Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'The Truth' is near
More plot twists, and surprising new facts. In the tradition of the Area 51 series you are left at the end of this book feeling confused, excited and concerned. At least there will not be another 12 month waiting period until the next chapter in this saga. 'The Truth' will be reveled this summer.
I have been reading this series of books since it began in 1997 and...
Published on March 31, 2002 by J. Dotter

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Area 51: Excalibur
A good storyline tires from lack of an ending. Each story has potential but when you reach the 'last' page you wonder what happened to the rest of the book.
If you have the time, read them all and you will enjoy fun read.
Published on October 3, 2002 by Brian


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'The Truth' is near, March 31, 2002
By 
J. Dotter (Allentown, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Area 51: Excalibur (Mass Market Paperback)
More plot twists, and surprising new facts. In the tradition of the Area 51 series you are left at the end of this book feeling confused, excited and concerned. At least there will not be another 12 month waiting period until the next chapter in this saga. 'The Truth' will be reveled this summer.
I have been reading this series of books since it began in 1997 and have yet to be disappointed. The books are all quick, easy reads and yet the story gets increasingly complex. To me this is the greatest strenght of this book and the entire series. If you are new to the Area 51 series do yourself a favor and start from the beginning otherwise you will be lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book 6 in the series and still going strong, September 4, 2002
By 
coachtim (Indiana, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Area 51: Excalibur (Mass Market Paperback)
Robert Doherty's sixth book in the Area 51 series, "Area 51: Excalibur" is an excellent addition to the series and, as usual, filled with plenty of action and interesting characters.
Doherty does a great job re-introducing characters providing and background information to the series in the first 40 pages of this novel. Former Navy SEAL, Mike Turcotte and his eclectic group of cohorts again lead the fight against an alien takeover of the planet.
But which of the alien races is our friend and which is our enemy?
That is only one of the questions that Doherty tries to answer in this installment of the series. Faithful readers of the series will soon find the unique "tie-ins" with Earth's history that Doherty provides. His vivid imagination does a fantastic job linking The Sphinx, Noah's Ark, The Black Plague, The Arc of the Covenant, The Holy Grail, the rise of the Nazi SS, and Excalibur together as activites and events that were either casued by, or affected by the alien cultures.
In this installment, Turcotte and his band attempt to quell the attacks of the Kortad and Airlia as they each try to take over the globe. The adventure stretches from Area 51 to Pearl Harbor and from Mt. Ararat to Mt. Everest. If you are a fan of the series, you'll love "Excalibur". If you are new to the series you need to go back and start with "Area 51". Either way, you can't go wrong with this series.
The series (as we know it, anyway) culminates with the 7th and last installment, "Area 51: The Truth" later in the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Doherty" Has made another home run., April 10, 2002
This review is from: Area 51: Excalibur (Mass Market Paperback)
To say the least, I was somewhat dissapointed with his last book: Area51: The Grail. Now that I have read Excalibur though, I am able to grasp why the grail only brings more questions and little answers. In Excalibur, Doherty finally gives more answers than questions without being repetetive. The battle scenes live up to his knack for realism and page flippign suspense. He continues to demonstrate that the bad guys arnt just a bunch of idiots firing like crazy and missing the good guys, and that the good guys don't just stand with an M-60 and take out their opponents with no sweat. Although some areas of the story are still sketchy, it is manageable to put two and two together. Doherty definately lives up to a description of the plot given on his website. The outcome is truely decided by the human spirit, and sense of sacrafice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still entertaining, but the series needs to be concluded, August 7, 2002
By 
Amazon Customer (Huntsville, AL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Area 51: Excalibur (Mass Market Paperback)
"Area 51: Excalibur", the latest in the Area 51 series by Robert Doherty, aka Bob Mayer, continues the storyline that has now been stretched into six novels. In this one, Doherty ties the story of Excalibur into the storyline as yet another of the alien artifacts. The characters from the previous books all return and continue their objectives from earlier.
This storyline seems to have been stretched just to sell some additional books. While still entertaining, some of the mysteries could have been explained in a condensed form. The mystery behind the Grail is described and the way in which it helps to achieve immortality is also explained. Battles ensue in this one, both in the skies and seas. Pearl Harbor is the scene of one of the clashes. Easter Island again plays a prominent role.
Fortunately, some form of conclusion will be reached with the release of "Area 51: The Truth" in December. Hopefully, mainly of the dangling sub-stories will be concluded and all mysteries revealed. However, another series will follow this one. This sounds too much like "The X-Files" in that a few questions are answered and even when the finale is announced, it really is just a precursor to a future continuation of the storyline. If you've read the others, this one is a must, if only to learn more about the Grail. However, don't read this one before the others or certain plot areas will make little to no sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only Two More Mountains to Climb, August 12, 2002
This review is from: Area 51: Excalibur (Mass Market Paperback)
It has been almost two years since I read the previous volume in this series, 'The Grail.' While these are excellent action adventures, they do not stay long to mind. I am embarrassed to admit that, when I picked this up and started reading, I was without a clue as to what was going on. It was rough going until I remembered the basic plot and characters, so I do not recommend this as a good starting point. The entire series is quite good, especially if you like alien inspired paranoid plots. So I heartily recommend going back to 'Area 51,' and inhaling the entire series.
These books are not heavy going. The primary premise is that the human race owes much of its mythology to the accidental arrival of an alien race called the Airlia back in prehistoric times. Originally, they were benevolent, but an internal rift between two leaders, Artad and Aspasia, caused sufficient chaos that the aliens took a more secretive role, influencing humankind for their own reasons, with little thought to the eventual effects on us. The 'Area 51' series is about what happens when humans become aware enough of this interference to take action against the aliens.
The last several volumes have turned on various factions competing for the possession of several artifacts - the Ark (both of them), the Grail, and now Excalibur, Arthur's sword. In the last volume Lisa Duncan, an American scientist, finds and activates the Grail. In the short time of her exposure, she is remade into something that appears human, but which is immortal. Unfortunately, the Grail is lost to Aphasia's forces, and Lisa returns to the U.S. to find herself and object for close scrutiny and testing.
As Aspasia and Artad marshal their forces in competing efforts to conquer the earth it is left to two men, American Mike Turcotte and Russian agent Yakov, each of which has a mountain to climb. Turcotte must scale Mount Everest to pull Excalibur from its scabbard and turn on the Airlian master computer. Yakov heads for Mount Ararat and the Ark, which is really the Airlian mother ship, which contains the master computer itself. In the meantime, war breaks out in Korea and Taiwan, and the Pacific Fleet is nearly immobilized. Dire straits indeed.
Doherty writes in a classic action oriented style. While his language isn't stilted, the characters speak in short bursts, and introspection is a rare thing indeed. But, the plot is complex enough to keep the reader's attention moving from one cliff hanger to the next. Expect to enjoy the book, but as I found out, don't expect to remember it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Puts all of the pieces in place for the ultimate conclusion, July 7, 2002
This review is from: Area 51: Excalibur (Mass Market Paperback)
Everything hits the fan in this sixth novel of the Area 51 series. Two factions of the Airlia alien race are battling for supremacy on Earth, two-thirds of America's Pacific fleet has fallen into the hands of the seemingly worse alien faction (and their unstoppable nanotechnological advances), our heroes have been abandoned and almost killed at the hands of the government, a new Majestic 12 group has captured a resurrected Lisa Duncan and begun exposing her to innumerable tests, the Holy Grail remains in alien hands, the Middle East is in even more turmoil than usual, China has launched a major offensive against both Taiwan and (along with the North Koreans) South Korea which sees weapons of mass destruction unleashed in the theater, and the surviving Airlia on Mars are busy constructing some type of huge, unidentifiable something atop Mons Olympus. The only hope for humanity is to find the far from mythical sword Excalibur and use it to gain control of the still-hidden main guardian computer. To succeed in this last desperate strategy, the Russian Yakov will have to find the "Ark" at Mount Ararat and Mike Turcotte must journey to the very pinnacle of Mount Everest. By now, we pretty much know where each group stands in the struggle, but the author does not fail in presenting us with some shocking new developments and revelations about the characters we have been following for hundreds and hundreds of pages already. While this book would seem to offer a slight amount of resolution to a problem or two, it poses still more questions than it answers. The stage is now set for an ultimate resolution to this exciting science fiction series in the concluding novel titled, appropriately enough, "Area 51: The Truth." I am sure I am not alone in eagerly awaiting the final book in the series. The author has continued to surprise me all along, and I have abundant faith in the author's ability to give us a concluding novel worthy of all the buildup from the first six books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic series, July 4, 2002
This review is from: Area 51: Excalibur (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the continuation of a fantastic series of books. Each one leaves you hanging for the next in the series. In this installment Doherty continues along the path of incorporating myths and legends into the the race for supremecy on planet earth. This time it is with Excalibur and Doherty follows his path of strange and curious places by making Mt Everest the new battle scene. Even this far into the series i can not decide with wich faction i want to align myself and then there is the ever curious question, What the heck is going on on Mars. The ties between these fictional books and history make the farfetched idea of alien galactic civil war and human history very intriguing within the story, almost as intriguing as real life itself. A must read for all sci-fi buffs, couldnt put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tension not resolved - yet!, October 16, 2002
This review is from: Area 51: Excalibur (Mass Market Paperback)
The next book in the series keeps up the tension. The fight against the aliens and/or their supporters becomes more and more intense and desperate. We cannot even be sure about the position of the protagonists, and, oh boy, we have a dramatic final, which solves problems, but does not resolve the plot. We will have to wait for the final in "The Truth". I have never come across a series of novels that could keep up the tension as Doherty does here. An absolute must for SF - fans, who love this kind of science fiction. But I can imagine that those who like thrillers more than SF may be attracted by these books as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally we get to learn a little of whats happening...., June 28, 2002
This review is from: Area 51: Excalibur (Mass Market Paperback)
From what I hear this supposed to be the last but one book in the series. Events start unfolding in this book and one starts getting answers to some questions. Please note I said "start getting". A lot is still un-answered which is of course what makes this series of books so interesting. All in all a great read. Really looking forward to the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Area 51: Excalibur, October 3, 2002
This review is from: Area 51: Excalibur (Mass Market Paperback)
A good storyline tires from lack of an ending. Each story has potential but when you reach the 'last' page you wonder what happened to the rest of the book.
If you have the time, read them all and you will enjoy fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Area 51: Excalibur
Area 51: Excalibur by Bob Mayer (Mass Market Paperback - March 26, 2002)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.