Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM
Customer Discussions > Nintendo DSi - Matte Black forum

Are all DS games compatible with the DSi?

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-7 of 7 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Nov 25, 2009 7:01:53 AM PST
B. Selvage says:
I'm new to the Nintendo DS, so I was wondering if the Nintendo DSi can be used with all DS games.

Posted on Nov 25, 2009 10:54:52 AM PST
Mo G. says:
Yes it can. Currently there are no real "DSi only" games so the games are interchangeable between systems. The difference between the two systems is that the DSi can download dsiware from the internet so that you can store games on the console.

Another difference is that the Ds lite has a slot for Game Boy Advance games, which, if you're new to the system probably won't concern you since you probably don't have a collection of those older games.

But yes, to answer your question in a nutshell, all "ds" cartridges work in the DSi system.

Posted on Dec 1, 2009 10:24:24 PM PST
A. says:
You cannot use the Guitar Hero or Band Hero games. I have a DSi as well, and since there is no GBA slot there is no place to fit the attachment. They may yet develop one for the DSi, but for now that's all you can't play and I'd say it's worth getting even though you miss out on those games.

Posted on Dec 4, 2009 11:27:08 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Dec 4, 2009 11:27:50 PM PST
No. Like stated before, Guitar Hero and Band Hero need the Game Boy Advance slot which has been removed on the DSi.

Also, Tony Hawk's Motion has a "Motion Pack" which goes into the GBA slot also, so that's not compatible either.