June 10, 2003
By A Customer
You'll love this video, with 3 terrific episodes that are very hard to find on TV. "The Father Christmas Affair" shows the staff of Grace Brothers competing for money posing as "Father Christmas" (aka Santa Claus), while Mr. Humphries and Mr. Lucas show Mr. Grainger a new act for his old folks' home.
"Christmas Crackers" is the funniest one of the three, in my opinion; while Mr. Grainger is having difficulty being "roused" by his wife, the staff discuss how to raise Christmas sales, Mr. Rumbold's suggestion to wear fancy dress doesn't go over too well, and Mr. Mash makes his pudding go up in smoke while Grainger does a Rumbold impression.
"Top Hat and Tails" isn't technically a Christmas episode, but it is such a rare show that it can easily be forgotten. Capt. Peacock suggests the staff join the "Golden Shoes Competition", but Mr. Humphries finds they aren't quick learners after all. Some of the events that follow are hilarious; a suit problem for Peacock, a rather high dress for Mrs. Slocombe, and being outdanced by two "automated display units".
Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great video for true fans, March 30, 1999
By A Customer
This tape includes the episode Top Hat and Tails, which is not seen very often here in the states. Also, the Christmas episodes are very memorable. The tape is great and of the usual high standards of the staff of Grace Brothers!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Are You Being Disappointed?, October 19, 2005
This review is from: Are You Being Served? Christmas (DVD)
Don't get me wrong, I LOVE Are You Being Served? I have most of the episodes memorized but this is a total rip off. The episodes shown here are available with the regular series DVDs and the quality is very poor. The "On Set Interview" lasts about 4 minutes and involves some reporter asking cast members if they like being on the show. DUH! Get the series, the movie and the sequel but forget this thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Are You Being Served? Christmas
Are You Being Served? Christmas by Mollie Sugden (DVD - 2009)
$14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.