Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc blink-182 Fire TV Stick Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 31, 2002
More plot twists, and surprising new facts. In the tradition of the Area 51 series you are left at the end of this book feeling confused, excited and concerned. At least there will not be another 12 month waiting period until the next chapter in this saga. 'The Truth' will be reveled this summer.
I have been reading this series of books since it began in 1997 and have yet to be disappointed. The books are all quick, easy reads and yet the story gets increasingly complex. To me this is the greatest strenght of this book and the entire series. If you are new to the Area 51 series do yourself a favor and start from the beginning otherwise you will be lost.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2002
Robert Doherty's sixth book in the Area 51 series, "Area 51: Excalibur" is an excellent addition to the series and, as usual, filled with plenty of action and interesting characters.
Doherty does a great job re-introducing characters providing and background information to the series in the first 40 pages of this novel. Former Navy SEAL, Mike Turcotte and his eclectic group of cohorts again lead the fight against an alien takeover of the planet.
But which of the alien races is our friend and which is our enemy?
That is only one of the questions that Doherty tries to answer in this installment of the series. Faithful readers of the series will soon find the unique "tie-ins" with Earth's history that Doherty provides. His vivid imagination does a fantastic job linking The Sphinx, Noah's Ark, The Black Plague, The Arc of the Covenant, The Holy Grail, the rise of the Nazi SS, and Excalibur together as activites and events that were either casued by, or affected by the alien cultures.
In this installment, Turcotte and his band attempt to quell the attacks of the Kortad and Airlia as they each try to take over the globe. The adventure stretches from Area 51 to Pearl Harbor and from Mt. Ararat to Mt. Everest. If you are a fan of the series, you'll love "Excalibur". If you are new to the series you need to go back and start with "Area 51". Either way, you can't go wrong with this series.
The series (as we know it, anyway) culminates with the 7th and last installment, "Area 51: The Truth" later in the year.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2014
As usual, this book starts off where “The Grail” leaves off. Lisa Duncan has been shot and the aliens are starting to get organized to fight each other with humans in between. Mike Turcotte and his small collection of very different people are trying to find a way to stop the coming war and prevent the annihilation of humanity. He knows that neither side in this conflict give a rats a** about the humans that will be slaughtered or turned into nano virus driven zombies.

He must find two things: 1. Excaliber and 2. The second mother ship which has the Master Guardian Computer. It’s believed that getting those to items together or working will prevent either Airlia side from controlling Earth.

Of course finding these two items isn’t going to be easy. They are hidden in almost completely inaccessible places on Earth and several previous attempts to recover them have ended in the death of all involved. Yet Turcotte cannot fail. He also struggles with the idea that something has happened to Lisa Duncan which might change their relationship forever.

Additionally, we get a hint that nobody in this book is really who we think they are; not Mike, not Mualama, not Lisa Duncan. So who are they?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2014
Great climbing scene on Everest! I met one of the top climbers in the world, Dougal Haston, in Leysin, Switzerland, where he was based. Someone had almost killed me by pulling me off the wall of a glacier. That and Haston's account of how people die on climbs was the end of my Alpine career. Sadly, he died in an avalanche above Leysin. Oh, right! And the book was great, what fun. Thank you Bob, I forgive you for the badly placed digression on how Spooky works in the last book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2016
The Area 51 series is not what I expected after reading Bob Mayer's Nightstalker series, but I've really enjoyed it. The blend of aliens fighting over our planet with ancient legends was very entertaining and thought provoking. It was also refreshing to have the story take place in unique settings that were fun to go and learn more about myself. Mr. Mayer has his own style of writing that keeps you engaged from the beginning. I'm looking forward to reading more of his work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2014
It was a good book need to read the entire series from first to last even though the first chapter goes over the last book to catch you up if you didn't read the prior book. I did find it a little slow at times and you have to like the style he has for going back and forth through time which I got tired of after the 3rd book in the series. The first book in the series was nothing like the rest and really liked it was far more fast paced and action packed. But it was still a good book worth the time to read the series they did keep the story line going through all the books with the characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2002
To say the least, I was somewhat dissapointed with his last book: Area51: The Grail. Now that I have read Excalibur though, I am able to grasp why the grail only brings more questions and little answers. In Excalibur, Doherty finally gives more answers than questions without being repetetive. The battle scenes live up to his knack for realism and page flippign suspense. He continues to demonstrate that the bad guys arnt just a bunch of idiots firing like crazy and missing the good guys, and that the good guys don't just stand with an M-60 and take out their opponents with no sweat. Although some areas of the story are still sketchy, it is manageable to put two and two together. Doherty definately lives up to a description of the plot given on his website. The outcome is truely decided by the human spirit, and sense of sacrafice.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2013
I have read most of the books in this series and find them a good read. This story line got a bit confusing at times when the auther jumped around to six or seven things happening at the same time and I needed to go back a bit to catch up. Some parts of the book seem like a history lesson but I guess the author put that in to clear a few things up in the chapter that follows. I do like the series and will buy the next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2013
The Area 51 books are simple, fun, and entertaining reads. I go into them all simply for the enjoyment of the concept of alien gods and space travel. Space wars, immortals, regeneration and all the rest. It's fun but not serious and it should be read as such. If you want a serious novel read Sherlock Holmes. If you want a dimestore novel that is entertaining and addictive. This is a good start. Start at the beginning and read thru in order. It makes it more entertaining. Mayer does follow a chronological order in his books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2002
"Area 51: Excalibur", the latest in the Area 51 series by Robert Doherty, aka Bob Mayer, continues the storyline that has now been stretched into six novels. In this one, Doherty ties the story of Excalibur into the storyline as yet another of the alien artifacts. The characters from the previous books all return and continue their objectives from earlier.
This storyline seems to have been stretched just to sell some additional books. While still entertaining, some of the mysteries could have been explained in a condensed form. The mystery behind the Grail is described and the way in which it helps to achieve immortality is also explained. Battles ensue in this one, both in the skies and seas. Pearl Harbor is the scene of one of the clashes. Easter Island again plays a prominent role.
Fortunately, some form of conclusion will be reached with the release of "Area 51: The Truth" in December. Hopefully, mainly of the dangling sub-stories will be concluded and all mysteries revealed. However, another series will follow this one. This sounds too much like "The X-Files" in that a few questions are answered and even when the finale is announced, it really is just a precursor to a future continuation of the storyline. If you've read the others, this one is a must, if only to learn more about the Grail. However, don't read this one before the others or certain plot areas will make little to no sense.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.